Explore the blocks south of Wellington Street

On this page:

About the blocks south of Wellington Street

The 3 city blocks on the south side of Wellington Street (facing Parliament Hill between Elgin and Bank Streets) are part of the Parliamentary Precinct. The federal government expropriated them in 1973 to provide needed space for parliamentary operations. Over the years, the area has evolved and changed. It is now poised for another step in its evolution as we renew the buildings and land around Parliament Hill.

Below is the map of 3 city blocks immediately south of Parliament Hill. All 3 are bounded to the north by Wellington Street and the south by Sparks Street. Block 1 is bounded by Elgin Street to the east and Metcalfe Street to the west. Block 2 is bounded by Metcalfe Street to the east and O’Connor Street to the west. Block 3 is bounded by O’Connor Street to the east and Bank Street to the west.

View enlarged image of the 3 city blocks known as Blocks 1, 2 and 3 are part of the Parliamentary Precinct campus.

Wellington Street

Wellington Street faces Parliament Hill and is a prime location in Ottawa.

View enlarged image of the section of Wellington Street between Bank and Elgin Streets is part of Canada’s Parliamentary Precinct campus. This view of the street is looking east from Parliament Hill’s West Block.

History and architecture

In the late 19th century, the south side of Wellington Street was known as Banker’s Row. It was lined with Victorian style banks, clubs and financial institutions.

Many of the original Banker’s Row buildings were replaced in the 1920s and 30s with larger Beaux-Arts style buildings.

The Wellington Building (180 Wellington Street, with a façade on Sparks Street) was built for the Metropolitan Life Insurance Company in 1927. We finished restoring and modernizing the Wellington Building in 2016. It is now home to offices and committee rooms for Parliament.

The Sir John A. MacDonald Building (144 Wellington Street, with a façade on Sparks Street) was built in 1932. We completed restoring and modernizing it in 2015.

Sparks Street

Sparks Street runs parallel to Wellington Street, and is one block south of it. The north side of the street is part of the Parliamentary Precinct campus.

View enlarged image of the Sparks Street Pedestrian Mall is home to offices, restaurants and shops. The Government of Canada owns the buildings on the north side of the street between Bank and Elgin streets

History and architecture

Sparks Street was a bustling commercial hub in the late 19th century and early 20th century. It was lined with banks, lumber companies and shops, including Ottawa’s main post office. Streetcars ran on the street until 1959.

View enlarged image of the Sparks Street in 1936. Credit: Library and Archives Canada.

In 1960, shortly after the streetcar service was discontinued, a section of Sparks Street was closed to traffic as an experiment to create Ottawa’s first pedestrian-only mall. Tree and shrub plantings, street furniture, artwork, flower boxes, shelters and benches were added.

Today, the Government of Canada owns and maintains the buildings on the north side of the street. We are renewing these buildings to provide safe, modern and accessible space for Parliament and for commercial tenants. We are also enhancing the streetscape.

Over the last few years we have rehabilitated:

We are also working with the City of Ottawa and the National Capital Commission to revitalize Sparks Street as part of the Sparks Street Public Realm Plan.

Architectural design competition for Block 2

We will be launching an architectural design competition to renew Block 2.

More information

Date modified:

Explorez les îlots urbains au sud de la rue Wellington

Sur cette page :

À propos des îlots urbains au sud de la rue Wellington

Les trois îlots urbains situés du côté sud de la rue Wellington (devant la Colline du Parlement, entre les rues Elgin et Bank) font partie de la Cité parlementaire. Le gouvernement fédéral les a expropriés en 1973 afin de fournir l’espace nécessaire aux activités parlementaires.

Ci-dessous une carte montrant les trois îlots urbains situés directement au sud de la Colline du Parlement. Les trois îlots urbains sont délimités au nord par la rue Wellington et au sud par la rue Sparks. L’îlot 1 est délimité par la rue Elgin à l’est et par la rue Metcalfe à l’ouest. L’îlot 2 est délimité par la rue Metcalfe à l’est et par la rue O’Connor à l’ouest. L’îlot 3 est délimité par la rue O’Connor à l’est et la rue Bank à l’ouest.

Voir image agrandie des trois îlots urbains connus sous les noms d’îlots 1, 2 et 3 font partie du complexe de la 
    Cité parlementaire.

Rue Wellington

La rue Wellington fait face à la Colline du Parlement et constitue un emplacement de premier choix à Ottawa.

Voir image agrandie du secteur de la rue Wellington entre les rues Bank et Elgin fait partie du complexe de la Cité parlementaire du Canada. Cette vue vers l’est de la rue est prise depuis l’édifice de l’Ouest de la Colline du Parlement.

Histoire et architecture

À la fin du 19ème siècle, le côté sud de la rue Wellington était connu sous le nom de Banker’s Row. On y trouvait des banques, des clubs et des institutions financières de style victorien.

Dans les années 1920 et 1930, bon nombre des édifices de l’ancien Banker’s Row ont été remplacés par des édifices de style Beaux-Arts plus grands.

L’édifice Wellington (180, rue Wellington, avec une façade sur la rue Sparks) a été construit pour la Métropolitaine, Compagnie d’Assurance-Vie, en 1927. Nous avons terminé la restauration et la modernisation de l’édifice Wellington en 2016. Il abrite maintenant des bureaux et des salles de comité pour le Parlement.

L’édifice Sir-John-A.-Macdonald (144, rue Wellington, avec une façade sur la rue Sparks) a été construit en 1932. Nous avons terminé sa restauration et sa modernisation en 2015.

Rue Sparks

La rue Sparks est parallèle à la rue Wellington, soit à une rue au sud de celle-ci. Le côté nord de la rue fait partie du complexe de la Cité parlementaire.

Voir image agrandie la rue Sparks est une rue piétonnière qui abrite des bureaux, des restaurants et des magasins. Le gouvernement du Canada est propriétaire des immeubles situés du côté nord de la rue entre les rues Bank et Elgin.

Histoire et architecture

La rue Sparks était une plaque tournante commerciale animée à la fin du 19ème siècle et au début du 20ème siècle. On y trouvait des banques, des sociétés d’exploitation forestière et des magasins, dont le bureau de poste principal d’Ottawa. Les tramways ont circulé sur cette rue jusqu’en 1959.

Voir image agrandie de la rue Sparks en 1936. Source : Bibliothèque et Archives Canada.

En 1960, peu après l’abandon du service de tramway, une section de la rue Sparks a été fermée à la circulation afin de créer la première rue piétonnière d’Ottawa. Des plantations d’arbres et d’arbustes, du mobilier urbain, des œuvres d’art, des jardinières, des abris et des bancs ont été ajoutés.

Aujourd’hui, le gouvernement du Canada possède et entretient les édifices du côté nord de la rue. Nous rénovons ces édifices afin d’offrir un espace sécuritaire, moderne et accessible au Parlement et aux locataires commerciaux. Nous améliorons également le paysage de rue.

Au cours des dernières années, nous avons procédé à la réhabilitation de :

Nous travaillons également avec la Ville d’Ottawa et la Commission de la capitale nationale pour revitaliser la rue Sparks dans le cadre du plan du domaine public de la rue Sparks.

Concours de conception architecturale pour l’îlot 2

Nous lancerons un concours de conception architecturale pour renouveler l’îlot 2.

Renseignements supplémentaires

Date de modification :