Delivering results for Canadians—The Long Term Vision and Plan Annual Report 2016 to 2017

Document navigation for "The Long Term Vision and Plan Annual Report 2016 to 2017"

The Long Term Vision and Plan (LTVP) continues to contribute to the local and national economy generating lasting economic, social, and environmental benefits for all Canadians. Parliamentary Precinct Branch (PPB) continues to review and build on existing performance measures to ensure their alignment with strategic goals and overall relevance to the evolving program and to enhance their overall effectiveness as results-based indicators (see Annex A for some of the key indicators being measured by PPB).

Greening the seat of government

Sustainability is a top priority for the Government of Canada and PPB contributes to the advancement of the federal environmental sustainability agenda in several ways. In 2016, the Branch established an Environmental Sustainability Office to help develop and implement an integrated sustainability strategy that is aligned with the government’s vision, goals and targets.

Through the LTVP, PPB continues to make strides toward reducing the environmental footprint of Parliament Hill and its surroundings. Major projects target a 25% reduction in energy consumption over and above the National Energy Code. The precinct’s greenhouse gas (GHG) emissions are already 28% lower than the baseline established in the fiscal year 2005 to 2006. All heritage rehabilitation projects in the Precinct target ratings of Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design (LEED) Silver or equivalent, with the recently completed Sir John A. Macdonald Building exceeding this target by achieving a rating of Five Green Globes such as the equivalent of LEED Gold.

Through its rehabilitation projects, the LTVP has implemented a number of greening measures, such as:

Moreover, in an effort to increase the declining urban bee population, an urban apiculture (beekeeping) initiative was launched in partnership with the Senate, the Fairmont Chateau Laurier and Carleton University’s Azrieli School of Architecture and Urbanism. Beehives designed by students from the Azrieli School will be installed on the roof of the Government Conference Centre by 2018.

With the government’s transition to clean electricity, the impending modernization of Public Services and Procurement Canada (PSPC)’s district heating and cooling system in the National Capital Region and the LTVP’s ongoing implementation of energy improvements, the precinct is in a position to achieve an 80% reduction in GHG emissions from the 2005 to 2006 baseline by 2030.  Future rehabilitation projects present a new opportunity for the seat of Canadian democracy to lead by exploring innovative technologies and practices and by striving for excellence in environmental sustainability. These projects are also a chance to implement design choices that could substantially improve building performance and eventually enable PPB to achieve its ultimate goal of carbon neutrality for the precinct. Ultimately, these rehabilitations will be a source of pride for Canadians who will see their Parliament as a symbol of their values and of the Government of Canada’s commitment to the future. 

Innovation and youth

The LTVP offers unique opportunities for young Canadians to contribute to historic projects, gain invaluable experience and build industry capacity.

In restoring and modernizing the Parliamentary Precinct, PPB has established partnerships with Canadian universities and colleges, including the Universities of Alberta, Calgary, Carleton, Manitoba and Montréal, as well as Algonquin College. These partnerships are enabling PPB to leverage unique research capacity and expertise to strengthen the 19st century heritage buildings to meet the needs of 21st century users and building codes such as seismic reinforcement. PPB is now using building information modeling to improve the design, construction and operations of the Parliament Buildings, and new technology, such as 3D printing and robotic stone cutting, to restore them.

These partnerships are providing multiple benefits for government, universities and students. They create opportunities for hundreds of students to hone their skills and develop the practical experience they need to succeed.

PPB also makes extensive use of student programs to support the rehabilitation of the Parliament Buildings. Over the past five years, the branch has directly hired approximately 200 students; some of whom have since become permanent employees. 

Economic benefits and opportunities for Canadians

The LTVP is labour intensive. On any given day there are more than 1,000 Canadians working on construction sites throughout the Parliamentary Precinct. It is expected that the five Major Capital Projects (Sir John A. Macdonald, Wellington, West Block, Visitor Welcome Centre Phase 1, and Government Conference Centre) will generate over 25,000 person-years of employment over the course of the work.

Most of the jobs being generated are through contracts with small, medium and large companies from across Canada, representing a broad cross section of the economy from manufacturing, architecture and engineering to construction and skilled trades.

In 2017, Raymond Chabot Grant Thornton concluded a gender based analysis that indicated PPB is leveraging procurement strategies to encourage widespread inclusion of Canadians, specifically increasing the participation of youth, and indigenous people in the completion of our projects.

Indigenous provisions are being implemented in the procurement of major work. For the rehabilitation of the Wellington Building, provisions were included for the contracting of environmental consulting services and custom millwork and furniture. Indigenous set-aside criteria were also applied for the provision of project management support services for the Centre Block project.

Improving accessibility in the precinct

PPB is committed to making the Parliamentary Precinct more accessible to all. All projects meet the requirements established in the Treasury Board Secretariat’s Accessibility Standard for Real Property and the National Building Code. Examples include barrier-free entrances, exits and amenities (such as washrooms) and elevators sized to accommodate power assisted wheelchairs. 

PPB has already implemented several improvements, including the lowering of curbs, and the installation of hydraulic doors, hand rails and accessible ramps at building entrances such as the recently completed Wellington Building and Sir John A Macdonald Building. The Wellington Building has also been outfitted with accessible committee rooms and parliamentary offices. Braille signage and stairs with contrasting edge stripes have also been installed to help the visually impaired.

Major projects, such as the West Block and Government Conference Centre, will provide a barrier-free access and path of travel on all floors, including in the chambers. PPB is also constructing a Universal Accessibility route on the Parliament Hill grounds so that a barrier-free path is clearly identified both during and after renovations.

The visitor experience and Canada 150

As the LTVP projects continue to progress, PPB is developing more visitor experiences to showcase and explain the work being done in the Precinct. The Wellington Building participated in the 2016 and 2017 Doors Open Ottawa, allowing access to the newly rehabilitated space. The rehabilitation of West Block was featured in a segment on the Rick Mercer Report with the installation of the first glass tile in the new roof over the courtyard. The Prime Minister of Canada also helped to celebrate the putting in place of the final piece of masonry in the West Block.

In 2017, Canada is celebrating the 150th anniversary of Confederation. It is a milestone anniversary year in which Canadians want to celebrate, participate and strengthen their connection to Canada and their communities.

Canadian Heritage (PCH) is leading the federal approach for Canada’s 150th Anniversary of Confederation celebrations and other federal departments and agencies are contributing by undertaking their own initiatives throughout 2017.

PSPC is playing a leading federal role by implementing several high profile Canada 150 initiatives in addition to facilitating the events and activities of stakeholders, and providing federal coordination in areas such as translation and procurement. PPB has been identified as the single point of contact for Canada 150 initiatives for the department and is leading the strategic planning, coordination, and governance of departmental initiatives as well and implementing several key projects.

PSPC has identified over 35 initiatives, some of which have already been completed, for development under 4 major categories: Implementing Legacy Initiatives, Highlighting our Achievements and Assets, Facilitating Stakeholder/Partner Events Coordination and Supporting Federal Coordination. One of the initiatives developed to help highlight the work in the Precinct was the installation of a virtual reality experience at 90 Wellington. Participants were able to see a 3D image of the Centre Block and gain a better understanding of the planned rehabilitation project.

Postal Station B

  • PPB committed to reduce the visible construction downtown by finding innovative ways to minimize visible construction and enhance the visitor experience
  • To help reduce the visible construction downtown by finding innovative ways to minimize visible construction and enhance the visitor experience, PPB created a unique design for Postal Station B using the Canada 150 logo and colour palette
  • The objective was to create awareness of PSPC’s national role and mandate by the example of PPB’s work in the Parliamentary Precinct and to celebrate the renewal of our heritage buildings

Red Bull Crashed Ice

PPB provided facilitation of various federal departments (PSPC, Parks Canada, National Capital Commission (NCC), Parliamentary Protective Service (PPS), Senate, House) for this televised international athletic event

  • Lighting coordination of East Block, Centre Block and Postal Station B for night time presence and experience
  • Coordination of media trailers and compound on Parliament Hill for international broadcast
  • Gifted repurposed copper to the City of Ottawa for the Red Bull Crashed Ice trophy design

90 Wellington

  • PPB created and provided Canadians an opportunity to explore and interact a multimedia virtual reality kiosk and exhibit to showcase some of the renovation and modernization work underway on Parliament Hill and its surroundings
  • The exhibit highlights the department’s Long Term Vision and Plan via a high definition (HD) presentation and features original artifacts on display and provides an overview of the combinations of traditional crafts and new technologies that go into restoring and modernizing Parliament Hill
  • The virtual reality (VR) kiosk was developed in partnership with Carleton University’s Carleton Immersive Media Studio (CIMS) who developed the VR programming, and Canadian Heritage, whose information guides provide daily operational support
  • To date, thousands of people have visited the exhibit and participated in the virtual reality experience

Sparks Street window displays

  • PPB facilitated and coordinated a graphic exhibit installation along Sparks Street storefronts to highlight some of PSPC’s initiatives including the Long Term Vision and Plan and its role in stewardship and preservation of the precinct’s symbolic primacy, visual integrity and heritage value as an icon of Canadian democracy for over 150 years and to create an engaging experience that educates visitors about PSPC’s role in the preservation and rehabilitation of the buildings and sites
  • Displays also include information on the Canada Gazette, Canada Flag Standards and the building of the Intercolonial Railway

Document navigation for "The Long Term Vision and Plan Annual Report 2016 to 2017"

Date modified:

Produire des résultats pour la population canadienne – La vision et le plan à long terme rapport annuel exercise 2016 à 2017

Navigation pour le Document « La vision et le plan à long terme rapport annuel exercise 2016 à 2017 »

La vision et le plan à long terme (VPLT) continue de contribuer à l’économie locale et nationale en générant des avantages économiques, sociaux et environnementaux durables pour tous les Canadiens. La Direction générale de la Cité parlementaire (DGCP) continue de se pencher et de miser sur les mesures de rendement actuelles pour garantir qu’elles cadrent avec les objectifs stratégiques et la pertinence générale du programme en évolution, ainsi que pour améliorer leur efficacité globale en tant qu’indicateurs fondés sur les résultats (voir l’Annexe A pour obtenir certains des indicateurs clés mesurés par la DGCP).

Écologisation du siège du gouvernement

La durabilité est une priorité principale du gouvernement du Canada et la DGCP contribue à la progression de l’ordre du jour sur la durabilité de l’environnement de plusieurs manières. En 2016, la Direction générale a mis sur pied le Bureau de la durabilité environnementale pour contribuer à l’élaboration et à la mise en œuvre d’une stratégie de durabilité intégrée qui est alignée sur la vision, les objectifs et les cibles du gouvernement.

Par l’intermédiaire de la VPLT, la DGCP continue à faire des efforts pour réduire l’empreinte écologique de la Colline du Parlement et de ses environs. Les projets majeurs ciblent une réduction de la consommation d’énergie supérieure de 25 % aux exigences du Code national de l’énergie. Les émissions de gaz à effet de serre de la Cité sont déjà 28 % inférieures à la référence établie pour l’exercice 2005 à 2006. Tous les projets de réhabilitation d’édifices patrimoniaux de la Cité visent la cote Argent de la norme Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design (LEED) ou l’équivalent; l’édifice Sir-John-A.-Macdonald récemment achevé a dépassé cette cible en obtenant une cotation de cinq « Green Globes », c’est-à-dire l’équivalent de la cote Or de la norme LEED.

Au moyen des projets de réhabilitation, la VPLT a mis en œuvre un certain nombre de mesures d’écologisation comme : 

En outre, dans un effort d’augmenter la population d’abeilles urbaines, une initiative d’apiculture a été lancée en partenariat avec le Sénat, l’hôtel Fairmont Château Laurier et l’Azrieli School of Architecture and Urbanism de l’Université Carleton. La ruche conçue par les étudiants de l’Azrieli School sera installée sur le toit du Centre de conférences du gouvernement d’ici 2018.

Grâce à la transition du gouvernement vers l’électricité propre, à la modernisation imminente des systèmes de chauffage et de refroidissement à distance dans la région de la capitale nationale et à la mise en œuvre continue des améliorations énergétique, la Cité est en position d’atteindre une réduction de 80 % des émissions de gaz à effet de serre d’ici 2030 par rapport à la référence de 2005 à 2006. Les futurs projets de réhabilitation présentent une nouvelle occasion pour le siège de la démocratie canadienne d’assurer la direction en explorant les technologies et pratiques novatrices et en visant l’excellence dans la durabilité environnementale. Ces projets sont également une chance de mettre en œuvre des choix de conception qui pourraient améliorer de manière substantielle le rendement des immeubles et éventuellement permettre à la DGCP d’atteindre son objectif définitif de la carboneutralité pour la Cité. En fin de compte, ces réhabilitations seront une source de fierté pour les Canadiens qui considéreront leur Parlement comme un symbole de leurs valeurs et de l’engagement du gouvernement du Canada sur l’avenir. 

Innovation et jeunesse

La VPLT offre aux jeunes Canadiens des occasions uniques de contribuer à des projets historiques, à acquérir une expérience inestimable et à renforcer la capacité de l’industrie.

En restaurant et en modernisant la Cité parlementaire, la DGCP a établi des partenariats avec les universités et les collèges canadiens, y compris l’Université de l’Alberta, Université Carleton, l’Université de Calgary, l’Université du Manitoba, l’Université de Montréal ainsi que le Collège Algonquin. Ces partenariats permettent à la DGCP de tirer parti d’une capacité et d’une expertise de recherche unique pour renforcer les édifices patrimoniaux du XIXe siècle afin de satisfaire aux besoins des utilisateurs et aux codes du bâtiment du XXIe siècle (par exemple renforcement sismique). La DGCP utilise actuellement la modélisation des renseignements sur les immeubles pour améliorer la conception, la construction et les activités des édifices du Parlement ainsi que les nouvelles technologies comme l’impression 3D et la taille de pierre robotisée pour les restaurer.

Ces partenariats fournissent de nombreux avantages pour le gouvernement, les universités et les étudiants. Ils créent des occasions pour des centaines d’étudiants d’affiner leurs compétences et de développer une expérience pratique dont ils ont besoin pour réussir.

En outre, la DGCP a grandement recours aux programmes destinés aux étudiants pour contribuer à la réhabilitation des édifices du Parlement. Au cours des cinq dernières années, la Direction générale a directement engagé environ 200 étudiants, dont certains sont devenus depuis des employés permanents. 

Avantages et possibilités économiques pour la population canadienne 

La VPLT nécessite un travail intensif. Pour n’importe que jour donné, il y a plus de 1 000 Canadiens qui travaillent sur les sites de construction dans l’ensemble de la Cité parlementaire. On prévoit que les cinq grands projets d’immobilisations (édifice Sir-John-A.-Macdonald, édifice Wellington, édifice de l’Ouest, Centre d’accueil des visiteurs – phase 1, Centre de conférences du gouvernement) généreront plus de 25 000 d’années-personnes d’emploi directs durant les travaux.

La plupart des emplois générés proviennent de contrats établis avec de petites, moyennes et grandes entreprises provenant de partout au Canada et représentent une large part de l’économie de la fabrication, l’architecture et l’ingénierie jusqu’à la construction et les métiers spécialisés. 

En 2017, Raymond Chabot Grant & Thornton ont réalisé une analyse comparative entre les sexes qui indiquait que la DGCP mise sur des stratégies d’approvisionnement pour favoriser une large inclusion des Canadiens et tout particulièrement accroître la participation des jeunes et des Autochtones dans la réalisation de nos projets.

Des dispositions à l’égard des Autochtones sont mises en œuvre dans l’approvisionnement relatif à de grands projets. Pour la réfection de l’édifice Wellington, on a inclus des dispositions prévoyant l’attribution de contrats pour des services de consultation en environnement ainsi que des services de menuiserie et d’ameublement sur mesure. Les critères des marchés réservés aux entreprises autochtones ont aussi été appliqués pour l’obtention des services de soutien à la gestion de projet dans le cadre du projet de l’édifice du Centre. 

Amélioration de l’accessibilité sur la Cité parlementaire

La DGCP est déterminée à rendre la Cité parlementaire plus accessible à tous. Tous les projets répondent aux exigences établies par la Norme d’accès facile aux biens immobiliers du Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor et au Code national du bâtiment. Ils prévoient notamment des entrées, des sorties et des commodités (comme les toilettes) sans obstacle, et des ascenseurs pouvant accueillir des fauteuils roulants électriques.

La DGCP a déjà mis en œuvre plusieurs améliorations, notamment l’abaissement du trottoir et l’installation de portes hydrauliques, de mains courantes et de rampes accessibles à l’entrée des immeubles comme les édifices Wellington et Sir-John-A.Macdonald, dont les travaux ont récemment été terminés. L’édifice Wellington a également été équipé de salles de comité et de salles de réunion des parlementaires accessibles. Une signalisation en braille et des bandes contrastantes en bordure des marches d’escalier ont aussi été installées pour aider les personnes ayant une déficience visuelle.

Les grands projets, comme ceux de l’édifice de l’Ouest et du Centre de conférences du gouvernement, offriront un accès et une voie de circulation sans obstacle à tous les étages, y compris dans les chambres. La DGCP construit également une voie d’accès universelle sur les terrains de la Colline du Parlement de sorte qu’une voie sans obstacle soit clairement identifiée tant durant les travaux de rénovation qu’après ceux-ci. 

L’expérience des visiteurs et Canada 150

À mesure que les projets de la VPLT progressent, la DGCP conçoit davantage d’expériences des visiteurs pour mettre en valeur et expliquer les travaux effectués sur la Cité parlementaire. Dans le cadre de l’événement Portes ouvertes Ottawa 2016 et 2017, l’édifice Wellington a donné accès à l’espace nouvellement réhabilité. La réhabilitation de l’édifice de l’Ouest et l’installation de la première tuile de verre du nouveau plafond recouvrant la cour ont été présentées dans un segment du Rick Mercer Report. Le premier ministre du Canada a également aidé à célébrer l’installation de la dernière pièce de maçonnerie de l’édifice de l’Ouest.

En 2017, Canada célèbre le 150e anniversaire de la Confédération. Il s’agit d’un anniversaire marquant que les Canadiens veulent célébrer, auquel ils veulent participer et dans le cadre duquel ils veulent consolider leur lien avec le Canada et leurs communautés.

Patrimoine canadien (PCH) dirige l’approche fédérale quant aux célébrations du Canada pour le 150e anniversaire de la Confédération, et d’autres ministères et organismes fédéraux y contribuent en entreprenant leurs propres initiatives en 2017.

La Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada (SPAC) joue un rôle fédéral central en mettant en œuvre plusieurs initiatives de Canada 150 de premier plan en plus d’animer les événements et activités des intervenants et d’assurer la coordination fédérale dans des domaines comme la traduction et l’approvisionnement. La DGCP a été identifiée comme point de contact unique pour les initiatives de Canada 150 auprès du ministère et dirige la planification stratégique, la coordination et la gouvernance des initiatives ministérielles et assure également la mise en œuvre de plusieurs projets clés.

La SPAC a repéré plus de 35 initiatives, donc certaines sont déjà terminées, pour une élaboration aux termes de quatre grandes catégories : la mise en œuvre d’initiatives patrimoniales, la mise en valeur de nos réalisations et de nos actifs, la coordination d’événements avec les intervenants et les partenaires, et le soutien de la coordination fédérale. L’une des initiatives conçues pour aider à mettre en lumière le travail réalisé sur la Cité parlementaire était l’installation d’une expérience de réalité virtuelle au 90, rue Wellington. Les participants pouvaient voir une image en trois dimensions de l’édifice du Centre et mieux comprendre le projet de réhabilitation prévu. 

Succursale postale B

  • La DGCP s’est engagée à réduire la visibilité des travaux de construction au centre-ville en trouvant des façons novatrices de limiter les constructions visibles et d’améliorer l’expérience des visiteurs
  • Dans le cadre de la gestion de la construction, les services de Scott Thornley & Company ont été retenus pour la création d’un dessin unique pour la Succursale postale B utilisant le logo et la palette de couleurs de Canada 150
  • L’objectif était d’accroître la sensibilisation au rôle national et au mandat de la DGCP en utilisant l’exemple des travaux réalisés par celle-ci à la Cité parlementaire, de célébrer le renouvellement de nos édifices patrimoniaux et de créer un modèle qui peut être appliqué à d’autres projets de la DGCP et pourrait être élargi à l’échelle nationale par les biens de la DGCP

Red Bull Crashed Ice

  • La DGCP a assuré la coordination de divers ministères (SPAC, Parcs Canada, Commission de la capitale nationale (CCN), Service de protection parlementaire (SPP), Sénat, Chambre des Communes) pour cet événement athlétique international télévisé
  • coordination de l’éclairage à l’édifice de l’Est, à l’édifice du Centre et à la Succursale postale B pour la présence et l’expérience nocturnes
  • coordination des remorques et du complexe des médias sur la Colline du Parlement pour la diffusion internationale
  • remise de cuivre recyclé à la Ville d’Ottawa pour la conception du trophée Red Bull Crashed Ice

90, rue Wellington

  • La DGCP offre aux Canadiens l’occasion de découvrir un kiosque d’exposition multi­ média basé sur la réalité virtuelle afin de présenter une partie des travaux de rénovation et de modernisation présentement en cours sur la Colline du Parlement et ses environs
  • L’exposition met en vedette la Vision et le plan à long terme du ministère par le biais d’une présentation haute définition (HD) et comprend des artéfacts originaux en plus d’offrir un aperçu des manières dont les arts traditionnels et les nouvelles technologies sont utilisés pour restaurer et moderniser la Colline du Parlement
  • Le kiosque de réalité virtuelle (RV) a été conçu en partenariat avec le Carleton Immersive Media Studio (CIMS) de l’Université Carleton, qui ont effectué la programmation RV, et Patrimoine canadien, dont les guides d’information ont apporté un soutien opérationnel quotidien
  • Jusqu’à présent, des milliers de personnes ont visité l’exposition et participé à l’expérience virtuelle

Vitrines sur la rue Sparks

  • La DGCP a facilité et coordonné une exposition d’installations graphiques le long des vitrines de la rue Sparks afin de mettre en valeur certaines des initiatives de SPAC, notamment la Vision et le plan à long terme et son rôle dans l’intendance et la préser­ vation de la primauté symbolique, de l’intégrité visuelle et de la valeur patrimoniale du district en tant qu’icône de la démocratie canadienne pour plus de 150 ans ainsi que pour créer une expérience engageante pour les visiteurs tout en les instruisant sur le rôle joué par SPAC dans la préservation et la revalorisation des bâtiments et des sites
  • Les présentations comprennent aussi des renseignements sur la Gazette du Canada, les mâts porte- drapeaux canadiens et la construction du chemin de fer intercolonial

Navigation pour le Document « La vision et le plan à long terme rapport annuel exercise 2016 à 2017 »

Date de modification :