Frequently asked questions

Updated version of the Ineligibility and Suspension policy and integrity clauses

1. Why was a revised Ineligibility and Suspension Policy and integrity clauses released on April 4, 2016? What has changed?

While there have been no changes to the Integrity Regime itself, the policy and clauses have been simplified in response to feedback from client departments and agencies, as well as the supplier community. The clauses now incorporate the policy by reference into the solicitation documents and resulting contracts and real property agreements.

Principles of the Integrity Regime

2. What is the objective of the Integrity Regime?

The Integrity Regime protects the integrity of contracts and real property agreements by ensuring that these transactions are carried out with ethical suppliers.

The regime is transparent, rigorous and consistent with best practices in Canada and abroad. It will also foster ethical business practices, ensure due process and uphold the public trust.

3. Who will administer the government-wide Integrity Regime?

Public Works and Government Services Canada (PWGSC) is responsible for administering the Integrity Regime on behalf of Canada, making ineligibility and suspension determinations, and entering into Administrative Agreements.

4. Who does the Integrity Regime apply to?

The Integrity Regime will apply to all departments and agencies (as per Schedule I, I.1, and II of the Financial Administration Act – FAA). PWGSC will administer the regime through Memoranda of Understandings (MoU) with each department and agency.

The intent is to apply the new Regime on a government-wide basis. As such, other federal organizations, including Crown Corporations, are encouraged to adopt and apply the Regime by entering into an MoU with PWGSC.

5. Were consultations held to develop and design the Integrity Regime?

The department consulted broadly with industry associations prior to its introduction and has continued to consult on the development and implementation of the Integrity Regime as its usual practice. Furthermore, independent procurement ethics experts were also consulted in order to inform options that would allow the federal government to achieve its objective of strengthening integrity government-wide.

6. Will this cause delays in the issuance of contracts?

No. The Integrity Regime does not cause delays in competitive processes for contracts and real property agreements. The majority of current verifications are carried out in short turn-around time. Officials continue to ensure the efficient processing of these verifications.

7. What happened to previously ineligible suppliers under PWGSC’s former Integrity Framework?

PWGSC reached out to suppliers who were ineligible in order to inform them of the new Integrity Provisions and to reassess their ineligibility under the Integrity Regime.

8. How does the Integrity Regime address industry concerns?

The Integrity Regime addresses the primary concerns of industry. Specifically, the Regime:

  • Eliminates automatic ineligibility for a supplier for the actions of an affiliate (including the parent company), unless it can be demonstrated that the supplier had a degree of control over the convicted affiliate. The degree of control would be determined by assessing whether the supplier directed, influenced, authorized, assented to, acquiesced in or participated in the commission or omission of acts or offences that led to its ineligibility.
  • Encourages suppliers to proactively disclose misconduct as soon as they become aware of it, as the ineligibility period could start as soon as an ethical breach was disclosed, rather than being tied  to a bidding process;
  • Recognizes remedial actions on the part of suppliers with the possibility of a reduced period of ineligibility.

Ineligibility time limit

9. What is the ineligibility period? What occurs after the ineligibility period elapses?

A supplier will be ineligible for ten years from the date of the determination of their ineligibility to contract with the Government of Canada. Ineligibility will apply to convictions received within the past three years.

The ineligibility period can be reduced by up to 5 years if a supplier is able to demonstrate that it has:

  • co-operated with law enforcement authorities; or
  • has undertaken remedial action(s) to address the wrongdoing that led to its ineligibility.

At the end of the ten year ineligibility period, suppliers will be required to obtain third party certification at their own expense confirming that they have addressed the actions and behaviour that led to their conviction. Failure to do so would render them ineligible until such a time as they provide this certification.

However, a supplier convicted of offences that result in a loss of capacity to contract with Her Majesty or to receive any benefit under a contract between Her Majesty and any other person under the Financial Administration Act and the Criminal Code results in permanent ineligibility unless a pardon is granted.

Suspension

10. What is a suspension?

A suspension may occur when a supplier is charged in Canada or abroad of a listed offence or has admitted to wrongdoing. A supplier will be suspended for 18 months from the date of PWGSC’s determination, subject to extension pending final disposition of the charges, at which time PWGSC will make a determination of ineligibility if the supplier is convicted.

An Administrative Agreement could be imposed in lieu of a suspension, which would allow the Government of Canada to have assurances and third party monitoring of suppliers that have been charged as their case proceeds through the courts. A third party would be engaged at the supplier's expense to monitor and report on compliance. This would be considered where a supplier has taken remedial measures and cooperates with law enforcement, thereby posing a lower risk to the integrity of the public procurement system.

If a supplier is convicted of a listed offence during a suspension period, the supplier will be ineligible for ten years from the date of the determination. The period of time under suspension will not count as part of the ineligibility period.

Advance determinations

11. Can a supplier or potential supplier request an advanced determination of ineligibility?

Yes. A supplier may, at any time, request an advanced determination of ineligibility from PWGSC. In doing so, the supplier must describe any adverse information in their request and submission.

In particular, suppliers may decide to disclose ethics violations as the ineligibility period could start earlier, at the date of determination.

Affiliates

12. How are affiliates treated under the regime?

The regime eliminates automatic ineligibility for a supplier for the actions of an affiliate (including the parent company), unless it can be demonstrated that the supplier had a degree of control over the convicted affiliate. The degree of control would be determined by assessing whether the supplier directed, influenced, authorized, assented to, acquiesced in or participated in the commission or omission of acts or offences that led to the conviction.

International convictions

13. How are foreign convictions treated under the Regime?

If the bidder is convicted of any of the listed offences in Canada or similar offences in foreign jurisdictions in the last three years, they will be ineligible for ten years.

To determine the similarity of the foreign conviction to a listed offence in Canada, an assessment of the constitutive elements of the foreign offence would be undertaken.

Additionally, determinations of the similarity of foreign convictions will be taken into account the following factors:

  • in the case of a conviction, whether the court acted within its jurisdiction;
  • whether the supplier was afforded the right to appear during the court’s proceedings or to submit to the court’s jurisdiction;
  • whether the court’s decision was obtained by fraud; or
  • whether the supplier was entitled to present to the court every defence that the supplier would have been entitled to present had the proceeding been tried in Canada.

Independent third parties would be hired by the bidder to provide information on the foreign conviction, however the Government of Canada makes the final decision.

Public list

14. Is there a public list of ineligible suppliers?

Yes, PWGSC has published a public Ineligibility and suspension list. This will allow prime contractors to ensure that they enter into contracts only with eligible sub-contractors and that they hold sub-contractors to the same terms and conditions as those that appear in their own contracts.

Sub-contractor

15. Does the regime apply to sub-contractors?

The regime applies to all suppliers. A prime contractor cannot subcontract with an ineligible supplier. A prime contractor is required to verify the status of their prospective first-tier subcontractors prior to bid submission. This may be done by verifying the ineligibility of companies through the Integrity Regime’s Ineligibility and Suspension List.  In cases where a subcontractor is an individual, prime contractors must follow the procedures outlined in the Information Bulletin: Application of the Integrity Regime to Subcontractors.

Should a supplier require the services of a suspended or ineligible subcontractor, they will require written consent by the contracting authority.

Any supplier that enters into a contract with an ineligible sub-contractor without written consent, in circumstances where information about that subcontractor’s ineligibility or suspension was reasonably available to the supplier, will be ineligible for five years.

Due process (appeal/reinstatement)

16. Can a supplier appeal a determination of ineligibility?

A determination of ineligibility of a supplier is final. Suppliers that are ineligible on the basis of their involvement in the wrongdoing that led to the conviction of an affiliate will be able to request a review of the determination by the Minister of PWGSC.

17. Can a supplier demonstrate that they have addressed wrongdoing and be reinstated?

The Regime does not allow for reinstatement but suppliers that have taken positive steps to address the causes of the conduct that lead to the ineligibility may be able to have their ineligibility periods reduced by up to 5 years. Suppliers will be able to apply for this reduction at any time (i.e., prior to bidding or when in contract).

In determining whether to grant a reduction, consideration will be given to a supplier that has demonstrated that:

  1. it has cooperated with law enforcement authorities; or
  2. has undertaken remedial action(s) to address the wrongdoing that led to its ineligibility.

Suppliers with reduced ineligibility periods will be required to enter into an Administrative Agreement with the Government and comply with its terms and conditions. A third party would be engaged at the supplier’s expense to monitor and report on compliance.

If the supplier does not abide by the terms and conditions of their Administrative Agreement, they would face a lengthened ineligibility period.

A supplier cannot be reinstated through the payment of fines.

Administrative agreements

18. What are Administrative Agreements and when will they be used?

Administrative Agreements are used in cases where it is determined necessary to obtain assurances and exercise additional caution to further mitigate the risk of contracting with a particular supplier. They include conditions and compliance measures that the supplier must meet to contract with the Government of Canada.

An Administrative Agreement may be required:

  • to reduce the period of a supplier’s ineligibility pursuant to the Policy;
  • to enter into a contract or real property agreement further to a Public Interest Exception where time is not of the essence;
  • in lieu of, or to stay, a suspension; or
  • in lieu of terminating an existing contract or real property agreement due to a determination of ineligibility or suspension.

Suppliers would be required to obtain the services of a qualified independent third party, at their own expense, to monitor and report to the Government of Canada, on its progress and compliance to the terms and conditions of the Agreement.. The failure of a supplier to meet the terms of an administrative agreement would result in a lengthened ineligibility period.

Public interest exception

19. Are there any exceptions for those convicted of a listed offense?

The Public Interest Exception (PIE) may be invoked, on a case-by-case basis, to allow the Government of Canada to enter into a contract/lease with a supplier that has been determined ineligible or suspended, where it is in the public interest. Possible circumstances necessary to the public interest could include:

  • the need to respond to an emergency where delay would be injurious to the public interest;
  • the supplier is the only person capable of performing the contract or providing the real property agreement;
  • the contract is essential to maintain sufficient emergency stocks in order to safeguard against possible shortages; and
  • not entering into the contract or real property agreement with the supplier would have a significant adverse impact on the health, national security, safety, public security or economic or financial well-being of the people of Canada or the functioning of any portion of the federal public administration.

In these cases, an administrative agreement between the supplier and the Government of Canada would be required, with compliance monitoring and reporting by a third party at the supplier's expense. Failure to comply with the terms of the agreement would see the ineligibility period extended.

A PIE cannot be invoked in cases where a supplier is convicted of frauds under the Financial Administration Act and the Criminal Code, unless a pardon has been granted.

Retroactivity

20. How does the new Integrity Regime impact existing contracts?

The new clauses in the Integrity Regime will be adopted on a go forward basis and will not impact existing contracts.

Contract termination

21. When can a termination of a contract occur?

If a supplier is determined to be ineligible during the life of a contract or real property agreement, the Government of Canada may terminate for default. If the Government of Canada decides to terminate, it will notify the supplier of the violation and provide an opportunity to show cause as to why the right to terminate should not be exercised.

If a decision is made to continue with the contract or real property agreement, an Administrative Agreement between PWGSC and the supplier will be required to provide the Government of Canada with additional assurances that the supplier is taking steps to address the causes of the misconduct.

International alignment

22. How does this Integrity Regime align with those implemented in other countries?

The Integrity Regime is designed to strengthen integrity on a government-wide basis and better aligns with international practices. The Regime provides suppliers with due process, recognizes remedial action undertaken by firms, and allows for the use of Administrative Agreements to provide the Government with additional assurances when conducting business with ineligible suppliers.

23. Will the regime include deferred prosecution agreements like they have in the United States (US)?

The issue of deferred prosecution agreements is beyond the scope of the Integrity Regime and falls under the mandate of the Minister of Justice. This would be a major change to Canada's legal system and would require amending the Criminal Code.

Market competition

24. How does the Integrity Regime benefit suppliers?

The department has an obligation to ensure that it is doing business with ethical suppliers, especially in the increasingly global marketplace. At the same time, it must also consider procurement integrity and accountability for Canadian taxpayers. The Integrity Regime ensures all suppliers are given equal and fair access to the procurement process, which leads to more opportunities for transparent competition. The Integrity Regime is also consistent with Canada's international trade obligations.

Foire aux questions

Mise à jour de la politique d'inadmissibilité et de suspension et des clauses d’intégrité

1. Pourquoi est-ce qu’une version révisée des clauses d’intégrité et de la politique d’inadmissibilité et de suspension a été publiée le 4 avril 2016? Qu’est-ce qui a changé?

Bien qu’il n’y ait eu aucun changement apporté au régime d’intégrité, les clauses et la politique ont été simplifiées en réponse à la rétroaction des ministères et organismes clients, ainsi que de la collectivité des fournisseurs. Les dispositions relatives à l’intégrité incluent la politique par référence dans les demandes de soumission ainsi que dans les contrats et les accords immobiliers qui en résulteront.

Principes du régime d'intégrité

2. Quel est l'objectif du régime d'intégrité?

Le régime d’intégrité protège l’intégrité des contrats et des contrats immobiliers en veillant à ce que ces transactions soient effectuées avec des fournisseurs éthiques.

Le régime est transparent et rigoureux et correspond aux pratiques exemplaires qui sont en vigueur au Canada et à l’étranger. De plus, il encouragera les pratiques commerciales éthiques, assurera la diligence raisonnable et maintiendra la confiance du public.

3. Qui administrera le régime d'intégrité pour l'ensemble du gouvernement?

Travaux publics et Services gouvernementaux (TPSGC) doit administrer le régime d’intégrité au nom du Canada, mener les processus de détermination d’inadmissibilité et de suspension, ainsi que conclure des ententes administratives.

4. À quelle entité s’applique le régime intégrité?

Le régime d'intégrité sera applicable à tous les ministères et organismes de l’ensemble du gouvernement comme indiqué à l'annexe I, I.1 et II de la Loi sur l'administration financière. TPSGC administrera le régime au moyen de protocoles d’entente avec chaque ministère et organisme.

L'intention est d'appliquer le nouveau régime à l'échelle du gouvernement. Ainsi, les autres organismes fédéraux, y compris les sociétés d'État, sont encouragés à adopter et à appliquer le régime en concluant un protocole d'entente avec TPSGC

5. Des consultations visant l’élaboration et la conception du régime d’intégrité ont-elles eu lieu?

Le Ministère a mené de vastes consultations avec les associations de l’industrie avant la présentation du régime, et a fait en sorte que la tenue de consultations sur l’élaboration et la mise en œuvre du régime d’intégrité devienne pratique courante. En outre, des experts en éthique d’approvisionnement indépendants ont également été consultés afin de trouver des options permettant au gouvernement fédéral d’atteindre son objectif de renforcement de l’intégrité à l’échelle du gouvernement.

6. Est-ce que cela occasionnera des retards dans l'attribution des contrats?

Non. Le régime d’intégrité n’entraîne pas de retards liés aux processus concurrentiels pour les contrats et les contrats immobiliers. La plupart des vérifications courantes sont réalisées dans de courts délais. Les représentants continuent de veiller au traitement efficace de ces vérifications.

7. Qu’est-il advenu des fournisseurs qui étaient inadmissibles conformément à l’ancien cadre d’intégrité de TPSGC?

TPSGC a communiqué avec les fournisseurs qui étaient inadmissibles pour les informer des nouvelles dispositions relatives à l’intégrité et réévaluer leur inadmissibilité conformément au régime d’intégrité.

8. De quelle façon le régime d'intégrité répondra-t-il aux préoccupations de l'industrie? Plus précisément, le régime :

Le régime d’intégrité répond aux principales préoccupations de l’industrie. En particulier, la proposition :

  • Élimine l’inadmissibilité obligatoire d’un fournisseur pour des actes commis par une société affiliée (y compris la société mère), à moins qu’il puisse être démontré que le fournisseur exerçait un degré de contrôle sur la société affiliée reconnue coupable de l’infraction. Le degré de contrôle serait déterminé en fonction de la mesure selon laquelle le fournisseur a dirigé, influencé, autorisé ou sanctionné la réalisation ou l’omission des actes ou inconduites, ou qu’il a consenti ou participé à ceux-ci qui causeraient l’inadmissibilité.
  • Incite les fournisseurs à divulguer les inconduites de façon proactive dès qu’ils en ont connaissance; la période d’inadmissibilité pourrait débuter plus tôt (c.-à-d. qu’elle ne serait pas liée à une soumission) et les mesures de réintégration pourraient commencer dès qu’une violation à l’éthique est auto-divulguée;
  • Reconnait les mesures correctives prises par les fournisseurs avec une possibilité d’une période d’inadmissibilité réduite.

Délai d’inadmissibilité

9. Quelle est la période d’inadmissibilité? Que se passe-t-il lorsque la période d’inadmissibilité arrive à sa fin?

Un fournisseur sera inéligible pour une période de 10 ans à compter de la date de détermination de son inadmissibilité à faire affaire avec le gouvernement du Canada (GC). L'inadmissibilité s'appliquera aux condamnations reçues au cours des trois dernières années.

La période d’inadmissibilité peut être réduite d’au plus cinq ans si le fournisseur peut démontrer :

  • qu'il a coopéré avec les responsables de l'application de la loi; ou
  • qu’il a pris la ou les mesures nécessaires pour corriger les situations qui ont mené à l’inadmissibilité.

À la fin de la période d’inadmissibilité de 10 ans, les fournisseurs devront obtenir, à leurs propres frais, une attestation d’un tiers confirmant qu’ils ont pris des mesures pour éliminer les actes et les comportements qui ont mené à leur condamnation. S’ils n’obtiennent pas cette attestation, ils seront jugés inadmissibles jusqu’au moment où ils peuvent fournir une telle attestation.

Toutefois, un fournisseur reconnu coupable d’une infraction qui entraîne une perte de capacité de passer un contrat avec Sa Majesté ou de recevoir une prestation conformément à un contrat conclu entre Sa Majesté et une autre personne en vertu de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques et du Code criminel devient inadmissible de façon permanente, sauf si un pardon est accordé.

Suspension

10. Qu'est-ce qu'une suspension?

Un fournisseur est suspendu lorsqu’il est reconnu coupable au Canada ou à l’étranger d’une infraction visée ou qu’il a admis avoir commis une inconduite. Le fournisseur sera suspendu pendant 18 mois à compter de la détermination de TPSGC, qui est susceptible d’être prolongée selon le jugement. S’il y a condamnation, TPSGC déclarera le fournisseur inadmissible à ce moment-là.

Une entente administrative pourrait être imposée au lieu d’une suspension, ce qui permettrait au gouvernement du Canada d’obtenir des garanties et qu’un tiers surveille les fournisseurs accusés pendant que leur cause est présentée devant les tribunaux. Un tiers serait embauché aux frais du fournisseur pour surveiller la conformité et produire un rapport connexe. Cela serait envisagé lorsqu’un fournisseur a pris des mesures correctives et coopère avec des responsables de l’application de la loi, ce qui représente un risque plus faible par rapport à l’intégrité du système d’approvisionnement public.

Si un fournisseur est reconnu coupable d’une infraction visée pendant qu’il est suspendu, ce fournisseur sera inéligible pour une période de 10 ans à partir de la date de détermination de son inadmissibilité, et le temps de suspension ne sera pas soustrait de la période d’inadmissibilité.

Déterminations préalables

11. Est-ce qu'un fournisseur ou un fournisseur éventuel peut demander une détermination d'inadmissibilité à l'avance?

Oui. Un fournisseur peut, en tout temps, demander une détermination d’inadmissibilité préalable auprès de TPSGC. Ce faisant, le fournisseur doit inclure tous les renseignements défavorables dans sa demande.

En particulier, les fournisseurs peuvent décider d’auto-divulguer les violations à l’éthique qu’ils ont commises afin que la période d’inadmissibilité puisse commencer plus tôt, soit à la date de détermination, et que les mesures correctives puissent débuter immédiatement.

Sociétés affiliés

12. Comment sont traitées les sociétés Affiliés dans le cadre du régime?

Le régime élimine l'inadmissibilité obligatoire d'un fournisseur pour les actes commis par un affilié (y compris la société mère), à moins qu'il existe des preuves à l'effet que le fournisseur/fournisseur éventuel a dirigé, influencé, autorisé ou sanctionné la réalisation ou l'omission des actes ou inconduites qui ont donné lieu à la condamnation.

Déclarations de culpabilité à l'étranger

13. Comment les déclarations de culpabilité à l'étranger sont-elles traitées en vertu du régime?

Si le soumissionnaire a été reconnu coupable de l'une des infractions visées au Canada ou d'une infraction semblable dans une administration étrangère au cours des trois dernières années, il sera inéligible pour une période de 10 ans.

Pour déterminer les similitudes entre une condamnation à l'étranger et une infraction visée au Canada, une évaluation des éléments constituants de l'infraction commise à l'étranger sera réalisée.

De plus, la détermination des similitudes des déclarations de culpabilité à l'étranger tiendra compte des éléments suivants :

  • dans le cas d’une condamnation, si la cour a agi dans les limites de sa compétence;
  • si le fournisseur s’est vu accorder le droit de comparaître devant la cour pendant la poursuite judiciaire ou de se soumettre à la compétence de la cour;
  • si la décision de la cour a résulté d’une fraude;
  • si le fournisseur a pu présenter à la cour toute défense à laquelle il aurait eu droit si les procédures judiciaires s’étaient déroulées au Canada.

Des tiers indépendants pourraient être embauchés par le soumissionnaire pour fournir des renseignements sur les condamnations prononcées à l’étranger. Le gouvernement du Canada, toutefois, prendrait la décision définitive.

Liste publique

14. Existe-t-il une liste publique des fournisseurs inadmissibles?

Oui, TPSGC a publié une Liste de fournisseurs inadmissibles et suspendus sur le site Web du régime d’intégrité. Cette liste servira aux entrepreneurs principaux pour s’assurer qu’ils concluent des contrats avec des sous-traitants admissibles et que ceux-ci sont assujettis aux mêmes modalités et conditions que celles de leurs propres contrats.

Sous-traitant

15. Est-ce que le régime s'applique aux sous-traitants? Est-ce qu'il est prévu que les sous-traitants appliquent le régime?

Le régime s’applique à tous les fournisseurs. Un entrepreneur principal ne peut pas confier un contrat en sous-traitance à un fournisseur inadmissible.  Un entrepreneur principal doit vérifier le statut des sous-traitants éventuels avant la présentation des soumissions.  Ceci peut être fait en consultant la Liste de fournisseurs inadmissibles et suspendus.  Afin d’évaluer les sous-traitants qui sont des individus, les entrepreneurs principaux seront tenus de suivre les procédures énoncées dans le Bulletin d’information : Application du Régime d’intégrité aux sous-traitants

Si le fournisseur a besoin des services du sous-traitant suspendu ou inéligible, il aura besoin de l’autorisation écrite de l’autorité contractante.

Un entrepreneur principal qui conclut un contrat ou un accord immobilier avec un premier sous-traitant inadmissible ou suspendu, et qui était au fait de ladite inadmissibilité ou suspension ou qui aurait raisonnablement pu prendre connaissance de cette information, sera inadmissible pendant cinq ans.

Application régulière de la loi (appel/réintégration)

16. Est-ce qu’un fournisseur peut en appeler d’une décision d’inadmissibilité?

Une détermination d’inadmissibilité d’un fournisseur est finale. Les fournisseurs qui ne sont pas admissibles en raison de leur participation aux actes répréhensibles qui ont mené à la condamnation d’une société affiliée seront en mesure de demander une révision de la décision par la ministre de TPSGC.

17. Est-ce qu'un fournisseur peut démontrer qu'il a éliminé les motifs de l'inconduite et être réintégré?

Le régime ne permet pas la réintégration, mais les fournisseurs qui ont pris des mesures positives pour éliminer les motifs de l’inconduite ayant donné lieu à l’inadmissibilité pourront voir leur période d’inadmissibilité réduire d’au plus cinq ans. Les fournisseurs pourront appliquer cette réduction en tout temps, c’est-à-dire avant le processus de soumission ou la durée d’un contrat.

Pour déterminer si une réduction peut être accordée, on examinera si le fournisseur a démontré :

  1. qu’il a coopéré avec les autorités chargées de l’application des lois;
  2. qu’il a pris la ou les mesures nécessaires pour corriger les situations qui ont mené à l’inadmissibilité.

Les fournisseurs comptant des périodes d’inadmissibilité réduites doivent conclure une entente administrative avec le gouvernement et en respecter les modalités. Un tiers serait embauché aux frais du fournisseur pour surveiller la conformité et produire un rapport connexe.

Si le fournisseur ne respecte pas les modalités de l'entente administrative, sa période d’inadmissibilité sera prolongée.

Un fournisseur ne peut être réintégré en payant une amende.

Ententes administratives

18. Que sont les ententes administratives et dans quelles circonstances sont-elles utilisées?

Les ententes administratives sont utilisées dans les cas où il est nécessaire de faire preuve de prudence supplémentaire afin d’atténuer les risques d’attribuer un contrat à un fournisseur.  Ils comprennent des conditions et des mesures de conformité que le fournisseur doit respecter pour conclure des contrats avec le gouvernement du Canada.

Une entente administrative peut être nécessaire pour l’une des raisons suivantes :

  • réduire la période d’inadmissibilité d’un fournisseur;
  • conclure un contrat ou un accord immobilier suite à une exception d'intérêt public et que le délai n’est pas une condition essentielle;
  • au lieu de, ou de rester, une suspension; ou
  • au lieu de mettre fin à un contrat existant ou un accord immobilier en raison d'une détermination d’inéligibilité (inadmissibilité) ou d'une décision de suspension.

Les fournisseurs doivent utiliser, à leurs propres frais, un tiers qualifié du secteur privé possédant de l’expérience en matière de gouvernance ministérielle et d’intégrité. Ces tiers feraient rapport au gouvernement, conformément aux modalités de l’entente administrative. Le défaut de respecter les exigences de l’entente administrative entraînerait une période d’inadmissibilité plus longue.

Exception pour des raisons d'intérêt public

19. Est-ce qu'il y a des exceptions pour les fournisseurs reconnus coupables d'une infraction visée?

L’exception pour des raisons d’intérêt public peut être invoquée, au cas par cas, afin de permettre au gouvernement du Canada de conclure un contrat/bail avec un fournisseur qui a été rendu inéligible ou suspendu, lorsque c’est dans l’intérêt public. Voici des exemples de circonstances possibles qui sont nécessaires dans l’intérêt du public :

  • le besoin est urgent et un retard serait préjudiciable à l’intérêt public;
  • le fournisseur est la seule personne capable d’exécuter l’accord immobilier ou le contrat;
  • le contrat est essentiel pour maintenir des stocks d’urgence suffisants afin de se prémunir contre des pénuries éventuelles;
  • le fait de ne pas conclure l’accord immobilier ou le contrat avec le fournisseur aurait des répercussions négatives importantes sur la santé, la sécurité nationale, la sûreté, la sécurité publique ou le mieux-être économique ou financier de la population du Canada ou sur le fonctionnement d’une partie de l’administration publique fédérale.

Dans ces cas, une entente administrative entre le fournisseur et le gouvernement du Canada serait requise, de même que la surveillance de la conformité et la production d’un rapport connexe par un tiers aux frais du fournisseur. Le défaut de respecter les exigences de l’entente administrative entraînerait une période d’inadmissibilité plus longue.

Une exception pour des raisons d'intérêt public ne peut être invoquée dans le cas où un fournisseur est reconnu coupable de fraude aux termes de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques et du Code criminel, sauf si un pardon est accordé.

Rétroactivité

20. Quelles sont les répercussions du nouveau régime d'intégrité sur les contrats existants?

Les nouvelles clauses du régime d'intégrité seront adoptées de manière progressive et n'auront pas de répercussions sur les contrats existants.

Résiliation d'un contrat

21. Quand un contrat est-il résilié?

Si un fournisseur est jugé inadmissible pendant la durée du contrat ou du contrat immobilier, le gouvernement du Canada se réserve le droit de résilier le contrat pour manquement. Dans ce cas, le gouvernement du Canada informe le fournisseur de la violation et lui donne la possibilité de démontrer que le droit de mettre fin à un accord immobilier ou à un contrat ne devrait pas être utilisé.

Si une décision est prise en vue de maintenir un contrat ou un contrat immobilier, une entente administrative doit être conclue entre TPSGC et le fournisseur, afin de donner au gouvernement du Canada des garanties supplémentaires indiquant que le fournisseur prend des mesures pour régler les causes de l’inconduite.

Harmonisation aux régimes internationaux

22. Dans quelle mesure ce régime d'intégrité est-il harmonisé aux régimes mis en œuvre dans d'autres pays?

Ce régime d’intégrité est conçu de façon à renforcer l’intégrité à l’échelle du gouvernement et à mieux s’harmoniser aux pratiques internationales. Le régime indique aux fournisseurs les modalités de l’application régulière de la loi, reconnaît les mesures correctives prises par les entreprises et permet de recourir à des ententes administratives offrant des garanties supplémentaires au gouvernement au moment de faire affaire avec des fournisseurs inadmissibles.

23. Est-ce que le régime comprend des accords de poursuite suspendue comme aux États-Unis?

La question des accords de poursuite suspendue dépasse la portée du régime d'intégrité et relève du mandat du ministre de la Justice. Cela représenterait un changement majeur au système juridique canadien et nécessiterait la modification du Code criminel.

Concurrence sur le marché

24. Dans quelle mesure le régime d'intégrité est-il avantageux pour les fournisseurs?

Le Ministère a l'obligation de veiller à faire affaire avec des fournisseurs ayant des comportements conformes à l'éthique, en particulier dans un marché mondial en pleine expansion. En même temps, il doit prendre en compte de l'intégrité des approvisionnements et la responsabilisation envers les contribuables canadiens. Le régime d'intégrité permet de s'assurer que les tous fournisseurs bénéficient d'un accès équitable et juste au processus d'approvisionnement, ce qui permet d'accroître les possibilités d'une concurrence transparente. De plus, le régime d'intégrité respecte les obligations commerciales internationales du Canada.