Knowledge Areas

National Project Management System
Business Projects-IT-Enabled

Public Services and Procurement Canada (PSPC) has incorporated project management knowledge areas as a component of its National Project Management System (NPMS). These knowledge areas describe project management knowledge and practice within the context of the Treasury Board Policy on the Management of Projects and the Project Management Institute (PMI)'s Project Management Body of Knowledge (PMBOK®). In terms of Business Projects-IT-Enabled projects, these processes have been organized into the following ten knowledge areas:

  • Integration management
  • Scope management
  • Time management
  • Cost management
  • Quality management
  • Human resource management
  • Communications management
  • Risk management
  • Procurement management
  • Information management

Aspects of two Business Projects-IT-Enabled knowledge areas have been further developed to reflect the requirements of the IT industry and the Government of Canada (GC) context for Business Projects-IT-Enabled projects.

  • Under scope management, a requirements management process has been developed and added as an annex.
  • Under integration management, a change management process has been developed and attached as an annex.

Business Projects-IT-Enabled will continue to integrate both funding and cost management activities and functions within the single Business Projects-IT-Enabled Cost Management knowledge area.

The deliverables relevant to each of these PMI-based knowledge areas must be updated in the preliminary project plan during the Identification Stage, and subsequently as components of, or attachments to the project management plan during the project delivery stage. Updates will be provided at each phase of the project.