Departmental actions to respond to the Red Tape Reduction Commission's recommendations report

The following two initiatives are Public Works and Government Services Canada's (PWGSC) contribution to the 90 department-specific recommendations which were set out in the Red Tape Reduction Commission's 2012 Recommendations Report. A complete list of those recommendations is available on the Archived – Reduce Red Tape website.

Initiative 1

Description: To reduce duplication, volume and the complexity of paperwork required for federal procurement bids, we will simplify and standardize the procurement process and minimize the amount of paperwork required from suppliers, in particular small business, and work with other departments to help them do the same (PWGSC-2).

Progress: PWGSC continued to improve procurement by applying the Smart Procurement approach to its procurement business and by leveraging digital technology to provide tools and information to improve service delivery, while reducing the cost and process burden for clients, suppliers, and the PWGSC procurement workforce. Together, Smart Procurement and the better use of technology result in better outcomes for clients, suppliers, the Government of Canada and Canadians.

The department continued to develop client e-tools, enabling departments and agencies to access PWGSC procurement instruments and resources to process many of their own transactions under their delegated authorities. Supplier e-tools were also developed to ease the burden of the federal procurement process.

PWGSC continued to develop and strengthen its relationships with Canadian suppliers by providing access to better procurement information as well as increasing its supplier engagement through new innovative service delivery methods, industry days and other events. The Canadian Innovation Commercialization Program - now renamed Build in Canada Innovation Program - also supported Small and Medium Enterprises (SMEs) by providing them with opportunities to test their innovations within federal operations as they bridge the pre-commercialization gap for their innovative goods and services and move towards commercialization. These efforts have improved SME's participation in federal procurement activities.

Initiative 2

Description: To eliminate excess administrative burden and ensure government contracting opportunities are easily accessible for suppliers, we will evaluate the government electronic tendering service, currently the Open Bidding Service (MERX), and develop a single-point-of-entry no-cost option for Government of Canada procurement information before the current arrangements expire (PWGSC-3).

Progress: PWGSC evaluated the government electronic tendering service and developed a single-point-of-entry no-cost option for Government of Canada procurement information before the current arrangements expire. The new version of the government electronic tendering service has been developed and became the official Government of Canada tendering site. It is housed on buyandsell.

Through the Leveraging Digital Technology Initiative, PWGSC continued to transform and manage its procurement operations effectively and efficiently. A new version of buyandsell website was released which provides single window access to federal procurement information and presents valuable procurement data in a way that can be easily accessed by users.

For more information

To learn about upcoming or ongoing consultations on proposed federal regulations, visit the Canada Gazette and Consulting with Canadians websites.

Report a problem or mistake on this page
Date modified:

Mesures prises par le ministère pour répondre aux recommandations formulées dans le rapport de la Commission sur la réduction de la paperasse

Les deux initiatives suivantes constituent la suite donnée par le ministère des Travaux publics et Services gouvernementaux Canada (TPSGC) aux 90 recommandations formulées à l'intention des ministères dans le rapport de la Commission sur la réduction de la paperasse. Une liste complète de ces recommandations est disponible au site Web Archivé – Coupez la paperasse.

Initiative 1

Description : Pour réduire les recoupements, le volume et la complexité de la paperasse exigée dans le cadre des offres d'approvisionnement du gouvernement fédéral, nous procédons à simplifier et uniformiser le processus d'approvisionnement, en plus de minimiser la quantité de paperasse exigée des fournisseurs, en particulier les petites entreprises, pour ensuite collaborer avec les autres ministères afin de les aider à en faire autant (TPSGC-2).

Progrès : TPSGC a poursuivi l'amélioration de l'approvisionnement en appliquant l'approche d'approvisionnement éclairé à ses activités d'approvisionnement et en tirant parti de la technologie numérique pour fournir des outils et des renseignements qui amélioreront la prestation de services, tout en réduisant les coûts et le fardeau opérationnel pour les clients, les fournisseurs et son personnel responsable de l'approvisionnement. Cette approche d'approvisionnement judicieux, conjuguée à une meilleure utilisation de la technologie, permet d'obtenir de meilleurs résultats pour les clients, les fournisseurs, le gouvernement du Canada et la population canadienne.

Le Ministère a continué de créer des outils électroniques destinés aux clients, permettant ainsi aux ministères et aux organismes d'accéder à ses instruments d'achat et à ses ressources pour traiter bon nombre de leurs propres transactions en vertu de leurs pouvoirs délégués. Il a également créé des outils électroniques destinés aux fournisseurs visant à alléger le fardeau du processus d'approvisionnement fédéral.

TPSGC a continué de développer et de renforcer ses relations avec les fournisseurs canadiens en donnant accès à de meilleurs renseignements sur l'approvisionnement et en augmentant la mobilisation des fournisseurs au moyen de nouvelles méthodes novatrices de prestation de services, de journées de l'industrie et d'autres événements. Le Programme canadien pour la commercialisation des innovations, maintenant connu sous le nom de Programme d'innovation Construire au Canada, a aussi aidé les petites et moyennes entreprises en leur permettant de mettre à l'essai leurs innovations dans un cadre opérationnel à l'échelle du gouvernement fédéral en vue de combler les lacunes de leurs produits et de leurs services novateurs à l'étape de la précommercialisation avant de procéder à la commercialisation. Ces efforts ont permis d'améliorer la participation des petites et moyennes entreprises aux activités d'approvisionnement du gouvernement fédéral.

Initiative 2

Description : Pour éliminer tout fardeau excessif sur le plan administratif et faire en sorte que les possibilités de marché avec le gouvernement soient faciles d'accès pour les fournisseurs, nous évaluerons le Service électronique d'appels d'offres du gouvernement, que l'on qualifie maintenant de Service des invitations ouvertes à soumissionner (MERX) et nous élaborons une option de type guichet unique permettant d'obtenir gratuitement de l'information sur les approvisionnements du gouvernement du Canada avant que les arrangements actuels ne viennent à échéance (TPSGC-3).

Progrès : TPSGC a évalué le service public d'appel d'offres électronique et a développé un guichet unique aux renseignements sur les activités d'approvisionnement du gouvernement fédéral. La nouvelle version du Service électronique d'appels d'offres du gouvernement est devenue le site officiel du gouvernement du Canada pour les appels d'offres.  Ce site procure un accès à guichet unique aux renseignements sur les activités d'approvisionnement du gouvernement fédéral. Il contient également des données utiles et faciles d'accès pour les utilisateurs sur les activités d'approvisionnement. Il est situé sur Achatsetventes.

L'initiative d'optimisation de la technologie numérique a permis à TPSGC de continuer de transformer et de gérer ses activités d'approvisionnement de manière efficace et efficiente. De plus, une nouvelle version du site Web Achatsetventes a été déployée.

Pour plus de renseignements

Pour de plus amples renseignements concernant les consultations actuelles ou à venir sur les projets de règlement fédéraux, veuillez consulter la Gazette du Canada ou le site Web Consultations auprès des Canadiens.

Signaler un problème sur cette page
Date de modification :