Appendix III—Government of Canada advertising glossary—2016 to 2017 Annual report on Government of Canada advertising activities

Document navigation for "2016 to 2017 Annual report on Government of Canada advertising activities"

Advertising
Any message conveyed in Canada or abroad and paid for by the government for placement in media, including but not limited to newspapers, television, radio, cinema, billboards and other out-of-home media, mobile devices, the internet, and any other digital medium.
Advertising activities
Activities relating to the production and placement of advertising. These activities include campaign planning, creative development, pre-testing, production, media planning, placement of advertising and evaluation.
Advertising services supplier
A private sector supplier selected through a competitive process to provide a government institution with advertising services, such as strategic planning, creative and production services in support of an advertising initiative.
Advertising technology provider
A private sector supplier, selected through a competitive process, which maintains various platforms to serve, track and report on federal digital advertisements, including an ad server to host and serve display advertising, a demand-side platform for programmatic advertising buys, and a data management platform with standardized information on campaign performance and results.
Agency of record
A private sector supplier, selected through a competitive process, which plans, negotiates, consolidates, purchases and verifies advertising media space and time for government advertising.
Buy and sell
The electronic-tendering system used by the Government of Canada to post searchable procurement notices and bid-solicitation documents for access by suppliers and contracting officers. For more information, please see buyandsell.gc.ca.
Digital display advertising
Advertising in different text, image and audio formats, such as banner or big box ads published on a website for viewing by site visitors.
Media buy or placement
The purchase of advertising space and time from a media outlet, such as a television station, radio station, newspaper, magazine, website, cinema, out-of-home, etc.
Out-of-home
Advertising media to which audiences are exposed outside the home such as mall posters, billboards, bus and transit-shelter advertisements, digital screens and kiosks, etc.
Non-partisan communications

In the context of all Government of Canada communications products and activities, non-partisan is defined as follows:

  • it is objective, factual and explanatory
  • it is free from political party slogans, images, identifiers; bias; designation; or affiliation
  • the primary colour associated with the governing party is not used in a dominant way, unless an item is commonly depicted in that colour
  • advertising is devoid of any name, voice or image of a minister, member of parliament or senator
Programmatic (Real time bidding)
A data-driven programmatic buying model allowing advertisers or their agencies to bid on digital media space (display, video, mobile, social, etc.) in real-time, at the impression level (source: Interactive Advertising Bureau of Canada).
Promoted posts
Paid advertising option on social media platforms to increase the likelihood of an institution's post being seen by a key audience.
Public notices
Public notices, such as those providing information about requests for tenders, public hearings, offers of employment, and changes to business hours and addresses are a form of advertising. Public notices often deal with routine regional or local matters, and institutions have the option to purchase the media for public notices themselves or to use the services of the Government of Canada's agency of record.
Request for proposal
A formal government document, posted on buyandsell.gc.ca, through which advertising services suppliers are invited to submit proposals for creative advertising work on complex thematic and multi-component projects usually spanning more than one year. Proposals are evaluated according to criteria detailed in each RFP. Contracts are awarded through a competitive process in which selection is based on a combination of technical score and price offering best value.
Search engine marketing
A form of advertising used to promote websites and attract visitors by increasing their visibility in search engine results, on search engine platforms.
Social media
Interactive web-based tools that encourage users to collaborate, create, generate and distribute content and to customize applications.
Standing offer
An arrangement in which advertising services suppliers qualify from a pool of pre-screened advertising services suppliers to provide the government with goods and services at pre-arranged prices, under set terms and conditions, and for specific periods of time on an “as requested” basis. A standing offer is not a contract.
Supply arrangement
A method of supply where bids are requested from a pool of pre-screened advertising services suppliers. A supply arrangement is not a contract.

Document navigation for "2016 to 2017 Annual report on Government of Canada advertising activities"

Date modified:

Annexe III – Glossaire relatif à la publicité du gouvernement du Canada – Rapport annuel de 2016 à 2017 sur les activités de publicité du gouvernement du Canada

Navigation pour Document « Rapport annuel de 2016 à 2017 sur les activités de publicité du gouvernement du Canada »

Achat ou placement média
Achat de temps d’antenne ou d’espace publicitaire d’un média comme une chaîne de télévision, une station de radio, un journal, un magazine, le Web, une salle de cinéma, une publicité extérieure, etc.
Achats et ventes
Système d’appel d’offres électronique avec fonction de recherche par lequel le gouvernement du Canada diffuse les avis de marché et les documents des demandes de soumissions, les mettant ainsi à la disposition des fournisseurs et des agents de passation des marchés. Pour plus de renseignements, veuillez consulter le site Internet achatsetventes.gc.ca.
Activités de publicité
Activités relatives à la production et au placement dans les médias. Ces activités comprennent la planification de campagne, la création du matériel publicitaire, la mise à l’essai, la production, la planification média, le placement et l’évaluation.
Agence de coordination
Fournisseur du secteur privé choisi dans le cadre d’un processus concurrentiel qui planifie, négocie, regroupe, achète et vérifie le temps et l’espace de publicité dans les médias pour répondre aux besoins en publicité du gouvernement du Canada.
Annonces publicitaires numériques
Annonces publicitaires sous différents formats de texte, d’image et d’audio, notamment des bannières ou des îlots publicitaires affichés sur un site Web pour permettre aux visiteurs du site de les consulter.
Arrangement en matière d’approvisionnement
Méthode d’approvisionnement selon laquelle des soumissions sont sollicitées à partir d’un bassin de fournisseurs de services de publicité présélectionnés. Un arrangement en matière d’approvisionnement n’est pas un contrat.
Avis publics
Les avis publics, comme ceux portant sur les demandes d’offres, les audiences publiques, les offres d’emploi, les changements d’heures d’ouverture et d’adresse sont une forme de publicité. Les avis publics portent souvent sur des questions régionales ou locales, et les ministères ont le choix d’acheter eux-mêmes l’espace média connexe ou d’utiliser les services de l’Agence de coordination du gouvernement du Canada.
Communications impartiales

Dans le contexte de tous les produits et activités de communication du gouvernement du Canada, l’impartialité signifie que les publicités sont :

  • objectives, factuelles et explicatives
  • exemptes de slogan, d’image, d’identifiant, de partialité, de désignation ou d’affiliation à des partis politiques
  • exemptes, dans une mesure importante, de l’utilisation de couleurs associées au parti au pouvoir, sauf si la publicité est habituellement dans cette couleur
  • dépourvues du nom, de la voix ou de l’image d’un ministre, d’un député ou d’un sénateur dans le cadre d’annonces publicitaires
Demande de propositions
Document gouvernemental officiel, affiché sur achatsetventes.gc.ca, par lequel les fournisseurs de services de publicité sont invités à présenter des propositions pour obtenir du travail de création publicitaire portant sur des projets thématiques complexes et à composantes multiples s’étendant normalement sur plus d’une année. Les propositions sont évaluées selon des critères détaillés dans chaque demande de propositions. Les marchés sont attribués dans le cadre d’un processus concurrentiel où le choix est basé sur une combinaison du résultat de la proposition technique et du meilleur rapport qualité-prix.
Fournisseur de technologies publicitaires
Fournisseur du secteur privé choisi au moyen d’un processus concurrentiel qui entretient différentes plateformes conçues pour le réseautage, le suivi et l’établissement de rapports concernant les annonces numériques fédérales, y compris un serveur publicitaire pour la saisie et le réseautage des annonces publicitaires, une plateforme relative à la demande pour les achats de publicité programmatique, et enfin, une plateforme de gestion des données comprenant des renseignements normalisés sur le rendement et les résultats de la campagne.
Fournisseurs de services de publicité
Fournisseur du secteur privé choisi au moyen d’un processus concurrentiel qui fournit à un organisme du gouvernement des services de publicité comme de la planification stratégique et des services de création et de production dans le cadre d’une initiative de publicité.
Marketing par moteurs de recherche
Forme de publicité employée pour promouvoir les sites Web et attirer les visiteurs en augmentant leur visibilité dans les résultats de recherche, sur les plateformes des moteurs de recherche.
Médias sociaux
Outils interactifs Web qui encouragent les utilisateurs à la collaboration, à la création, à la génération et à la distribution de contenu ainsi qu’à la personnalisation d’applications.
Offre à commandes
Entente selon laquelle des fournisseurs de services de publicité se qualifient pour offrir au gouvernement des biens et des services « selon la demande », à des prix prédéterminés, selon des modalités établies et pour des périodes de temps déterminées. Une offre à commandes n’est pas un contrat.
Programme (soumission en temps réel)
Un modèle d’achat programmatique fondé sur les données, permettant aux annonceurs ou à leurs agences de soumissionner en temps réel sur l’espace publicitaire dans les médias numériques (affichage, vidéo, mobile, social, etc.), au niveau de l’impression (source : Bureau de la publicité interactive du Canada).
Publications commanditées
Options de publicité payante sur les plateformes des médias sociaux pour accroître la probabilité que la publication d’une institution soit vue par un public cible.
Publicité
Tout message diffusé au Canada ou à l’étranger, et payé par le gouvernement pour un placement dans des médias, y compris les journaux, la télévision, la radio, les salles de cinéma, les panneaux d’affichage et tout autre support extérieur, les appareils mobiles, Internet et tout autre média numérique.
Publicité extérieure
Média publicitaire auquel les gens sont exposés à l’extérieur de leur domicile. Ces médias comprennent les affiches dans les centres commerciaux, les panneaux, la publicité dans les autobus et les abribus, les écrans numériques et les kiosques.

Navigation pour Document « Rapport annuel de 2016 à 2017 sur les activités de publicité du gouvernement du Canada »

Date de modification :