Restoring and modernizing the Senate of Canada Building

On this page

Project photos

See the photos taken during the restoration and modernization project. For more pictures, visit our Senate of Canada Building photo gallery.

Visit the Senate’s webpage about the Senate of Canada Building.

Public Services and Procurement Canada (PSPC) restored and modernized the building now known as the Senate of Canada Building to serve as the interim home to the Senate. The Senate will occupy the space starting early in 2019 while its permanent home, Parliament Hill’s Centre Block, undergoes its first significant overhaul since it was completed in the 1920s.

The building, which used to be known as the Government Conference Centre (GCC), is close to Parliament Hill, located in downtown Ottawa at 2 Rideau Street.

In December 2018, the GCC was renamed the Senate of Canada Building.

The building was constructed between 1909 and 1912 and was Ottawa's central train station until 1966. It was converted into the GCC in 1968, with the work completed in 1973. Read more about the history and architecture of the Senate of Canada Building.

There were other limited changes to the building in the late 1960s and early 1970s, but it remained largely in its original state and was in critical need of rehabilitation by the time restoration began in late 2014 under the government’s Long Term Vision and Plan for the Parliamentary Precinct. The project created or sustained about 1,400 jobs. Among others, it employed architects, engineers, skilled trades workers and construction workers.

Watch this video to discover this monumental building’s most recent transformation from the GCC to the new home of the Senate of Canada.

Video: Transforming the Government Conference Centre

Visit our Senate of Canada Building photo gallery to see before and after pictures of the building’s transformation.

Building features

The Senate of Canada Building has been fit up with:

  • the interim Senate Chamber
  • 3 committee rooms
  • offices for Senate leadership and legislative functions
  • support space
  • modern information technology and multimedia facilities
  • an accessible, barrier-free path on all levels, including the public viewing gallery in the Senate Chamber
A room with a high vaulted ceiling and a decorative clock.

The interim Senate Chamber

The building is a good fit for the Senate, offering modern, efficient spaces for Senate use. The interim Senate Chamber is in what used to be the train station’s concourse. The design takes full advantage of the room’s high ceilings and prominently features a heritage skylight and plaster ceiling.

Senate functions are being relocated to the Senate of Canada Building, as well as to leased space close to the East Block.

Restoration and modernization project

PSPC worked hard to restore the building to its original grandeur while modernizing and adapting it to its new use as the interim home of the Senate.

PSPC restored heritage elements such as:

The restoration and modernization work included:

A black and white architectural sketch of the Senate of Canada Building with three additions highlighted in blue.

East addition

When the train station was built in 1912, there was a hotel attached to it on the east side. The neighbouring hotel was later demolished, leaving a bare exterior wall. As part of the rehabilitation project, PSPC added a new addition to that part of the building. The facade of the addition complements the Beaux-Arts style of the rest of the building.

Video: Take a guided tour of the Government Conference Centre during construction

Watch this video to learn about some of the work that was done.

Interesting facts

When the former train station was converted into the GCC, much of the work was done quickly without a lot of planning. This resulted in an inefficient use of space and a layout that was difficult to navigate. In some rooms:

As part of the project, many of the original finishes were rehabilitated.

Urban beehive initiative

PSPC has partnered with the Senate of Canada and the Fairmont Château Laurier to install Ottawa’s first urban beehives on a federally owned building. Through this partnership, the Château Laurier will maintain and collect honey from the hives. The hives will be installed on the east side of the Senate of Canada Building in 2019.

This initiative is one of the many sustainable features used in the overall modernization of the Parliamentary Precinct.

Greening the Senate of Canada Building

Choosing to keep the existing landmark building, rather than demolish and start anew, benefits the public as well as the environment.

PSPC conserved the original building materials wherever possible. This means fewer new materials were needed and less waste ended up in landfills. The department salvaged as many heritage materials as possible. For example, workers removed, refinished and reused:

They also repurposed:

More than 90% of construction waste from the project has been diverted from landfills. This is well above the project’s target of 80% diversion. New construction materials that were used met specific criteria for recycled content and life cycle.

As part of the project, PSPC included several environmentally sustainable and energy-saving features in the Senate of Canada Building. Green features include:

Making the building more accessible

The Senate of Canada Building was constructed before accessibility standards existed. As part of the project, it was upgraded to add features such as a barrier-free path of travel, and accessible elevators and washrooms. These features will improve accessibility and ensure that the building meets or exceeds current accessibility standards.

PSPC is striving to become a leader and model in making this important space accessible. By ensuring barrier-free access throughout, PSPC is making it easier for all Canadians to engage in our parliamentary democracy. 

Watch the video to see how PSPC has made the newly restored and modernized Senate of Canada Building and West Block more accessible for everyone.

Video: Improved accessibility in the Parliamentary Precinct

Project details

Here is a snapshot of the rehabilitation of the Senate of Canada Building:

More information

Date modified:

Restauration et modernisation de l’édifice du Sénat du Canada

Sur cette page

Photos du projet

Consultez les photos prises durant le projet de restauration et de modernisation. Pour voir d’autres photos, visitez notre galerie de photos de l’édifice du Sénat du Canada.

Visitez la page Web du Sénat portant sur l’édifice du Sénat du Canada.

Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada (SPAC) a restauré et modernisé l’édifice maintenant connu sous le nom d’édifice du Sénat du Canada afin qu’il serve de résidence provisoire du Sénat. Le Sénat occupera les locaux à compter du début de 2019, tandis que son siège permanent, l’édifice du Centre de la Colline du Parlement, subit sa première refonte en profondeur depuis sa construction dans les années 1920.

L’édifice, autrefois connu sous le nom de Centre de conférences du gouvernement (CCG), est situé près de la colline du Parlement, au centre-ville d’Ottawa, au 2, rue Rideau.

En décembre 2018, le CCG a été renommé l’édifice du Sénat du Canada.

L’édifice, construit entre 1909 et 1912, a abrité la gare ferroviaire centrale d’Ottawa jusqu’en 1966. Il a été transformé en CCG en 1968 et les travaux ont été achevés en 1973. Renseignez-vous sur l’histoire et l’architecture de l’édifice du Sénat du Canada.

À part les modifications mineures effectuées à la fin des années 1960 et au début des années 1970, l’état original de l’édifice n’avait pas changé, et il avait un besoin urgent de rénovation au moment du début des travaux de restauration, à la fin de 2014, sous l’égide de la vision et du plan à long terme pour la Cité parlementaire du gouvernement. Le projet a créé ou maintenu environ 1 400 emplois. Il a employé, entre autres, des architectes, des ingénieurs, des ouvriers spécialisés et des travailleurs de la construction.

Regardez cette vidéo pour découvrir la plus récente transformation de cet édifice monumental, qui est passé du CCG au nouveau siège du Sénat du Canada.

Vidéo : Transformer le Centre de conférences du gouvernement

Visitez notre galerie de photos de l’édifice du Sénat du Canada pour voir des photos avant et après la transformation de l’édifice.

Caractéristiques de l’édifice

L’édifice du Sénat du Canada a connu les aménagements suivants :

  • la chambre du Sénat provisoire;
  • 3 salles de réunion;
  • des bureaux destinés à la direction du Sénat et à des fonctions législatives;
  • des locaux de soutien;
  • des technologies de l’information et des installations multimédias modernes;
  • un parcours accessible et sans obstacle à tous les niveaux, y compris la galerie d’exposition publique dans la chambre du Sénat.
Une salle avec un haut plafond voûté et une horloge décorative.

La chambre du Sénat provisoire

L’édifice est bien adapté au Sénat, offrant des espaces modernes et efficaces à son usage. La chambre du Sénat provisoire se trouve dans ce qui était autrefois la salle des pas perdus de la gare. La conception tire pleinement parti des hauts plafonds de la salle et met en évidence un puits de lumière patrimonial et un plafond en plâtre.

Les fonctions du Sénat seront transférées dans l’édifice du Sénat du Canada ainsi que dans des locaux loués près de l’édifice de l’Est.

Projet de restauration et de modernisation

SPAC travaille avec acharnement afin de restaurer l’édifice et de lui rendre sa grandeur d’antan, tout en le modernisant et en l’adaptant à son nouveau rôle à titre de demeure provisoire du Sénat.

SPAC a restauré des éléments patrimoniaux, comme :

Les travaux de restauration et de modernisation comprennent les éléments suivants :

Un dessin architectural en noir et blanc de l’édifice du Sénat avec les trois annexes mises en évidence en bleu.

Annexe à l’est

Au moment de la construction de la gare, en 1912, un hôtel y était rattaché sur le côté est. Cet hôtel a ensuite été démoli, laissant derrière lui un simple mur extérieur. Dans le cadre du projet de restauration, SPAC a ajouté une nouvelle annexe à cette partie de l’édifice. La façade de l’annexe se marie au style Beaux-Arts du reste de l’édifice.

Vidéo : Participez à une visite guidée du Centre de conférences du gouvernement pendant les travaux de construction

Regardez cette vidéo pour vous renseigner sur les travaux qui ont été effectués.

Faits intéressants

Lorsque l’ancienne gare a été convertie en CCG, la majorité des travaux ont été effectués rapidement, sans beaucoup de planification. Ce manque de planification a donné lieu à une utilisation inefficace des espaces et à un aménagement qui complique l’orientation. Dans certaines salles :

Dans le cadre du projet, les finitions d’origine ont été restaurées.

Initiative des ruches urbaines

SPAC a établi un partenariat avec le Sénat du Canada et le Fairmont Château Laurier pour l’installation des premières ruches urbaines sur le toit d’un édifice de propriété fédérale. Grâce à ce partenariat, le Château Laurier entretiendra et récoltera le miel des ruches. Les ruches seront installées du côté est de l’édifice du Sénat du Canada en 2019.

L’initiative compte parmi les nombreuses mesures de durabilité prises dans le cadre de la modernisation globale de la Cité parlementaire.

Écologisation de l’édifice du Sénat du Canada

Le choix de conserver un édifice emblématique existant plutôt que de le démolir et en rebâtir un de zéro représente un avantage pour la population ainsi que pour l’environnement.

SPAC a conservé les matériaux de construction d’origine lorsque possible. C’est donc dire que moins de nouveaux matériaux ont été nécessaires et que moins de déchets ont été créés. Le Ministère a récupéré le plus de matériaux patrimoniaux possible. Par exemple, les travailleurs ont enlevé, remis en état et réutilisé tous les éléments suivants :

Ils ont également trouvé une nouvelle vocation aux éléments suivants :

Plus de 90 % des déchets de construction de ce projet ont été détournés des décharges. Ce résultat est largement supérieur à la cible de 80 % pour les détournements de ce projet. Les nouveaux matériaux de construction utilisés devaient respecter des critères spécifiques concernant le contenu recyclé et le cycle de vie.

Dans le cadre du projet, SPAC a intégré plusieurs éléments écologiquement durables et écoénergétiques à l’édifice du Sénat du Canada. Les dispositifs écologiques utilisés comprennent ce qui suit :

Rendre le bâtiment plus accessible

L’édifice du Sénat du Canada a été construit avant l’existence des normes d’accessibilité. Dans le cadre du projet, il a été modernisé afin d’y ajouter les caractéristiques telles qu’un parcours sans obstacle et des ascenseurs et des toilettes accessibles. Ces caractéristiques amélioreront l’accessibilité et feront en sorte que l’édifice respecte ou dépasse les normes d’accessibilité actuelles.

SPAC s’efforce de devenir un chef de file et un modèle à suivre en rendant cet important espace accessible. En assurant un accès sans obstacle partout, SPAC facilite la participation de tous les Canadiens à notre démocratie parlementaire. 

Regardez la vidéo pour constater les améliorations apportées par SPAC afin que l’édifice du Sénat du Canada et l’édifice de l’Ouest soient plus accessibles pour tous.

Vidéo : Amélioration de l’accessibilité dans la Cité parlementaire

Détails du projet

Voici un aperçu de la restauration de l’édifice du Sénat du Canada.

Renseignements supplémentaires

Date de modification :