Using new language technologies and machine translation

Read about the Translation’s Bureau’s approach to and advice on new language technologies and machine translation.

On this page

To use or not to use machine translation, that is the question

Today’s machine translation tools are fast and easy to use and can sometimes produce impressive results. However, they do have drawbacks that should be kept in mind:

In addition, their servers are often located outside the country and can store the information that is provided to them, which is a threat to confidentiality.

This is why the Translation Bureau recommends using machine translation only if:

If any one of these criteria is not met and you are part of the Government of Canada, use the quality services offered by the Translation Bureau (available on the Government of Canada network only).

Note

Do you have a machine translation that you would like the Translation Bureau to revise? You should know that it often takes longer for the Translation Bureau to revise a machine translation than it does to translate it. Send us the original text and our highly qualified employees will use the best tools to efficiently produce a high-quality translation.

New language technologies, the Translation Bureau and you

Technology is evolving quickly, and more and more tools are available to meet all linguistic needs. That said, support from language specialists remains essential to ensure the quality of a translation. This is why the Translation Bureau has been investing in the best tools and training its employees to use them for a long time. Our goal is to serve our clients in the most efficient manner, combining the power of technology and our employees’ expertise to produce the highest quality results.

Since each person and organization has different needs, operations and means, the Translation Bureau can’t offer advice on choosing the best tool. For this very reason, the Translation Bureau doesn’t make its own tools available to other organizations.

Are you part of the Government of Canada? We can save you the trouble of choosing: entrust your linguistic needs to the Translation Bureau (available on the Government of Canada network only)! As the exclusive employer of translators, terminologists and interpreters in the Government of Canada’s core administration, the Translation Bureau has highly qualified employees who are able to put the best technology at your service.

Related links

Date modified:

Utilisation des nouvelles technologies langagières et de la traduction automatique

Découvrez l’approche et les conseils du Bureau de la traduction en ce qui concerne les nouvelles technologies langagières et la traduction automatique.

Sur cette page

Utiliser ou ne pas utiliser la traduction automatique, telle est la question

Les outils de traduction automatique sont aujourd’hui faciles d’accès et rapides, et ils donnent parfois des résultats impressionnants. Cependant, ils présentent des inconvénients qu’il faut garder à l’esprit :

De plus, leurs serveurs se trouvent souvent à l’étranger et ils peuvent garder en mémoire l’information qui leur est fournie, ce qui représente un danger pour la confidentialité.

C’est pourquoi le Bureau de la traduction recommande d’utiliser la traduction automatique seulement si :

Si l’un de ces critères n’est pas rempli et que vous faites partie du gouvernement du Canada, faites plutôt appel aux services de qualité du Bureau de la traduction (accessible uniquement sur le réseau du gouvernement du Canada) .

Remarque

Vous avez obtenu une traduction automatique et vous aimeriez que le Bureau de la traduction la révise? Sachez qu’il est souvent plus long pour le Bureau de réviser une traduction automatique que de traduire lui-même le texte. Envoyez-nous plutôt votre texte original, et notre personnel hautement qualifié utilisera les meilleurs outils pour produire efficacement une traduction de qualité.

Les nouvelles technologies langagières, le Bureau de la traduction et vous

La technologie évolue rapidement, et de plus en plus d’outils sont offerts pour répondre à tous les besoins linguistiques. Cela dit, l’appui de spécialistes de la langue demeure indispensable pour garantir la qualité d’une traduction. C’est pourquoi le Bureau de la traduction investit depuis longtemps afin de disposer des meilleurs outils et de former son personnel à les utiliser. Notre objectif consiste à servir notre clientèle de manière toujours plus efficace, en alliant la puissance de la technologie et le savoir-faire de notre personnel pour produire un résultat de la plus haute qualité.

Puisque chaque personne et chaque organisation a des besoins, un fonctionnement et des moyens différents, le Bureau de la traduction n’est pas en mesure d’offrir des conseils sur le choix du meilleur outil. Pour la même raison, le Bureau de la traduction ne met pas ses propres outils à la disposition d’autres organisations.

Vous faites partie du gouvernement du Canada? Nous pouvons vous éviter l’embarras du choix : confiez vos besoins linguistiques au Bureau de la traduction (accessible uniquement sur le réseau du gouvernement du Canada)! À titre d’employeur exclusif des traducteurs, terminologues et interprètes au sein de l’administration centrale du gouvernement du Canada, le Bureau de la traduction dispose d’un personnel hautement qualifié qui est en mesure de mettre la meilleure technologie à votre service.

Liens connexes

Date de modification :