Time Management - Knowledge Area

National Project Management System
Business Projects-IT-Enabled

TITLE:

Time Management Knowledge Area

1. EFFECTIVE DATE:

December 2010

2. AUTHORITY:

This policy related document is issued under the authority of the Deputy Minister, Public Services and Procurement Canada (PSPC).

3. CONTEXT:

This Knowledge Area is to be implemented in conjunction with the PSPC National Project Management System (NPMS) Policy.

4. PURPOSE:

To describe the components and requirements of the NPMS as applied to the management of project time.

5. DETAILS:

Project time management is a subset of project management that includes the activities required to ensure the timely completion of the project. The purpose of scheduling is to provide a roadmap that represents how and when the project will deliver the products defined in the project scope.

The Time Management Plan provides guidance on developing the schedule for project activities and on implementing schedule control activities. The key output of a Time Management Plan is the project schedule, which includes the table of activities and the associated schedule dates when activities and milestones are to take place. Effective scheduling enables the Project Manager to accurately report progress to date, tasks accomplished, tasks in progress as well as percentages of tasks completed to date.

Time management considerations must be applied throughout the life of the project. This process is described below in relation to the ten phases of the NPMS. A Time Management Plan is to be prepared for every project, and associated documents such as the project schedule are to be updated throughout the project lifecycle as the project evolves.

Objectives

The main objective of the Time Management Plan is to provide a methodology for:

  • determining the amount of time and effort required for a project to complete its deliverables;
  • defining a structure to organize the project work;
  • arranging the work in a logical, traceable structure;
  • assigning resources to complete the work;
  • defining the critical path; and
  • managing the schedule and work effort so as to ensure the project completes its deliverables and hands over its product in the most optimal time period.

Time Management Process by NPMS Stage and Phase

Inception Stage

Definition Phase:

Conduct a preliminary assessment and document a business need or opportunity in the form of a Statement of Requirements (SoR) document. The document does not reference project scope, provide a preliminary schedule or suggest a solution at this point. It requests that management provide seed funding for further analysis of the problem.

Identification Stage

Initiation Phase

Provide a high-level preliminary schedule for the Identification Stage activities in the Preliminary Project Plan (PPP) along with a set of proposed milestones and deliverables.

Feasibility Phase

The Feasibility Report, the main deliverable of the Feasibility Phase, identifies all of the viable options and the potential high-level activities related to each option. These will be subject to further analysis. Potential timelines, milestones, deliverables and scheduling constraints are generated for each option as part of this preliminary analysis and included in the report. They are key criteria in the assessment of option viability.

Analysis Phase

During the Analysis Phase a detailed schedule for the Identification Stage and a preliminary schedule for the Delivery Stage are fleshed out. A single, high-level schedule, including the activity list, milestones and deliverables is produced to support the Business Case and the Project Charter. To complete this deliverable, the Project Manager and/or the Schedule Manager perform the following high-level tasks.

  • Consult SMEs for activity and schedule input;
  • Define work, time, calendar and other schedule standards;
  • Describe the work activities and deliverables that must be accomplished;
  • Sequence activities;
  • Define the required resource skill sets;
  • Create a logic structure;
  • Create unique IDs for resources, activities and logic;
  • Identify and allocate resources;
  • Overlay the project activity structure, resources and the logic structure upon the project calendar;
  • Optimize the schedule while addressing the client requirement;
  • Create the schedule baseline; and
  • Obtain approval.

Resources report their progress on completing their deliverables. The Project Manager or Schedule Manager generates performance and progress reports to the Sponsor and Governance Committee (if there is one at this stage).

Identification Close Out Phase:

The purpose of the Identification Close Out Phase is to ensure an appropriate level of assessment, reporting, evaluation, hand-over, and administrative closure has taken place that will provide enough directional detail for the (delivery organization) Project Manager to seamlessly proceed to the Delivery Stage.

In light of the Preliminary Project Approval (PPA) decision, obtained in the Analysis Phase, ensure that this phase has an updated schedule and performance reports and/or records of progress.

Delivery Stage

The Project Manager, in conjunction with the project team, elicits input from relevant Subject Matter Experts and consults Lessons Learned and historic performance records:

  • to create a schedule/time management plan; and
  • to flesh out the preliminary schedule for the delivery of the approved option.

Planning Phase

To complete the Delivery Stage Time Management Plan and a project delivery Schedule, the Project Manager or the Schedule Manager repeats the schedule development process followed during the Analysis Phase. The Time Management Plan produced during this process is normally included as a subsidiary plan within the PMP. This iterative process includes the following steps:

  • Consult SMEs for activity and schedule input;
  • Refine work, time, calendar and other schedule standards previously established;
  • Describe the work activities and deliverables that must be accomplished;
  • Sequence activities;
  • Define the required resource skill sets for the project, technical and business teams;
  • Update the logic structure;
  • Create additional unique IDs for resources, activities and logic;
  • Identify and allocate resources;
  • Overlay the updated project activity structure, resources and the logic structure upon the updated calendar;
  • Optimize the schedule, while addressing the client requirement;
  • Create the schedule baseline; and
  • Obtain approval.

As with the Identification Stage, resources report their actuals and the progress on the completion of their deliverables. The Project Manager or Schedule Manager generates performance and progress reports to the Sponsor and Governance Committees.

In the Delivery Stage, the nature of the iterative project and product design and development process demands increased control.

Schedule changes are made in accordance with the project Change Management Process. New resource and activity codes are created. Estimates are refined to reflect the approved changes. As status information is entered into the schedule and the remaining work re-analyzed to determine the project status, incomplete work is rescheduled and other scheduling adjustments are made. The newly updated schedule output is compared to the stored baseline, and, where necessary, actions are employed to manage schedule variances. The baseline is updated, in accordance with authorized schedule changes. As alterations are made in the schedule, records are updated to reflect and to explain all changes in activity durations or logic. Approved schedule changes are incorporated into an updated PMP, including an updated milestone table.

Design Phase

The time and resources required for the timely completion of project activities are continually refined and optimized. Resources input their actuals, or alternatively, Schedule Managers enter data as supplied by the resources. Work teams discuss progress and optimize their workload. The Schedule Manager or the Project Manager monitors progress. Progress and performance reports are generated. Schedule changes are made in accordance with the project Change Management Process. New resource and activity codes are created. Estimates are refined to reflect the approved changes. Status information is entered into the schedule and the remaining work re-analyzed to determine the project status, incomplete work is rescheduled and scheduling adjustments are made.

The final implementation schedule is approved at the Effective Project Approval (EPA) control point.

Implementation Phase

During Implementation Phase, the time requirements and resources required for the timely completion of project implementation activities are continually refined. Resources input their actuals or alternatively the Schedule Manager or Project Manager enters data as supplied by the resources. Work teams discuss progress and optimize work. The Schedule Manager or the Project Manager monitors progress. Progress and performance reports are generated. Testing data and stakeholder input generate data change requests which must be reviewed for their impact to scope, schedule, and cost. Schedule changes are made in accordance with the project Change Management Process. Risks and issues are addressed. New resource and activity codes are created. Estimates are refined to reflect the approved changes. Status information is entered into the schedule and the remaining work re-analyzed to determine the project status, incomplete work is rescheduled and scheduling adjustments are made.

Delivery Close-Out Phase

Once the project is complete, the project team prepares the Project Close Out Document, including lessons learned and conducts the administrative and contract close Out activities, documenting the process thoroughly. The project schedule is updated to reflect the end-state. Final actuals are input. The change log attached to the Time/Schedule Management Plan must be updated to summarize all changes affecting the schedule that was proposed, and if the change was approved, to detail the implementation activities and the consequences of the change.

6. TIME:

This Knowledge Area applies to all PSPC Business Projects-IT-Enabled.

7. DEFINITIONS:

Project Schedule
The planned dates for performing schedule activities and the planned dates for meeting schedule milestones. - (Project Management Body of Knowledge)
Schedule Activity
A discrete scheduled component of work performed during the course of a project. A schedule activity normally has an estimated duration, an estimated cost and estimated resource requirements. Schedule activities are connected to other schedule activities or schedule milestones with logical relationships, and are decomposed from work packages. - PMBOK®
Schedule Milestone
A significant event, time constraint or achievement in the project schedule. Milestones may constrain future work delivery timelines or mark the completion of a deliverable. A schedule milestone has zero duration.
Schedule/Time Management Plan
The document that establishes criteria and the activities for developing and controlling the project schedule. It is contained or is a subsidiary plan of the Project Management Plan. - PMBOK®
Variance
Variance is "a quantifiable deviation, departure, or divergence away from a known baseline or expected value." - PMBOK®

8. RESPONSIBILITIES:

All parties responsible for developing Time Management Plans are strongly encouraged to consult with other project leaders/managers and senior project managers. It is also recommended that project managers and schedulers seek advice from technical experts and other SMEs within PSPC when producing/updating the Work Breakdown Structure, schedules and plans.

Project Lead (Business Side)

The Project Director/Project Lead defines the business need or opportunity, leads the identification stage activities and represents the client during delivery. The specific responsibilities include:

  • planning, controlling and providing overall management oversight of the entire project in accordance with the NPMS Framework for Business Projects-IT-Enabled;
  • setting general direction and priorities;
  • authorizing all planning documents;
  • reviewing and endorsing the Project Charter;
  • approving the Project Management Plan and other project deliverables;
  • being accountable for budgets;
  • recommending major changes that impact scope, time and cost;
  • approving changes that do not impact hard milestones and costs;
  • monitoring progress;
  • assigning/authorizing resources;
  • liaising with the project steering committee;
  • acting as primary project interface between the business and the project teams; and
  • being accountable for any project procurement activity (or delegates this to a Procurement Manager).

Project Manager

The Project Manager is responsible for:

  • Creating the Time Management Plan;
  • Providing input to the schedule development process;
  • Assigning resources to project work packages, roles and responsibilities;
  • Ensuring project resources provide time updates and work progress input to the schedule tracking and maintenance activities; and
  • Reporting on the schedule.

Schedule Manager

Note: A dedicated resource may be required to fill the Schedule Manager role in larger projects; otherwise it normally is filled by the (delivery) Project Manager.

The Schedule Manager is responsible for the following activities:

  • Analyzing the project Work Breakdown Structure, Project Scope Statement and collecting schedule development inputs from SMEs and Project Team members;
  • Defining the Project Schedule standards, work components, structure, resource associations, activity sequences, project milestones and logic;
  • Creating the schedule and associating resources to work tasks;
  • Conducting resource levelling;
  • Baselining the schedule;
  • Collecting work and time data and analyzing outputs for management reporting purposes;
  • Making changes to the schedule in accordance with approved schedule and scope changes; and
  • Maintaining the Project Schedule.

Subject Matter Experts

Subject Matter Experts that directly participate in the project are responsible for providing input to project schedule analysis and definition.

Project Team

The Project Team is responsible for the following activities:

  • Reviewing and providing input to project schedule analysis and definition;
  • Performing their assigned tasks in accordance with the baselined schedule; and
  • Submitting time and work progress reports as part of schedule maintenance and work tracking.

9. REFERENCES:

10. ATTACHMENTS:

Nil

11. ENQUIRIES:

Please direct enquiries about this Knowledge Area to the Director, Centre of Excellence, ITSB Project Delivery Office.

Gestion du temps - Domaine de connaissances

Système national de gestion de projet
Projets opérationnels appuyés par les TI

TITRE :

Domaine de connaissances de la gestion du temps

1. DATE D'ENTRÉE EN VIGUEUR :

Décembre 2010

2. AUTORITÉ :

Le présent document est publié avec l'autorisation du sous-ministre, Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada (SPAC).

3. CONTEXTE :

Le présent domaine de connaissances sera mis en œuvre à l'aide de la politique sur le Système national de gestion de projets (SNGP) de SPAC.

4. OBJECTIF :

Décrire les composantes et les exigences du SNGP qui s'appliquent à la gestion du temps d'un projet.

5. RENSEIGNEMENTS :

La gestion du temps est un sous-ensemble de la gestion de projet qui regroupe les activités nécessaires à la réalisation opportune du projet. L'objectif de l'établissement d'un calendrier est de créer une feuille de route qui précise la manière dont l'équipe de projet livrera les produits définis dans la portée, et le moment où elle le fera.

Le plan de gestion du temps oriente l'élaboration du calendrier des activités et la mise en œuvre des activités de contrôle du calendrier. Le principal extrant du plan de gestion du temps est le calendrier de projet, qui contient le tableau des activités et les dates auxquelles les activités doivent être terminées et les jalons atteints. Un bon calendrier permet au gestionnaire de projet d'établir des rapports exacts sur l'état d'avancement du projet, les tâches accomplies, les tâches en cours ainsi que le pourcentage des tâches réalisées.

La gestion du temps doit être prise en compte pendant toute la durée d'un projet. Ce processus est décrit ci-dessous en fonction des neuf phases du SNGP. Un plan de gestion du temps doit être préparé pour chaque projet; les documents connexes, comme le calendrier, doivent être mis à jour tout le long du cycle de vie du projet, au fil de l'évolution de ce dernier.

Objectif

L'objectif principal d'un plan de gestion du temps consiste à fournir une méthode permettant de :

  • déterminer le temps et les efforts nécessaires pour réaliser les produits livrables d'un projet;
  • définir la structure selon laquelle les travaux relatifs au projet seront organisés;
  • organiser les travaux selon une structure logique et traçable;
  • affecter les ressources nécessaires à la réalisation des travaux;
  • définir le chemin critique;
  • gérer l'échéancier et l'effort de travail de sorte que l'équipe de projet termine les produits livrables et les livrer au moment le plus opportun.

Processus de gestion du temps en fonction
des étapes et des phases du SNGP

Étape de début de projet

Phase de définition

Effectuer une première évaluation et documenter le besoin opérationnel ou l'occasion d'affaires sous la forme d'un énoncé des exigences. À ce stade-ci, le document ne traite pas de la portée du projet, ne fournit pas de calendrier préliminaire et ne propose aucune solution. Il s'agit simplement de demander à la direction de fournir un financement de démarrage pour faire une analyse plus approfondie du problème.

Étape d'identification de projet

Phase de lancement

L'équipe de projet fournit un calendrier préliminaire concernant les activités de l'étape d'identification du projet contenues dans le Plan préliminaire de projet (PPP), ainsi qu'un ensemble de jalons et de produits livrables proposés.

Phase de la faisabilité

Le rapport de la faisabilité, qui est le principal produit livrable de la phase de faisabilité, contient toutes les options viables et toutes les activités globales éventuelles relatives à chacune de ces options. Ces dernières feront l'objet d'une analyse plus approfondie. Des échéanciers, des jalons, des produits livrables et des contraintes de calendrier éventuels sont préparés pour chaque option dans le cadre de l'analyse préliminaire et sont intégrés au rapport. Ce sont des critères importants de l'évaluation de la viabilité d'une option.

Phase de l'analyse

Durant la phase de l'analyse, un calendrier détaillé pour l'étape d'identification et un calendrier préliminaire pour l'étape de réalisation sont élaborés. Un calendrier unique global, qui comprend la liste des activités, des jalons et des produits livrables, est établi à l'appui de l'analyse de rentabilisation et de l'arrêté de projet. Pour générer ce produit livrable, le gestionnaire de projet ou le gestionnaire du calendrier effectue les tâches suivantes :

  • consulter les experts en la matière afin d'obtenir leurs commentaires sur les activités et le calendrier;
  • définir les normes relatives, par exemple, aux travaux, au temps et au calendrier;
  • décrire les activités qui doivent être accomplies et les produits livrables qui doivent être réalisés;
  • établir la séquence des activités;
  • définir les compétences requises;
  • créer une structure logique;
  • créer des identificateurs uniques pour les ressources, les activités et la structure logique;
  • identifier et affecter les ressources;
  • superposer la structure d'activité du projet, les ressources et la structure logique dans le calendrier;
  • optimiser le calendrier tout en répondant aux exigences du client;
  • créer la base de référence du calendrier;
  • faire les approbations nécessaires.

Les ressources doivent rendre compte des progrès qu'elles font en ce qui concerne l'achèvement des produits livrables. Le gestionnaire de projet ou le gestionnaire du calendrier prépare des rapports sur le rendement et des rapports d'étape à l'intention du promoteur ou du comité de gouvernance (s'il est formé à ce stade-ci).

Phase de la clôture de l'étape d'identification

La phase de la clôture de l'étape d'identification vise à garantir que le nécessaire a été fait en ce qui concerne l'appréciation, l'établissement de rapports, l'évaluation, le transfert et les activités de clôture administrative, pour que le gestionnaire de projet (organisation chargée de la réalisation) dispose de renseignements suffisants pour procéder sans heurt à l'étape de réalisation.

À la suite de l'approbation préliminaire de projet, obtenue lors de la phase de l'analyse, l'équipe de projet s'assure qu'un calendrier mis à jour, des rapports sur le rendement et des rapports d'étape ont été préparés pour la présente phase.

Étape de réalisation de projet

Le gestionnaire de projet, conjointement avec l'équipe de projet, demande aux experts en la matière pertinents de donner leur avis et consulte les documents sur les leçons apprises et les dossiers de rendement antérieurs afin :

  • de créer un plan de gestion du temps et un calendrier;
  • d'améliorer le calendrier préliminaire relatif à la réalisation de l'option approuvée.

Phase de la planification

Afin d'élaborer le plan de gestion du temps de l'étape de réalisation et un calendrier de réalisation, le gestionnaire de projet ou le gestionnaire du calendrier doit répéter le processus d'établissement d'un calendrier exécuté au cours de la phase de l'analyse. En règle générale, le plan de gestion du temps élaboré au moyen de ce processus est un plan complémentaire au plan de gestion de projet. Ce processus itératif comprend les tâches suivantes :

  • consulter les experts en la matière afin d'obtenir leurs commentaires sur les activités et le calendrier;
  • préciser les normes établies plus tôt sur, par exemple, les travaux, le temps et le calendrier;
  • décrire les activités qui doivent être accomplies et les produits livrables qui doivent être réalisés;
  • établir la séquence des activités;
  • définir les compétences que les membres de l'équipe de projet et des équipes technique et opérationnelle doivent posséder;
  • mettre à niveau la structure logique;
  • créer des identificateurs uniques supplémentaires pour les ressources, les activités et la structure logique;
  • identifier et affecter les ressources;
  • superposer la structure d'activité du projet, les ressources et la structure logique dans le calendrier mis à jour;
  • optimiser le calendrier tout en répondant aux exigences du client;
  • créer la base de référence du calendrier;
  • faire les approbations nécessaires.

Comme c'est le cas à l'étape d'identification, les ressources rendent compte des résultats obtenus et de l'état d'avancement des produits livrables. Le gestionnaire de projet ou le gestionnaire du calendrier prépare des rapports sur le rendement et des rapports d'étape à l'intention du promoteur et des comités de gouvernance.

Durant l'étape de réalisation, la nature itérative du projet et du processus de conception et d'élaboration du produit nécessite un contrôle accru.

Les changements apportés au calendrier le sont conformément au processus de gestion des changements. Des nouveaux codes d'activités et de ressources sont créés. Les estimations sont révisées de manière à refléter les changements approuvés. Les renseignements sur l'état sont intégrés au calendrier et les travaux restants sont analysés de nouveau, afin de déterminer l'état d'avancement du projet. Ensuite, les travaux incomplets sont reportés et d'autres modifications sont apportées au calendrier. Le calendrier mis à jour est comparé avec la base de référence contenue dans les dossiers et, si nécessaire, des mesures sont prises afin de gérer les écarts. La base de référence est mise à jour en fonction des changements autorisés qui ont été apportés au calendrier. Les dossiers sont mis à jour au fur et à mesure que le calendrier est modifié, afin de refléter les changements apportés à la durée des activités et à la structure logique, et de les expliquer. Les changements au calendrier approuvés sont intégrés au plan de gestion de projet mis à jour, qui comporte un tableau actualisé des jalons.

Phase de conception

Le temps et les ressources nécessaires pour la réalisation opportune des activités du projet sont constamment précisés et optimisés. Les ressources enregistrent les résultats obtenus, ou les gestionnaires du calendrier saisissent les données qui leur sont fournies par les ressources. Les équipes de travail discutent de l'état d'avancement du projet et optimisent leur charge de travail. Le gestionnaire du calendrier ou le gestionnaire de projet surveille l'avancement. Des rapports d'étape et des rapports sur le rendement sont préparés. Les changements apportés au calendrier le sont conformément au processus de gestion des changements. Des nouveaux codes d'activités et de ressources sont créés. Les estimations sont révisées de manière à refléter les changements approuvés. Les renseignements sur l'état sont intégrés au calendrier et les travaux restants sont analysés de nouveau, afin de déterminer l'état d'avancement du projet. Ensuite, les travaux incomplets sont reportés et d'autres modifications sont apportées au calendrier.

Le calendrier de mise en œuvre définitif est approuvé au point de vérification de l'approbation définitive de projet.

Phase de mise en œuvre

Au cours de la phase de mise en œuvre, les exigences en matière de temps et de ressources nécessaires à la réalisation opportune des activités du projet sont constamment précisées. Les ressources enregistrent les résultats obtenus, ou le gestionnaire du calendrier ou le gestionnaire de projet saisit les données qui lui sont fournies par les ressources. Les équipes de travail discutent de l'état d'avancement du projet et optimisent les travaux. Le gestionnaire du calendrier ou le gestionnaire de projet surveille l'avancement. Des rapports d'étape et des rapports sur le rendement sont préparés. Les données sur les mises à l'essai et les commentaires des intervenants entraînent la création de demandes de changement visant les données. Ces demandes doivent être évaluées afin d'en déterminer les répercussions sur la portée, le calendrier et les coûts. Les changements apportés au calendrier le sont conformément au processus de gestion des changements. Les risques et les problèmes sont réglés. Des nouveaux codes d'activités et de ressources sont créés. Les estimations sont révisées de manière à refléter les changements approuvés. Les renseignements sur l'état sont intégrés au calendrier et les travaux restants sont analysés de nouveau, afin de déterminer l'état d'avancement du projet. Ensuite, les travaux incomplets sont reportés et d'autres modifications sont apportées au calendrier.

Phase de clôture de l'étape de réalisation

Lorsque le projet est achevé, l'équipe de projet prépare le document de clôture de projet, dont les leçons apprises, et réalise les activités administratives et les activités de clôture du contrat, et consigne le processus de façon approfondie. Le calendrier de projet est mis à jour afin de refléter l'état final. Les résultats définitifs sont saisis. Le registre des changements lié au plan de gestion du temps ou du calendrier doit être mis à jour afin de résumer tous les changements proposés qui ont des répercussions sur le calendrier. Si un changement est approuvé, les activités de mise en œuvre et les conséquences du changement sont décrites dans le registre.

6. TEMPS :

Le présent domaine de connaissances s'applique à tous les projets opérationnels appuyés par les TI de SPAC.

7. DÉFINITIONS :

Calendrier du projet
Le calendrier contient les dates prévues de réalisation des activités et les dates prévues d'atteinte des jalons. Source : Guide du corpus des connaissances en management de projet (Guide PMBOK®)
Activité du calendrier
Un élément de travail distinct devant être effectué au cours d'un projet. Habituellement, pour chaque activité, on estime la durée, le coût et les exigences en matière de ressources. Les activités sont associées à d'autres activités ou jalons du calendrier par des liens logiques et, regroupées, elles forment des blocs de tâches. Source : Guide PMBOK®
Jalon du calendrier
Un jalon est un évènement important, une contrainte de temps ou une réalisation dans le calendrier du projet. Les jalons peuvent restreindre les échéanciers de réalisation des travaux à venir, ou signaler l'achèvement d'un produit livrable. Un jalon a une durée nulle.
Plan de gestion du temps ou du calendrier
Il s'agit du document qui établit les critères et les activités associés à l'élaboration et au contrôle du calendrier de projet. Il fait partie du plan de gestion de projet ou constitue un plan complémentaire à ce dernier. Source : Guide PMBOK®
Écart
Un écart est une dérogation ou une divergence par rapport à une base de référence déterminée ou à une valeur prévue. Source : Guide PMBOK®

8. RESPONSABILITÉS :

On encourage fortement toutes les parties responsables de l'élaboration des plan de gestion du temps à consulter les autres chefs de projets et gestionnaires de projet ainsi que les gestionnaires principaux de projet. On recommande également aux gestionnaires de projet et aux ordonnanciers de demander des conseils aux experts techniques et à d'autres experts en la matière de SPAC lorsqu'ils produiront ou mettront à jour la structure de répartition du travail (SRT), les calendriers et les plans.

Chef de projet (aspect opérationnel)

Le chef de projet ou le directeur de projet définit les besoins opérationnels ou les occasions, dirige les activités de l'étape d'identification et représente le client pendant la réalisation. Plus particulièrement, ses responsabilités sont les suivantes :

  • planifier, contrôler et assurer une surveillance générale de la gestion du projet conformément au cadre du SNGP pour les projets opérationnels appuyés par les TI;
  • établir l'orientation générale et les priorités du projet;
  • autoriser tous les documents de planification;
  • examiner et approuver l'arrêté de projet;
  • approuver le plan de gestion de projet et d'autres produits livrables;
  • assumer la responsabilité des budgets;
  • faire des recommandations quant aux principaux changements qui auront une incidence sur la portée, l'échéancier et les coûts;
  • approuver les changements qui n'auront pas d'incidence sur les jalons fermes et les coûts;
  • surveiller les progrès;
  • affecter des ressources ou approuver des affectations;
  • assurer la liaison avec le comité directeur du projet;
  • agir à titre de principal interlocuteur entre l'équipe responsable des activités et l'équipe de projet;
  • assumer la responsabilité des activités d'approvisionnement dans le cadre du projet (ou déléguer cette tâche à un gestionnaire de l'approvisionnement).

Gestionnaire de projet

Le gestionnaire de projet est chargé :

  • créer le plan de gestion du temps;
  • contribuer au processus d'élaboration du calendrier;
  • affecter les ressources aux blocs de tâches du projet, leur confier leurs rôles et responsabilités;
  • s'assurer que les ressources du projet rendent compte des mises à jour du calendrier et de l'état d'avancement des travaux dans le cadre des activités de tenue et de surveillance du calendrier;
  • établir des rapports sur le calendrier.

Gestionnaire du calendrier

Remarque : Une personne pourrait devoir être affectée exclusivement au poste de gestionnaire du calendrier dans le cadre de projets d'envergure; autrement, en règle générale, ce rôle est joué par le gestionnaire de projet (réalisation).

Le gestionnaire du calendrier est responsable des activités suivantes :

  • analyser la SRT et l'énoncé de la portée du projet, et regrouper les commentaires sur l'élaboration du calendrier formulés par les experts en la matière et les membres de l'équipe de projet;
  • définir les normes relatives au calendrier du projet, les composants des travaux, la structure, les associations de ressources, les séquences d'activités, les jalons et la structure logique;
  • créer le calendrier et associer les ressources aux tâches;
  • effectuer le nivellement des ressources;
  • établir la base de référence du calendrier;
  • regrouper les données sur les travaux et les échéanciers, et analyser les extrants aux fins d'établissement de rapports de gestion;
  • apporter des changements au calendrier en fonction des changements à la portée et au calendrier approuvés;
  • tenir le calendrier du projet à jour.

Experts en la matière

Les experts en la matière qui participent directement au projet sont responsables de formuler des commentaires sur l'analyse et la définition du calendrier du projet.

Équipe de projet

L'équipe de projet doit exécuter les tâches suivantes :

  • effectuer une évaluation de l'analyse et de la définition du calendrier du projet, et contribuer à l'analyse et à la définition;
  • effectuer les tâches qui lui sont assignées conformément au calendrier de base;
  • présenter des rapports sur l'état d'avancement des travaux dans le cadre de la surveillance et de la tenue du calendrier.

9. RÉFÉRENCES :

10. PIÈCES JOINTES :

Aucune

11. DEMANDES DE RENSEIGNEMENTS :

Veuillez adresser toute demande de renseignements relative au présent domaine de connaissances au directeur, Centre d'excellence, Bureau d'exécution des projets, DGSIT.