Internal services: Planned results—2021 to 2022 Departmental Plan

Document navigation for "Supplementary information tables"

Internal services are those groups of related activities and resources that the federal government considers to be services in support of programs and/or required to meet corporate obligations of an organization. Internal services refers to the activities and resources of the 10 distinct services that support program delivery in the organization, regardless of the internal services delivery model in a department. These services are:

Planning highlights

To better align resources to meet departmental priorities, Public Services and Procurement Canada (PSPC) will continue embedding integrated business planning across the department through the implementation of its evergreen integrated business plan, which it launched for the first time in May 2020. At the same time, the department will ensure information regarding its activities and results is more effectively communicated to Parliament and Canadians.

PSPC continues efforts to ensure compliance with proactive publication requirements under the Access to Information Act. To further support the government's commitment to openness and transparency, PSPC is developing a departmental transparency strategy to provide Canadians with relevant and timely information related to the department's mandate. As part of this approach, PSPC has published detailed information online about COVID-19 contracts.

The department is continuing to modernize the way it engages with Canadians and its employees by enhancing proactive communications approaches and its use of social media platforms to better reach its varied audiences. In 2021, management of PSPC web content will be centralized, allowing better integration of messages and supporting a user-centric, accessible and task-based approach to the provision of information and services. Communication approaches will be informed by the diverse information needs of PSPC employees, clients and partners, and the public, and aligned with the department's Integrated Business Plan and support the Minister's mandate and priorities.

Given PSPC's role as common service provider, the department has a unique opportunity to be a leader and support its clients in reconciliation efforts. Important action is underway across the department, however, an overarching strategy is needed to ensure a coordinated approach across the organization and with Indigenous partners. To meet this need, the Reconciliation and Indigenous Engagement Unit is developing a Reconciliation Strategy to support all PSPC reconciliation and Indigenous engagement activities and identify opportunities to develop and enhance policies, programs and initiatives that will advance reconciliation.

With respect to diversity and inclusion, PSPC will continue the dialogue it initiated in 2020 to 2021 with diverse groups of employees on their lived experience at the department. This dialogue will allow the department to frame and refine its actions related to shifting departmental culture; improving the recruitment, development and promotion practices; and addressing barriers in the delivery of programs and services. The department's executives and middle management will continue their learning path on unconscious bias and anti-racism, with a view to engaging all PSPC employees on this important topic. PSPC will continue to develop targeted recruitment and development strategies and provide services, tools, and expert advice to hiring managers to promote a more inclusive workplace and to ensure the department's workforce reflects the diversity of Canada's evolving population.

In support of mental health, PSPC will continue to provide mental health tools for managers and employees, virtual access to all mental health and well-being services and mental health ombudsman's individual consultations, as well as increase mental health visibility and awareness.

PSPC is looking to optimize security throughout the department by continuing to deliver on a 3-year Departmental Security Plan and building security specialist capacity and expertise across the department. This will be accomplished through program transformation initiatives or leading innovative projects taking into account the evolving security landscape.

In support of its implementation of the Treasury Board Secretariat Policy on Service and Digital, PSPC will continue engaging with the service providers within PSPC branches to establish service management, service delivery practices, communities of practice, governance as well as systems that will enable the department to access its "one PSPC" vision in a predominantly digital and cloud ready landscape.

Key risks

There are a number of risks that could impact the successful delivery of internal services.

Data analytics

There is a risk that PSPC will not be able to readily access reliable data and will not have the expertise needed to analyze it in order to make timely and informed decisions. To mitigate this risk, PSPC will implement the required data repositories like data warehouses, and will continue to invest in other data analytics capacity tools and related strategies. In addition, PSPC's digital services will implement its recently-developed Human Resources Strategy, which will focus on developing capacities within data analytics, data science and artificial intelligence.

Departmental coordination

There is a risk that the diversity of PSPC's varied business lines will impact the department's ability to collectively plan, and to make resourcing decisions that will achieve departmental results and support a culture of "One PSPC". To mitigate this risk, PSPC will continue strengthening its department-wide integrated planning process, which includes the integrated business plan. This will improve PSPC's common approaches to strategic and operational planning, budgeting, resource allocation, and performance monitoring and reporting. PSPC will also take advantage of opportunities for increased collaboration by strengthening its strategic policy function, promoting and reinforcing the "One PSPC" approach in planning and communication, and continuing to adapt training and governance structures. This will ensure a better alignment of resources with core priorities and more consistency in client service experiences.

Departmental risk management culture

There is a risk that PSPC's departmental risk management culture change initiative will not foster the adaptability needed to seize opportunities and minimize threats in an integrated manner, while also maintaining the resilience required to safeguard trust in its ongoing ability to deliver. To mitigate this risk, PSPC has undertaken a number of important initiatives. These include developing a coherent and strong risk management framework, regularly renewing the department's risk profile in order to communicate key strategic risks, and developing a new risk tolerance approach, which will be progressively implemented across PSPC through stakeholder and partner engagement on pilot projects.

PSPC will continue building collaborative relationships between its integrated risk management and integrated business planning units, as well as business line specialists, in order to capture and communicate opportunities and threats to the department's operational priorities, as well as in managing risks linked to shared accountabilities with other departments.

Digital transformation

There is a risk that PSPC will not continue to have the modern and reliable systems, expertise and cyber safeguards needed to effectively operate and deliver services in a predominantly digital environment, which now includes a much increased full-time and department-wide reliance on telework. To mitigate this risk, the department has implemented new virtual team environments and collaborative tools, including Teams and other Microsoft 365 applications. PSPC also created the Cloud Competency Centre, and is currently engaging with the private sector in order to establish delivery systems that will enable the department to acquire the in-house expertise needed to improve cloud readiness. PSPC will also implement the recently developed Digital Services Human Resources Strategy, the information technology (IT) Project Management Framework, and a cybersecurity management action plan to adapt to the changing digital environment.

Recruitment and retention

There is a risk that PSPC will not be able to attract and retain the specialized, skilled and diverse workforce needed to deliver timely and quality services to its clients. To mitigate this risk, PSPC has implemented a cohesive, department-wide People Management Plan that is aligned with the department's integrated planning processes. This plan is helping to prioritize human resources programs and strategies, and to integrate leadership development and succession planning. Maintaining and refreshing the People Management Plan, as well as continuing the implementation of other staffing and talent management modernization initiatives, will enable PSPC to attract and retain the specialized and diverse staff required to deliver on its plans and priorities. These initiatives, along with ongoing efforts by the Office of the Mental Health Ombudsman as well as regular check-ins with staff, seek to mitigate impacts of a work environment currently experiencing rapid and frequent changes. PSPC continues to take steps to address challenges around workload management and promote work / life balance.

Planned budgetary financial resources for internal services

Table 1: 2021 to 2022 Main Estimates versus planned spending (3 fiscal years from 2021 to 2022, to 2023 to 2024) (in dollars)
2021 to 2022 budgetary spending (as indicated in Main Estimates) 2021 to 2022
planned spending
2022 to 2023
planned spending
2023 to 2024
planned spending
355,047,666 355,047,666 325,120,316 301,764,354

The decrease in net planned spending is mainly due to the completion of information technology projects and a decrease in spending for some projects in subsequent years such as the Government of Canada trusted platform project and the digital convergence project. The net decrease is also due to the end of incremental funding for human resources services to employees for the pay administration initiative. Funding will be adjusted should future approvals be received.

Financial, human resources and performance information for Public Services and Procurement Canada's program inventory is available in the Government of Canada InfoBase.

Planned human resources for internal services

Table 2: Planned full-time equivalents (3 fiscal years from 2021 to 2022, to 2023 to 2024)

2021 to 2022
planned full-time equivalents

2022 to 2023
planned full-time equivalents
2023 to 2024
planned full-time equivalents
3,336.67 3,373.76 3,383.76

Document navigation for "Supplementary information tables"

Report a problem or mistake on this page
Date modified:

Services internes : Résultats prévus – Plan ministériel 2021 à 2022

Navigation pour document « Tableaux de renseignements supplémentaires »

Les services internes comprennent ces groupes d'activités et de ressources connexes que le gouvernement fédéral considère comme étant des services à l'appui de programmes ou nécessaires pour permettre à une organisation de s'acquitter de ses obligations. Les services internes désignent les activités et les ressources des 10 services distincts qui soutiennent l'exécution des programmes au sein de l'organisation, peu importe le modèle de prestation des services internes d'un ministère. Ces services sont les suivants :

Faits saillants de la planification

Afin de mieux faire concorder les ressources et les priorités ministérielles, Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada (SPAC) continuera sa planification intégrée des activités dans tout le ministère en exécutant son plan d'activités intégré évolutif, dont la première version a été publiée en mai 2020. En même temps, le ministère veillera à ce que les renseignements concernant ses activités et ses résultats soient diffusés plus efficacement au Parlement et à la population canadienne.

SPAC poursuit ses efforts pour assurer la conformité aux exigences de publication proactive en vertu de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information. Afin d'appuyer davantage l'engagement du gouvernement à l'égard de l'ouverture et de la transparence, SPAC élabore une stratégie de transparence ministérielle pour fournir à la population canadienne de l'information pertinente et opportune sur le mandat du ministère. Dans le cadre de cette approche, SPAC a publié de l'information détaillée au sujet des contrats liés à la COVID-19.

Le ministère continue de moderniser sa façon de communiquer avec la population canadienne et ses employés en améliorant ses approches de communication proactives et son utilisation des plateformes de médias sociaux pour mieux atteindre ses divers publics. En 2021, la gestion du contenu Web de SPAC sera centralisée, ce qui permettra une meilleure intégration des messages et favorisera une approche de la fourniture de renseignements et de services centrée sur l'utilisateur, accessible et axée sur les tâches. Les approches de communication reposeront sur les divers besoins d'information des employés, des clients et partenaires de SPAC et du public, et concorderont avec le plan d'activités intégré du ministère et soutiendront le mandat et les priorités de la ministre.

Étant donné son rôle de fournisseur de services communs, le ministère a une chance unique de se positionner comme chef de file et de soutenir ses clients dans les efforts de réconciliation. D'importantes mesures sont présentement prises au sein du ministère, mais une stratégie globale est nécessaires pour adopter une approche coordonnée au sein de l'organisation et avec les partenaires autochtones. Pour répondre à ce besoin, l'Unité de réconciliation et de mobilisation des Autochtones élabore une stratégie de réconciliation à l'appui de toutes les activités de SPAC en matière de réconciliation et de mobilisation des Autochtones et cerne des possibilités d'élaborer des politiques, des programmes et des initiatives qui favoriseront la réconciliation, et de les améliorer.

En ce qui concerne la diversité et l'inclusion, SPAC poursuivra le dialogue initié en 2020 à 2021 avec divers groupes d'employés sur l'expérience qu'ils ont vécue au sein du ministère. Ce dialogue permettra au ministère d'encadrer et de préciser ses mesures liées au changement de culture ministérielle, à l'amélioration des pratiques de recrutement, au perfectionnement et à la promotion, ainsi qu'à l'élimination des obstacles dans la prestation des programmes et des services. Les cadres supérieurs et intermédiaires du ministère poursuivront leur cheminement d'apprentissage sur les préjugés inconscients et l'antiracisme, dans l'optique de conscientiser tous les employés de SPAC sur ce sujet important. SPAC continuera d'élaborer des stratégies de recrutement et de perfectionnement ciblées et d'offrir des services, des outils et des conseils d'experts aux gestionnaires d'embauche afin de promouvoir un milieu de travail plus inclusif et de faire en sorte que l'effectif du ministère reflète la diversité de la population canadienne en évolution.

Pour soutenir la santé mentale, SPAC continuera à mettre des outils à la disposition des gestionnaires et des employés, à leur offrir un accès virtuel à tous les services pour la santé mentale et le bien-être et à des consultations individuelles avec l'ombudsman de la santé mentale, ainsi qu'à accroître la visibilité et la notoriété de la santé mentale.

SPAC souhaite optimiser la sécurité dans l'ensemble du ministère. Pour ce faire, il continuera à mettre en œuvre son Plan de sécurité ministériel triennal, en plus de renforcer les capacités et d'approfondir l'expertise des spécialistes de la sécurité dans tout le ministère. Ce sera possible grâce à des initiatives de transformation des programmes ou à des projets innovants tenant compte de l'évolution du portrait de la sécurité.

Pour appuyer l'application de la Politique sur les services et le numérique de Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor (SCT), SPAC continuera de collaborer avec les fournisseurs de services au sein de ses directions générales afin d'instaurer la gestion des services, les pratiques de prestation de services, les communautés de pratique, la gouvernance ainsi que les systèmes qui permettront au ministère de concrétiser sa vision d'« un seul SPAC » dans un environnement principalement numérique et prêt pour l'infonuagique.

Principaux risques

Il existe un certain nombre de risques pouvant avoir une incidence sur l'efficacité de la prestation des services internes.

Analyse des données

SPAC pourrait ne pas être en mesure d'accéder facilement à des données fiables ou ne pas posséder l'expertise nécessaire pour les analyser, ce qui compromettrait sa capacité à prendre des décisions éclairées en temps opportun. Pour atténuer ce risque, SPAC mettra en place les dépôts de données requis, comme les entrepôts de données, et continuera à investir dans d'autres outils de capacité d'analyse de données et des stratégies connexes. En outre, l'équipe des services numériques de SPAC mettra en œuvre sa stratégie de ressources humaines récemment mise au point, qui se concentrera sur le renforcement des capacités en matière d'analyse des données, de science des données et d'intelligence artificielle.

Coordination ministérielle

La diversité des secteurs d'activité de SPAC pourrait avoir une incidence sur la capacité du ministère à planifier dans une optique collective et à prendre des décisions en matière de ressources qui permettront d'atteindre les résultats ministériels et de concrétiser la vision d'« un seul SPAC ». Pour atténuer ce risque, SPAC continuera de renforcer son processus de planification intégrée à l'échelle du ministère, qui comprend le plan d'activités intégré. Ces mesures lui permettront d'améliorer les approches communes qu'elle adopte pour la planification stratégique et opérationnelle, la budgétisation, l'affectation des ressources, le suivi du rendement et les comptes rendus. SPAC saisira également des occasions d'intensifier la collaboration en renforçant sa fonction de politique stratégique, en promouvant et en renforçant la vision d'« un seul SPAC » pour la planification et les communications, et en continuant à adapter les structures de formation et de gouvernance. Ainsi, il pourra mieux faire concorder les ressources et les priorités essentielles et uniformiser l'expérience de service de ses clients.

Culture de la gestion des risques du ministère

L'initiative de changement de la culture de gestion des risques de SPAC pourrait ne pas susciter la capacité d'adaptation nécessaire pour saisir les occasions et minimiser les menaces dans une vision intégrée, tout en maintenant la résilience requise pour préserver la confiance dans sa capacité constante à fournir des services. Pour atténuer ce risque, SPAC a entrepris un certain nombre d'initiatives importantes, notamment celles d'élaborer un cadre de gestion des risques cohérent et solide, de renouveler régulièrement le profil de risque du ministère afin de communiquer les principaux risques stratégiques et de mettre au point une nouvelle approche de tolérance au risque, qui sera progressivement adoptée dans l'ensemble de SPAC grâce à la mobilisation des parties prenantes et des partenaires dans des projets pilotes.

SPAC continuera d'établir des relations de collaboration entre ses unités de gestion intégrée des risques et de planification intégrée des activités, ainsi que des relations avec les spécialistes des secteurs d'activité, afin de relever et de communiquer les occasions et les menaces qui se présentent pour les priorités opérationnelles du ministère, ainsi que pour la gestion des risques liés aux responsabilités partagées avec d'autres ministères.

Transformation numérique

SPAC pourrait ne plus continuer à disposer de systèmes modernes et fiables, de l'expertise et des mesures de cybersécurité nécessaires pour exécuter ses activités et offrir des services efficacement dans un environnement à prédominance numérique. Pour atténuer ce risque, le ministère a mis en place de nouveaux environnements d'équipes et des outils de collaboration virtuels, comme Teams et d'autres applications Microsoft 365. SPAC a également créé le Centre de compétence de l'infonuagique et consulte actuellement le secteur privé afin d'établir des systèmes de prestation qui permettront au ministère d'acquérir l'expertise interne nécessaire pour mieux le préparer au passage à l'infonuagique. SPAC adoptera également la stratégie des ressources humaines des services numériques récemment mise au point, le cadre de gestion des projets informatiques et un plan d'action de gestion de la cybersécurité pour s'adapter à l'évolution de l'environnement numérique.

Recrutement et maintien en poste

SPAC pourrait ne pas être en mesure d'attirer et de retenir la main-d'œuvre spécialisée, qualifiée et diversifiée nécessaire pour offrir rapidement des services de qualité à ses clients. Pour atténuer ce risque, SPAC a mis en place un plan de gestion du personnel uniforme dans tout le ministère, qui concorde avec les processus de planification intégrée du ministère. Ce plan aide à classer par ordre de priorités les programmes et les stratégies liés aux ressources humaines et à intégrer le perfectionnement du leadership et la planification de la relève. Le maintien et la tenue à jour du plan de gestion du personnel, ainsi que la poursuite de l'adoption d'autres initiatives de modernisation de la dotation et de la gestion des talents permettront à SPAC d'attirer et de maintenir en poste le personnel spécialisé et diversifié nécessaire au respect de ses plans et priorités. Ces initiatives, tout comme les efforts permanents du Bureau de l'ombudsman pour la santé mentale et les vérifications régulières auprès du personnel, visent à atténuer les effets des changements rapides et fréquents que connaît actuellement le milieu de travail. SPAC continue de prendre des mesures pour relever les défis liés à la gestion de la charge de travail et promouvoir la conciliation entre travail et vie personnelle.

Ressources financières budgétaires prévues pour les services internes

Tableau 1 : Budget principal des dépenses 2021 à 2022 par rapport au dépenses prévues pour 3 exercices de 2021 à 2022 à 2023 à 2024 (en dollars)
Dépenses budgétaires 2021 à 2022 (comme indiqué dans le Budget principal des dépenses) Dépenses prévues 2021 à 2022 Dépenses prévues 2022 à 2023 Dépenses prévues 2023 à 2024
355 047 666 355 047 666 325 120 316 301 764 354

La réduction des dépenses nettes prévues est principalement attribuable à l'achèvement de projets de technologie de l'information et à une diminution des dépenses pour certains projets au cours des années subséquentes, comme le projet de plateforme fiable du Gouvernement du Canada et le projet de convergence numérique. La baisse nette découle également de la fin du financement supplémentaire des services de ressources humaines aux employés pour l'initiative d'administration de la paye. Le financement sera ajusté en cas d'approbation ultérieure.

Les renseignements sur les ressources financières, les ressources humaines et le rendement liés au répertoire des programmes de Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada sont accessibles dans l'InfoBase du Gouvernement du Canada Ressources humaines prévues pour les services internes.

Ressources humaines prévues

Tableau 2 : Nombre d'équivalents temps plein prévus (3 exercises de 2021 à 2022 à 2023 à 2024)
Nombre d'équivalents temps plein prévus
2021 à 2022
Nombre d'équivalents temps plein prévus
2022 à 2023
Nombre d'équivalents temps plein prévus
2023 à 2024
3 336,67 3 373,76 3 383,76

Navigation pour document « Tableaux de renseignements supplémentaires »

Signaler un problème sur cette page
Date de modification :