Corporate information: 2021 to 2022 Departmental Plan

Document navigation for "2021 to 2022 Departmental Plan"

On this page

Organizational profile

Appropriate minister: Anita Anand, PC, MP

Institutional head: Bill Matthews

Ministerial portfolio: Public Services and Procurement Canada

Enabling instrument(s): The Department of Public Works and Government Services Act establishes the Department of Public Services and Procurement Canada.

Year of incorporation / commencement: 1841

Other: The Minister of Public Services and Procurement has responsibilities under 19 other acts. The most important ones are:

Raison d'être, mandate and role: Who we are and what we do

Public Services and Procurement Canada (PSPC) plays an important role in the daily operations of the Government of Canada. It supports federal departments and agencies in the achievement of their mandated objectives as their central purchasing agent, real property manager, linguistic authority, treasurer, accountant, pay and pension administrator, and common service provider. The department's vision is to excel in government operations. Our mission is to deliver high-quality, central programs and services that ensure sound stewardship on behalf of Canadians and meet the program needs of federal institutions.

The department, founded in 1841, was instrumental in the building of our nation's canals, roads and bridges, the Houses of Parliament, post offices and federal buildings across the country.

The Department of Public Works and Government Services Act (theact), passed in 1996, established the current department and set out the legal authorities for PSPC's services. As a common service organization providing government departments, boards and agencies with support services, PSPC delivers on its mandate through 5 core responsibilities:

PSPC's goal is to manage its business in a way that demonstrates integrity, accountability, efficiency, transparency, and adds value for its client departments and agencies, and Canadians.

The portfolio of the Minister of Public Services and Procurement includes the National Capital Commission and 3 Crown corporations (Canada Lands Company Limited, Defence Construction Canada and Canada Post Corporation). The minister is also responsible for the Federal Public Sector Labour Relations and Employment Board. The Office of the Procurement Ombudsman (OPO) also reports to the Minister and operates independently. Details of the operations of the Crown corporations and OPO are provided in separate annual reports that are tabled in Parliament by the Minister.

Operating context

Public Services and Procurement Canada (PSPC) plays a key enabling role in the daily operations of the Government of Canada as a provider of goods and services that help federal departments and agencies meet their mandated objectives. Our fundamental values of respect, integrity, excellence, and leadership guide the way we support the government, our people, and our communities.

With close to 16,000 employees across the country, and offices located in communities from coast to coast to coast, we manage an annual budget of over $4 billion. PSPC operations are vast, given our roles, such as:

We are experts in a wide variety of fields, from professional purchasers to translators, from accountants to banking experts, and from architects and engineers to sustainable development experts. Our people manage a variety of programs and services and are our greatest asset.

In line with the government-wide Policy on Results, PSPC's Departmental Results Framework outlines five core responsibilities: purchase of goods and services; payments and accounting; property and infrastructure; government-wide support and Procurement Ombudsman. Within these, priorities for 2021 to 2022 are identified in the 2021 to 2022 Departmental Plan to guide our efforts.

In 2021 to 2022, the department will continue to work towards fulfilling mandate commitments and key initiatives in support of Government of Canada priorities, and delivering results to Canadians. More information on mandate commitments can be found in the Minister's mandate letter.

In March 2020, the World Health Organization declared the novel Coronavirus (COVID-19) outbreak to be a global pandemic. PSPC will continue to deploy significant and sustained effort to provide critical and essential services in support of the Government of Canada and Canadians, such as the procurement of supplies and equipment to protect the health and safety of Canadians.

Reporting framework

Public Services and Procurement Canada's approved Departmental Results Framework and Program Inventory for 2021 to 2022 are as follows.

Core responsibility 1: Purchase of goods and services

Public Services and Procurement Canada (PSPC) purchases goods and services on behalf of the Government of Canada:

1.1. Federal organizations have the products and services they need, when they need them, at the best value:

1.2. Government purchasing is simpler and easy to access, fair and transparent for suppliers:

1.3. Government purchasing supports Canada's economic, environmental, and social policy goals:

Program inventory

Core responsibility 2: Payments and accounting

PSPC collects revenues and issues payments, maintains the financial accounts of Canada, issues financial reports, and administers payroll and pension services for the Government of Canada.

2.1. Canadians, businesses and organizations receive payments on time and revenues are collected for government services in an efficient manner:

2.2. Members of federal pension plans receive timely and accurate pension payments, benefits and support services to which they are entitled:

2.3. In collaboration with government departments, employees receive timely and accurate pay and benefits:

2.4. Canadians have timely access to reliable information on Canada's finances:

Program inventory

Core responsibility 3: Property and infrastructure

PSPC provides federal employees and parliamentarians with work space; builds, maintains and manages federal properties and other public works such as bridges and dams; and provides associated services to federal organizations.

3.1. Federal real property and associated services meet the needs of federal government clients, partners and/or parliamentarians, and ensure best value for Canadians:

3.2. Federal infrastructure spending supports Canada's social, economic and environmental priorities:

Program inventory

Core responsibility 4: Government-wide support

PSPC provides administrative services and tools to federal organizations that help them deliver programs and services to Canadians.

4.1. Federal organizations have access to high quality linguistic services and tools:

4.2. The government does business with ethical suppliers and ensures that sensitive information is handled appropriately:

4.3. Federal organizations have the support services and tools they need to deliver their programs to Canadians:

Program inventory

Core responsibility 5: Procurement Ombudsman

The Office of the Procurement Ombudsman (OPO) operates at arm's-length from federal organizations. It is legislated to review the procurement practices of federal organizations, review complaints from Canadian suppliers, and provide dispute resolution services.

5.1. Raise awareness of procurement issues and exchange information:

5.2. Procurement related issues are addressed through alternative dispute resolution

5.3. Procurement related issues are addressed through the review of complaints and federal procurement practices

Program inventory

Changes to the approved reporting framework since 2020 to 2021

PSPC made only minor amendments to its 2021 to 2022 Departmental Results Framework. Minor amendments constitute changes at the departmental result and indicator level. As such, PSPC's core responsibilities and program inventory remain unchanged.

Document navigation for "2021 to 2022 Departmental Plan"

Report a problem or mistake on this page
Date modified:

Renseignements ministériels : Plan ministériel 2021 à 2022

Navigation pour document « Plan ministériel 2021 à 2022 »

Sur cette page

Profil organisationnel

Ministre de tutelle : Anita Anand, c.p., députée

Administrateur général : Bill Matthews

Portefeuille ministériel : Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada

Instruments habilitants : La Loi sur le ministère des Travaux publics et des Services gouvernementaux établit le ministère des Services publics et de l'Approvisionnement Canada.

Année d'incorporation ou de création : 1841

Autres : La ministre des Services publics et de l'Approvisionnement a des responsabilités en vertu de 19 autres lois. Les plus importantes sont les suivantes :

Raison d'être, mandat et rôle : Composition et responsabilités

Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada (SPAC) joue un rôle important dans les activités quotidiennes du gouvernement du Canada. Il aide les ministères et organismes fédéraux à atteindre les objectifs qui leur sont confiés en agissant comme acheteur central, gestionnaire immobilier, spécialiste des questions linguistiques, trésorier, comptable, administrateur de la paye et des pensions, et fournisseur de services communs. La vision du ministère consiste à exceller dans les opérations gouvernementales. Notre mission est d'offrir des programmes et des services centraux de première qualité qui assurent une saine intendance au profit de la population canadienne et qui sont adaptés aux besoins en matière de programmes des institutions fédérales.

Mis sur pied en 1841, le ministère a joué un rôle de premier plan dans la construction des canaux, des routes, des ponts, des édifices du Parlement, des bureaux de poste et des immeubles fédéraux dans tout le pays.

Adoptée en 1996, la Loi sur le ministère des Travaux publics et des Services gouvernementaux (la loi) a officiellement donné naissance au ministère, en plus d'établir le fondement juridique des services qu'il offre. En tant qu'organisme de services communs chargé de fournir aux ministères, aux conseils et aux organismes fédéraux des services à l'appui de leurs programmes, SPAC réalise son mandat par le truchement de 5 responsabilités essentielles :

SPAC a pour objectif de gérer ses activités en faisant preuve d'intégrité, de responsabilité, d'efficience et de transparence, et en offrant des services à valeur ajoutée à ses ministères et organismes clients ainsi qu'à la population canadienne.

Le portefeuille de la ministre des Service publics et de l'Approvisionnement comprend la Commission de la capitale nationale, 3 sociétés d'État (Société immobilière du Canada limitée, Construction de Défense Canada et Société canadienne des postes). Le Bureau de l'ombudsman de l'approvisionnement (BOA) relève également de la ministre et mène ses activités de façon indépendante. Des détails sur les activités des sociétés d'État et du BOA sont fournis dans des rapports annuels distincts qui sont déposés devant le Parlement par la ministre.

Contexte opérationnel

Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada (SPAC) joue un rôle clé dans les activités quotidiennes du gouvernement du Canada en agissant à titre de fournisseur de biens et de services pour aider les ministères et organismes fédéraux à atteindre les objectifs prévus à leur mandat. Nos valeurs fondamentales que sont le respect, l'intégrité, l'excellence et le leadership orientent notre manière d'appuyer notre gouvernement, nos employés et nos collectivités.

Fort de près de 16 000 employés dans l'ensemble du pays, et de bureaux dans des communautés d'un océan à l'autre, SPAC gère un budget annuel de plus de 4 milliards de dollars. Ses activités sont vastes étant donné ses rôles, dont les suivants :

SPAC est un expert dans un grand nombre de domaines, que ce soit l'approvisionnement, la traduction, la comptabilité, les finances, l'architecture, le génie ou le développement durable. Nos employés gèrent un vaste éventail de programmes et de services et ils sont notre meilleur atout.

Conformément à la Politique sur les résultats, qui touche l'ensemble du gouvernement, le Cadre ministériel des résultats de SPAC énonce les cinq responsabilités essentielles de l'organisation : achat de biens et de services; paiements et comptabilité; biens et infrastructure; soutien à l'échelle du gouvernement et Ombudsman de l'approvisionnement. Parmi ceux-ci, des priorités pour 2021 à 2022 ont été relevées dans le Plan ministériel 2021 à 2022 pour guider nos efforts.

Le Ministère a fait des progrès pour respecter les engagements et les initiatives clés de son mandat à l'appui des priorités gouvernementales pour atteindre des résultats pour les Canadiens. De plus amples renseignements sur les engagements pris dans le cadre du mandat se trouvent dans la lettre de mandat de la ministre.

En mars 2020, l'Organisation mondiale de la Santé a déclaré que l'épidémie du nouveau coronavirus (COVID-19) était une pandémie mondiale. SPAC a déployé rapidement des efforts importants et soutenus pour fournir des services essentiels et critiques à l'appui du gouvernement du Canada et des Canadiens, comme l'achat de fournitures et d'équipements pour protéger la santé et la sécurité des Canadiens.

Cadre de présentation de rapports

Le cadre ministériel des résultats et le répertoire des programmes approuvés de Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada pour 2021 à 2022 sont illustrés ci-dessous.

Responsabilité essentielle 1 : Achat de biens et de services

Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada (SPAC) achète des biens et des services pour le compte du gouvernement du Canada :

1.1. Les organisations fédérales disposent des produits et des services dont elles ont besoin, au moment opportun, et au meilleur rapport qualité-prix :

1.2. Les achats du gouvernement sont simples, facilement accessibles, justes et transparents pour les fournisseurs :

1.3. Les achats du gouvernement appuient les objectifs économiques, environnementaux et sociaux du Canada :

Répertoire des programmes

Responsabilité essentielle 2 : Paiements et comptabilité

SPAC perçoit les recettes et émet les paiements, tient les comptes financiers du Canada, produit les rapports financiers et gère les services de paye et de pension pour le gouvernement du Canada.

2.1. Les Canadiens, les entreprises et les organisations reçoivent les paiements dans les délais et les recettes pour les services gouvernementaux sont perçues de manière efficace :

2.2. Les cotisants aux régimes de pension fédéraux reçoivent les prestations de pension, les avantages sociaux et les services de soutien auxquels ils ont droit de manière opportune et exacte :

2.3. En collaboration avec les ministères du gouvernement, les employés reçoivent des services exacts et rapides en ce qui concerne la paye et les avantages sociaux :

2.4. Les Canadiens ont un accès en temps opportun à des renseignements fiables sur les finances du Canada :

Répertoire des programmes

Responsabilité essentielle 3 : Biens et infrastructure

SPAC fournit des locaux à bureaux aux fonctionnaires fédéraux et aux parlementaires; construit, entretient et gère les biens fédéraux et d'autres ouvrages publics, comme les ponts et les barrages; et fournit des services connexes aux organisations fédérales.

3.1. Les biens immobiliers fédéraux et les services connexes répondent aux besoins des clients du gouvernement fédéral, des partenaires et/ou des parlementaires, et garantissent aux Canadiens le meilleur rapport qualité-prix :

3.2. Les dépenses d'infrastructure du gouvernement fédéral appuient les priorités sociales, économiques et environnementales du Canada :

Répertoire des programmes

Responsabilité essentielle 4 : Soutien à l'échelle du gouvernement

SPAC fournit des services administratifs et des outils aux organisations fédérales qui leur permettent d'offrir des programmes et des services aux Canadiens.

4.1. Les organisations fédérales ont accès à des outils et à des services linguistiques de haute qualité :

4.2. Le gouvernement fait affaire avec des fournisseurs éthiques et veille à ce que l'information de nature délicate soit manipulée de manière appropriée :

4.3. Les organisations fédérales disposent des services de soutien et des outils dont elles ont besoin pour offrir leurs programmes aux Canadiens :

Répertoire des programmes

Responsabilité essentielle 5 : Ombudsman de l'approvisionnement

Le Bureau de l'ombudsman de l'approvisionnement (BOA) mène ses activités sans aucun lien de dépendance avec les autres organisations fédérales. En vertu de la loi, il doit examiner les pratiques d'approvisionnement des organisations fédérales ainsi que les plaintes des fournisseurs canadiens, et fournir des services de règlement des différends.

5.1. Sensibiliser aux enjeux liés à l'approvisionnement et échanger des renseignements :

5.2. Les enjeux liés à l'approvisionnement sont réglés grâce au règlement extrajudiciaire des différends

5.3. Les enjeux liés à l'approvisionnement sont réglés au moyen de l'examen des plaintes et des examens des pratiques d'approvisionnement

Répertoire des programmes

Changements apportés au cadre de présentation de rapports approuvé depuis 2020 à 2021

SPAC n'a apporté que des modifications mineures à son Cadre de résultats ministériel 2021 à 2022. Ces modifications représentent des changements au niveau des résultats et des indicateurs du ministère. Par conséquent, les responsabilités essentielles de SPAC et l'inventaire des programmes ne changent pas.

Navigation pour document « Plan ministériel 2021 à 2022 »

Signaler un problème sur cette page
Date de modification :