Revenues

Public Accounts of Canada 2016 Volume I - Top of the page Navigation

Revenues consist of all tax and other amounts which enter into the calculation of the annual surplus or deficit of the Government.

Accounting for revenues

The Government reports all revenues on an accrual basis.

Tax revenues are recognized in the period in which the taxable event occurs and when they are authorized by legislation or the ability to assess and collect the tax has been provided through legislative convention. They are reported net of refunds and are exclusive of amounts collected on behalf of provinces and territories.

Tax revenues are measured from amounts assessed/reassessed and from estimates of amounts not yet assessed/reassessed based on cash received that relates to the fiscal year ended March 31. Annual revenues also include adjustments between the estimated revenues of previous years and actual amounts, as well as revenues from reassessments relating to prior years. Revenues do not include estimates of unreported taxes, or the impact of future reassessments that cannot yet be reliably determined.

Tax expenditures that reduce taxes paid or payable are considered tax concessions and are netted against applicable tax revenue. Tax expenditures that provide a financial benefit through the tax system and are not related to the relief of taxes paid or payable are shown as other transfer payment expenses and are not netted against tax revenue.

Income tax revenue is recognized when the taxpayer has earned the income subject to tax.

Domestic goods and services tax revenue is recognized at the time of the sale of goods or the provision of services. These revenues are reported net of input tax credits, GST rebates, and the GST quarterly tax credits. The GST quarterly tax credit for low-income individuals and families is recorded in the period to which it relates.

Customs duties and goods and services tax revenue on imports is recognized when goods are authorized to enter Canada.

Excise tax revenue is recognized when a taxpayer sells goods taxable under the Excise Tax Act. Excise duties revenue is recognized when the taxpayer manufactures goods taxable under the Excise Act and the Excise Act, 2001.

Employment insurance premiums are recognized as revenue in the same period as the insurable earnings are earned.

Other revenues are recognized in the period to which they relate.

Tax revenues

Tax revenues include personal, corporate and non-resident income tax revenues, and other taxes and duties as summarized in Table 3.2.

Table summary

The table presents, in millions of dollars, a two-year comparative of the tax revenues. It consists of three columns: a detailed listing of components; current year; previous year. The first series of rows presents the income tax revenues. The second series of rows presents the other taxes and duties. It is divided into four sub-sections with their respective subtotals. The final row of the series presents the total for other taxes and duties. A final row presents the total for this table.

Table 3.2
Tax revenues

(in millions of dollars)

  2015–2016 2014–2015
Tax revenues
Income tax revenues
Personal 144,897 135,743
Corporate 41,444 39,447
Non-resident 6,505 6,216
Total income tax revenues 192,846 181,406
Other taxes and duties
Goods and services tax, Table 3.3 32,952 31,349
Energy taxes
Excise tax—Gasoline 4,350 4,318
Excise tax—Aviation gasoline and diesel fuel 1,215 1,210
Total energy taxes 5,565 5,528
Customs import duties 5,372 4,581
Other excise taxes and duties
Excise duties 4,844 4,813
Air travellers security charge 721 696
Softwood lumber products export charge 130 (negative 5)
Other miscellaneous excise taxes and duties 221 220
Total other excise taxes and duties 5,916 5,724
Total other taxes and duties 49,805 47,182
Total tax revenuesLink to footnote 1 242,651 228,588

Personal income tax

Personal income tax is levied on personal income under the provisions of the Income Tax Act.

Corporate income tax

Corporate income tax is levied on corporate income under the provisions of the Income Tax Act.

Non-resident income tax

Non-resident income tax is levied on income earned in Canada by non-residents under the provisions of the Income Tax Act. This tax is derived from tax withheld from dividends, interest, rents, royalties, alimony, and income from estates and trusts paid to non-residents.

Non-resident income tax revenues also include withholding taxes on income earned in Canada by non-resident life insurance companies and income from trusts.

Other taxes and duties

Other taxes and duties are collected under the Excise Act, the Excise Act, 2001, the Excise Tax Act, Customs Tariff (Act) and other acts. They include the goods and services tax, energy taxes, customs import duties, as well as other excise taxes and duties.

Goods and Services Tax

The goods and services tax (GST) became effective January 1, 1991. It is applied at a rate of 5 per cent on most goods and services consumed in Canada, with only a limited set of exclusions that consists of certain medical devices, prescription drugs, basic groceries, residential rents as well as most health and dental care services. A comparative analysis of the GST is presented in Table 3.3.

Table summary

The table presents, in millions of dollars, a two-year comparative of the goods and services tax (GST). It consists of three columns: a detailed listing of components; current year; previous year. A final row presents the total for this table.

Table 3.3
Goods and services tax (GST)
Link to footnote 2
(in millions of dollars)

  2015–2016 2014–2015
GST 39,312 37,439
Less: remission order for the GST paid and accrued by ministries on or for goods and services purchased from outside parties 2,003 1,896
Gross GST from outside parties 37,309 35,543
Less: quarterly tax credits 4,357 4,194
Net GST from outside parties 32,952 31,349

Energy taxes

Energy taxes primarily include the excise tax on gasoline, aviation gas and diesel fuel.

Customs import duties

Revenues from customs import duties consist mainly of ad valorem taxes on the importation of goods levied under the Customs Tariff (Act).

Other excise taxes and duties

Excise taxes and duties are levied on alcoholic beverages and tobacco products. In addition, excise taxes are imposed on other items such as passenger vehicle air conditioners. The Air Travelers Security Charge is collected by air carriers at the time of payment for the air travel by the purchaser of an air transportation service.

The softwood lumber products export charge is assessed on exports of softwood lumber products to the United States after September 30, 2006. The charge on refunds of softwood lumber duty deposits is assessed on amounts refunded to Canadian companies related to an American duty order on the importation of softwood lumber products into the United States between May 22, 2002 and September 30, 2006.

Employment insurance premiums

Premiums from employees and employers are levied under the provisions of the Employment Insurance Act and are classified as part of revenues. Additional details on employment insurance premiums are provided in Section 4 of this volume.

Other revenues

Other revenues include revenues from Crown corporations, other program revenues and net foreign exchange revenues.

Table summary

The table presents, in millions of dollars, a two-year comparative of other revenues. It consists of three columns: a detailed listing of components; current year; previous year. The first series of rows presents revenues from Crown corporations. The second series of rows presents revenues from other programs. The third series of rows presents miscellaneous revenues. The fourth series of rows presents revenues from net foreign exchange. A final row presents the total for this table.

Table 3.4
Other revenues

(in millions of dollars)

  2015–2016 2014–2015
Other revenues
Crown corporations
Consolidated Crown corporations 4,544 4,174
Enterprise Crown corporations and other government business enterprises
Share of annual profit 7,316 8,365
Interest and other 600 941
Total Crown corporations 12,460 13,480
Other programs
Return on investments, Table 3.5 1,081 1,927
Sales of goods and services
Rights and privileges 2,520 2,873
Lease and use of public property 655 634
Services of a regulatory nature 1,446 1,360
Services of a non-regulatory nature 3,494 3,290
Sales of goods and information products 219 225
Other fees and charges 671 568
Total sales of goods and services 9,005 8,950
Miscellaneous
Interest and penalties 4,364 4,538
Other 500 944
Total other programs 14,950 16,359
Net foreign exchange
Exchange Fund Account 2,186 840
International Monetary Fund 133 495
Other 3 20
Total 2,322 1,355
Total other revenuesLink to footnote 1 29,732 31,194

Crown corporations

Crown corporation revenues include revenues earned from third parties by consolidated Crown corporations, interest earned on loans to enterprise Crown corporations and other government business enterprises as well as the government's share of the accumulated profits or losses of enterprise Crown corporations and other government business enterprises.

Other programs

Other program revenues include sales of goods and services, return on investments, and miscellaneous revenues. Details are reported by individual ministry in Volume II of the Public Accounts of Canada.

Net foreign exchange

Net foreign exchange revenues include the revenues from investments held in the Exchange Fund Account and the International Monetary Fund, as well as the net gains or losses resulting from the translation of these investments to Canadian dollars at March 31. Net foreign exchange revenues also include the net gains or losses resulting from foreign debt and currency swap revaluations.

Return on investments

Return on investments consists mainly of interest from loans and advances, dividends from investments, and transfer of profits and surpluses for loans, investments and advances other than those in enterprises Crown corporations and government business enterprises. A comparative analysis of return on investments is presented in Table 3.5.

Table summary

The table presents, in millions of dollars, a two-year comparative of the return on investments. It consists of three columns: a detailed listing of components; current year; previous year. The first series of rows presents cash and accounts receivable. The second series of rows presents loans, investments and advances. The third series of row presents other accounts. The following rows present the total ministerial return on investment, net gain on exchange, the accrual of other revenues and the elimination of return on investments internal to the Government. A final row presents the total for this table.

Table 3.5
Return on investments
Link to footnote 3
(in millions of dollars)

  2015–2016 2014–2015
Cash and accounts receivable
Interest on bank deposits 222 313
Loans, investments and advances
Portfolio investments 1
National governments including developing countries 11 6
International organizations 3 2
Provincial and territorial governments Link to footnote 4 Link to footnote 4
Other loans, investments and advances 707 961
Total loans, investments and advances 721 970
Other accounts
Esso Ltd—Norman Wells Project—Profits 10 75
Other Link to footnote 4 Link to footnote 4
Total other accounts 10 75
Total ministerial return on investments 953 1,358
Net gain on exchange 124 572
Accrual of other revenues 22 23
Total return on investments 1,099 1,953
Elimination of return on investments internal to the Government (negative 18) (negative 26)
Total external return on investments 1,081 1,927

Public Accounts of Canada 2016 Volume I—Bottom of the page Navigation

Date modified:

Revenus

Navigation de haut de page du volume I du manuel du receveur général

Les revenus se composent de toutes les sommes fiscales et non fiscales qui entrent dans le calcul de l'excédent ou du déficit annuel du gouvernement.

Comptabilisation des revenus

Le gouvernement comptabilise tous les revenus selon la comptabilité d'exercice.

Les revenus fiscaux sont constatés dans l'exercice où survient l'événement qui donne lieu au revenu et que ceux-ci sont approuvés par législation ou que la capacité d'imposer et de percevoir l'impôt correspondant a été accordée par une convention législative. Ils sont présentés après déduction des remboursements et ne comprennent pas les impôts prélevés au nom des provinces et des territoires.

Les revenus fiscaux sont évalués d'après les montants faisant l'objet d'une cotisation ou d'une nouvelle cotisation, et des montants estimatifs qui n'ont pas encore fait l'objet d'une cotisation ou d'une nouvelle cotisation, en fonction des paiements reçus qui se rapportent à l'exercice terminé le 31 mars. Les revenus annuels comprennent également des rajustements entre les revenus estimatifs d'exercices antérieurs et les montants réels, ainsi que les revenus des nouvelles cotisations établies pour les années antérieures. Les revenus ne comprennent pas d'estimations pour des impôts non déclarés ou l'incidence des cotisations futures qui ne peuvent pas encore être déterminées de façon fiable.

Les dépenses fiscales qui réduisent les impôts payés ou payables sont considérées comme des dégrèvements et sont appliquées en réduction des revenus fiscaux correspondants. Les dépenses fiscales qui procurent un avantage financier par le truchement d'un régime fiscal et qui ne sont pas liées à l'allégement des impôts payés ou payables sont présentées comme d'autres charges de paiement de transfert et ne sont pas déduites des revenus fiscaux.

Les impôts sur le revenu sont comptabilisés lorsque le contribuable a gagné le revenu sujet à l'impôt.

Les revenus provenant de la taxe sur les produits et services nationaux sont constatés au moment de la vente des produits ou de la prestation des services. Ces revenus sont présentés après déduction des crédits de taxe sur les intrants, des remboursements de la TPS et du crédit trimestriel de TPS. Le crédit trimestriel de TPS pour les particuliers et les familles à faible revenu est comptabilisé dans l'exercice auquel il se rapporte.

Les revenus des droits de douane et de la taxe sur les produits et services à l'importation sont constatés lorsque les marchandises sont autorisées à entrer au Canada.

Les revenus provenant des taxes d'accise sont constatés au moment où le contribuable vend les marchandises imposables en vertu de la Loi sur la taxe d'accise. Les revenus provenant des droits d'accise sont constatés lorsque le contribuable fabrique les biens taxables en vertu de la Loi sur l'accise et la Loi de 2001 sur l'accise.

Les cotisations d'assurance-emploi sont constatées à titre de revenu dans le même exercice que la rémunération assurable est gagnée.

Les autres revenus sont constatés dans l'exercice auquel ils se rapportent.

Revenus fiscaux

Les revenus fiscaux comprennent l'impôt sur le revenu des particuliers, des sociétés et des non-résidents ainsi que les autres taxes et droits, tels que détaillés au tableau 3.2.

Description du tableau

Le tableau présente, en millions de dollars, un comparatif sur deux ans des revenus fiscaux. Il contient trois colonnes : une liste détaillée des composantes; l'exercice en cours; l'exercice précédent. La première série de rangées présente les revenus d'impôt sur le revenu. La deuxième série de rangées présente les autres taxes et droits. Elle est divisée en quatre sous-sections avec les totaux partiels associés. La rangée finale de la série présente le total des autres taxes et droits. Une rangée finale présente le total pour ce tableau.

Tableau 3.2
Revenus fiscaux

(en millions de dollars)

  2015-2016 2014-2015
Revenus fiscaux
Revenus d'impôt sur le revenu
Particuliers 144 897 135 743
Sociétés 41 444 39 447
Non-résidents 6 505 6 216
Total des revenus d'impôt sur le revenu 192 846 181 406
Autres taxes et droits
Taxe sur les produits et services, tableau 3.3 32 952 31 349
Taxes sur l'énergie
Taxe d'accise – Essence 4 350 4 318
Taxe d'accise – Essence d'aviation et combustible diesel 1 215 1 210
Total des taxes sur l'énergie 5 565 5 528
Droits de douane à l'importation 5 372 4 581
Autres taxes et droits d'accise
Droits d'accise 4 844 4 813
Droit pour la sécurité des passagers du transport aérien 721 696
Droit d'exportation de produits de bois d'œuvre 130 (négatif 5)
Autres taxes et droits d'accise 221 220
Total des autres taxes et droits d'accise 5 916 5 724
Total des autres taxes et droits 49 805 47 182
Total des revenus fiscauxallez à la note 1 en pied de page 242 651 228 588

Impôt sur le revenu des particuliers

Cet impôt est prélevé sur le revenu des particuliers en vertu des dispositions de la Loi de l'impôt sur le revenu.

Impôt sur le revenu des sociétés

Cet impôt est prélevé sur le revenu des sociétés en vertu des dispositions de la Loi de l'impôt sur le revenu.

Impôt sur le revenu des non-résidents

L'impôt sur le revenu des non-résidents est prélevé sur le revenu gagné au Canada par les non-résidents en vertu de la Loi de l'impôt sur le revenu. Cet impôt prend la forme de retenues d'impôt sur les dividendes, intérêts, loyers, redevances et pensions alimentaires ainsi que sur les revenus de non-résidents au titre de successions et de fiducies.

L'impôt sur le revenu des non-résidents inclut aussi des retenues d'impôt sur le revenu gagné au Canada par des compagnies d'assurance-vie non résidentes et sur le revenu des fiducies.

Autres taxes et droits

Les autres taxes et droits sont perçus en vertu de la Loi sur l'accise, la Loi de 2001 sur l'accise, la Loi sur la taxe d'accise, du Tarif des douanes (loi) et d'autres lois. Ils englobent la taxe sur les produits et services, les taxes sur l'énergie, les droits de douane à l'importation ainsi que d'autres droits et taxes d'accise.

Taxe sur les produits et services

La taxe sur les produits et services (TPS) est entrée en vigueur le 1er janvier 1991. Elle s'applique à un taux de 5 pour cent sur la plupart des produits et services offerts au Canada, avec un nombre limité d'exclusions qui comprend certains instruments médicaux, des médicaments sur ordonnance, des aliments de base, des loyers résidentiels ainsi que la majorité des services de santé et de soins dentaires. Une analyse comparative de la TPS est présentée au tableau 3.3.

Description du tableau

Le tableau présente, en millions de dollars, un comparatif sur deux ans de la taxe sur les produits et services (TPS). Il contient trois colonnes : une liste détaillée des composantes; l'exercice en cours; l'exercice précédent. Une rangée finale présente le total pour ce tableau.

Tableau 3.3
Taxe sur les produits et services (TPS)
allez à la note 2 en pied de page
(en millions de dollars)

  2015-2016 2014-2015
TPS 39 312 37 439
Moins : décret de remise de la TPS payée par les portefeuilles ministériels sur leurs achats de produits et services provenant de tiers 2 003 1 896
TPS brute de tiers 37 309 35 543
Moins : crédits d'impôt trimestriels 4 357 4 194
TPS nette de tiers 32 952 31 349

Taxes sur l'énergie

Les taxes sur l'énergie comprennent principalement la taxe d'accise sur l'essence, sur l'essence d'aviation et le combustible diesel.

Droits de douane à l'importation

Les revenus provenant des droits de douane à l'importation comprennent surtout des taxes ad valorem perçues à l'importation de produits en vertu du Tarif des douanes (loi).

Autres droits et taxes d'accise

Les droits et taxes d'accise sont perçus sur les boissons alcooliques et sur les produits du tabac. De plus, des taxes d'accise sont imposées sur d'autres produits, notamment les climatiseurs des voitures de passagers. Le droit pour la sécurité des passagers du transport aérien est perçu par le transporteur aérien lorsque l'acheteur d'un service de transport aérien paye pour le voyage en avion.

Le droit d'exportation de produits de bois d'œuvre est évalué en fonction des exportations des produits de bois d'œuvre aux États-Unis après le 30 septembre 2006. Le droit sur les remboursements de dépôts douaniers à l'égard du bois d'œuvre résineux est évalué en fonction des montants remboursés aux compagnies canadiennes à la suite d'une ordonnance de droits de douane américaine sur l'importation aux États-Unis de produits de bois d'œuvre entre le 22 mai 2002 et le 30 septembre 2006.

Cotisations d'assurance-emploi

Les cotisations des employés et des employeurs sont prélevées en vertu des dispositions de la Loi sur l'assurance-emploi et sont classées dans les revenus. On trouvera plus de détails sur les cotisations d'assurance-emploi à la section 4 de ce volume.

Autres revenus

Les autres revenus comprennent les revenus des sociétés d'État, les autres revenus de programmes et les revenus nets des opérations de change.

Description du tableau

Le tableau présente, en millions de dollars, un comparatif sur deux ans d'autres revenus. Il contient trois colonnes : une liste détaillée des composantes; l'exercice en cours; l'exercice précédent. La première série de rangées présente les revenus provenant des sociétés d'État. La deuxième série de rangées présente les revenus provenant d'autres programmes. La troisième série de rangées présente les revenues divers. La quatrième série de rangées présente les revenus provenant du net des opérations en devises. Une rangée finale présente le total pour ce tableau.

Tableau 3.4
Autres revenus

(en millions de dollars)

  2015-2016 2014-2015
Autres revenus
Sociétés d'État
Sociétés d'État consolidées 4 544 4 174
Sociétés d'État entreprises et autres entreprises publiques
Quote-part des bénéfices annuels 7 316 8 365
Intérêt et autres 600 941
Total des sociétés d'État 12 460 13 480
Autres programmes
Revenus de placements, tableau 3.5 1 081 1 927
Ventes de biens et de services
Droits et privilèges 2 520 2 873
Location et utilisation de biens publics 655 634
Services de nature réglementaire 1 446 1 360
Services de nature non réglementaire 3 494 3 290
Ventes de biens et de produits d'information 219 225
Autres frais et droits 671 568
Total des ventes de biens et de services 9 005 8 950
Divers
Intérêt et pénalités 4 364 4 538
Autres 500 944
Total des autres programmes 14 950 16 359
Nets des opérations de change
Compte du fonds des changes 2 186 840
Fonds monétaire international 133 495
Autres 3 20
Total 2 322 1 355
Total des autres revenusallez à la note 1 en pied de page 29 732 31 194

Sociétés d'État

Les revenus des sociétés d'État comprennent les revenus provenant de tierces parties par les sociétés d'État, les intérêts perçus sur les prêts consentis aux sociétés d'État entreprises et aux autres entreprises publiques ainsi que la quote-part du gouvernement aux bénéfices accumulés ou aux pertes des sociétés d'État entreprises et autres entreprises publiques.

Autres programmes

Les autres revenus de programmes se composent des ventes de biens et de services, des revenus de placements et des revenus divers. Les détails sont rapportés par portefeuille ministériel dans le volume II des Comptes publics du Canada.

Nets des opérations de change

Les revenus nets des opérations de change comprennent les revenus provenant des investissements détenus dans le Compte du fonds des changes et du Fonds monétaire international, aussi bien que des gains nets ou des pertes nettes résultant de la conversion de ces investissements en dollars canadiens au 31 mars. Les revenus nets des opérations de change comprennent également les gains nets ou les pertes nettes résultant de dettes étrangères et des réévaluations des swaps de devises.

Revenus de placements

Les revenus de placements se composent principalement d'intérêts provenant des prêts et des avances, de dividendes sur les placements ainsi que de virements de profits et d'excédents relatifs aux prêts, placements et avances autres que ceux des sociétés d'État entreprises et autres entreprises publiques. Une analyse comparative des revenus de placements est présentée au tableau 3.5.

Description du tableau

Le tableau présente, en millions de dollars, un comparatif sur deux ans des revenus de placements. Il contient trois colonnes : une liste détaillée des composantes; l'exercice en cours; l'exercice précédent. La première série de rangées présente la trésorerie et créances. La seconde série de rangées présente les prêts, placements et avances. La troisième série de rangées présente les autres comptes. Les rangées suivantes présentent le total ministériel des revenus de placements, le gain net de change, les autres revenus constatés par régularisation et l'élimination des revenus de placements internes du gouvernement. Une rangée finale présente le total pour ce tableau.

Tableau 3.5
Revenus de placements
allez à la note 3 en pied de page
(en millions de dollars)

  2015-2016 2014-2015
Trésorerie et créances
Intérêts des dépôts bancaires 222 313
Prêts, placements et avances
Placements de portefeuille 1
Gouvernements étrangers, y compris les pays en développement 11 6
Organisations internationales 3 2
Administrations provinciales et territoriales allez à la note 4 en pied de page allez à la note 4 en pied de page
Autres prêts, placements et avances 707 961
Total des prêts, des placements et des avances 721 970
Autres comptes
Esso Ltd – Projet Norman Wells – Bénéfices 10 75
Autres allez à la note 4 en pied de page allez à la note 4 en pied de page
Total des autres comptes 10 75
Total ministériel des revenus de placements 953 1 358
Gain net de change 124 572
Autres revenus constatés par régularisation 22 23
Total des revenus de placements 1 099 1 953
Élimination des revenus de placements internes du gouvernement (négatif 18) (négatif 26)
Total des revenus de placements externes 1 081 1 927

Navigation en bas de page du volume I du manuel du receveur général

Date de modification :