Translation Bureau organizational information

Learn more about the Translation Bureau’s mission, main activities, chief executive officer, organizational structure and other useful information.

Follow:

On this page

Mission

The Bureau shall collaborate with and act for all departments, boards, agencies and commissions established by Act of Parliament or appointed by order of the Governor in Council and collaborate with and act for both Houses of Parliament in all matters relating to the making and revising of translations from one language into another of documents, including correspondence, reports, proceedings, debates, bills and Acts, and to conference and sign-language interpretation, oral transliteration and terminology.

Translation Bureau services

The Translation Bureau offers language services and tools to federal departments and agencies and to Parliament. These services are offered in:

  • the two official languages
  • Indigenous languages
  • foreign languages
  • sign languages
  • English and French oral transliteration

The resources of the Language Portal of Canada include tools such as:

It also manages and develops the resources of the Language Portal of Canada.

Lastly, it has posted a language comprehension tool online, in collaboration with the National Research Council of Canada, for federal public servants.

Translation Bureau Chief Executive Officer

Lucie Séguin

Lucie Séguin was appointed Chief Executive Officer of the Translation Bureau, Public Services and Procurement Canada in August 2019. Her key focus is to continue to position the Bureau as a center of excellence in linguistic services for the Government of Canada and a leader in adopting artificial intelligence while ensuring language quality.

Lucie oversees all the translation, interpretation and terminology services that the Bureau provides in both official languages, and in more than 100 Indigenous and foreign languages, to federal government departments and agencies, as well as to the Canadian Parliament.

Before being appointed Chief Executive Officer, Lucie spent more than three years as the Vice-President of Corporate Services at the Bureau, where she led, with the CEO, the development of a modernized vision. She also developed new contractual instruments to ensure high-quality translation and interpretation services, in collaboration with industry stakeholders.

Prior to this role, Lucie was the Director General of Policy and Strategic Research at Library and Archives Canada and Director of Policy of the Deputy Minister of Natural Resources Canada, where she gained considerable experience in program management and policy development.

Lucie holds a bachelor’s degree in education, a Master of Public Administration and a Chartered Professional Accountants Canada certification.

Organizational structure

Translation Bureau organizational structure - Description below
Image description

The Translation Bureau is led by a Chief Executive Officer (CEO).

It is made up of 4 business lines, each with several sub-business lines:

  1. Technology and Innovation:
    • Technology
    • Innovation
  2. Policy and Corporate Services (This directorate includes two teams that are integrated into the structure of the Bureau and support its operations, but report directly to Public Services and Procurement Canada: Integrated Human Resources Services for the Translation Bureau, and Financial Management):
    • Resources Management
    • Policy, Planning and Outreach
    • Information, Accommodation and Project Management
  3. Linguistic Services:
    • Business Development
    • French Translation
    • Terminology, English and Multilingual Translation and Professional Support
  4. Services to Parliament and Interpretation:
    • Parliamentary Translation and Special Initiatives
    • Interpretation
    • Resource Planning and Administration

Related links

Report

Our Services, Standards and Results 2019 to 2020

Open data

Video

Our people at work—Carly Johnson, parliamentary interpreter

Information

Contact the Translation Bureau

Date modified:

Renseignements organisationnels du Bureau de la traduction

Apprenez-en davantage sur la mission du Bureau de la traduction, ses principales activités, sa présidente-directrice générale, sa structure organisationnelle et autres renseignements pertinents.

Suivez:

Sur cette page

Mission

Le Bureau a pour mission de servir les ministères et autres organismes institués par une loi fédérale ou par un décret en conseil, ainsi que les deux Chambres du Parlement, pour tout ce qui concerne la traduction et la révision de leurs documents : notamment rapports, débats, projets de loi, lois, procès-verbaux ou comptes rendus, correspondance, ainsi que l’interprétation des conférences, l’interprétation en langues des signes, la translittération orale et la terminologie.

Services du Bureau de la traduction

Le Bureau de la traduction offre des services et des outils linguistiques aux ministères et aux organismes fédéraux, ainsi qu’au Parlement. Ces services sont offerts :

Les ressources du Portail linguistique du Canada comprennent des outils comme :

Présidente-directrice générale du Bureau de la traduction

Lucie Séguin

Lucie Séguin a été nommée présidente-directrice générale du Bureau de la traduction de Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada en août 2019. Son principal objectif est de continuer à faire du Bureau un centre d’excellence en matière de services linguistiques pour le gouvernement du Canada et un chef de file dans l’adoption de l’intelligence artificielle tout en assurant la qualité linguistique.

Mme Séguin dirige tous les services de traduction, d’interprétation et de terminologie que le Bureau offre dans les deux langues officielles et dans plus de 100 langues autochtones et étrangères aux ministères et organismes fédéraux, ainsi qu’au Parlement du Canada.

Avant d’être nommée présidente-directrice générale, Mme Séguin a passé plus de trois ans à la vice-présidence des Services intégrés, où elle a dirigé, de concert avec le président-directeur général, l’élaboration d’une vision modernisée. Elle a également mis au point de nouveaux instruments contractuels pour assurer des services de traduction et d’interprétation de grande qualité, en collaboration avec les intervenants de l’industrie.

Auparavant, elle a occupé les postes de directrice générale de Politiques et recherche Stratégique à Bibliothèque et Archives Canada et directrice de Politiques du sous-ministre à Ressources naturelles Canada. Elle y a acquis une solide expérience de la gestion de programmes et de l’établissement de politiques.

Mme Séguin est titulaire d’un baccalauréat en éducation, d’une maîtrise en administration publique et d’un agrément de Comptables professionnels agréés du Canada.

Structure organisationnelle

Structure organisationnel du Bureau de la traduction- Description ci-dessous
Description de l'image

Le Bureau de la traduction est dirigé par une présidente-directrice générale (PDG).

Il est structuré en 4 secteurs d’activités qui comprennent chacun divers sous-secteurs :

  • Technologie et Innovation :
    • Technologie
    • Innovation
  • Politiques et Services intégrés (Cette direction comprend deux équipes qui sont intégrées dans la structure du Bureau et appuient son fonctionnement, mais qui relèvent directement de Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada : les Services intégrés de ressources humaines pour le Bureau de la traduction et les Services consultatifs en gestion financière) :
    • Gestion des ressources
    • Politiques, Planification et Rayonnement
    • Gestion de l’information, des locaux et des projets
  • Services linguistiques :
    • Développement des affaires
    • Traduction française
    • Terminologie, Traduction anglaise et multilingue et Appui professionnel
  • Services au Parlement et Interprétation :
    • Traduction parlementaire et Projets spéciaux
    • Interprétation
    • Planification des ressources et Administration

Liens connexes

Rapport

Nos services, nos normes et nos résultats 2019 à 2020

Données ouvertes

Vidéo

Apprenez à nous connaître – Carly Johnson, interprète parlementaire

Renseignements

Communiquer avec le Bureau de la traduction

Date de modification :