Planning for the future of the Parliamentary Precinct campus

The buildings and grounds on and near Parliament Hill are symbols of our democracy and part of our history. They play an important role in the nation’s capital. We have a detailed plan to renovate, restore and modernize them. This plan is now being updated. It will continue to guide the future work to maintain Parliament Hill and its surroundings as a national treasure, a centre of democracy and a tourist destination.

On this page

About the Long Term Vision and Plan

Queen Victoria selected Ottawa as Canada’s capital in 1857. Since then, Parliament Hill and the area around it has grown and evolved. Through all its evolutions, one element is consistent: careful planning.

Carrying on the tradition of planning for the Parliamentary Precinct, we work from a master plan that we call the Long Term Vision and Plan (LTVP) for the Parliamentary Precinct. The plan provides a detailed and coordinated approach to renovating, restoring and modernizing the Parliament Buildings and federal buildings near them. The LTVP is not a fixed plan, but rather a flexible strategy.

Parliamentary Precinct campus boundaries

The precinct is made up of the following buildings on Parliament Hill:

It also includes the grounds, the Senate of Canada Building, the 3 blocks south of Wellington Street and the buildings near Parliament Hill.

In total, the precinct includes 35 Crown-owned buildings, of which 28 are designated heritage properties.

Updating the Long Term Vision and Plan

The LTVP for the Parliamentary Precinct is being updated. The last time we did a major update to the plan was in 2006. We are now updating the plan with our parliamentary partners:  

Until recently, the main goal of the LTVP has been to create space for Parliament so the Centre Block could be vacated to launch its historic rehabilitation. The Senate is temporarily located in the Senate of Canada Building. The House of Commons has its interim Chamber in the West Block.

With these moves complete, the Centre Block is now closed and assessment work is underway. The focus of the LTVP is now shifting towards creating an integrated and connected parliamentary campus for a modern Parliament.  Approaching the Centre, West and East Blocks as part of a larger parliamentary complex will tie together the facilities on the Hill, as well as important buildings in the three city blocks facing Parliament Hill, such as the Wellington, Sir John A. Macdonald and Valour buildings.

The new master plan will provide direction well into the future. It will focus on key themes, such as:

The updated plan will realize the full potential of the Parliamentary Precinct and its important role in the nation's capital. It will also ensure appropriate integration with Crown-owned lands west of the Parliamentary Precinct.

This next phase of the rehabilitation of the precinct will continue to be the result of the collaborative work of the parliamentary partners, PSPC and stakeholder groups. This will ensure that upcoming programs of work identify functional, flexible, integrated and creative approaches that highlight and preserve this history for future generations of Canadians and visitors to admire.

Progress since the last update

Many of the buildings in the Parliamentary Precinct are more than 100 years old. Time and weather have taken a toll on them and as a result, their renewal is vital. We’ve made significant progress carrying out the 2006 plan. We completed the following major restoration and modernization projects:

Learn how we restore and modernize Parliament Buildings.

Current projects

We are working on the largest heritage restoration project that Canada has ever seen: the restoration and modernization of the Centre Block. We are also moving ahead with plans and work to restore and modernize the East Block and the Confederation Building. We continue to work on several other projects along Wellington and Sparks streets.

We will also be launching an architectural design competition to renew Block 2.

Advancing these projects will ensure that some of the most iconic heritage buildings in Canada are adapted in creative ways to meet the needs of a modern 21st-century Parliament.  It is also part of building a modern, forward-leaning capital that does not lose touch with its past.

Annual reports

Each year, we publish the Long Term Vision and Plan Annual Report. The report outlines the work we did and the major milestones we met to advance the LTVP for the Parliamentary Precinct.

Date modified:

Planifier l'avenir du campus de la Cité parlementaire

Les édifices et les terrains de la Colline du Parlement et ses environs sont l'emblème de notre démocratie et font partie de notre histoire, en plus d'occuper une place importante dans la capitale du pays. Nous avons établi un plan détaillé afin de les rénover, de les restaurer et de les moderniser. Ce plan est actuellement mis à jour. Il continuera d'orienter les travaux que nous ferons pour entretenir la Colline du Parlement et ses environs comme le trésor national, le cœur de la démocratie et la destination touristique qu'ils constituent.

Sur cette page

Au sujet de la vision et du plan à long terme

La Reine Victoria a déterminé qu'Ottawa serait la capitale du Canada en 1857. Depuis lors, la Colline du Parlement et la zone qui l'entoure se sont développées et ont évolué. Au fil de leurs évolutions, un élément est demeuré constant : une planification minutieuse.

Voulant perpétuer cette tradition de planification, nous travaillons à partir d'un plan directeur que nous appelons la vision et le plan à long terme (VPLT) pour la Cité parlementaire. Ce plan décrit en détail l'approche coordonnée selon laquelle les édifices du Parlement et les édifices fédéraux à proximité sont rénovés, restaurés et modernisés. La VPLT se veut non pas un plan fixe, mais plutôt une stratégie flexible.

Limites du campus de la Cité parlementaire

La Cité est constituée des édifices suivants sur la Colline du Parlement :

Elle comprend aussi les terrains, l'édifice du Sénat du Canada, les 3 îlots urbains au sud de la rue Wellington et les édifices situés près de la Colline du Parlement.

Au total, la Cité compte 35 édifices appartenant à l'État, dont 28 sont des édifices patrimoniaux désignés.

Mettre à jour la vision et le plan à long terme

La VPLT pour la Cité parlementaire est actuellement mise à jour. La dernière mise à jour importante de la VPLT remonte à 2006. La mise à jour que nous faisons présentement est réalisée en collaboration avec nos partenaires parlementaires :  

Jusqu'à récemment, la VPLT visait avant tout à créer des locaux pour le Parlement, afin de libérer l'édifice du Centre et de lancer sa réhabilitation historique. Le Sénat a été relocalisé temporairement dans l'édifice du Sénat du Canada. Quant à la Chambre des communes, une salle de séance temporaire a été aménagée dans l'édifice de l'Ouest.

Ces déménagements étant terminés, l'édifice du Centre a été fermé, et les travaux préparatoires ont été amorcés. Maintenant, la VPLT vise plutôt à aménager un site intégré et connecté amenant le Parlement dans la modernité. Une planification qui aborde les édifices du Centre, de l'Ouest et de l'Est comme un vaste complexe parlementaire permettra de relier ensemble les installations de la Colline et les édifices importants des trois îlots urbains en face de la Colline du Parlement, comme l'édifice Wellington, l'édifice Sir-John-A.-Macdonald et l'édifice de la Bravoure.

Le nouveau plan directeur comprendra des orientations à très long terme. Il sera axé sur des thèmes clés, tels que :

Le nouveau plan permettra de réaliser le plein potentiel de la Cité parlementaire et de lui faire prendre sa place importante dans la capitale nationale. Il permettra également d'assurer une intégration appropriée aux terrains de l'État situés à l'ouest de la Cité parlementaire .

Cette prochaine phase de la réhabilitation de la Cité sera, elle aussi, le fruit d'un travail de collaboration entre SPAC, les partenaires parlementaires et les groupes concernés. Ainsi, les programmes de travaux à venir décriront des approches fonctionnelles, flexibles, intégrées et ingénieuses qui permettront de mettre en valeur et de préserver l'histoire du site, pour le bonheur des prochaines générations de Canadiens et de visiteurs qui l'admireront.

Progrès réalisés depuis la dernière mise à jour

De nombreux édifices de la Cité parlementaire ont plus de 100 ans. Les années et les intempéries ont eu des effets néfastes sur eux. Il est donc essentiel de les rénover. Nous avons avancé considérablement la mise en œuvre du plan de 2006. Nous avons en outre mené à bien les grands projets de restauration et de modernisation suivants :

Découvrez comment nous restaurons et réhabilitons les édifices du Parlement.

Projets en cours

Nous travaillons au plus important projet de restauration patrimoniale jamais entrepris au Canada : la restauration et la modernisation de l'édifice du Centre. Nous mettons également de l'avant les plans et les travaux visant à restaurer et à moderniser l'édifice de l'Est et de l'édifice de la Confédération. Nous continuons par ailleurs de travailler à plusieurs autres projets le long des rues Wellington et Sparks.

De plus, nous lancerons un concours de conception architecturale en vue de renouveler l'îlot 2.

En mettant en œuvre ces projets, nous nous assurerons que certains des édifices patrimoniaux les plus emblématiques du Canada sont adaptés de manières ingénieuses aux besoins d'un parlement du 21e siècle. Nous contribuerons par le fait même à la création d'une capitale moderne qui est tournée vers l'avenir sans oublier son passé.

Rapports annuels

Chaque année, nous publions le rapport annuel sur la VPLT. Le rapport décrit le travail que nous avons accompli et les étapes importantes que nous avons franchies pour faire avancer la VPLT pour la Cité parlementaire.

Date de modification :