Language selection

Search

Certification Program for the Federal Government procurement and materiel management community

Program update

This notice is to announce that the Treasury Board Secretariat (TBS) has made a decision to end the Certification Program for the Federal Government Procurement and Materiel Management community on March 31, 2023. This decision has been made as a part of its Professional Development Framework renewal efforts resulting from an Evaluation of the Certification Program for Procurement and Materiel Management Communities in the Government of Canada. Participants close to graduation are encouraged to complete any remaining requirements before the program is sunset. The program will no longer accept new entrants as of August 4, 2022.

Those interested in completing the Program should consider the following dates:

For any questions, please reach us at: tpsgc.dgrgprcnpcd-rgpbncrdcp.pwgsc@tpsgc-pwgsc.gc.ca.

In today's rapidly changing environment, the federal government's Procurement and Materiel Management Communities have become a more knowledge-based profession, with an emphasis on its strategic advisory role. In an environment where accountability is foremost, it is essential that practitioners demonstrate they possess the advanced skills and knowledge required to function effectively and efficiently.

The Procurement, Materiel Management, and Real Property Communities Management Office provides strategic direction and central leadership for the collaborative development and implementation of strategies, programs and initiatives to support capacity building, community development and the professional recognition of the federal government Procurement, Materiel Management and Real Property communities.

One of the most notable achievements to date is the national and international recognition of the federal government’s first ever Certification Program for Procurement and Materiel Management specialists.  For the first time, practitioners in procurement and materiel management can acquire a professional designation through their own certification program. Certification provides the increased professional recognition for the Community and offers a professional designation to formally acknowledge a practitioner's level of achievement. Procurement specialists can acquire certification as a Certified Federal Specialist in Procurement (CFSP), Level I and II, and those in materiel management can acquire certification as a Certified Federal Specialist in Materiel Management (CFSMM), Level I. Both designations are based on the Federal Government Procurement and Materiel Management Communities Competency Suite. A competency describes an employee’s proficiency in a particular job function in terms of knowledge, skills and abilities. Each competency has a definition, a proficiency level and behavioural indicator statements.

Note: This program is not accredited by the Standards Council of Canada (SCC).

All Program Information is now found on GCpedia.

Procurement, Materiel Management and Real Property (PMMRP) Communities/Certification Program

Requirements for Certification—Level I

Experience:

  • Candidates must possess the required number of years of experience in procurement or materiel management to obtain a specific level of certification (It is not required to possess the required number of years of experience to enroll in the Program.)
  • Candidates must demonstrate their competencies by completing a Candidate Achievement Record
  • The core competencies are reviewed by the Personal Psychology Center of the Public Service Commission
  • The functional competencies are reviewed by a Review Panel made up of procurement or materiel management experts

Training:

  • Candidates must attend all courses required by the program
  • An equivalency can be granted for certain courses

Knowledge:

  • Candidates must pass a knowledge exam

Requirements for Certification—Level II

Level II (Procurement only) requirements are similar to Level I in terms of Experience and Training, but for the Knowledge requirement candidates must pass a case study exam. Please refer to GCPedia website.

Note: This program is not accredited by the Standards Council of Canada (SCC).

For information please contact the Certification Program team at ncr.acqb.dcp-pcd@tpsgc-pwgsc.gc.ca.

Related Links

Date modified:

Programme de certification de la collectivité des acquisitions et de la gestion du matériel du gouvernement fédéral

Dans un monde qui ne cesse d'évoluer, les collectivités des acquisitions et de la gestion du matériel du gouvernement fédéral sont devenues une profession davantage fondée sur le savoir et axée sur le rôle de conseiller stratégique. Dans un milieu où l'imputabilité est primordiale, il est crucial que les spécialistes démontrent qu'ils possèdent les compétences et les connaissances de pointe nécessaires pour fonctionner avec efficacité et efficience.

Le Bureau de la gestion des collectivités des acquisitions, de la gestion du matériel et des biens immobiliers donne une orientation stratégique et assure un leadership central pour le développement collaboratif et la mise en oeuvre de stratégies, de programmes et d’initiatives visant le renforcement des capacités, le perfectionnement de la collectivité, ainsi que la reconnaissance professionnelle des collectivités des acquisitions, de la gestion du matériel et des biens immobiliers.

À ce jour, l'une des plus remarquables réalisations est la reconnaissance nationale et internationale du tout premier Programme de certification du gouvernement fédéral visant les spécialistes de l'approvisionnement et de la gestion du matériel.

Pour la première fois, les spécialistes en acquisitions et en gestion du matériel peuvent obtenir une attestation professionnelle dans le cadre d'un programme de certification qui leur est propre. Grâce à la certification, les membres des collectivités recevront une attestation professionnelle qui favorisera la reconnaissance de leur profession et officialisera leur niveau de compétence. Ainsi, il serait possible d'obtenir une certification à titre de spécialiste fédéral certifié en acquisitions (SFCA), niveaux I et II, et une certification à titre de spécialiste fédéral certifié en gestion du matériel (SFCGM), niveau I selon le cas. Les deux attestations sont fondées sur  l’ensemble des compétences des collectivités des acquisitions et de la gestion du matériel du gouvernement fédéral. Une compétence correspond au degré de maîtrise qu’un employé a d’une fonction particulière d’un poste du point de vue de ses connaissances, aptitudes et habiletés. Chaque compétence comporte une définition, un niveau de compétence et des énoncés sur les indicateurs de comportement.

Remarque : Ce programme n’est pas accrédité par le Conseil canadien des normes (CCN).

Toutes les informations relatives au Programme se retrouvent désormais sur GCpédia.

Collectivités des acquisitions, de la gestion du matériel et des biens immobiliers (AGMBI)/Programme de certification

  • GCpédia (accessible uniquement sur le réseau du gouvernement du Canada)

Exigences relatives à la certification – Niveau I

Expérience :

  • Les candidats doivent posséder le nombre requis d'années d'expérience en acquisition ou en gestion du matériel pour obtenir un niveau spécifique de certification (Il n'est cependant pas requis de posséder un nombre d'années d'expérience avant de s'inscrire au programme.)
  • Les candidats doivent démontrer leurs compétences en complétant un dossier des réalisations du candidat
  • Les compétences de base  sont examinées par le Centre de psychologie du personnel de la Commission de la fonction publique
  • Les compétences fonctionnelles sont examinées par le Comité d’examen qui est composé d’experts en acquisition et en gestion du matériel

Formation :

  • Les candidats doivent assister aux cours requis par le programme
  • Une équivalence peut être obtenue pour certains cours requis

Connaissances :

  • Les candidats doivent réussir un examen de connaissances

Exigences relatives à la certification – Niveau II

Les exigences relatives au niveau II (acquisitions seulement) sont semblables à celles du niveau I en ce qui a trait à l’expérience et à la formation, mais pour l’exigence relative aux connaissances, les candidats doivent passer un examen d’étude de cas. Veuillez vous référer au site Web de GCPédia.

Remarque : Ce programme n’est pas accrédité par le Conseil canadien des normes (CCN).

Pour plus d'information, veuillez contacter l'équipe du Programme de certification à ncr.acqb.dcp-pcd@tpsgc-pwgsc.gc.ca.

Date de modification :