MD 15116 - 2006 Computer Room Air-conditioning Systems

Chapter 3 - Design Cooling Loads

3.1 Heat Load due to IT Equipment

Heat gains from computer equipment are highly concentrated and non-uniform within the space.

The heat gains in computer rooms have increased rapidly with time, as computer hardware has become smaller and more powerful, resulting in higher equipment density. Data centres are also being designed for longer life spans of 15 years or more, and allowance has to be made for increases in cooling load of the facility during its life span. A minimum spare capacity of 25% should be provided to allow for future expansion.

Heat gains should not be based on nameplate values, as these are generally misleading and imply higher levels of power consumption and heat dissipation than will actually occur. The purpose of a nameplate rating is primarily to indicate the maximum power draw for safety and regulatory approval. Very often, manufacturers provide excess capacity in the power supplies to allow for future product enhancements and upgrades.

Heat loads should be based on manufacturers' data. We recommend obtaining a "Thermal Report" from the equipment manufacturers, in a standardized format. The report should include at least the following information:

  1. Indication of several equipment configurations, for example a minimum configuration, a full configuration and, a typical configuration.
  2. Description of each configuration.
  3. Dimensions and weight for each configuration.
  4. Steady state heat release, in watts, for each configuration, at an ambient temperature range of 20-25 deg.C.
  5. Maximum airflow for each configuration, in cu.m./h at 35 deg.

An example of a thermal report is given below:

Table Summary

Table showing an example of a thermal report with minimum, maximum and typical configurations. Column headings are titled: dimensions, typical heat release watts, nominal airflow, maximum airflow and weight (kg).

Table 1 Sample Thermal Report
Company Name: ABC Company
Product: XYZ Server
Configuration Description Dimensions Typical Nominal Maximum Weight
    (WxDxH) Heat release Airflow Airflow kg
    mm Watts cu.m/h cu.m/h  
Minimum 1 CPU-A, 1GB, 2I/ 764x1016x1828 1765 680 1020 406
Maximum 8 CPU-B, 16GB, 64 I/ 1549x1016x1828 10740 1275 1913 693
Typical 4 CPU-A, 8GB, 32 I/ 764x1016x1828 5040 943 1415 472
Air flow pattern Front to rear          

The equipment layout design team should decide which configuration shall be used, and determine the equipment heat load based on the thermal report from the manufacturer. In most cases, the "typical" configuration would be appropriate, but some designers may want to use the "maximum" configuration, depending upon the requirements for the project.

3.2 Lighting Loads

Lighting levels will generally be the same as for office spaces, as detailed in PWGSC/PSPC Federal Office Building Standards. The actual lighting loads should be followed for design.

3.3 People Load

People load will be based on the occupancy requirements for the computer room. In general, the occupancy will be much lower than for office spaces. Heat generation per person should be calculated using ASHRAE Fundamentals Handbook.

3.4 Building Envelope Heat Gains

In general, computer rooms should be located in interior spaces, so that there is no heat transfer through the building envelope. However, large data centres may be housed in a separate facility, and heat gains from the building envelope should be considered in the design of the air-conditioning system.

3.5 UPS Systems

Heat gains from the UPS/Battery system should be considered, if it is served by the same air-conditioning system as the computer room. In addition, the ventilation requirements for the UPS/Battery system should be considered.

Document "Computer Room Air-conditioning Systems" Navigation

IM 15116 — 2006 Systèmes de conditionnement d'air des salles d'ordinateurs

Chapitre 3 - Charges de refroidissement de calcul

3.1 Charge de refroidissement générée par le matériel informatique

Les apports de chaleur provenant du matériel informatique sont très concentrés et très inégalement répartis dans le local.

Dans les salles d'ordinateurs, les gains thermiques ont augmenté rapidement avec les années, vu que le matériel informatique, devenu plus petit et plus puissant, entraîne une augmentation de la densité d'équipement. Les centres de données sont aussi conçus pour avoir une plus grande longévité, de l'ordre de 15 ans et plus, et on doit tenir compte de l'augmentation de la charge de refroidissement de l'installation au cours de sa durée de vie. On devrait prévoir une capacité de réserve minimale de 25 % pour les agrandissements éventuels.

Les apports de chaleur ne devraient pas être déterminés d'après les valeurs qui figurent sur la plaque signalétique, vu que celles-ci sont souvent trompeuses et supposent des niveaux de consommation électrique et de dissipation de chaleur plus élevés que les niveaux réels. Le but principal de la plaque signalétique est d'indiquer la puissance maximale que l'appareil peut tirer pour fins d'homologation sur le plan de la sécurité et de la réglementation. Très souvent, les fabricants prévoient un surplus de puissance dans l'alimentation électrique pour permettre d'effectuer des améliorations et des mises à niveau ultérieures sur le produit.

Les charges calorifiques devraient être fondées sur les données de fabrication. Nous recommandons un « rapport thermique » fourni par le fabricant du matériel en format normalisé. Ce rapport devrait contenir au moins les éléments suivants :

  1. une indication des diverses configurations du matériel; par exemple, une configuration minimale, une configuration maximale et une configuration typique;
  2. la description de chaque configuration;
  3. les dimensions et le poids pour chaque configuration;
  4. la chaleur dégagée en régime permanent, en watts, pour chaque configuration, pour une plage de température ambiante de 20 °C à 25 °C;
  5. le débit d'air maximum pour chaque configuration, en m 3/h à 35 °C.

Voici un exemple de rapport thermique :

Sommaire du tableau

Le tableau donne des exemples de rapport thermique, notamment les configurations minimale, maximale et typique. Voici les titres des colonnes : dimensions, dgagement de chaleur typique (en watts), dbit d'air nominal, dbit d'air maximal et poids (en kilogramme).

Tableau 1 : Exemple de rapport thermique
Nom de la compagnie : Compagnie ABC
Produit : Serveur XYZ
Configuration Description Dimensions Dégagem. de Nominal Maximal Poids
    (WxDxH) chaleur typ. Débit d'air Débit d'air kg
    mm Watts cu.m/h cu.m/h  
Minimale 1 CPU-A, 1GB, 2I/ 764x1016x1828 1765 680 1020 406
Maximale 8 CPU-B, 16GB, 64 I/ 1549x1016x1828 10740 1275 1913 693
Typique 4 CPU-A, 8GB, 32 I/ 764x1016x1828 5040 943 1415 472
Type de débit d'air De l'avant vers l'arrière          

L'équipe de conception chargée de l'agencement du matériel devrait déterminer la configuration à utiliser ainsi que la charge calorifique du matériel d'après le rapport thermique du fabricant. Dans la plupart des cas, la configuration « typique » serait appropriée, mais certains concepteurs peuvent vouloir utiliser la configuration « maximale » selon les exigences du projet.

3.2 Charges d'éclairage

Les niveaux d'éclairage sont en général les mêmes que ceux des locaux à bureaux, tel qu'il est indiqué dans les Normes pour les immeubles à bureaux de TPSGC/SPAC. Les charges d'éclairage réelles devraient être appliquées dans le design.

3.3 Charge d'occupation

La charge d'occupation sera déterminée en fonction des besoins de la salle d'ordinateurs en matière d'occupation. En général, le taux d'occupation sera beaucoup plus bas que celui des locaux à bureaux. La chaleur générée par personne devrait être calculée selon l'ASHRAE Fundamentals Handbook.

3.4 Gains thermiques de l'enveloppe du bâtiment

En général, les salles d'ordinateurs devraient être situées dans des locaux intérieurs afin d'éviter les transferts de chaleur vers l'enveloppe du bâtiment. Toutefois, de grands centres de données peuvent être situés dans une installation distincte et, dans la conception d'un système de conditionnement d'air, on devrait tenir compte des apports de chaleur provenant de l'enveloppe du bâtiment.

3.5 Systèmes d'alimentation sans interruption (UPS)

On devrait tenir compte des apports de chaleur provenant des batteries ou des systèmes d'alimentation sans interruption (UPS) si ce type d'alimentation est relié au même système de conditionnement d'air que la salle d'ordinateurs. En outre, les exigences en matière de ventilation devraient être prises en compte dans les systèmes de batterie ou d'alimentation sans interruption.

Navigation pour Document « TPSGC/SPAC Lignes directrices d'ingénierie mécanique »