Introduction—2016 to 2017 Annual report on Government of Canada advertising activities

Document navigation for "2016 to 2017 Annual report on Government of Canada advertising activities"

Government of Canada advertising is an important way to convey essential information to Canadians in an efficient and timely manner, including on government policies, programs and services, rights and responsibilities, as well as risks to public health, safety and the environment. In fiscal year 2016 to 2017, the Government of Canada spent $36.1 million on advertising (including planning, production of creative materials and media). Typically, through advertising, Canadians are invited to take part in an event, visit a website, call a telephone number for more information, or to take advantage of the programs and services advertised.

Government of Canada advertising is defined as any message conveyed in Canada or abroad and paid for by the government for placement in media, including but not limited to newspapers, television, radio, cinema, billboards and other out-of-home media, mobile devices, the internet, and any other digital medium.

Non-partisan review

With the launch of the Policy on Communications and Federal Identity on May 11, 2016, a new oversight mechanism for advertising came into effect, the non-partisan review. All government advertising campaigns with budgets over $500,000 must be reviewed to ensure that creative materials are non-partisan. Campaigns with smaller budgets may also be voluntarily submitted for review. Advertising Standards Canada (ASC), the independent organization that administers the Canadian Code of Advertising Standards, conducts the reviews on behalf of the Government of Canada.

The Policy on Communications and Federal Identity establishes the following criteria for non-partisan advertising:

  • It is objective, factual, and explanatory
  • It is free from political party slogans, images, identifiers; bias; designation; or affiliation
  • The primary colour associated with the governing party is not used in a dominant way, unless an item is commonly depicted in that colour
  • Advertising is devoid of any name, voice or image of a minister, Member of Parliament or senator

Infographic: Non-partisan review process

Infographic: Non-partisan review process - Image description is below.

Description of Infographic: Non-partisan review process

Public Services and Procurement Canada coordinates the review process between institutions and Advertising Standards Canada (ASC) and sends final review determinations to Treasury Board Secretariat. The review process is mandatory for all advertising campaigns with budgets over $500,000. Institutions can also choose to voluntarily submit their campaigns with smaller budgets for review.

The non-partisan review includes:

  1. The initial review
    • Institutions submit preliminary creative material (like scripts, storyboards)
    • ASC completes initial review and provides determinations
    • Institutions address ASC determinations, if required 
  2. The final review
    • Institutions submit final creative elements for final review
    • ASC completes final review to confirm the creatives are non-partisan
  3. Results and decisions
    • Treasury Board Secretariat publishes review results and decisions on Canada.ca 

From the date the new policy came into effect on May 11, 2016, all major government advertising campaigns have been reviewed. Detailed non-partisan advertising review results and decisions can be found on Canada.ca.

Document navigation for "2016 to 2017 Annual report on Government of Canada advertising activities"

Date modified:

Introduction – Rapport annuel de 2016 à 2017 sur les activités de publicité du gouvernement du Canada

Navigation pour Document « Rapport annuel de 2016 à 2017 sur les activités de publicité du gouvernement du Canada »

La publicité du gouvernement du Canada est un outil important qui lui permet de transmettre des renseignements essentiels aux Canadiens, de manière efficace et en temps opportun, notamment au sujet de ses politiques, programmes et services, de ses droits et responsabilités, et des risques pour la santé et la sécurité publiques et pour l'environnement. Au cours de l'exercice 2016 à 2017, le gouvernement du Canada a dépensé 36,1 millions de dollars en publicité (ce qui comprend la planification, la production d'éléments de création et les médias). En général, par l'intermédiaire de la publicité, les Canadiens sont invités à participer à une activité, consulter un site Web, composer un numéro de téléphone pour obtenir plus de renseignements, ou profiter des programmes et des services annoncés.

La publicité du gouvernement du Canada se définit comme tout message diffusé au Canada ou à l'étranger, et payé par le gouvernement pour un placement dans des médias, y compris les journaux, la télévision, la radio, les salles de cinéma, les panneaux publicitaires et tout autre média extérieur, les appareils mobiles, Internet et tout autre média numérique.

Examen du caractère non partisan

Conjointement avec le lancement de la Politique sur les communications et l'image de marque du gouvernement le 11 mai 2016, un nouveau mécanisme de surveillance est entré en vigueur : l'examen du caractère non partisan. Toutes les campagnes publicitaires du gouvernement dont le budget est supérieur à 500 000 $ doivent faire l'objet d'un examen pour s'assurer que le matériel publicitaire respecte les critères propres aux communications non partisanes. Les campagnes dont le budget est inférieur peuvent également être soumises volontairement aux fins d'examen. Les Normes canadiennes de la publicité (NCP), l’organisation indépendante qui administre le Code canadien des normes de la publicité, effectue les examens au nom du gouvernement du Canada.

La Politique sur les communications et l'image de marque du gouvernement établit les critères suivants pour les publicités non partisanes :

  • objectives, factuelles et explicatives;
  • exemptes de slogan, d'image, d'identifiant, de partialité, de désignation ou d'affiliation à des partis politiques;
  • exemptes, dans une mesure importante, de l'utilisation de couleurs associées au parti au pouvoir, sauf si la publicité est habituellement dans cette couleur;
  • dépourvues du nom, de la voix ou de l'image d'un ministre, d'un député ou d'un sénateur.

Infographie : Processus d'examen du caractère non partisan

Infographie : Processus d'examen du caractère non partisan - Description de l'image est ci-dessous.

Description de l'infographie : Processus d'examen du caractère non partisan

Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada coordonne le processus d'examen entre les ministères et les Normes canadiennes de la publicité (NCP) et transmet au Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor les résultats d'examens. Le processus d'examen est obligatoire pour toutes les campagnes de publicité ayant une valeur de plus de 500 000 $. Les ministères peuvent également choisir de soumettre volontairement à un examen les campagnes à budgets plus réduits.

L'examen du caractère non partisan comporte :

  1. L'examen initial
    • Les ministères soumettent une version préliminaire des produits publicitaires (comme le scénario, la maquette).
    • Les NCP effectuent l'examen initial et fournissent les résultats d'examens.
    • Les ministères donnent suite aux conclusions des NCP, s'il y a lieu.
  2. L'examen final
    • Les ministères soumettent les éléments créatifs finaux pour un examen final.
    • Les NCP effectuent l'examen final pour confirmer que les éléments créatifs respectent les critères propres aux communications non partisanes.
  3. Résultats et décisions
    • Le Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor publie les résultats de l'examen et les décisions sur le site Web Canada.ca.  

Depuis l'entrée en vigueur de la nouvelle politique, le 11 mai 2016, toutes les grandes campagnes de publicité du gouvernement ont fait l'objet d'un examen. Les résultats détaillés d'examens et de décisions sur la publicité non partisane sont disponibles sur le site Web Canada.ca.

Navigation pour Document « Rapport annuel de 2016 à 2017 sur les activités de publicité du gouvernement du Canada »

Date de modification :