Latest progress on the Centre Block project

Work is underway to restore and modernize the Centre Block, the most iconic and impressive of the Parliament Buildings. Today, the Centre Block is a busy construction site with lots of activity inside and out.

View the Hill Cam to see what’s happening outside in real time.

On this page

The design

We have unveiled preliminary concept designs for the Centre Block.

Take a look at the architectural drawings and our vision for the Centre Block and Parliament Welcome Centre design.

Parliament Welcome Centre

We are expanding the underground Parliament Welcome Centre to provide a more welcoming experience for visitors. It will also provide additional space for parliamentary functions. The new centre will span the length of the Centre Block, connecting it to the East and West Blocks on either side.

In spring 2020, we began digging down into the bedrock in front of the Centre Block, removing the rock and making space to build the new underground structure. As of June 2021, the contractor had removed more than 16,000 truckloads of rock.

Enlarged image of construction equipment digging into rock in front of a heritage building.

Excavators digging down into the bedrock in front of the Centre Block (click to view enlarged image).

Enlarged image of an aerial view of construction equipment digging into rock.

Excavation for the Parliament Welcome Centre as seen from the West Block tower (click to view enlarged image).

Vaux Wall removal

To allow excavation to begin, we took apart the Vaux Wall, which was the stone retaining wall that flanked both sides of the stairway leading to the Centre Block. The Vaux Wall is named for the famous landscape architect Calvert Vaux, who also co-designed the city of New York’s Central Park. Vaux designed the plan for the public grounds on Parliament Hill in the 1870s.

We carefully labelled each stone and recorded where it lay, then took the wall apart and cleaned the pieces. The stones will be in storage until it is time to re-build the wall.

Enlarged image of a stone retaining wall

The retaining wall on Parliament Hill, known as the Vaux Wall, shown here before construction began on the Centre Block (click to view enlarged image)

Enlarged image of two workers pack large stones onto skids

Workers preparing stones from the Vaux Wall for storage (click to view enlarged image)

View the video: The Vaux Wall on Parliament Hill: How we removed and protected it.

See how we carefully removed the retaining wall in front of the Centre Block (click to watch the video).

The Centre Block building

Preparing the interior of the building

After we carefully uninstall heritage elements, such as stained-glass windows, wood panelling and marble in office spaces and the linen ceiling in the House of Commons Chamber, to ensure they are safe, we will remove interior finishes and bring parts of the building down to their bare bones. This step is called “demolition and abatement.”

The “demolition” refers to removing interior finishes, like floors, ceilings and walls. “Abatement” refers to identifying, segregating and disposing of any hazardous materials.

Enlarged image of the interior of a building with the ceilings, flooring, walls and plaster removed

The 6th floor taken down to its bones. The ceilings, flooring, walls and plaster have all been removed. Other areas of the building with more heritage elements in them will be kept more intact (click to view enlarged image)

Work is underway throughout the building, but not all areas will be demolished or abated to the same degree. The majestic spaces in the main public areas, for example, the Senate Chamber, the House of Commons Chamber and the Hall of Honour, will receive careful attention. Important heritage and architectural elements will either be removed and stored or protected and preserved in place while construction continues around them.

Protecting heritage elements

When the building was cleared in preparation for construction, we removed all of the artwork and decorations that were not physically part of the building. In addition, we are now in the process of removing other items that were attached to the building, but can be removed, like chandeliers and heritage flooring. All of these elements are carefully put into crates and sent to storage, where they will remain until construction is complete and they can be returned to the newly renovated spaces.

Heritage elements that cannot be removed, such as carvings and murals, will stay in their current location and are being covered and protected.

View the video: Sharlene Goveas: Protecting the Centre Block's valuable heritage assets.

Watch how we are protecting heritage elements, such as carvings, murals and marble floors, while we work on the Centre Block (click to watch the video).

View the video: War paintings move out of Centre Block.

Watch this video to see how we removed and restored the 8 war paintings that hung in the Senate Chamber for decades (click to watch the video).

Watch the video: Removing the linen canvas ceiling.

Watch this video to see experts carefully remove the linen canvas ceiling from the House of Commons Chamber to protect it (click to watch the video).

Enlarged image of stairs and railings covered by plywood.

Plywood protects an ornate staircase in the House of Commons foyer (click to view enlarged image).

Enlarged image of a worker passing a lamp from a huge chandelier to another worker.

Workers carefully dismantle the heritage chandelier that hung in the Senate Chamber. The huge chandeliers weigh 1,542 kilograms each. The pieces will be crated and stored to protect them (click to view enlarged image).

Enlarged image of 2 workers in protective equipment removing a stained-glass window from a window frame.

Workers carefully removing stained-glass windows in the Memorial Chamber (click to view enlarged image).

Enlarged image of 2 workers wearing protective equipment removing painted fabric from a ceiling and winding it onto large spool.

The ceiling of the House of Commons Chamber is decorated with painted linen. We carefully removed the fabric and rolled it up to protect it (click to view enlarged image).

Safeguarding the Library of Parliament

The Library of Parliament in the Centre Block was renovated from 2002 to 2006 and will require some maintenance and upgrades before reopening. Due to the extensive renovations taking place outside its doors, it will remain closed for the duration of the Centre Block project. While some items from its collection were relocated to Library branch locations across the Parliamentary Precinct, most of its collection is now housed in the Library’s facility at 45 Sacré-Coeur Boulevard in Gatineau, Quebec.

The branch of the Library of Parliament at 125 Sparks Street was renovated between 2017 and 2018. It is operating as the interim main branch while the Centre Block is closed.

Once the Centre Block and the new Parliament Welcome Centre are completed, the Library in the Centre Block will reopen and the Visitor Experience Program will return to the Centre Block.

Enlarged image of the interior of the Centre Block's Library of Parliament

The interior of the Centre Block's Library of Parliament (click to view enlarged image)

Enlarged image of the exterior of a Gothic-style building

The exterior the Library of Parliament (click to view enlarged image)

Protecting from earthquakes

The Centre Block is located in an active earthquake zone. Its original structure does not provide sufficient protection against earthquakes. To meet modern seismic standards, the building needed to be made safer and more resilient.

The least expensive and most effective solution that avoids harming the building’s heritage fabric is base isolation. Base isolation involves separating the Centre Block from the Canadian Shield foundation and placing it on more than 500 base isolators, which essentially act as large shock absorbers.

We are using base isolation technology to ensure that the Centre Block and the Peace Tower can meet the required building code. They are being retrofitted to withstand a magnitude 6.0 earthquake. Read more about how we are preparing the Centre Block to withstand earthquakes.

Creating a digital map

We created a digital model of the entire Centre Block building. Information about the building is recorded and digitized into what is referred to as a building information model (BIM). The BIM helps everyone involved in the project understand and keep track of the work that has been done and the work that remains to be done.

The BIM includes databases, photographs and reports that capture information about the various building elements and turn it into a 3D model.

We worked with Carleton University’s Immersive Media Studio (CIMS) to create a 3D model that shows where all the building’s components and systems are located. These include elements like light fixtures, walls, wiring, ductwork and plumbing.

View the video: Capitalizing on innovation

Learn about the 3D digital model of the Centre Block (click to see the video).

The BIM supports the design process and helps in planning construction. We continue to work with the design team  to improve the model and  ensure that it captures the different states of the Centre Block as the work progresses. The details about the new mechanical, electrical, ventilation, plumbing and other systems we install in the Centre Block will all go into the BIM. This will make it much easier to service and maintain the systems for years to come.

Video: Construction update

Watch this video to see the work being done on the Centre Block to restore and modernize this Canadian icon. We released the video in spring 2021. It includes an update on the project and work completed up to winter 2020.

View the video: Centre Block project construction update

Watch this video to see the work being done to restore and modernize the Centre Block (click to see the video).

Related links

Date modified:

Derniers progrès du projet de l'édifice du Centre

Des travaux sont en cours pour restaurer et moderniser l’édifice du Centre, le plus emblématique et le plus impressionnant des édifices du Parlement. Aujourd’hui, l’édifice du Centre est un chantier de construction très actif, avec beaucoup d’activités à l’intérieur et à l’extérieur.

Regardez la caméra de la Colline pour voir ce qui se passe dehors en temps réel.

Sur cette page

Conception

Nous avons dévoilé les plans conceptuels préliminaires de l'édifice du Centre.

Jetez un œil aux dessins architecturaux et à notre vision de la conception de l'édifice du centre et du Centre d'accueil du Parlement.

Centre d’accueil du Parlement

Nous agrandissons le centre d’accueil souterrain du Parlement pour offrir une expérience plus accueillante aux visiteurs. Cela procurera également plus d’espace pour les fonctions parlementaires. Le nouveau centre s’étendra sur toute la longueur de l’édifice du Centre, le reliant aux édifices de l’Est de l’Ouest de chaque côté, et ce, sans compromettre l’apparence actuelle de la Colline du Parlement.

Au printemps 2020, nous avons commencé à creuser dans le substrat rocheux devant l’édifice du Centre, en retirant la roche et en faisant de la place pour construire la nouvelle structure souterraine. En date de juin 2021, l'entrepreneur avait retiré plus de 16 000 chargements de camion de roches.

Image agrandie de machinerie de construction creusant dans la roche devant un édifice du patrimoine

Excavatrices creusant dans le substrat rocheux devant l'édifice du Centre (cliquez sur l'image pour l'agrandir).

Image agrandie d'une vue aérienne de machinerie de construction creusant dans la roche.

Excavation du Centre d'accueil du Parlement telle qu'on peut la voir depuis l'édifice de l'Ouest (cliquez sur l'image pour l'agrandir).

Retrait du mur de Vaux

Afin de permettre le début de l’excavation, nous avons démonté le mur de Vaux, qui était le mur de soutènement en pierre qui longeait les deux côtés de l’escalier menant à l’édifice du Centre. Le mur de Vaux porte le nom du célèbre architecte paysagiste Calvert Vaux, qui était aussi l’un des concepteurs de Central Park de New York. Vaux a conçu le plan des terrains de la Colline du Parlement dans les années 1870.

Nous avons soigneusement étiqueté chaque pierre et noté l’emplacement de chacune d’entre elles, puis nous avons démonté le mur et nettoyé les morceaux. Les pierres seront entreposées jusqu’à ce qu’il soit temps de reconstruire le mur.

Image agrandie d'un mur de soutènement en pierres

Le mur de soutènement de la Colline du Parlement, appelé mur de Vaux, avant le début des travaux de construction visant l'édifice du Centre (cliquez sur l'image pour l'agrandir).

Image agrandie de 2 ouvriers emballant de grandes pierres sur des patins

Des ouvriers préparant des pierres du mur de Vaux afin de les entreposer (cliquez sur l'image pour l'agrandir).

Voir la vidéo : Le mur de Vaux de la Colline du Parlement : Comment nous l'avons enlevé et protégé

Voyez comment nous avons soigneusement retiré le mur de soutien devant l'édifice du Centre (cliquez pour voir la vidéo).

Édifice du Centre

Préparation de l’intérieur de l’édifice

Après avoir soigneusement enlevé les éléments patrimoniaux comme les vitraux, les lambris de revêtement et le marbre dans les bureaux et le plafond en lin de la Chambre des communes, pour nous assurer qu’ils sont en sécurité, nous retirerons les finitions intérieures et dénuderons certaines parties du bâtiment jusqu’à leur charpente. Cette étape est appelée « démolition et élimination ».

La « démolition » consiste à enlever les finitions intérieures comme les planchers, les plafonds et les murs. L’« élimination » consiste à cerner, à trier et à éliminer les matières dangereuses.

Image agrandie de l'intérieur d'un bâtiment dont les plafonds, le plancher, les murs et le plâtre ont été retirés

Le sixième étage dénudé jusqu'à la charpente. Les plafonds, le plancher, les murs et le plâtre ont tous été retirés. D'autres zones du bâtiment comportant davantage d'éléments à caractère patrimonial seront conservées de manière plus intacte (cliquez sur l'image pour l'agrandir).

Les travaux sont en cours dans tout l’édifice, mais la portée des travaux de démolition et d’élimination ne sera pas la même dans toutes les zones. Les espaces majestueux dans les principaux lieux publics, comme la salle du Sénat, la Chambre des communes et le Hall d’honneur, feront l’objet d’une attention particulière. Les éléments patrimoniaux et architecturaux importants seront soit enlevés et entreposés, soit protégés et conservés sur place pendant que la construction se poursuit aux alentours.

Protection des éléments patrimoniaux

Lorsque l’édifice a été dégagé en vue des travaux de construction, nous avons retiré toutes les œuvres d’art et les décorations qui ne faisaient pas physiquement partie du bâtiment. De plus, nous sommes actuellement en train d’enlever d’autres éléments qui étaient fixés à l’édifice, mais qui peuvent être retirés, comme les lustres et les planchers patrimoniaux. Tous ces éléments sont soigneusement placés dans des bacs et envoyés à l’entrepôt, où ils resteront jusqu’à ce que la construction soit terminée et qu’ils puissent être retournés dans les lieux récemment rénovés.

Les éléments patrimoniaux qui ne peuvent être retirés, comme les sculptures et les peintures murales, resteront à leur emplacement actuel et seront couverts et protégés.

Voir la vidéo : Sharlene Goveas : Protéger les précieux éléments patrimoniaux de l'édifice du Centre

Voyez comment nous protégeons les éléments patrimoniaux pendant les travaux de l'édifice du Centre (cliquez pour voir la vidéo).

Voir la vidéo : Les peintures de guerre sont retirées de l'édifice du Centre

Voyez comment nous avons décroché et restauré les 8 peintures de guerre qui décoraient la salle du Sénat depuis des décennies (cliquez pour voir la vidéo).

Voir la vidéo : Retrait du plafond en toile de lin de la Chambre des communes

Voyez comment les experts enlèvent soigneusement le plafond en toile de lin de la Chambre des communes afin de le protéger (cliquez pour voir la vidéo).

Image agrandie d’escaliers et de rampes recouverts de contreplaqué.

Le contreplaqué protège un escalier orné dans le foyer de la Chambre des communes (cliquez sur l'image pour l'agrandir).

Image agrandie d’un ouvrier qui remet une lampe d'un énorme lustre dans les mains d’un autre ouvrier.

Des ouvriers démontent avec précaution le lustre patrimonial qui était accroché dans la salle du Sénat. Ces énormes lustres pèsent 1 542 kilogrammes chacun. Les pièces seront mises en caisse et entreposées afin de les protéger (cliquez sur l'image pour l'agrandir).

Image agrandie de 2 ouvriers en équipement de protection qui retirent un vitrail d'un cadre de fenêtre.

Des ouvriers enlèvent soigneusement des vitraux de la Chapelle du Souvenir (cliquez sur l'image pour l'agrandir).

Image agrandie de 2 ouvriers un équipement de protection retirant le tissu peint d'un plafond et l'enroulant sur une grande bobine.

Le plafond de la Chambre des communes est orné d’une toile de lin peinte. Nous avons soigneusement retiré le tissu et l'avons enroulé pour le protéger (cliquez sur l'image pour l'agrandir).

Protection de la Bibliothèque du Parlement

La Bibliothèque du Parlement de l’édifice du Centre a été rénovée de 2002 à 2006, et quelques travaux d’entretien et de modernisation sont nécessaires avant sa réouverture. En raison de l’ampleur des rénovations qui se déroulent à l’extérieur de ses portes, elle restera fermée pendant toute la durée du projet de l’édifice du Centre. Alors que certains articles de la collection ont été envoyés à des succursales de la Bibliothèque situées dans la Cité parlementaire, la plus grande partie de la collection se trouve maintenant dans les installations de la Bibliothèque situées au 45, boulevard Sacré-Cœur, à Gatineau (Québec).

La succursale de la Bibliothèque du Parlement située au 125, rue Sparks a également été rénovée entre 2017 et 2018. Elle est maintenant la succursale principale provisoire de la Bibliothèque pendant que l’édifice du Centre est fermé.

Une fois que les travaux visant l’édifice du Centre et le nouveau Centre d’accueil du Parlement seront terminés, la Bibliothèque de l’édifice du Centre rouvrira et les activités du programme d’expérience des visiteurs reprendront leur cours dans l’édifice du Centre.

Image agrandie de l'intérieur d'une bibliothèque ornée avec une statue de la reine Victoria au milieu de la pièce.

L'intérieur de la Bibliothèque du Parlement de l'édifice du Centre. Cette photo a été prise après la restauration de la bibliothèque et avant le début du projet de l'édifice du Centre (cliquez sur l'image pour l'agrandir).

Image agrandie de l’extérieur d'un bâtiment de style gothique.

L'extérieur de la Bibliothèque du Parlement (cliquez sur l'image pour l'agrandir).

Protection contre les séismes

L’édifice du Centre est situé dans une zone sismique active. Sa structure d’origine n’offre pas une protection suffisante contre les tremblements de terre. Pour répondre aux normes sismiques modernes, l’édifice devait être rendu plus sûr et plus résilient.

La solution la moins coûteuse et la plus efficace qui ne risque pas d'endommager le caractère patrimonial de l'édifice est l'isolation des fondations. Celle-ci consiste à séparer l'édifice du Centre du Bouclier canadien et à insérer plus de 500 isolateurs sismiques, qui sont essentiellement de gros amortisseurs.

Nous avons recours à la technologie d'isolation sismique pour nous assurer que l'édifice du Centre et la tour de la Paix respectent le code du bâtiment applicable. Une fois renforcés, l'édifice et la tour pourront résister à un séisme d'une force de 6.0. Renseignez-vous davantage sur la façon dont nous préparons l'édifice du Centre à résister aux séismes.

Création d’une carte numérique

Nous avons créé un modèle numérique de l’ensemble de l’édifice du Centre. Les renseignements sur l’édifice sont enregistrés et numérisés dans ce que l’on appelle un modèle des données du bâtiment (MDB). Le MDB aide toutes les personnes qui participent au projet à comprendre et à suivre le travail qui a été fait et le travail qui reste à faire.

Le MDB comprend des bases de données, des photographies et des rapports qui saisissent des renseignements sur les différents éléments de l’édifice et les transforment en un modèle 3D.

SPAC a collaboré avec le Carleton Immersive Media Studio (CIMS) de l’Université Carleton pour créer un modèle 3D qui montre où se trouvent tous les composants et systèmes de l’édifice, parmi lesquels des éléments comme les luminaires, les murs, le câblage, les conduits et la plomberie.

Voir la vidéo : Tirer profit de l'innovation

Découvrez le modèle numérique 3D de l'édifice du Centre (cliquez pour voir la vidéo)

Le MDB soutient le processus de conception et aide à planifier la construction. SPAC et l’équipe de conception continuent d’améliorer le modèle pour s’assurer qu’il saisit les différents états de l’édifice du Centre au fur et à mesure de l’avancement des travaux. Les détails sur les nouveaux systèmes mécaniques, électriques, de ventilation, de plomberie et autres que nous installons dans l’édifice du Centre seront tous intégrés dans le MDB. Il sera ainsi beaucoup plus facile d’assurer le service et l’entretien des systèmes pour les années à venir.

Vidéo : Mise à jour sur les travaux de construction

Visionnez cette vidéo pour observer les travaux effectués à l'édifice du Centre afin de restaurer et de moderniser ce symbole canadien. Cette vidéo a été diffusée au printemps 2021. Elle présente une mise à jour du projet et des travaux réalisés jusqu'à l'hiver 2020.

Voir la video : Mise à jour sur les travaux de construction dans le cadre du projet de l'édifice du Centre

Voyez les travaux effectués à l'édifice du Centre afin de le restaurer et de le moderniser (cliquez pour voir la vidéo).

Liens connexes

Date de modification :