Canada Post Review Task Force

The task force was established on May 5, 2016, to gather information on Canada Post services and identify options for the delivery of quality and sustainable services for Canadians. The task force’s discussion paper provides a starting point for consultations with Canadians that will be conducted throughout the fall by the House of Commons Standing Committee on Government Operations and Estimates. The paper is one of many sources that will be used to shape the future of Canada Post.

Task force timelines

May to September 2016

From early May to the end of July, the task force gathered Canadians’ views and conducted research by engaging with various stakeholders to get information, opinions and formal detailed submissions. The task force analyzed the views of Canadians and the information gathered to develop the discussion paper. The task force presented its paper to Minister Foote on September 12, 2016, concluding phase 1 of the review. The discussion paper was provided to the House of Commons Standing Committee on Government Operations and Estimates to begin Phase 2.

Member biographies

Task force members were selected based on a range of factors, including their specific experience, expertise and skill sets. They come from various geographic locations across the country, and bring unique perspectives to the work they are conducting.

Francoise Bertrand

Françoise Bertrand, task force Chair

Ms. Bertrand is a distinguished business leader with over 30 years of experience in private and public sector organizations. She has held senior management positions at the Université du Québec, Télé-Québec and major consulting firms.

A recipient of the Order of Canada, Ms. Bertrand was the first woman to chair the Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission (1996–2001) and the first woman chief executive officer (CEO) of Télé-Québec. She made notable contributions in both of these roles.

Ms. Bertrand most recently served as the president and CEO of the Fédération des chambres de commerce du Québec, an organization that includes 150 chambers of commerce, representing 60,000 businesses operating in all sectors of the Quebec economy. She is a member of several boards, including the Commission de la santé et de la sécurité du travail, Redevances Aurifères Osisko Ltée, Desjardins Securities and Concordia University. For eleven years, she served on the board of Quebecor and later as its chair from 2011 to 2014.

Ms. Bertrand holds a bachelor’s degree in sociology from the Université de Montreal and a master’s degree in environmental studies from York University in Toronto. She is also a graduate of the Rotman School of Management Directors’ Education Program. She resides in Montréal, Quebec.

Krystyna T. Hoeg

Krystyna T. Hoeg, task force member

Ms. Hoeg is a corporate director and the former President and Chief Executive Officer of Corby Distilleries Limited. She has held senior leadership roles in various sectors, including health care, entertainment, manufacturing and resource development.

Ms. Hoeg currently serves on the board of directors of several Canadian companies and organizations, including New Flyer Industries and Imperial Oil. She is also Chair of the Toronto East General Hospital.

Ms. Hoeg is a chartered accountant and holds a bachelor of commerce and master of science from the University of Windsor and a bachelor of science from McMaster University. She holds both a chartered professional accountant and a chartered accountant designation and currently resides in Toronto, Ontario.

Jim Hopson

Jim Hopson, task force member

Following a distinguished career as an educator and principal, Mr. Hopson retired as Director of Education for the Qu’Appelle Valley School Division at the end of 2004. Mr. Hopson was raised in North Annex, a small town on the outskirts of Regina. Before his retirement, in addition to being an educator, he was a professional football player. Mr. Hopson began his professional football career in 1973, joining the Saskatchewan Roughrider Football Club.

In 2005, Mr. Hopson became the president and chief executive officer for the Saskatchewan Roughriders. He served in this role until retiring in 2015. Under his guidance, the Roughriders made four Grey Cup appearances and captured both the 2007 and 2013 Grey Cups.

Today, Mr. Hopson is a popular keynote speaker for both small and large groups in a variety of sectors, including small communities, presenting on topics such as leadership, team building, managing change and building excellence. Mr. Hopson is also a board member of SaskPower.

Mr. Hopson graduated from the University of Regina with a degree in education and a master’s degree from the University of Oregon.

Marena McLaughlin

Marena McLaughlin, task force member

During her impressive 31 year career in the federal public service, Ms. McLaughlin has held increasingly senior positions, including Deputy Commissioner of the Atlantic Region for Correctional Service Canada.

More recently, Ms. McLaughlin has provided consulting services to various organizations. She performed organizational reviews for Correctional Service Canada, managed federal/provincial cooperative ventures and led a change management initiative for the Government of Canada Pension Centre.

Ms. McLaughlin resides in Dieppe, New Brunswick.

Task force terms of reference

1. Mandate

The Minister of Public Services and Procurement has established this Task Force to undertake an independent review of Canada Post Corporation (CPC) with the objective of ensuring that CPC provides quality service to Canadians at a reasonable price.

The mandate of the task force is to deliver a discussion paper to the Minister. The objective of this paper is to outline viable options for the future of CPC. This paper will serve as the basis for an informed public dialogue led by a Parliamentary Committee.

The task force, supported by a dedicated Secretariat within Public Services and Procurement Canada, will collect information and prepare a discussion paper that presents viable options, costs and associated implications for the delivery of quality, affordable and sustainable Canada Post services.

The work of the task force will be informed and guided by an examination of Canada Post’s financial and business position, views of Canadians and key stakeholders, as well as previous studies.

2. Scope and purpose of the discussion paper

The task force will provide the Minister with a discussion paper to inform Canadians, parliamentarians and the Government on:

This discussion paper will be made public by the Minister and form the basis of an informed public dialogue led by a Parliamentary Committee, which is targeted for fall 2016.

3. How the task force will carry out its work

Stakeholder engagement: The task force will take into consideration the perspectives of key stakeholders in its work. This includes the views of Canadians, major mail system users, Canada Post, its bargaining agents and all other relevant stakeholders. To this end, it will conduct public opinion research on how CPC currently provides its full range of services and how these services should be provided in the future, including views on door-to-door delivery.

Financial assessment: The task force will assess and validate CPC’s current financial situation, as well as its future financial projections.

Comparative analysis: The task force will assess, within a Canadian context, solutions found by comparable organizations, including, but not limited to, other national post systems, that address similar challenges to those faced by CPC.

In carrying out this review, the task force will be guided by the following principles:

The Minister, supported by the task force and secretariat, is fully committed to an open and transparent review process. The primary goal of the task force’s work is to conduct an in-depth review of Canada Post and provide the Minister with viable options for postal services. These options will inform a national discussion on the future of Canada Post, led by a Parliamentary Committee. The Minister will make public the task force’s work, as well as the analysis of viable options where possible.

4. Other requirements

In consultation with other task force members, the chair will issue any contracts that may be required to complete the work (e.g. financial analysis, writer). The chair is also expected to ensure that the task force conducts the timely execution of all required activities for the completion of a discussion paper by September 2016, including providing regular progress updates to the Minister.

The task force may be asked to participate (e.g. as witnesses) during the Parliamentary Committee consultation phase.

5. Canada Post Corporation Review Secretariat

The Secretariat will support the task force by providing policy and legislative guidance, contextual information on CPC, including foundational work (e.g. previous reviews, backgrounder on postal services and international comparators), as well as logistics and administrative support.

Date modified:

Groupe de travail de l’examen de Postes Canada

Le groupe de travail a été mis sur pied le 5 mai 2016 afin de recueillir de l’information sur les services de Postes Canada et déterminer les options viables relatives à la prestation de services postaux durableset de qualité pour la population canadienne. Le document de travail du groupe a constitué le point de départ des consultations publiques qui seront menées à l’automne 2016 par le Comité permanentdes opérations gouvernementales et des prévisions budgétaires de la Chambre descommunes.

Calendrier du groupe de travail

Mai à septembre 2016

Du début mai à la fin juillet, le groupe de travail a recueilli lespoints de vue des Canadiens et a mené une étude en mobilisant divers intervenants afin d’obtenir de l’information, des opinions et des exposés détaillés officiels. Le groupe de travail a analysé les points de vue des Canadiens et l’information recueillie pour élaborer un document de travail. Le 12 septembre 2016, le groupe de travail a présenté son document à la ministre des Services publics et de l’Approvisionnement, ce qui aconclu la première étape de l’examen. Le document de travail a été remis au Comité permanent des opérations gouvernementales et des prévisions budgétaires de la Chambre des communes pour que ce dernier puisse entamer la seconde étape de l’examen.

Biographies des membres

Les membres du groupe de travail ont été choisis en fonction de divers facteurs, dont leur expérience, leur expertise et leurs compétences respectives. Ils proviennent de différentes régions géographiques du Canada et offrent chacun un point de vue unique sur les travaux qu’ils effectuent.

Francoise Bertrand

Françoise Bertrand, présidente du groupe de travail

Mme Bertrand est une chef d’entreprise émérite qui possède plus de 30 ans d’expérience au sein d’organisations des secteurs privé et public. Elle a occupé des postes de haute direction à l’Université du Québec, à Télé-Québec et au sein de grandes sociétés d’experts-conseils.

Récipiendaire de l’Ordre du Canada, Mme Bertrand a été la première femme à diriger le Conseil de la radiodiffusion et des télécommunications canadiennes (de 1996 à 2001) et la première femme à occuper le poste de présidente-directrice générale de Télé-Québec. Elle a exercé une influence marquante dans le cadre de ces deux rôles.

Plus récemment, Mme Bertrand a occupé les fonctions de présidente-directrice générale de la Fédération des chambres de commerce du Québec, une organisation qui regroupe 150 chambres de commerce et qui représente 60 000 entreprises dans tous les secteurs d’activité de l’économie du Québec. Elle siège à plusieurs conseils, notamment à la Commission de la santé et de la sécurité du travail, à Redevances Aurifères Osisko Ltée, à Valeurs mobilières Desjardins et à l’Université Concordia. Elle a également siégé au conseil de Québécor pendant 11 ans et en a été la présidente de 2011 à 2014.

Mme Bertrand est diplômée en sociologie de l’Université de Montréal et est titulaire d’une maîtrise en études environnementales de l’Université York, à Toronto. Elle est également diplômée du programme de perfectionnement des administrateurs de l’École de gestion Rotman. Elle habite à Montréal, au Québec.

Krystyna T. Hoeg

Krystyna T. Hoeg, membre du groupe de travail

Mme Hoeg est une administratrice de sociétés et occupait auparavant le poste de présidente directrice générale de Corby Distilleries Limited. Elle a aussi occupé d’importants postes de direction au sein d’un bon nombre de secteurs dont ceux des soins de santé, du divertissement, de la fabrication et du développement des ressources.

Mme Hoeg siège actuellement au conseil d’administration de plusieurs entreprises et organisations canadiennes, comme New Flyer Industries et la pétrolière Impériale. Elle est également présidente du conseil d’administration du Toronto East General Hospital.

MmeHoeg détient les titres professionnels de comptable agréé et de comptable professionnel agréé. Elle est aussi titulaire d’un baccalauréat en commerce et d’une maîtrise en sciences de l’Université de Windsor, ainsi que d’un baccalauréat en sciences de l’Université McMaster. Elle habite à Toronto, en Ontario.

Jim Hopson

Jim Hopson, membre du groupe de travail

À la fin de 2004, M. Hopson a pris sa retraite à la suite d’une brillante carrière d’enseignant et de directeur. Il occupait alors le poste de directeur de l’enseignement auprès de la Qu’Appelle Valley School Division. M. Hopson a grandi à North Annex, une petite ville en bordure de Regina. En plus d’avoir été enseignant, M. Hopson a été joueur de football professionnel. Il a commencé sa carrière de joueur professionnel en 1973 avec le club de football Roughriders de la Saskatchewan.

En 2005, M. Hopson est devenu président-directeur général des Roughriders de la Saskatchewan. Il a occupé ces fonctions jusqu’en 2015. Pendant qu’il était en poste, les Roughriders ont participé quatre fois à la finale de la coupe Grey et ont remporté le titre en 2007 et en 2013.

Aujourd’hui, M. Hopson est un conférencier populaire auprès de petits et grands groupes dans divers secteurs, y compris dans les petites communautés. Il traite de sujets comme le leadership, l’esprit d’équipe, la gestion du changement et l’atteinte de l’excellence. En outre, M. Hopson siège au conseil d’administration de SaskPower.

M. Hopson est diplômé en enseignement de l’Université de Regina et est titulaire d’une maîtrise de l’Université de l’Oregon.

Marena McLaughlin

Marena McLaughlin, membre du groupe de travail

Au cours de sa carrière impressionnante de 31 ans au sein de la fonction publique fédérale, Mme McLaughlin a occupé des postes de plus en plus importants, notamment celui de sous commissaire de la région de l’Atlantique pour Service correctionnel Canada.

Récemment, Mme McLaughlin a offert des services de consultation à diverses organisations. Elle a mené des examens organisationnels à Service correctionnel Canada, a géré des initiatives de coopération fédérales-provinciales et a dirigé une initiative de gestion du changement pour le Centre des pensions du gouvernement du Canada.

Mme McLaughlin habite à Dieppe, au Nouveau-Brunswick.

Mandat du groupe de travail

1. Mandat

La ministre des Services publics et de l’Approvisionnement a établi ce groupe de travail pour qu’il effectue un examen indépendant de la Société canadienne des postes (SCP) afin de s’assurer que celle-ci fournit à la population canadienne des services de qualité à un prix raisonnable.

Le mandat du groupe de travail consiste à produire un document de travail à l’intention de la ministre. L’objectif de ce document est de décrire les options viables concernant l’avenir de la SCP. Ce document servira de fondement à un dialogue éclairé avec le public dirigé par un comité parlementaire.

Le groupe de travail, appuyé par un secrétariat attitré au sein de Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada, recueillera des renseignements pour préparer un document de travail faisant état des options viables, ainsi que des coûts et des répercussions connexes, en ce qui concerne la prestation, par Postes Canada, de services abordables, viables et de qualité.

Les travaux du groupe de travail reposeront sur un examen de la situation financière et opérationnelle de Postes Canada, les opinions de la population canadienne et des principaux intervenants, de même que les études précédentes.

2. Portée et objectif du document de travail

Le groupe de travail fournira à la ministre un document de travail pour tenir les Canadiens, les parlementaires et le gouvernement informés sur ce qui suit :

Ce document de travail sera rendu public par la ministre et constituera le fondement d’un dialogue éclairé avec le public. Ce dialogue sera dirigé par un comité parlementaire et devrait avoir lieu à l’automne 2016.

3. Comment le groupe de travail s’acquittera-t-il de son travail

Mobilisation des intervenants : Dans le cadre de son travail, le groupe de travail tiendra compte des points de vue des principaux intervenants, y compris les opinions des Canadiens, des principaux utilisateurs du système de courrier, de Postes Canada, de ses agents négociateurs et de tout autre intervenant concerné. À cette fin, il mènera des recherches sur l’opinion publique concernant la façon dont la SCP fournit actuellement l’éventail de ses services et la façon dont ces services devraient être fournis à l’avenir. Il recueillera notamment des opinions sur la livraison à domicile.

Évaluation financière : Le groupe de travail évaluera et validera la situation financière actuelle de la SCP, de même que ses prévisions financières.

Analyse comparative : Le groupe de travail évaluera, dans un contexte canadien, les solutions mises en place par des organisations comparables, y compris, sans s’y limiter, d’autres systèmes postaux nationaux, pour relever des défis similaires à ceux auxquels fait face la SCP.

Pour effectuer cet examen, le groupe de travail se fondera sur les principes suivants :

La ministre, appuyée par le groupe de travail et le secrétariat, s’engage à assurer un processus d’examen ouvert et transparent. L’objectif principal des travaux du groupe de travail est de procéder à un examen approfondi de Postes Canada et d’informer la ministre des options viables à l’égard des services postaux. Ces options serviront de base à une discussion nationale dirigée par un comité parlementaire sur l’avenir de Postes Canada. La ministre rendra publics les travaux du groupe de travail, de même que l’analyse des options viables, lorsque possible.

4. Autres exigences

En consultation avec d'autres membres du groupe de travail, la présidente attribuera tout contrat nécessaire à l’achèvement des travaux (p. ex. un analyste financier ou un rédacteur). La présidente doit également s’assurer que le groupe de travail réalise en temps opportun toutes les activités nécessaires à l’achèvement d'un document de travail d'ici septembre 2016, y compris la présentation de mises à jour régulières à la ministre.

On pourrait demander au groupe de travail de participer (à titre de témoin) pendant la phase de consultation du comité parlementaire.

5. Secrétariat d’examen de la Société canadienne des postes

Le secrétariat apportera du soutien au groupe de travail en fournissant de l’orientation politique et législative ainsi que de l’information contextuelle sur la SCP, y compris des travaux de base (p. ex. les examens précédents, les documents d'information sur les services postaux et les comparaisons à l’échelle internationale), de même que du soutien logistique et administratif.

Date de modification :