Reported case for 2017 to 2018, first quarter

A protected disclosure was received under the Public Servants Disclosure Protection Act, alleging wrongdoing pursuant to Subsection 8(e) of the act, in that an employee placed himself in a potential, real or apparent conflict of interest due to his being involved in the process of awarding contracts on behalf of Public Services and Procurement Canada (PSPC) to:

  1. A company owned by a close relative
  2. Another contractor he hired for personal work prior to and during the contracting process to award contracts to this company on behalf of PSPC

The departmental investigation process found that the employee did not submit a confidential report concerning his dealings with these two companies and placed himself in a conflict of interest situation.

While the employee himself did not award the contracts, he made recommendations for the selection of contractors, communicated with contractors for bids and quotations, and certified that services had been received according to the contract, thereby authorizing payment for services rendered under section 34 of the Financial Administration Act. Both allegations were deemed to be founded and to constitute a serious breach of the Values and Ethics Code for the Public Sector and the PSPC Code of Conduct.

Corrective actions have been taken.

Date modified:

Cas signalé – 2017 à 2018, premier trimestre

Nous avons reçu une divulgation protégée d'actes répréhensibles en vertu de la Loi sur la protection des fonctionnaires divulgateurs d'actes répréhensibles. Elle allègue que des actes répréhensibles ont été commis au sens de l'alinéa 8(e) de la loi et qu'un employé s'est placé en situation de conflit d'intérêt réel, apparent ou potentiel en raison de sa participation au processus d'attribution de contrat pour le compte de Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada (SPAC) à :

  1. une entreprise appartenant à un proche
  2. un autre entrepreneur embauché pour effectuer des travaux personnels avant et pendant le processus d'attribution de marché à son entreprise pour le compte de SPAC

Le processus d'enquête ministérielle a conclu que l'employé n'a pas soumis à un rapport confidentiel concernant ses rapports avec ces deux entreprises et s'est placé dans une situation de conflit d'intérêts.

Bien que l'employé n'ait pas en soi attribué les contrats, il a formulé des recommandations pour la sélection des entrepreneurs, communiqué avec les entrepreneurs pour obtenir leurs soumissions et leurs prix, et attesté que les services ont été rendus conformément au contrat, autorisant du même coup le paiement des services rendus en vertu de l'article 34 de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques. Les deux allégations ont été jugées fondées et témoignent d'un manquement grave au Code de valeurs et d'éthique de la fonction publique et au Code de conduite de SPAC.

Des mesures correctives ont été prises.

Date de modification :