Explore the Senate of Canada Building

The Senate of Canada Building, formerly known as the Government Conference Centre, was recently restored and modernized. It will serve as the interim home of the Senate while the Centre Block building is closed for rehabilitation.

Built as a train station and then used as a conference centre for the federal government, the building has borne witness to Canadian history. The first Canadian soldiers going off to the First World War passed through its doors, and the deliberations leading to the patriation of Canada’s Constitution took place behind them. But after a century of public service, the building was at the end of its life and needed a complete overhaul.

The need to house the Senate of Canada during much-needed renovation of the Centre Block provided the opportunity for the building’s rehabilitation.

Learn about restoring and modernizing the Senate of Canada Building.

The building was designated a Classified Federal Heritage Building in 1989. It received this designation because of its:

  • history
  • architectural value
  • role as a landmark

History

The Senate of Canada Building was originally Ottawa’s Union Station. Built between 1909 and 1912, it served as a train station until 1966. After the Ottawa Union Station closed in 1966, the building was slated for demolition. However, public pressure to save the building resulted in it being used as a visitor centre during Canada’s centennial celebrations in 1967. After the outpouring of affection for the building, the government decided to convert it into a conference centre rather than tear it down.

The building was converted to the Government Conference Centre in 1968, with work completed in 1973. In advance of the Commonwealth Heads of Government meeting in 1973, the south addition was built as a new entrance and some interior renovations were completed.

However, the building was sorely in need of renovations by the time the restoration and modernization project began in 2014. That work was completed in 2018. The Government Conference Centre was then renamed the Senate of Canada Building in December 2018. The Senate will begin sitting in the building starting in January 2019.

Historical meetings

The Government Conference Centre was the scene of many important events.

Examples are:

  • the constitutional talks in November 1981, which led to the repatriation of the Constitution and the Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms being entrenched in the Constitution in 1982
  • the "Open Skies" Conference in February 1990, which contributed to the reunification of Germany
  • the Anti-Personnel Mine Ban Convention, known as the Ottawa Treaty, which was signed in December 1997 and led to a program to remove land mines from former conflict zones around the world
  • the G20 Conference in November 2001, which was the first opportunity for the international community to meet and discuss the response to the events of September 11, 2001

Architecture

The building was designed in the Beaux-Arts style by New York-based architect Bradford Lee Gilbert. The design work was then taken over by Ross and MacFarlane, a renowned Montréal-based firm that was responsible for many Canadian architectural treasures.

The former Union Station is a rare Canadian example of a building inspired by the City Beautiful urban planning movement. The design embodies the aesthetic qualities of the best examples of train stations built before the First World War.

The building's interior is a grand space that was inspired by classical Roman baths. This is especially visible in the general waiting room, with its elegant barrel-vaulted ceiling patterned with decorative coffers.

The original building consisted of four distinct blocks built as part of the original train station:

  • the main entrance block
  • the general waiting room
  • the ticketing block
  • the concourse

The original train sheds, which used to be located at the southern end of the building, were demolished in the 1960s. In 1973, a new entrance was built in that area, which is known as the south addition.

Interesting facts

There are some interesting things to know about the building, such as the following:

  • the general waiting room is a smaller-scale replica of the waiting room in the former Pennsylvania Station in New York City, which was torn down in the 1960s
  • the interior appears to be made of travertine stone, which was used in ancient Roman monuments, but the finish is in fact faux and the brick and terra cotta walls are actually covered with plaster, which is textured and painted to imitate travertine stone
  • the four columns in the general waiting room are not load bearing; the plaster ceiling is supported entirely by the steel truss structure above it
View enlarged image of the exterior of the Government Conference Centre
View enlarged image of the Ceiling of the Government Conference Centre before the restoration and modernization project began.
View enlarged image of a historical photo of a train station concourse with a coffered ceiling.
View enlarged image of a historical photo of a train station waiting area. People are sitting on benches.
View enlarged image of a black and white photo of a train station with Union Jack flags hung for decoration.
View enlarged image of a large room with columns and a vaulted ceiling. Additions on the walls have wood paneling and tinted windows.
View enlarged image of a large room with columns and a vaulted ceiling. A staircase is visible, and there is a committee room on either side of the stairs.

More information

Date modified:

Découvrez l'édifice du Sénat du Canada

L'édifice du Sénat du Canada, anciennement connu sous le nom de Centre de conférences du gouvernement, a récemment été restauré et modernisé. L'édifice accueillera provisoirement les fonctions du Sénat pendant la réhabilitation de l'édifice du Centre, qui est fermé pendant les travaux.

Servant d'abord de gare ferroviaire, puis de centre de conférences pour le gouvernement fédéral, l'édifice a été le théâtre d'événements marquants de notre histoire. Les premiers soldats canadiens qui ont participé à la Première Guerre mondiale sont passés par cet édifice, où ont aussi eu lieu les délibérations qui ont mené au rapatriement de la Constitution du Canada. Mais après un siècle de service public, l'édifice était à la fin de son cycle de vie et devait être complètement remis en état.

Comme l'édifice devait accueillir le Sénat du Canada pendant la rénovation indispensable de l'édifice du Centre, il s'agissait d'une bonne occasion de réhabiliter l'édifice.

Renseignez-vous sur la restauration et la modernisation de l'édifice du Sénat du Canada.

L'édifice a été désigné édifice fédéral du patrimoine classé en 1989. Il a reçu cette désignation en raison de :

  • son histoire
  • sa valeur architecturale
  • son rôle de point de repère

Histoire

L'édifice du Sénat du Canada était à l'origine la gare Union d'Ottawa. Construit entre 1909 et 1912, il a servi de gare ferroviaire jusqu'en 1966. Après la fermeture de la gare Union d'Ottawa en 1966, le bâtiment devait être démoli. Toutefois, les pressions exercées par le public pour sauver l'édifice ont fait en sorte qu'il serve de centre d'accueil des visiteurs lors des célébrations du centenaire du Canada en 1967. Après une vague d'affection pour l'édifice, le gouvernement a décidé de le transformer en Centre de conférences plutôt que de le démolir.

L'édifice a été converti en Centre de conférences du gouvernement en 1968 et les travaux ont été achevés en 1973. Avant la réunion des chefs de gouvernement du Commonwealth en 1973, l'aile sud a été construite en tant que nouvelle entrée et certaines rénovations intérieures ont été effectuées.

Cependant, l'édifice avait grandement besoin de rénovations au moment où le projet de restauration et de modernisation a débuté en 2014. Ces travaux ont été achevés en 2018, et le Centre de conférences du gouvernement a ensuite été renommé l'édifice du Sénat du Canada en décembre. Le Sénat commencera à siéger dans l'édifice en janvier 2019.

Rencontres historiques

Le Centre de conférences du gouvernement a été le théâtre de nombreux événements importants.

Par exemple :

  • Les pourparlers constitutionnels de novembre 1981, qui ont mené au rapatriement de la Constitution et à l'enchâssement de la Charte canadienne des droits et libertés dans la Constitution en 1982;
  • La conférence « Ciels ouverts » tenue en février 1990, événement qui a contribué à la réunification de l'Allemagne;
  • Le Traité sur l'interdiction des mines antipersonnel, aussi connu comme la Convention d'Ottawa, a été signé en décembre 1997 et a mené à la création d'un programme visant le déminage d'anciennes zones de guerre partout dans le monde;
  • La conférence du G20 de novembre 2001, dans le cadre de laquelle la communauté internationale a pu se réunir et discuter pour la première fois des mesures à prendre à la suite des événements du 11 septembre 2001.

Architecture

L'édifice a été conçu selon le style Beaux-Arts par l'architecte new-yorkais Bradford Lee Gilbert. Les travaux de conception ont ensuite été repris par Ross and MacFarlane, un cabinet montréalais reconnu qui était responsable de bon nombre des trésors architecturaux du pays.

L'ancienne gare Union constitue un rare exemple d'édifice inspiré par le mouvement de planification urbaine City Beautiful. Sa conception incarne les qualités esthétiques des exemples les plus remarquables de construction ferroviaire datant d'avant la Première Guerre mondiale.

L'intérieur très spacieux de l'édifice est inspiré des thermes romains. La similitude est encore plus frappante dans la salle d'attente générale, avec son élégant plafond voûté en berceau dont les coffres créent un motif décoratif.

L'édifice d'origine se compose de quatre blocs distincts, érigés dans le cadre de la construction de la gare ferroviaire d'origine :

  • l'entrée principale;
  • la salle d'attente générale;
  • la billetterie;
  • la salle des pas perdus.

Les hangars originaux, qui étaient situés à l'extrémité sud de l'édifice, ont été démolis dans les années 1960. En 1973, une nouvelle entrée a été construite dans cette zone, connue sous le nom d'aile sud ajoutée.

Faits intéressants

Il y a des choses intéressantes à savoir sur le bâtiment, comme ce qui suit :

  • la salle d'attente générale est une réplique à plus petite échelle de la salle d'attente de l'ancienne gare Pennsylvania à New York, qui a été démolie dans les années 1960
  • l'intérieur semble être en travertin, qui était utilisé dans les anciens monuments romains, mais la finition est simulée et les murs en brique et en terre cuite sont en fait recouverts de plâtre, qui est texturé et peint pour imiter le travertin
  • les quatre colonnes de la salle d'attente générale ne sont pas porteuses; le plafond en plâtre est entièrement supporté par la structure en treillis d'acier qui le surmonte
Voir image agrandie le Centre de conférences du gouvernement.
Voir image agrandie le plafond du Centre de conférences du gouvernement avant le lancement du projet de restauration et de modernisation.
Voir image agrandie une photo historique de la salle des pas perdus avec un plafond à caissons.
Voir image agrandie Une photo historique d'une salle d'attente d'une gare de train. Les gens sont assis sur des bancs.
Voir image agrandie photo en noir et blanc d'une gare avec des drapeaux de l'Union Jack en guise de décoration.
Voir image agrandie une grande pièce avec des colonnes et un plafond voûté. Les ajouts sur les murs comprennent des lambris de bois et des fenêtres teintées.
Voir image agrandie une grande pièce avec des colonnes et un plafond voûté. L'escalier visible est flanqué d'une salle de réunion de chaque côté.

Renseignements supplémentaires

Date de modification :