Welcome to the Regular Force Pension Plan

PDF version (1.5MB)
Help with alternative formats and plug-ins

The following information is intended to draw your attention to parts of the Regular Force Pension Plan, Part I under the Canadian Forces Superannuation Act (CFSA), that are important for you to know, as a new or re-enrolled member. Some aspects of the plan are time sensitive, so please review this document as soon as possible.

Orientation information kit

What is the Regular Force Pension Plan?

The rules governing the Regular Force Pension Plan are set out under Part I of the Canadian Forces Superannuation Act (CFSA) and the plan is designed to provide qualified members with a retirement income payable upon release from the CAF. Benefits are based on pensionable service, Canadian Forces (CF) service, and your age at release.

Who can join the Regular Force Pension Plan?

Other benefits include:

Is there a limit to the amount of service that may be counted towards my Regular Force pension?

Yes, the maximum amount of service that may be counted for a member under the Regular Force Pension Plan is 35 years, which includes:

How can I increase the amount of service that my pension is based on?

Members can obtain a quote of the cost to buy back service by using the Service Buyback Estimator on the Canadian Armed Forces (CAF) Pension and Benefits Web portal.

As a member of the Regular Force Pension Plan, you may be eligible to buyback:

Note

If you were previously a Reserve Force Pension Plan participant, you had one year from the date of becoming a participant to elect any prior service in the CAF. If you did not elect your service within the year time limit, this option is no longer available to you.

Pensionable service is: the period of service when you contributed as an active member of the Reserve Force and/or Regular Force Pension Plans and any service you buy back. For Reserve Force service, only the number of days with earnings is considered to calculate how much pension you receive. This determines what type of pension benefit you receive at release, and if you are entitled to a reduced pension on release, how much it will be reduced.

Canadian Forces (CF) Service is: the days of service in the Regular or Reserve Force for which you are paid. This also determines what type of pension benefit you receive at release.

Important points to consider

Your obligations

What is the Supplementary Death Benefit plan?

The Supplementary Death Benefit (SDB) plan provides a form of decreasing term life insurance protection, which is designed to provide insurance coverage to Regular Force members and members of the Reserve Force on Class "C" service.

Who can I designate as a beneficiary for the Supplementary Death Benefit?

Your beneficiary can be one of the following:

For detailed information about the SDB plan, please visit the Supplementary Death Benefit page on the Pension and Benefits Web portal.

To designate your beneficiary, you must complete the Naming or Substitution of a Beneficiary form and mail it to the Government of Canada Pension Centre.

Your Canadian Armed Forces pension web portal

We invite you to take the time to discover what Your Canadian Armed Forces (CAF) Pension and Benefits Web portal has to offer, including information, forms and online tools. With the knowledge you gain, you will be able to make more informed decisions with respect to life events that may affect your pension and benefits.

As a new or re-enrolled member of the Regular Force Pension Plan, there is a section specifically designed for you: Select the "Active member" button, Select the audience that is specific to your plan, and click on the "Increasing your Pension" Life Event.

Disclaimer

This information is provided for orientation purposes only and does not constitute a legal document on your rights and obligations. Should there be any discrepancy between the information in this document and that contained in the Canadian Forces Superannuation Act (CFSA), the Canadian Forces Superannuation Regulations (CFSR), and the Reserve Force Pension Plan Regulations (RFPPR) or other applicable laws, the and Regulations apply.

Date modified:

Bienvenue au régime de pension de la Force régulière

Version PDF (1.3Mo)
Aide avec les autres formats et plugiciels

L'information suivante vise à attirer votre attention sur certains aspects du régime de pension de la Force régulière, Partie I en vertu de la Loi sur la pension de retraite des Forces canadiennes (LPRFC), qu'il est important que vous connaissiez en tant que nouveau membre ou membre ré-enrôlé. Certains aspects du régime ont des contraintes de temps, donc veuillez réviser ce document dès que possible.

Trousse d'information pour fins d'orientation

Qu'est-ce que le régime de pension de la Force régulière?

Les règles qui gouvernent le régime de pension de la Force régulière sont définies en vertu de la Partie I de la Loi sur la pension de retraite des Forces canadiennes (LPRFC) et le régime est conçu pour fournir aux membres éligibles un revenu à la retraite payable au moment de la libération des Forces armées canadiennes (FAC). Les prestations sont basées sur le service ouvrant droit à pension, le service dans les Forces Canadiennes et votre âge au moment de la libération.

Qui peut adhérer au régime de pension de la Force régulière?

Ce régime prévoit aussi :

Le nombre d'années de service pouvant servir à établir ma pension de la Force régulière est-il limité?

Oui. Un maximum de 35 ans de service est pris en considération pour établir la pension des participants en vertu du régime de pension de la Force régulière. Ce service peut comprendre :

Comment puis-je augmenter la période de service à partir de laquelle ma pension est calculée?

Les membres peuvent obtenir une estimation du coût du rachat de périodes de service au moyen de l'Estimateur du rachat de service, accessible à partir du portail Web Votre Pension et vos avantages sociaux des Forces armées canadiennes (FAC).

En tant que membre du régime de pension de la Force régulière, vous pourriez être admissible à racheter :

Nota

Si vous avez déjà été participant au régime de pension de la Force de réserve, vous aviez un an à partir de la date à laquelle vous êtes devenu participant pour racheter tout service antérieur avec les FAC. Si vous n'avez pas racheté votre service à l'intérieur de la limite d'un an, cette option n'est plus disponible pour vous.

Le service ouvrant droit à pension est : la période de service lorsque vous contribuiez en tant que membre actif du régime de pension de la Force de réserve et/ou de la Force régulière et tout service que vous rachetez. Pour le service de la Force de réserve, seulement le nombre de jours avec des gains est considéré dans le calcul de la pension. Il servira à déterminer le type de prestation de retraite que vous recevrez au moment de la libération, si vous êtes admissible à une pension réduite à la libération et de combien elle sera réduite.

Le service dans les Forces canadiennes est : les jours de service dans la Force régulière ou la Force de réserve pour lesquels vous êtes payé. Il servira aussi à déterminer quel type de prestation de pension vous recevrez à la libération.

Points importants à prendre en considération

Vos obligations

Qu'est-ce que le Régime de prestations supplémentaires de décès?

Le Régime de prestations supplémentaire de décès (PSD) fournit l'équivalent d'une assurance-vie temporaire décroissante, qui vise à fournir une couverture d'assurance aux membres de la Force régulière et aux membres de la Force de réserve qui servent un contrat de Classe « C ».

Qui puis-je désigner comme bénéficiaire de mes prestations supplémentaires de décès?

Vous pouvez désigner un bénéficiaire parmi les suivants :

Pour des informations détaillées concernant le Régime de PSD, veuillez visiter la page Prestations supplémentaires de décès sur le portail Web Votre pension et vos avantages sociaux.

Pour désigner votre bénéficiaire, vous devez remplir le formulaire « Désignation ou changement de bénéficiaire » et le poster au Centre des pensions du gouvernement du Canada.

Votre Portail Web des Forces armées canadiennes

Nous vous invitons à prendre le temps de découvrir ce que le portail Web Votre pension et vos avantages sociaux des Forces armées canadiennes peut vous offrir, notamment les renseignements, les formulaires et les outils en ligne. Grâce à cette information, vous pourrez prendre des décisions éclairées à l'égard des événements de la vie qui pourraient avoir une incidence sur votre pension et vos avantages sociaux.

En tant que nouveau membre ou membre ré-enrôlé du régime de pension de la Force régulière, une section a été spécifiquement conçue pour vous : sélectionnez le bouton « membre actif », sélectionnez l'auditoire qui est propre à votre plan et cliquez sur l'événement de la vie « augmenter ma pension ».

Avis de non-responsabilité

Le présent document n'est fourni qu'aux fins d'orientation et n'a aucune valeur légale en ce qui concerne vos droits et obligations. En cas de divergence entre les renseignements qu'il contient et la Loi sur la pension de retraite des Forces canadiennes (LPRFC), le Règlement sur la pension de retraite des Forces canadiennes (RPRFC) et le Règlement sur le régime de pension de la Force de réserve (RRPFR) ou toute autre loi pertinente, les dispositions législatives s'appliqueront.

Date de modification :