About the architectural design competition for Block 2

Read about the competition, why we are holding it and our hope for the future of the city block across from Parliament Hill.

On this page

Location of Block 2

Block 2 is the city block immediately south of Parliament Hill in downtown Ottawa. It faces the Centre Block and Peace Tower to the north. It is the threshold between city-owned and Crown-owned lands. The block is bounded by Metcalfe, Wellington, O'Connor and Sparks streets.

View enlarged image of a photo showing the location of Block 2 across the street from Parliament Hill.

A view from the Centre Block's iconic Peace Tower showing Block 2. (Click the image to view enlarged version.)

The design competition

Our goal is to transform this mix of aging buildings and 2 vacant parcels of land into an innovative complex that will meet the needs of Parliament and the public.

The redesigned block will provide office space for the Senate and the House of Commons and will allow for the future consolidation of parliamentary accommodations, including space for the Library of Parliament. It will also include renovated retail space on the Sparks Street Mall.

Through an architectural design competition, we invited 12 prequalified architectural firms to submit design proposals for the area that will complement the image of Canada and its capital on the world stage. An independent and professional jury will recommend the winning design and team to the department, and will award prizes for the top designs.

Two of the 11 buildings in Block 2 have been dedicated for the development of an Indigenous Peoples’ Space. While these buildings currently stand independently from the design competition, we will ensure the design and construction for the entire block honours and respects the significance of the space, which sits at the heart of Canada’s Parliamentary Precinct.

How we carried out the Block 2 design competition

Video: Block 2 architectural design competition

View the video: Block 2 architectural design competition

This video gives an overview of the design process for Block 2. Key players in the project explain the importance of the competition and how this multi-year redevelopment plan fits into the long-term vision for the Parliamentary Precinct (click to see the video).

Video: Government of Canada launches design competition for city block facing Parliament Hill

Why a design competition

Architectural design competitions support variety and are among the most effective ways to achieve excellence in building design and architecture. They are often used to generate innovative new ideas. Canada's original Parliament buildings were the result of a design competition in 1859. Competitions have produced many culturally significant buildings in Canada and around the globe, such as:

More information

For more information or to watch a video of the competitors talking about their designs, please visit the Royal Architecture Institute of Canada’s page: Renewal of Block 2—virtual presentation.

Related links

Date modified:

À propos du concours de conception architecturale pour l’îlot 2

Renseignez-vous sur le concours de conception architecturale, sur sa raison d’être et sur nos attentes pour l’avenir de l’îlot urbain en face de la Colline du Parlement.

Sur cette page

Emplacement de l’îlot 2

L’îlot 2 est l’îlot urbain situé directement au sud de la Colline du Parlement, au centre-ville d’Ottawa. Il fait face à l’édifice du Centre et à la tour de la Paix au nord. Il constitue le seuil entre les terres appartenant à la Ville et celles appartenant à l’État. L’îlot est délimité par les rues Metcalfe, Wellington, O’Connor et Sparks.

Voir l'image agrandie montrant l'emplacement de l'îlot 2 de l'autre côté de la rue devant la Colline du Parlement.

Vue de l'emblématique tour de la Paix de l'édifice du Centre montrant l'îlot 2. (Cliquez sur l'image pour l'agrandir.)

Concours de conception

Notre objectif est de transformer ce mélange d’édifices vieillissants et de 2 parcelles de terrain vacantes en un complexe novateur qui répondra aux besoins du Parlement et du public.

La nouvelle conception de l’îlot fournira des bureaux au Sénat et à la Chambre des communes et permettra le regroupement futur des locaux parlementaires, y compris de l’espace pour la Bibliothèque du Parlement. Elle comprendra aussi des locaux rénovés pour le commerce de détail dans le centre commercial de la rue Sparks.

Dans le cadre d’un concours de conception architecturale, nous avons invité 12 sociétés d’architecture préqualifiées à soumettre des propositions de conception pour l’îlot, qui s’harmonisent à l’image du Canada et de sa capitale sur la scène mondiale. Un jury professionnel indépendant recommandera au Ministère l’équipe et le projet de conception retenus. Le Ministère remettra des prix pour les projets de conception s’étant les mieux classés.

Il y a 2 des 11 édifices de l’îlot 2 qui sont consacrés à la création d’un espace des peuples autochtones. Ces édifices ne font pas partie du concours de conception, mais nous nous assurerons que la conception et la construction de l’ensemble de l’îlot respectent et rendent hommage à l’importance de cet espace, qui se trouve au cœur de la Cité parlementaire canadienne.

Comment nous avons mené le concours de conception architecturale pour l’îlot 2

Vidéo : Concours de conception architecturale pour l’îlot 2

Visionnez la vidéo : Concours de conception architecturale pour l’îlot 2

La vidéo présente un aperçu du processus de conception de l'îlot 2. Les principaux acteurs du projet y expliquent l'importance du concours et la place que ce plan de réaménagement pluriannuel occupe dans la vision à long terme pour la Cité parlementaire (cliquez pour voir la vidéo).

Vidéo : Le gouvernement du Canada lance un concours de conception pour l’îlot urbain situé devant la Colline du Parlement

Pourquoi tenir un concours de conception

Les concours de conception architecturale favorisent la variété. Ils sont parmi les moyens les plus efficaces d’atteindre l’excellence en matière d’architecture et de conception d'édifices. Ils sont souvent utilisés pour générer de nouvelles idées novatrices. Les premiers édifices du Parlement du Canada sont le résultat d’un concours de conception tenu en 1859. Les concours ont permis de créer de nombreux édifices d’importance culturelle au Canada et partout dans le monde, comme :

Complément d’information

Pour plus d'information ou pour visionner une vidéo des concurrents présentant leurs concepts, veuillez consulter la page de l'Institut royal d'architecture du Canada : Réaménagement de l’îlot 2 – présentation virtuelle.

Liens connexes

Date de modification :