Introduction—2014–15 Annual report on Government of Canada advertising activities

Document navigation for "2014–15 Annual report on Government of Canada advertising activities"

In fiscal year 2014–15, the Government of Canada spent $68.7 million to inform the public, through advertising, of key programs, services, and health and safety issues.

A variety of traditional, digital and social media channels were used to reach out  to newcomers, veterans, business owners, parents, youth, students, workers and the general public.

Many of the campaigns were a continuation of ongoing government priorities to celebrate Canada's men and women in uniform—Past and present; to recruit new generations for careers in the Canadian Forces and the Royal Canadian Mounted Police; to encourage taxpayers to take advantage of tax relief measures; to increase awareness of various job training and skills development programs; to promote services to newcomers; and to foster healthy, safe behaviours.

As a lead-in to Canada's 150 anniversary of Confederation in 2017, the Government of Canada also launched a campaign celebrating the Fathers of Confederation. This campaign focused on historical conferences held in Charlottetown and Quebec City in 1864, where notable figures such as Sir George-Étienne Cartier, Sir John A. MacDonald and Thomas D'Arcy McGee met to consider the unification of British North America's provinces—Leading to Canada as it is known today.

Information about these and other campaigns, as well as all costs associated with government advertising activities, are documented in this thirteenth Annual Report on Government of Canada Advertising Activities.

Canada 150: Fathers of Confederation

Canada 150: Fathers of Confederation. See text description below.
Image description

This Film strip is showing 3 images from the Canada 150: Fathers of Confederation campaign. From left to right: the first image is showing two men dressed in period clothes sitting at a table discussing; the second image is showing people dressed in winter attire cheering in front of a screen showing a hockey championship; and, the third image is showing a crowd of people standing in front of parliament hill waving Canadian flags while watching fireworks going off in celebration of Canada Day.

Document navigation for "2014–15 Annual report on Government of Canada advertising activities"

Introduction – Rapport annuel de 2014-2015 sur les activités de publicité du gouvernement du Canada

Navigation pour Document « Dépenses en publicité de 2014-2015 »

Au cours de l'exercice 2014-2015, le gouvernement du Canada a dépensé 68,7 millions de dollars en publicité pour informer le public sur ses principaux programmes et services de même que sur des questions importantes touchant la santé et la sécurité.

Différents canaux conventionnels et numériques et médias sociaux ont permis de communiquer avec les nouveaux arrivants, les anciens combattants, les propriétaires d'entreprise, les parents, les jeunes, les étudiants, les travailleurs et le grand public.

Bon nombre de campagnes faisaient suite aux priorités actuelles du gouvernement : souligner la contribution des hommes et des femmes en uniformes qui ont servi le pays hier et aujourd'hui; recruter la nouvelle génération dans des carrières au sein des Forces canadiennes et de la Gendarmerie royale du Canada; inciter les contribuables à profiter des mesures d'allègement fiscal; mieux faire connaître les différents programmes de formation d'emploi et de développement des compétences; promouvoir les services offerts aux nouveaux arrivants; et encourager l'adoption de comportements sains et sécuritaires.

En vue du 150e anniversaire de la Confédération canadienne qui aura lieu en 2017, le gouvernement du Canada a également lancé une campagne qui souligne les Pères de la Confédération. Cette campagne mettait l'accent sur les conférences historiques qui ont eu lieu à Charlottetown et à Québec en 1864, au cours desquelles des personnages importants, comme sir George-Étienne Cartier, sir John A. MacDonald et Thomas D'Arcy McGee, se sont rencontrés pour envisager la possibilité d'une union des provinces de l'Amérique du Nord britannique, donnant ainsi naissance au Canada d'aujourd'hui.

Les informations à propos de ces campagnes et d'autres campagnes, de même que les coûts se rattachant aux activités de publicité du gouvernement, sont décrits dans ce treizième Rapport annuel sur les activités de publicité du gouvernement du Canada.

Canada 150 : les Pères de la Confédération

Canada 150 : les Pères de la Confédération. Description de l'image ci-dessous.
Description de l'image

Cette bande du film montre 3 images qui parvient du 150e Canada : Pères de la Confédération campagne. De gauche à droite : la première image montrant deux hommes vêtus de costumes d'époque, assis à une table pour discuter; la deuxième image montrant des gens habillés en tenue d'hiver en liesse devant un écran montrant un championnat de hockey; et, la troisième image montrant une foule de gens debout en face de la colline du Parlement en agitant des drapeaux canadiens tout en regardant les feux d'artifice qui partaient à l'occasion de la fête du Canada.

Navigation pour Document « Dépenses en publicité de 2014-2015 »