A Canadian icon

The Centre Block building is the main hub of Parliament. It is also the literal home of Canadian democracy, and a source of national pride. Everywhere you look, Canada's people and history are reflected in the building's majestic architecture, design and decor. It's easy to see why Canadians and tourists feel awe when they visit Centre Block.

A place for all Canadians

The Centre Block is home to the House of Commons and Senate Chamber. It also includes offices for the speakers of both chambers, members of Parliament, senators, senior administrators and committee rooms.

Canadians may recognize the House of Commons foyer from media scrums. Other popular areas include ceremonial spaces, like the Hall of Honour (or Rotunda) and Confederation Hall. And at more than 92 metres, the Peace Tower is also a popular tourist attraction.

Centre Block is not just a place for politics. It is the setting for royal visits, concerts, the Changing of the Guard, Northern Lights, Canada Day celebrations and state funerals. Canadians also gather here to protest, hold rallies, and even exercise.

The inside of the House of Commons

A symbol of courage and resilience

The Centre Block was built between 1859 and 1876.

On February 3, 1916, fire broke out in the reading room. 7 people were killed, including 1 member of parliament. All of Centre Block burned down, except for the Library of Parliament. In fact, the library is the only part of the original Centre Block we see today.

The rest of Centre Block was rebuilt after the fire. The building kept its Gothic Revival style, and included more floors than before.

Centre Block partially reopened in early 1920 as a "beacon of optimism for the post-war age." In 1927, the completed tower was renamed the "Peace Tower" as a national symbol of remembrance.

Date modified:

Un emblème canadien

Plaque tournante du Parlement, l'édifice du Centre est également le foyer de la démocratie canadienne et une source de fierté nationale. Où que vous regardiez, son architecture, sa conception et son décor majestueux témoignent de l'histoire du Canada et de son peuple. C'est pourquoi les Canadiens et les touristes sont aussi impressionnés lorsqu'ils visitent l'édifice du Centre.

Un endroit pour tous les Canadiens

L’édifice du Centre abrite la Chambre des communes et la Chambre du Sénat. On y retrouve aussi les bureaux des Présidents des deux Chambres, des députés, des sénateurs et des administrateurs de haute direction, ainsi que les salles de réunion des comités.

Les Canadiens peuvent reconnaître le foyer de la Chambre des communes lors des points de presse, ainsi que les aires protocolaires, comme le Hall d’honneur et le Hall de la Confédération (ou la rotonde). D’une hauteur de plus de 92 mètres, la Tour de la Paix attire aussi beaucoup de touristes.

L’édifice du Centre n’est pas associé uniquement à la politique. Il peut servir de cadre aux visites royales, aux concerts, à la Relève de la Garde, aux spectacles son et lumière, aux célébrations de la fête du Canada et aux funérailles nationales. Les Canadiens y organisent aussi des manifestations ou des rassemblements, et y vont même s’entraîner.

Intérieur de la Chambre des communes

Un symbole de courage et de résilience

L'édifice du Centre a été construit de 1859 à 1876.

Le 3 février 1916, un incendie a fait rage dans la salle de lecture. Sept personnes ont perdu la vie, dont un député. L'édifice a été entièrement détruit, à l'exception de la Bibliothèque du Parlement, qui est d'ailleurs la seule section originale de l'édifice du Centre que nous connaissons aujourd'hui.

Celui-ci a dû être rebâti après l'incendie. Le nouvel édifice a conservé le style néogothique d'autrefois et comprend plus d'étages que l'ancien.

À son ouverture partielle au début de 1920, l'édifice du Centre devient un « phare de notre optimisme de l'après-guerre ». Inaugurée en 1927, la tour a été rebaptisée la Tour de la Paix et est devenue le symbole national de la commémoration.

Date de modification :