Follow the rehabilitation of the parliamentary buildings

The Parliamentary Precinct is home to Canada’s Parliamentary system and the physical expression of our commitment to democracy and the principle of freedom. The Precinct provides the setting for the work of Parliamentarians and their staff and is Canada’s top gathering place for public expression and celebration.

The long-term planning and rehabilitation of the Parliamentary Precinct has been a longstanding concern of the Government dating back to 1912. The Long Term Vision and Plan is the current comprehensive multi-decade strategy to renew the Parliamentary Precinct by:

In this context, the term “rehabilitation” means:

Rehabilitating the West Block

Work on the West Block began in 2011, and building occupancy is planned for the opening session of Parliament in fall 2018. The permanent courtyard infill will serve as the House of Commons Chamber while the Centre Block will be vacated to undergo rehabilitation.

Rehabilitating the Centre Block

Rehabilitating the Centre Block will be Public Services and Procurement Canada's largest and most complex heritage rehabilitation project ever.

Rehabilitating the East Block

The East Block’s exterior has some of the most remarkable examples of stonework and ironwork in Canada. While exterior masonry work will continue on portions of the building, plans for the full rehabilitation of this important heritage building are being developed.

Building the Visitor Welcome Centre

Phase 1 of the project is underway and will be ready to welcome its first visitors by the opening session of Parliament in the fall of 2018. This beautiful underground space will expand and enhance visitor experience while meeting security and infrastructure demands.

Rehabilitating the Government Conference Centre and office accommodation

Once Ottawa's former central train station, the Government Conference Centre will house the interim Senate Chamber during the Centre Block rehabilitation. Construction work is underway to allow the Senate to occupy this building for the opening session of Parliament in the fall of 2018.

Rehabilitating the Wellington Building

Completed in 2016, the Wellington Building will be used for parliamentary offices and meeting spaces. The interior features a new, central, multi-level atrium and a spectacular, restored ceiling mosaic in the lobby of the main entrance.

Rehabilitating the Sir John A. Macdonald Building

The project was completed in June 2015. The Sir John A. Macdonald Building is now the permanent home for large parliamentary meetings and functions.

Rehabilitating the grounds of Parliament Hill

Several changes have been made to the grounds since Confederation. Learn about recent improvements and the construction projects currently underway.

How parliamentary buildings are rehabilitated

Learn about the major work involved to conserve, rehabilitate and upgrade these buildings. The rehabilitation of the Library of Parliament, completed in 2006, serves as example.

The Long Term Vision and Plan

The Long Term Vision and Plan (LTVP) provides a detailed and coordinated approach to rehabilitate the Parliament Buildings and nearby buildings.

Date modified:

Suivez la réhabilitation des édifices du Parlement

La Cité parlementaire est le cœur du régime parlementaire du Canada et l’expression matérielle de notre engagement en faveur de la démocratie et de liberté. La Cité fournit un lieu de travail sécuritaire et efficace aux députés et à leur personnel, mais elle est également le principal lieu de rassemblement pour l’expression de l’opinion publique et la tenue de festivités au Canada.

La planification à long terme et la réhabilitation de la Cité parlementaire sont, depuis 1912, une préoccupation de longue date du gouvernement du Canada. La vision et le plan à long terme (VPLT) sont une stratégie complète, actuelle et sur plusieurs décennies, qui vise à renouveler la Cité parlementaire en :

Dans ce contexte, le terme « réhabilitation » signifie :

Réhabilitation de l'édifice de l'Ouest

Les travaux de réhabilitation de l’édifice de l’Ouest ont commencé en 2011 et l’occupation de l’immeuble est prévue pour l’ouverture de la session parlementaire à l’automne 2018. Le bâtiment intercalaire permanent permettra d’accueillir de façon temporaire la Chambre des communes alors que l’édifice du Centre sera libéré pour lancer les travaux de réhabilitation.

Réhabilitation de l'édifice du Centre

La réhabilitation de l'édifice du Centre deviendra le projet de restauration du patrimoine le plus grand et le plus complexe jamais entrepris par Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada. La planification est en cours et le projet devrait commencer en 2018.

Réhabilitation de l'édifice de l'Est

L’extérieur de l’édifice de l’Est est orné de quelques-uns des ouvrages de maçonnerie en pierres et de ferronnerie parmi les plus remarquables au Canada. Bien que des travaux de maçonnerie extérieurs se poursuivront sur certaines portions de la façade, des plans pour la réhabilitation complète de cet important édifice patrimonial sont en voie d'élaboration.

Construction du Centre d’accueil des visiteurs

La phase 1 du projet est en cours et sera en mesure d’accueillir ses premiers visiteurs pour l’ouverture de la session parlementaire à l’automne 2018. Cette splendide installation souterraine permettra d’améliorer l’expérience des visiteurs et de répondre à différents besoins, notamment en matière de sécurité.

Réhabilitation du Centre de conférences du gouvernement et des locaux à bureaux

Le Centre de conférences du gouvernement, l'ancienne gare ferroviaire centrale d'Ottawa, accueillera la salle du Sénat provisoire pendant la réhabilitation de l'édifice du Centre. Les travaux de construction sont en cours pour permettre au Sénat d’occuper l’édifice pour l’ouverture de la session parlementaire à l’automne 2018.

Réhabilitation de l’édifice Wellington

Le projet a été complété en 2016. Des parlementaires utiliseront les locaux à bureaux et salles de réunion de l'édifice. L'intérieur comprend un nouvel atrium central multiniveau et une spectaculaire mosaïque restaurée au plafond du vestibule de l'entrée principale.

Réhabilitation de l'édifice Sir-John-A.-Macdonald

Le projet a été complété en juin 2015. L'édifice Sir-John-A.-Macdonald offre désormais un espace permanent pour les grandes réunions et les fonctions parlementaires.

Réhabilitation des terrains de la Colline du Parlement

Les terrains de la Colline du Parlement ont connu plusieurs transformations depuis la Confédération. Apprenez-en plus sur les améliorations récemment complétées et les projets en cours.

Comment les édifices du Parlement sont réhabilités

Apprenez-en plus sur les travaux majeurs que nous lançons pour préserver, réhabiliter et rénover ces édifices. La réhabilitation de la Bibliothèque du Parlement, complétée en 2006, sert d’exemple.

Vision et plan à long terme

La vision et le plan à long terme fournit une approche détaillée et coordonnée concernant la réhabilitation des édifices du Parlement et des immeubles avoisinants.

Date de modification :