National Capital Region Crossings

Follow: Twitter

Learn more about the projects to maintain and repair these important crossings that connect Ontario and Quebec.

About the bridges

The ownership and custody of the five interprovincial crossings in the NCR is divided between Public Service and Procurement Canada (PSPC) and the National Capital Commission (NCC). PSPC owns and operates the Alexandra Bridge, the Chaudière Crossing and the Macdonald-Cartier Bridge, while the NCC is responsible for the Portage Bridge and Champlain Bridge.

The interprovincial crossings are vital links between Ottawa and Gatineau. In 2017, the five interprovincial crossings carried close to 150,000 vehicles and 9,000 pedestrians and cyclists on a daily basis.

Transportation studies conducted over the last 10 years have consistently shown that the existing crossings and connecting roadways are at full capacity during morning and evening peak hours.

Budget 2019 updates

Budget 2019 announced $80.4 million over 10 years to rehabilitate and maintain the Chaudière Crossing, the Alexandra Bridge and the Macdonald-Cartier Bridge. Over the longer term, Budget 2019 also made a commitment to replace the Alexandra Bridge as it is now more than 100 years old and nearing the end of its lifecycle.

Interprovincial crossings in the NCR are the responsibility of the Government of Canada. As the NCR population continues to grow, there is an acute need to increase bridge capacity in the region. That’s why Budget 2019 made the commitment to refresh existing studies for an additional NCR crossing. The NCC has awarded a contract to WSP Canada Group Limited to carry out this work.

Budget 2019 also committed to developing a long-term, integrated interprovincial crossing plan, led by the NCC with both provincial governments and the cities of Gatineau and Ottawa. Over the long-term, this plan will take into account all means of transportation, including Light Rail, public transit, vehicles, cyclists and pedestrian requirements.

In the interim, both PSPC and the NCC will keep working together to ensure bridges remain safe for commuters. Both organizations along with their partners are also developing new and innovative ways to minimize the impact of construction on commuters. This includes appropriately coordinating bridge projects and using barges, when possible, to complete work.

Earlier this summer, the NCC accelerated the Portage cyclist barrier project, while PSPC delayed the start of the Alexandra Bridge steel replacement project, to avoid having closures on both bridges. Additionally, the Alexandra Bridge steel replacement project will be completed using barges, which minimizes the required lane closures to complete the project and allow traffic to continue without disruption.

Lane closures

For the most up-to-date information about lane closures, visit the web page entitled Ottawa-Gatineau area federal bridges—Lane closures, which includes construction updates.

Infographic: Lane reductions and closures
Description for Infographic: Lane reductions and closures on interprovincial bridges in the National Capital Region
  1. Macdonald-Cartier Bridge
    • July to August 2019: No rush hour closures; minimal impact off-peak hour.
  2. Alexandra Bridge
    • July 2019 to August 2020: Intermittent lane closures and pedestrian access uninterrupted.
  3. Portage Bridge
    • The works to rehabilitate the asphalt surface of the Portage Bridge and to enhance its cycle track have been completed in June 2019.
    • No construction projects currently planned.
  4. Chaudiere Crossing
    • In the coming months: Occasional short term lane closures normally scheduled during off peak-hours.
    • June 2020 to December 2021: Closure of one lane for the duration of project.
  5. Champlain Bridge
    • No construction projects currently planned.

Related links

More information

Date modified:

Ponts de la région de la capitale nationale

Suivez : Twitter

Renseignez-vous sur les projets d’entretien et de réparation dont font l’objet les ponts importants qui relient l'Ontario et le Québec.

À propos des ponts

Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada (SPAC) et la Commission de la capitale nationale (CCN) se partagent la propriété et la garde des cinq ponts interprovinciaux de la région de la capitale nationale (RCN). SPAC possède le pont Alexandra, la traverse des Chaudières et le pont Macdonald-Cartier et en assure le fonctionnement, tandis que la CCN est responsable du pont du Portage et du pont Champlain.

Les cinq ponts interprovinciaux assurent une liaison vitale entre Ottawa et Gatineau. En 2017, près de 150 000 véhicules et 9 000 piétons et cyclistes les ont empruntés tous les jours.

Les études sur les transports menées au cours des dix dernières années ont démontré de façon constante que les ponts et les voies de raccordement actuels sont utilisés au maximum de leur capacité aux heures de pointe du matin et du soir.

Mise à jour sur le budget de 2019

Dans le budget de 2019, il a été annoncé que 80,4 millions de dollars seront affectés sur 10 ans à la réfection et à l'entretien de la traverse des Chaudières, du pont Alexandra et du pont Macdonald-Cartier. Il y est aussi prévu à plus long terme que le pont Alexandra sera remplacé, parce qu’il a plus de 100 ans et qu’il approche la fin de sa durée de vie.

Les ponts interprovinciaux de la RCN demeurent la responsabilité du Gouvernement du Canada. Comme la population de la RCN continue de croître, il sera nécessaire d’augmenter la capacité de ponts dans la région. C’est pourquoi il est prévu dans le budget de 2019 que les études existantes sur l’ajout d’un pont dans la RCN seront actualisées. La CCN a confié cette tâche à WSP Canada Group Limited par l’attribution d’un contrat.

Le budget de 2019 prévoit par ailleurs l’établissement d’un plan intégré à long terme sur les liaisons interprovinciales. Le plan sera élaboré sous la direction de la CCN, en collaboration avec les gouvernements des deux provinces et les villes d’Ottawa et de Gatineau. Sur le long terme, le plan tiendra compte de tous les moyens de transport, y compris du train léger, des transports en commun, des véhicules automobiles, des vélos et des besoins des piétons.

Pour l’heure, SPAC et la CCN continuent de veiller ensemble à ce que les ponts demeurent sécuritaires pour les usagers. Les deux organisations élaborent en outre, de concert avec leurs partenaires, des façons novatrices de réduire au minimum l'incidence des travaux de construction sur les usagers. Parmi ces moyens, mentionnons la coordination appropriée des projets visant les ponts et l’exécution des travaux à l’aide de barges, dans la mesure du possible.

Plus tôt cet été, la CCN a accéléré la réalisation du projet de protection des cyclistes sur le pont du Portage, tandis que SPAC a retardé le lancement du projet de remplacement d’éléments en acier du pont Alexandra, afin d’éviter la fermeture de voies sur les deux ponts. Ce dernier projet sera de plus réalisé à l'aide de barges, ce qui permettra de réduire au minimum les fermetures de voies nécessaires à la réalisation du projet et de maintenir la circulation sans interruption.

Fermetures de voies

Pour obtenir des renseignements à jour sur les fermetures de voies, visitez la page Web intitulée Ponts fédéraux dans la région d'Ottawa-Gatineau – fermetures de voies, qui comprend des mises à jour sur les travaux de construction.

Infographie : Fermetures et réductions de voies
Description pour infographie : Fermetures et réductions de voies sur les ponts interprovinciaux de la région de la capitale nationale
  1. Pont Macdonald-Cartier
    • Juillet à août 2019 : Aucune fermeture à l’heure de pointe; incidence minimale durant les heures creuses.
  2. Pont Alexandra
    • De juillet 2019 à août 2020 : Fermetures de voies intermittentes et accès piétonnier ininterrompu.
  3. Pont du Portage
    • Les travaux de réfection du revêtement d’asphalte du pont du Portage et l’élargissement de sa piste cyclable se sont terminés en Juin 2019.
    • Aucun projet de construction n’est prévu pour l’instant.
  4. Traverse des Chaudières
    • Dans les prochains mois : Fermetures de voies occasionnelles de courte durée normalement prévues durant les heures creuses.
    • De juin 2020 à décembre 2021 : Fermeture d’une voie pendant toute la durée des travaux.
  5. Pont Champlain
    • Aucun projet de construction n’est prévu pour l’instant.

Liens connexes

Renseignements supplémentaires

Date de modification :