Mandatory credit checks

On January 29, 2018, Public Services and Procurement Canada implemented mandatory credit checks (also called financial inquiries) as part of its personnel security processes. Learn more about mandatory credit checks and how an applicant gives consent.

On this page

About mandatory credit checks

In October 2014, the Government of Canada updated its policies on the security of government information. Part of this update included the Treasury Board Standard on Security Screening, meant to ensure security screening in the Government of Canada is more effective and rigorous and allows easier transfers of reliability status and security clearances between departments and agencies. As a result, credit checks are mandatory for all levels of security screening.

Purpose of a credit check

Conducting a credit check as part of a security assessment helps determine an individual’s reliability, particularly as it relates to their ability to meet their financial obligations. While the status of an individual’s financial situation may not affect their ability to do a job, financial obligations or pressures could pose a security risk.

It is important to note that assessing an individual’s financial situation is just one part of the overall assessment. Public Services and Procurement Canada also assesses an applicant’s background information, education and professional credentials, personal and professional references and criminal record.

Validity of an existing reliability status or security clearance

Mandatory credit checks do not affect existing Public Services and Procurement Canada-issued personnel reliability status and security clearances.

Cost of the financial inquiries

There is no cost to the applicant or the organization for a credit check. The cost associated with a financial inquiry is covered by Public Services and Procurement Canada.

No impact on an individual’s credit history

Public Services and Procurement Canada’s inquiry is similar to that commonly done by private sector companies when screening employees. Credit checks conducted for the purpose of security screenings are “masked,” meaning there is no negative effect on an individual’s credit bureau file and a Public Services and Procurement Canada credit history request will not include the applicant’s credit score.

Public Services and Procurement Canada is committed to protecting the privacy of personal information.

The credit check results (credit history report) are kept confidential on the Public Services and Procurement Canada applicant`s security screening file. Public Services and Procurement Canada stores personnel information in accordance with the terms and conditions of the provision of the federal Privacy Act, Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat's Policy on Privacy Protection, as well as the Directive on Privacy Practices.

Credit bureau service providers are aware of the Government of Canada’s expectations when it comes to protecting the privacy of personal information and the importance of offering secure services to Canadians.

An applicant’s credit history report information is never shared with the applicant’s Company Security Officer or Alternate. Public Services and Procurement Canada contacts the applicant directly whenever there is a need to validate financial information.

However, Public Services and Procurement Canada may share, through government approved secure means, an individual’s credit history report information with another Government of Canada department or agency in cases when an applicant’s reliability status or security clearance needs to be transferred.

Applying the new process

Who does the credit checks

Public Services and Procurement Canada submits a credit check request to a service provider (credit bureau) and receives what is referred to as a credit history report. This report contains a record on an individual’s past borrowing and repaying history, including information about late payments and bankruptcy as well as a comprehensive history of current credit or credit that has been used in the past 6 years.

Public Services and Procurement Canada reviews the credit history report provided by the credit bureau to determine the type and significance of the financial concerns.

The credit check is one of many factors considered when assessing risk to government information, assets and sites. Public Services and Procurement Canada will also verify an applicant’s:

All of these factors are taken into account during the assessment to determine whether to grant a reliability status or security clearance to an applicant.

In general, this additional check should not cause any further delays in the security screening processing times.

Note: Delays can be expected if the report contains information that requires a more in-depth assessment. If the credit check reveals areas of concern, an additional assessment will be made. A security screening interview with the applicant may be required to validate or gather more information.

Consult Personnel security screening processes—Subject interview for more information.

When a credit check is required

Credit checks are mandatory for applicants who require a new, an update (renewal), or an upgrade of their personnel security screening clearances. This requirement applies to both levels of security screening requests:

Note: A credit check is not required for transfer, duplication and reactivation of reliability status or security clearances.

A credit check is also not required for supplemental personnel security screening requests (for example when an employee has a change of name or marital status).

A transfer request will not require a credit check unless:

A duplication request will not require a credit check unless there is a change of circumstance.

Consult Section 259—Reports of the Industrial Security Manual to learn more about a change of circumstance.

Reminders

Transfer requests

Used when an organization must transfer the employee’s personnel security clearance held by another Government of Canada department or agency

Duplication requests

Used when an organization must duplicate the employee’s personnel security clearance held by another private sector organization registered Public Services and Procurement Canada’s Contract Security Program.

Note: It is recommended that company security officers or alternates submitting a transfer request for applicants with an existing reliability status or security clearance granted more than 5 years ago, request the applicants to provide consent in the Online Industrial Security Services portal or check box 3 in section C of the Personnel screening, consent and authorization form (TBS/SCT 330-23E).

For duplication and transfer requests, or in cases where a subject security interview would be required, Public Services and Procurement Canada would verify that consent for a credit check had previously been provided.

How the applicant gives consent

The applicant must consent to having their credit checked for the security screening assessment on Public Services and Procurement Canada’s Online Industrial Security Services portal or on the Personnel screening, consent and authorization form (TBS/SCT 330-23E).

The applicant must:

For more information about the electronic signature option, read the program’s communiqué New features added to the online industrial security services portal.

Consult the company security officer's guide to completing and submitting personnel security screening forms.

Learn how to complete Section C—Consent and verification of the TBS/SCT 300-23 form.

No additional forms

There are no additional documents associated with a credit check. The applicant provides consent when applying online for a personnel security screening or security clearance or by checking box 3 of section C of the Personnel screening, consent and authorization form (TBS/SCT 330-23E) form.

Refusal by applicant to consent to a credit check

Note: Refusal to provide consent will result in an automatic rejection of the application.

Learn more about mandatory credit checks

Public Services and Procurement Canada’s Contract Security Program offers free webinar training for organizations bidding and working on government contracts with security requirements. To help you better understand the mandatory credit check process, live webinars will be offered.

Webinars are presented by subject matter experts and allow for a question and answer period at the end.

For other learning and reference material, please email: ssidsicsensibilisation.isscisdoutreach@tpsgc-pwgsc.gc.ca.

More information

Date modified:

Vérification du crédit obligatoire

Le 29 janvier 2018, Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada a mis en place la vérification du crédit obligatoire (enquête sur la situation financière) dans le cadre de ses processus de sécurité du personnel. Apprenez-en davantage sur la vérification du crédit obligatoire et sur la façon dont un demandeur donne son consentement.

Sur cette page

Renseignements sur la vérification du crédit obligatoire

En octobre 2014, le gouvernement du Canada a mis à jour ses politiques sur la sécurité de l’information du gouvernement. Une partie de cette mise à jour touche la Norme sur le filtrage de sécurité du Conseil du Trésor. Elle vise à ce que le filtrage de sécurité au gouvernement du Canada soit plus efficace et rigoureux et permette d’améliorer la transférabilité de la cote de fiabilité ou de l’autorisation de sécurité d’un ministère ou organisme à l’autre. Par conséquent, la vérification du crédit est obligatoire à tous les niveaux de filtrage de sécurité.

L’objectif de la vérification du crédit

La vérification du crédit est un des éléments pris en considération pour évaluer la fiabilité d’un individu particulièrement en ce qui concerne son habileté à rencontrer ses obligations financières. La situation financière d’un employé n’affecte pas nécessairement sa capacité de faire son travail, par contre les obligations ou les pressions financières peuvent poser un risque de sécurité.

Il est important de noter que l’évaluation de la situation financière d’un individu est seulement une partie de l’évaluation globale. Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada évalue aussi les antécédents, les références au niveau de l’éducation et de la profession, les références personnelles et professionnelles ainsi que le dossier judiciaire du demandeur.

Validité d’une cote de fiabilité ou d’une autorisation de sécurité existante

La vérification du crédit obligatoire n’a aucune incidence sur les autorisations de sécurité du personnel qui ont été délivrées dans le passé par Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada.

Coût de l’enquête sur la situation financière

Il n’y a aucun frais associé à la vérification du crédit pour le demandeur ou l’organisation. Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada couvre tous les frais liés à l’enquête sur la situation financière.

Aucune incidence sur les antécédents en matière de crédit d’une personne

L’enquête de Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada est semblable à celle réalisée par les entreprises privées sur les employés. Les vérifications du crédit menées aux fins de filtrage de sécurité sont effectuées confidentiellement, ce qui signifie qu’elles n’ont aucune incidence défavorable sur le dossier de crédit de la personne; et la demande d’antécédents de Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada n’inclura pas le pointage de crédit de la personne.

Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada s’engage à protéger les renseignements personnels.

Les résultats des vérifications du crédit (rapport de crédit) sont tenus confidentiels dans le dossier d’enquête sur la sécurité du demandeur de Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada. Le Ministère conserve les renseignements sur le personnel selon les modalités de la disposition de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels, la Politique sur la protection de la vie privée du Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor du Canada, ainsi que la Directive sur les pratiques relatives à la protection de la vie privée.

Les bureaux de crédit sont conscients des attentes du gouvernement en ce qui a trait à la protection des renseignements et l’importance d’offrir des services sécuritaires aux Canadiens.

Les résultats de la vérification du crédit d’un demandeur ne sont jamais communiqués à l’agent de sécurité d’entreprise du demandeur ni à l’agent remplaçant. Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada communique directement avec le demandeur lorsqu’il faut valider des renseignements financiers.

Cependant, Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada peut transmettre les résultats de la vérification du crédit d’une personne (de façon sécuritaire et approuvé par le gouvernement)  à un autre ministère ou organisme du gouvernement du Canada si l’autorisation de sécurité ou la cote de fiabilité doit être transférée.

Implémentation du nouveau processus

Qui effectue la vérification du crédit

Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada présente une demande de vérification du crédit à un fournisseur de services (agence d’évaluation du crédit), et reçoit un rapport de crédit. Ce rapport contient des données sur la date de naissance, les adresses, l’historique d’emploi de même qu’une historique du crédit actuel et du crédit des 6 dernières années.

Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada examine les résultats du rapport fourni par l’agence d’évaluation du crédit afin de déterminer la nature et l’importance des préoccupations financières.

La vérification du crédit est un des éléments pris en considération pour évaluer le risque pour l’information, les biens et les sites du gouvernement. Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada vérifiera aussi :

Tous ces éléments sont pris en compte dans l’évaluation préalable à la décision d’accorder une cote de fiabilité ou une attestation de sécurité au demandeur.

En général, cette vérification supplémentaire n’occasionne pas de délais supplémentaires au processus de filtrage de sécurité.

Remarque : Si la vérification du crédit révèle des éléments qui requièrent une évaluation supplémentaire, cela pourrait occasionner certains délais. Une entrevue de filtrage de sécurité peut être nécessaire avec le demandeur afin de valider ou de recueillir plus de renseignements.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, consultez le Processus d’enquête de sécurité sur le personnel – Entrevues avec le sujet.

Quand une vérification du crédit est-elle requise?

La vérification du crédit est obligatoire pour les demandeurs qui doivent obtenir une nouvelle cote de fiabilité ou autorisation de sécurité ou une mise à jour (renouvellement) ou un relèvement de celle-ci. Cette exigence s’applique aux deux niveaux de demandes de filtrage de sécurité :

Remarque : La vérification du crédit n’est pas requise dans les cas de demande de transfert, de duplicata et de réactivation de la cote de fiabilité ou de l’autorisation de sécurité du personnel.

De plus, la vérification du crédit n’est pas requise dans les cas de demandes supplémentaires de filtrage de sécurité (par exemple lorsqu’un employé change de nom ou de situation matrimoniale).

Une demande de transfert ne requière pas la vérification du crédit sauf si :

Une demande de duplication ne requière pas de vérification du crédit à moins qu’il y ait un changement de la situation du demandeur.

Consultez la section 259, Rapports, du Manuel de la sécurité industrielle pour en apprendre davantage sur les changements de situation.

Un rappel

Demandes de transfert

Celles-ci sont utilisées lorsqu’une organisation doit transférer la cote de fiabilité ou l’autorisation de sécurité d’un employé à un autre ministère ou organisme du gouvernement du Canada.

Demandes de duplicata

Celles-ci sont utilisées lorsqu’une organisation doit dupliquer la cote de fiabilité ou l’autorisation de sécurité d’un employé auprès d’une autre organisation du secteur privé inscrite au Programme de sécurité des contrats de Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada.

Remarque : On recommande aux agents de sécurité d’entreprise, ainsi qu’à leur remplaçant, qui soumettent une demande de transfert pour des demandeurs pour une cote de fiabilité ou de sécurité de plus de 5 ans, d’obtenir le consentement du demandeur par le biais du portail des services en direct de sécurité industrielle (SEDSI) ou en cochant la case 3 de la section C du Formulaire d'enquête de sécurité sur le personnel (SCT/TBS 330-23F).

Pour toute demande de transfert, duplicata, ou lorsqu’une entrevue de sécurité avec le sujet est requise, Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada doit vérifier que le consentement à la vérification de crédit a été fourni au préalable.

Comment le demandeur donne-t-il son consentement

Le demandeur doit consentir à la vérification de son crédit pour la réalisation de l’enquête de sécurité par le biais du portail des services en direct de sécurité industrielle (SEDSI) ou au moyen du Formulaire d'enquête de sécurité sur le personnel (SCT/TBS 330-23F).

Le demandeur doit :

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur l’option de signature électronique, consultez le communiqué du Programme intitulé Nouvelles fonctions du portail des Services en direct de sécurité industrielle.

Consultez le Guide de l’agent de sécurité d’entreprise sur la façon de remplir et de présenter les formulaires d’enquête de sécurité sur le personnel.

Apprenez comment remplir la section C – Consentement et vérification du formulaire SCT/TBS 330-23.

Aucun formulaire additionnel

Il n’y a aucun formulaire additionnel à soumettre pour la vérification du crédit. Le demandeur donne son consentement par le biais du portail des services en direct ou en cochant la boite 3 de la section C du Formulaire d'enquête de sécurité sur le personnel (SCT/TBS 330-23F).

Refus du demandeur de consentir à une vérification du crédit

Remarque : Le demandeur qui refuse de donner son consentement verra sa demande rejetée automatiquement.

Pour en apprendre davantage sur la vérification du crédit obligatoire

Le Programme de la sécurité des contrats de Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada offre des webinaires aux organisations qui présentent des soumissions en vue d'obtenir des contrats du gouvernement fédéral assortis d'exigences de sécurité ou qui exécutent de tels contrats. Afin de vous aider à mieux comprendre le processus vérification de crédit obligatoire, des webinaires en direct vous seront offerts.

Chaque webinaire est présenté en direct par des experts en la matière. Vous aurez également la possibilité de poser des questions.

Pour d’autres outils d’apprentissage ou de référence, faire parvenir un courriel à l'adresse : ssidsicsensibilisation.isscisdoutreach@tpsgc-pwgsc.gc.ca.

Renseignements supplémentaires

Date de modification :