Rehabilitating the Sir John A. Macdonald Building

Following a significant rehabilitation project, the Sir John A. Macdonald Building was unveiled in June 2015. It is now the permanent home for large parliamentary meetings and functions.

Rehabilitation project

The Sir John A. Macdonald Building required an extensive rehabilitation. For example, most of the building systems were original and required upgrades to meet modern codes. The rehabilitation of the Sir John A. Macdonald Building included:

The former bank includes a main hall used for ceremonial functions (formerly held in the West Block's Confederation Room) and two smaller meeting rooms. This art deco/Beaux-Arts building is connected to a new annex by a glass atrium. The two-storey, 3,100 square metre addition was built in what was previously the adjacent courtyard and parking lot. The ground floor houses reception, security screening areas and service spaces, with a large common area and a meeting room upstairs. Large windows overlook Parliament Hill.

Green initiative

Image of Certificate

The Sir John A. Macdonald Building was rehabilitated with the intent to help green government operations by reducing Parliament's environmental footprint. Sustainable and energy efficient measures incorporated into the Building include:

The project is Green Globes certified and earned the highest possible eco-rating of five Green Globes. This designation, reserved for select building designs, is given to project serving as national or world leaders in energy and environmental performance.

Design

Original design

The Sir John A. Macdonald was built in the early 1930s by Montréal architect Ernest Barott for the Bank of Montreal.

The construction was very much a Canadian effort. The limestone carvings on the panels above its exterior doors and windows show Canadian industry and commerce. The building's interior decorations include images of Canadian wildlife and nature. Despite the Great Depression, the Bank of Montreal completed the building, which reinforced the bank's image of stability and reliability. Until 1935, when the Bank of Canada was created, the Bank of Montreal was the Dominion Banker (central bank).

The building's architecture is a noteworthy example of modern classicism. This style combines sophisticated art deco with traditional beaux-arts planning. Its architect, Ernest Barott, won the Royal Architectural Institute of Canada's Gold Medal for the building's design.

In 1986, the building received a Classified heritage designation from the Federal Heritage Buildings Review Office. This classification is the highest heritage designation for buildings. The building was classified because of its superior architecture and its contribution to Wellington and Sparks Streets.

Modern Design

The rehabilitation project was reviewed by the Federal Heritage Buildings Review Office and the National Capital Commission's Advisory Committee on Planning, Design and Realty.

The rehabilitation and construction plans respected the building's heritage character and prominent location. The building's elaborate windows were repaired. Stonemasons repaired the deteriorated masonry joints that had caused the building's stone façade to crumble and its steel frame to corrode. The multi-use conference centre, now modernized to 21st century standards, has kept its impressive limestone walls and elegant features.

The atrium provides a transition between the modern and heritage areas, which must be distinct from each other. We carefully chose new materials that allow the building to fit in with the surrounding buildings and the city block.

History uncovered

During the rehabilitation of the Sir John A. Macdonald Building, workers made an interesting discovery. They uncovered a stone carving in its walls. It was about 150 centimetres tall and 100 centimetres wide and did not indicate the artist or the origin.

The carving features the Bank of Montreal's coat of arms, supported by two Aboriginal persons. The bank's motto, Concordia Salus, meaning "prosperity through harmony", surrounds the emblem. A beaver, the symbol of hard-working Canadians, sits on top of the coat of arms. The carving is painted bronze, with details in green, red and gold.

An archival photograph revealed that a large stone tablet once sat on the 1872 building's outer façade. Although the poor quality of the picture doesn't confirm it's the same tablet, evidence suggests that it is.

The tablet was removed by stonemasons. It was then sent to the Canadian Museum of History for future research and study and for potential display at the museum or elsewhere.

Rehabilitation details

Here is a summary of the rehabilitation project.

More information

Date modified:

Réhabilitation de l'édifice Sir-John-A.-Macdonald

L'édifice Sir-John-A.-Macdonald a fait l'objet d'un important projet de réhabilitation dont les résultats ont été dévoilés en juin 2015. L'édifice offre désormais un espace permanent pour les grandes réunions et les fonctions parlementaires.

Projet de réhabilitation

L'édifice Sir-John-A.-Macdonald devait subir des travaux de réhabilitation majeurs. Par exemple, la plupart des systèmes du bâtiment étaient d'origine et devaient être mis à niveau afin de respecter les codes du bâtiment modernes. La réhabilitation de l'édifice Sir-John-A.-Macdonald comprend :

L'ancienne banque comprend un hall principal utilisé pour des activités cérémonielles (autrefois menées dans la salle de la Confédération de l'édifice de l'Ouest) et deux petites salles de réunion. Cet édifice de style art déco et Beaux-Arts est relié à une nouvelle annexe par un atrium de verre. Cette annexe de deux étages et d'une superficie de 3 100 mètres carrés a été construite sur un espace autrefois occupé par une cour adjacente et un stationnement. Son rez-de-chaussée accueille la réception, une zone de contrôle de sécurité et des locaux de service, tandis que l'étage abrite une vaste aire commune et une salle de réunion. De grandes fenêtres donnent sur la Colline du Parlement.

Initiatives écologiques

Image de certificat

La réhabilitation de l'édifice Sir-John-A.-Macdonald s'est faite dans la perspective de contribuer à l'écologisation des activités gouvernementales par la réduction de l'empreinte écologique du Parlement. Des caractéristiques durables et éconergétiques ont donc été incorporées à l'édifice. En voici quelques-unes :

Le projet a obtenu une certification Green Globes (lien disponible en anglais seulement) et a mérité la cote la plus élevée possible de cinq Green Globes. Cette appellation, réservée à un groupe sélect d'édifices pour leur conception, est décernée à des projets servant de chefs de file nationaux ou mondiaux en énergie et en performance environnementale.

Dessins de conception

Conception initiale

L'édifice Sir-John-A.-Macdonald a été construit au début des années 1930 par l'architecte montréalais Ernest Barott pour la Banque de Montréal.

La construction a été une entreprise bien canadienne. Les sculptures dans la pierre calcaire qui surplombent les portes extérieures et les fenêtres rendent hommage à l'industrie et au commerce du Canada. Les décorations intérieures, quant à elles, illustrent la faune et la nature du pays. Malgré la grande dépression, la Banque de Montréal a terminé la construction de l'édifice, renforçant ainsi son image de stabilité et de fiabilité. Jusqu'en 1935, année à laquelle la Banque du Canada a été créée, la Banque de Montréal était le banquier du Dominion (la banque centrale).

L'architecture de l'édifice constitue un exemple remarquable de classicisme moderne. Son style combine des éléments sophistiqués de l'art déco et la planification traditionnelle des Beaux-Arts. L'architecte Ernest Barott a remporté la médaille d'or de l'Institut royal d'architecture du Canada pour la conception de l'édifice.

En 1986, l'édifice a été désigné comme édifice fédéral du patrimoine classé par le Bureau d'examen des édifices fédéraux du patrimoine. Il s'agit de la plus haute désignation patrimoniale pour un édifice. Il l'a obtenu en raison de son style architectural supérieur et de son apport aux rues Wellington et Sparks.

Conception moderne

Le projet de réhabilitation a été examiné par le Bureau d'examen des édifices fédéraux du patrimoine et par le Comité consultatif de l'urbanisme, du design et de l'immobilier de la Commission de la capitale nationale.

Les plans de réhabilitation et de construction tenaient compte du caractère patrimonial de l'édifice et de son emplacement de premier choix. Les fenêtres travaillées de l'édifice ont été réparées. Des maçons ont réparé les joints de maçonnerie dont la détérioration avait entraîné l'effritement de la façade de pierre et la corrosion de la charpente métallique. Ce centre de conférence multifonctionnel, maintenant modernisé pour correspondre aux normes du 21e siècle, a conservé ses impressionnants murs de calcaire et ses élégantes caractéristiques.

L'atrium constitue une transition entre les parties moderne et patrimoniale qu'il convenait de bien distinguer l'une de l'autre. Nous avons choisi les nouveaux matériaux avec soin afin que l'édifice s'intègre bien à ceux qui l'entourent et à l'îlot urbain.

L'histoire révélée

Au cours de la réhabilitation de l'édifice Sir-John-A.-Macdonald, les travailleurs ont fait une intéressante découverte. Ils ont mis au jour une sculpture de pierre qui se trouvait dans un mur. Celle-ci mesure 150 centimètres de haut sur 100 centimètres de large. Aucune indication ne figure quant à l'artiste qui l'a créée ni à son origine.

La sculpture comporte les armoiries de la Banque de Montréal soutenues par deux Autochtones. La devise de la banque, Concordia Salus, qui signifie « le salut par la concorde », entoure l'emblème. Un castor, le symbole des Canadiens qui travaillent fort, se trouve au-dessus des armoiries. La sculpture est peinte couleur bronze, avec des détails en vert, rouge et or.

Une photographie d'archive montre qu'en 1872, la façade de l'édifice était ornée d'une grande plaque de pierre. Bien que l'image de piètre qualité ne permette pas de confirmer qu'il s'agit de la même plaque, cela est fort probable.

Des maçons ont retiré la plaque du mur où elle se trouvait. Elle a ensuite été envoyée au Musée canadien de l'histoire où elle fera l'objet de recherches et d'études avant d'être exposée, dans le musée ou ailleurs.

Détails relatifs à la réhabilitation

Voici une présentation sommaire du projet de réhabilitation.

Renseignements supplémentaires

Date de modification :