Reported case for 2017 to 2018, fourth quarter

Report #1

A protected disclosure was received under the Public Servants Disclosure Protection Act, alleging wrongdoing pursuant to Subsection 8(a) of the Act, alleging that two employees were consuming and trafficking small quantities of a cannabis derivative at work.

The departmental investigation found that:

Both employees had consumed marijuana within working hours and within Public Services and Procurement Canada (PSPC) premises and they provided the marijuana to other casual employees. The latter also occurred during working hours and within PSPC premises.

Conclusion report 1

The departmental investigation process found that the allegations were deemed to be founded, and to constitute serious breaches of the Values and Ethics Code for the Public Sector and the PSPC Code of Conduct.

Due to the casual status of both employees, their employment with the Department was immediately terminated.

Report #2

A protected disclosure was received under the Public Servants Disclosure Protection Act, alleging wrongdoing pursuant to Subsection 8(e) of the Act, relating to conflict of interest.

The investigation found that an Employee placed herself in a real conflict of interest by soliciting and participating in the process leading to the hire of her spouse as a casual worker. The investigation also revealed that the Employee placed herself in an apparent or real conflict of interest by using her position in an attempt to secure longer term employment for her spouse and by taking part in various other work related aspects of her spouse’s casual employment.

Conclusion report 2

The departmental investigation process found that the allegations were deemed to be founded, and to constitute serious breaches of the Values and Ethics Code for the Public Sector and the Public Services and Procurement Canada (PSPC) Code of Conduct.

A process to identify corrective actions is currently underway, and has yet to be finalized. As required, the proactive disclosure and corrective action(s) taken will be updated once this process is finalized.

Date modified:

Cas signalé pour 2017 à 2018, quatrième trimestre

Rapport no. 1

Une divulgation protégée a été reçue en vertu de la Loi sur la protection des fonctionnaires divulgateurs d'actes répréhensibles, faisant état d'un acte fautif aux termes de l'alinéa 8a) de la Loi, selon lequel deux employés consommaient un dérivé du cannabis au travail et en faisaient le trafic en petites quantités.

L'enquête ministérielle a révélé ce qui suit :

Les deux employés ont consommé de la marijuana lors des heures de travail et sur leur lieu de travail. Ils ont aussi partagé la marijuana avec d'autres anciens employés occasionnels, et ce, lors des heures de travail et sur leur lieu de travail.

Conclusion rapport 1

Selon le processus d'enquête ministérielle, il a été établi que les allégations étaient fondées et constituaient des infractions graves au Code de valeurs et d'éthique du secteur public et au Code de conduite de Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada (SPAC).

En raison du statut occasionnel des deux employés, ils ont été congédiés sur-le-champ par le ministère.

Rapport no. 2

Une divulgation protégée a été reçue en vertu de la Loi sur la protection des fonctionnaires divulgateurs d’actes répréhensibles, faisant état d’un acte fautif aux termes de l’alinéa 8e) de la Loi, en ce qui a trait aux conflits d’intérêts.

L’enquête a permis de découvrir qu’une employée s’est placée en situation de conflit d`intérêt réel en ayant sollicité et participé au processus menant à l’embauche de son conjoint comme travailleur occasionnel. L’enquête a aussi démontré que l’employée s’est placée en situation de conflit réel ou apparent en utilisant son poste pour tenter d’obtenir un emploi de plus longue durée pour son conjoint et en s’impliquant dans diverses facettes d’emploi occasionnel de son conjoint.

Conclusion rapport 2

Selon le processus d’enquête ministérielle, il a été établi que les allégations étaient fondées et constituaient des infractions graves au Code de valeurs et d’éthique du secteur public et au Code de conduite de Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada (SPAC).

Un processus pour déterminer les mesures correctives est en cours et doit encore être finalisé. Tel que requis, cette divulgation proactive et ainsi que les mesures correctives seront mis-à-jour lorsque ce processus sera complété.

Date de modification :