Renovation details

Centre Block construction will begin in 2019. This will be the largest, most complex heritage rehabilitation project ever seen in Canada. Public Services and Procurement Canada will use innovative approaches and technologies throughout the project. When Centre Block reopens, it will be ready to meet the needs of a 21st-century parliament for years to come.

A multi-phase endeavour

The Centre Block Restoration and Modernization project is extremely large. It will go through many phases based on the National Project Management System (NPMS).

As each project phase is complete, project managers will determine next steps. As a result, providing specific dates and cost estimates may sometimes be challenging.

The Government of Canada is committed to ensuring the best value for Canadians throughout the project. It will also work to be as open and accountable as possible.

Looking down the inside of the Peace Tower

Temporary homes for Parliament and Senate

Centre Block will close for renovations in 2018. The House of Commons will move to a new chamber in the West Block. The Senate Chamber will move to the Government Conference Centre, across from the Château Laurier. Both moves are expected to occur in 2018.

Inside of the House of Commons

Impact on tourism

The Centre Block will be closed to visitors and tourists during construction. However, Parliament Hill will remain open. PSPC will work with partners and stakeholders to provide alternative tourism experiences.

Hundreds of people doing yoga on Parliament Hill.

More information

Date modified:

Précisions sur les rénovations

Le projet de restauration et de modernisation de l’édifice du Centre, qui commencera en 2019, est le projet de réhabilitation du patrimoine le plus important et le plus complexe jamais entrepris au Canada. Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada (SPAC) adoptera des approches et des technologies novatrices pendant toute la durée du projet. À sa réouverture, l'édifice du Centre répondra aux besoins d'un Parlement du 21e siècle, et ce, pour les années à venir.

Projet à phases multiples

Cet important projet de restauration et de modernisation de l’édifice du Centre comptera plusieurs phases fondées sur le Système national de gestion de projet (SNGP).

Lorsqu'une phase du projet sera terminée, les gestionnaires de projet détermineront les prochaines étapes à suivre. Par conséquent, présenter des dates précises et des estimations de coûts peut s'avérer difficile.

Le Gouvernement du Canada s'engage à assurer la rentabilité du projet pour les Canadiens pendant toute sa durée. Il veillera à être le plus ouvert et le plus responsable possible.

Vue en plongée de l'intérieur de la Tour de la Paix

Locaux provisoires de la Chambre des communes et du Sénat

À la fermeture de l'édifice du Centre en 2018, la Chambre des communes sera relocalisée dans une salle de l'édifice de l'Ouest, alors que le Centre de conférences du gouvernement, situé devant l'hôtel Château Laurier, accueillera la Chambre du Sénat. Ces deux déménagements sont prévus pour 2018.

Intérieur de la Chambre des communes

Conséquences sur le tourisme

Durant sa réhabilitation, l'édifice du Centre sera fermé aux visiteurs et aux touristes. La Colline du Parlement demeurera toutefois ouverte. SPAC collaborera avec divers partenaires et intervenants pour offrir des expériences touristiques différentes.

Des centaines de personnes pratiquent le yoga sur la Colline du Parlement

Renseignements supplémentaires

Date de modification :