Other accounts payable and accrued liabilities

Public Accounts of Canada 2016 Volume I—Top of the page Navigation

Other accounts payable and accrued liabilities includes accounts payable, accrued salaries and benefits, notes payable to international organizations, the provincial, territorial and Aboriginal tax agreements account, miscellaneous paylist deductions and other accounts.

Table 5.2 presents a summary of the balances for the accounts in this category of accounts payable and accrued liabilities.

Table summary

The table presents, in dollars, a two-year comparative summary of the balances for other accounts payable and accrued liabilities accounts. It consists of three columns: a detailed listing of components; current year ended March 31; previous year ended March 31. The first series of rows presents the accounts payable plus the consolidation adjustment and the subtotal. The following rows list all the other accounts in this category. A final row presents the total for this table.

Table 5.2
Other accounts payable and accrued liabilities
(in dollars)

  March 31, 2016 March 31, 2015
Accounts payable 31,273,862,741 31,224,159,839
Add: consolidation adjustmentLink to footnote 1 4,752,783,403 3,204,458,020
Subtotal 36,026,646,144 34,428,617,859
Accrued salaries and benefits 4,558,674,474 3,653,603,294
Notes payable to international organizations, Table 5.3 35,312,954 34,440,123
Provincial, Territorial and Aboriginal Tax Agreements Account, Table 5.4 4,326,846,356 1,546,959,912
Miscellaneous paylist deductions 73,005,759 142,683,677
Allowance for guarantees 311,507,982 317,111,364
Other 638,463,274 614,010,782
Total 45,970,456,943 40,737,427,010

Accounts payable

This account records amounts owing at year end pursuant to contractual arrangements, or for work performed, goods received, or services rendered, accrued amounts to be paid from appropriations and statutory authorities, and accrued financial obligations of consolidated Crown corporations and other entities.

Accrued salaries and benefits

This account records salaries and wages owing at year end, amounts owing for earned and unpaid annual vacation leave and compensation time, and other accrued amounts relating to unpaid or retro-active salaries.

Notes payable to international organizations

Share capital subscriptions, loans and advances are made to international organizations using cash, notes payable, or both, that are later presented for encashment according to terms of agreements. These demand notes are non-interest bearing and are non-negotiable. The subscriptions, loans and advances are recorded as assets and details are reported in Table 9.13 in Section 9 of this volume.

Table 5.3 presents the balances and transactions for the notes payable.

Table summary

The table presents, in dollars, the notes payable to international organizations. It consists of five columns: a detailed listing of components; April 1 of the current year; receipts and other credits, divided into two columns: Note issuances and Revaluation; payments and other charges, divided into two columns: Note encashment and Revaluation; March 31 of the current year. A final row presents the total for this table.

Table 5.3
Notes payable to international organizations

(in dollars)

  April 1, 2015 Receipts and other credits Payments and other charges March 31, 2016
Note issuances RevaluationLink to footnote 2 Note encashment RevaluationLink to footnote 2
Finance
International Bank for Reconstruction and Development (World Bank) 30,376,706 769,850 31,146,556
Multilateral Investment Guarantee Agency 4,063,417 102,981 4,166,398
Total 34,440,123 769,850 102,981 35,312,954

Provincial, Territorial and Aboriginal Tax Agreements Account

This account records taxes administered by the Government of Canada on behalf of provinces, territories, and Aboriginal governments, in accordance with agreements entered into by the Minister of Finance pursuant to the Federal-Provincial Fiscal Arrangements Act and, in the case of First Nations Goods and Services Tax, pursuant to the First Nations Goods and Services Tax Act.

The Government of Canada, as represented by the Minister of Finance, has entered into agreements with all provinces and territories (except Quebec) to collect and administer personal income tax, and with all provinces and territories (except Quebec and Alberta) to collect and administer corporate tax, and to pay amounts assessed in respect thereof in accordance with the agreements.

Agreements have also been entered into with certain Aboriginal governments, to collect First Nations Personal Income Tax as well as First Nations Sales Tax levied on motive fuels, tobacco, and alcohol and First Nations Goods and Services Tax levied on the same range of goods and services as the federal goods and services tax, and to make payments to the respective governments in accordance with the agreements.

This account also records transactions relating to agreements that the Government of Canada has entered into with the provinces of Ontario, New Brunswick, Nova Scotia, Newfoundland and Labrador and Prince Edward Island regarding the Harmonized Sales Tax, and payments made to those provinces in accordance with the Comprehensive Integrated Tax Coordination Agreements between the Government of Canada and the provinces. Effective April 1, 2013, the province of British Columbia returned to the provincial sales tax regime.

The Public Accounts of Canada reports information on an April to March fiscal year basis, while tax information is generally calculated on a calendar year basis. Transactions related to several tax years can occur during a given fiscal year. For example, during a given fiscal year, payments are made, based on estimates, in respect of two calendar years (April to December and January to March). During this period, it is also necessary to make payments or adjustments related to tax revenues, rebates and credits for previous calendar years. Table 5.4 presents the accumulated balances and the net position of the revenues and the payments made to the provinces and territories for personal income and corporate taxes as well as for First Nations Sales Tax, First Nations Goods and Services Tax, First Nations Personal Income Tax and Harmonized Sales Tax.

Table summary

The table presents, in dollars, the accumulated balances and the net position of the revenues and the payments made to the Provincial, Territorial and Aboriginal Tax Agreements Account. It consists of five columns: a detailed listing of components; April 1 of the current year; Receipts and other credits; Payments and other charges; March 31 of the current year. The table presents five series of rows minus related payments made to provinces, territories and Aboriginal governments for the following tax agreements administered by Canada Revenue Agency: Personal income tax; Corporate income tax; Harmonized sales tax; First Nations sales tax; and First Nations goods and services tax. A row follows each series respectively presenting the total amount on hand for the agreement. A final row presents the total for this table.

Table 5.4
Provincial, Territorial and Aboriginal Tax Agreements Account

(in dollars)

  April 1, 2015 Receipts and other credits Payments and other charges March 31, 2016
Total personal income tax administered by Canada Revenue Agency 3,054,297,998 66,481,950,229 69,536,248,227
Less: payments to provinces, territories and Aboriginal governments
Newfoundland and Labrador 1,308,475,400 1,308,475,400
Prince Edward Island 330,559,320 330,559,320
Nova Scotia 2,540,212,453 2,540,212,453
New Brunswick 1,654,456,714 1,654,456,714
Ontario 33,983,131,256 33,983,131,256
Manitoba 3,100,847,846 3,100,847,846
Saskatchewan 2,620,607,012 2,620,607,012
Alberta 11,398,171,238 11,398,171,238
British Columbia 8,275,212,600 8,275,212,600
Yukon 61,607,104 61,607,104
Northwest Territories 82,729,512 82,729,512
Nunavut 30,559,156 30,559,156
Aboriginal governments 24,679,902 24,679,902
Subtotal 65,411,249,513 65,411,249,513
Total personal income tax on hand 3,054,297,998 66,481,950,229 65,411,249,513 4,124,998,714
Total corporate income tax administered by Canada Revenue Agency 1,093,799,752 16,549,387,076 17,643,186,828
Less: payments to provinces and territories
Newfoundland and Labrador 319,686,478 319,686,478
Prince Edward Island 52,391,494 52,391,494
Nova Scotia 369,215,171 369,215,171
New Brunswick 225,785,586 225,785,586
Ontario 9,183,133,415 9,183,133,415
Quebec 54,075,109 54,075,109
Manitoba 492,811,494 492,811,494
Saskatchewan 864,744,510 864,744,510
Alberta 76,980,885 76,980,885
British Columbia 2,182,387,441 2,182,387,441
Yukon 11,543,043 11,543,043
Northwest Territories 48,883,117 48,883,117
Nunavut 18,568,978 18,568,978
Subtotal 13,900,206,721 13,900,206,721
Total corporate income tax on hand 1,093,799,752 16,549,387,076 13,900,206,721 3,742,980,107
Total harmonized sales tax administered by Canada Revenue Agency (negative 2,601,137,838) 26,160,756,972 23,559,619,134
Less: payments to provinces and territories
Newfoundland and Labrador 968,091,461 968,091,461
Prince Edward Island 243,857,616 243,857,616
Nova Scotia 1,988,045,494 1,988,045,494
New Brunswick 1,234,978,101 1,234,978,101
Ontario 22,720,391,076 22,720,391,076
British ColumbiaLink to footnote 3 (negative 54,612,149) (negative 54,612,149)
Subtotal 27,100,751,599 27,100,751,599
Total harmonized sales tax on hand (negative 2,601,137,838) 26,160,756,972 27,100,751,599 (negative 3,541,132,465)
Total First Nations sales tax administered by Canada Revenue Agency 6,952,187 6,952,187
Less: payments to Aboriginal governments 6,952,187 6,952,187
Total First Nations sales tax on hand 6,952,187 6,952,187
Total First Nations goods and services sales tax administered by Canada Revenue Agency 17,765,233 17,765,233
Less: payments to Aboriginal governments 17,765,233 17,765,233
Total First Nations goods and services sales tax on hand 17,765,233 17,765,233
Total 1,546,959,912 109,216,811,697 106,436,925,253 4,326,846,356

Miscellaneous paylist deductions

Deductions from the salaries and wages of certain employees are credited to this account pending transmittal to related outside organizations.

Allowance for guarantees

This category of accounts payable and accrued liabilities includes the allowance for guarantees provided by the Government. An allowance is recorded for guarantees when it is likely that a payment will be made in the future to honour a guarantee and when the amount of the loss can be reasonably estimated. As at March 31, 2016, the allowance for guarantees is $312 million ($317 million in 2015).

Additional information relating to guarantees can be found in Note 18—Guarantees in Section 2 and in Table 11.5 in Section 11 of this volume. In addition, Table 9.6 in Section 9 includes details on the borrowings of agent and non-agent enterprise Crown corporations and other government business enterprises. In accordance with section 54 of the Financial Administration Act, the payment of all money borrowed by agent enterprise Crown corporations, and interest thereon, is a charge on and payable out of the Consolidated Revenue Fund. Such borrowings therefore constitute unconditional obligations of the Government. In contrast, borrowings of non-agent enterprise Crown corporations and other government business enterprises may, at times, be guaranteed by the Government.

Other

Miscellaneous accounts payable and accrued liabilities such as provincial sales tax collected on sales are recorded in this account.

Public Accounts of Canada 2016 Volume I—Bottom of the page Navigation

Date modified:

Autres créditeurs et charges à payer

Navigation de haut de page du volume I du manuel du receveur général

Les autres créditeurs et charges à payer incluent les créditeurs, les salaires et avantages sociaux courus, les effets à payer aux organisations internationales, le compte relatif aux conventions fiscales provinciales, territoriales et autochtones, les retenues salariales diverses et d'autres comptes.

Le tableau 5.2 présente le sommaire des soldes relatifs aux comptes sous cette catégorie de créditeurs et charges à payer.

Description du tableau

Le tableau présente, en dollars, un résumé comparatif sur deux ans des soldes relatifs aux comptes sous autres créditeurs et charges à payer. Il contient trois colonnes : une liste détaillée des composantes; 31 mars de l'exercice en cours; 31 mars de l'exercice précédent. La première rangée présente les créditeurs plus le redressement de consolidation et le total partiel. Les rangées suivantes présentent les autres comptes de cette catégorie. Une rangée finale présente le total pour ce tableau.

Tableau 5.2
Autres créditeurs et charges à payer
(en dollars)

  31 mars 2016 31 mars 2015
Créditeurs 31 273 862 741 31 224 159 839
Plus : redressement de consolidationallez à la note 1 en pied de page 4 752 783 403 3 204 458 020
Total partiel 36 026 646 144 34 428 617 859
Salaires et avantages sociaux courus 4 558 674 474 3 653 603 294
Effets à payer aux organisations internationales, tableau 5.3 35 312 954 34 440 123
Compte relatif aux conventions fiscales provinciales, territoriales et autochtones, tableau 5.4 4 326 846 356 1 546 959 912
Retenues salariales diverses 73 005 759 142 683 677
Provision pour garanties 311 507 982 317 111 364
Autres 638 463 274 614 010 782
Total 45 970 456 943 40 737 427 010

Créditeurs

Ce compte inscrit les montants dus à la fin de l'exercice conformément à des accords contractuels, ou pour des travaux accomplis, des marchandises reçues ou des services rendus, les montants constatés à être versés à même les crédits et les autorisations législatives, et les dettes courues des sociétés d'État et autres entités consolidées.

Salaires et avantages sociaux courus

Ce compte inscrit les retenues salariales dues en fin d'exercice, les sommes reliées aux congés annuels et au temps compensatoire gagnés et non payés et les autres sommes courues reliées aux salaires non payés ou rétroactifs.

Effets à payer aux organisations internationales

Des souscriptions au capital-actions, des prêts et avances sont effectués aux organisations internationales au moyen d'espèces, ou d'effets à payer, ou des deux, qui seront encaissés ultérieurement selon les modalités des accords. Ces effets à vue ne portent pas intérêt et sont non négociables. Les souscriptions, les prêts et les avances sont inscrits aux actifs et le détail est présenté au tableau 9.13 de la section 9 de ce volume.

Le tableau 5.3 présente les soldes et les opérations pour les effets à payer.

Description du tableau

Le tableau présente, en dollars, les effets à payer aux organisations internationales. Il contient cinq colonnes : une liste détaillée des composantes; 1er avril de l'exercice en cours; Rentrées et autres crédits, divisée en deux colonnes : Émissions d'effets et Réévaluation; Paiements et autres débits, divisée en deux colonnes : Encaissements d'effets et Réévaluation; 31 mars de l'exercice en cours. Une rangée finale présente le total pour ce tableau.

Tableau 5.3
Effets à payer aux organisations internationales
(en dollars)

  1er avril 2015 Rentrées et autres crédits Paiements et autres débits 31 mars 2016
Émissions d'effets RéévaluationLink to footnote 2 Encaissements d'effets RéévaluationLink to footnote 2
Finances
Agence multilatérale de garantie des investissements 4 063 417 102 981 4 166 398
Banque internationale pour la reconstruction et le développement (Banque mondiale) 30 376 706 769 850 31 146 556
Total 34 440 123 769 850 102 981 35 312 954

Compte relatif aux conventions fiscales provinciales, territoriales et autochtones

Ce compte comptabilise l'administration des impôts par le gouvernement du Canada pour le compte des provinces, territoires et gouvernements autochtones, au titre des conventions signées par le ministre des Finances en vertu de la Loi sur les arrangements fiscaux entre le gouvernement fédéral et les provinces et, dans le cas de la taxe sur les produits et services des Premières Nations, en vertu de la Loi sur la taxe sur les produits et services des Premières Nations.

Le gouvernement du Canada, représenté par le ministre des Finances, a conclu des conventions avec toutes les provinces et tous les territoires (à l'exception du Québec) en vue de la perception et de l'administration de l'impôt sur le revenu des particuliers, de même qu'avec toutes les provinces et tous les territoires (à l'exception du Québec et de l'Alberta) en vue de la perception et de l'administration de l'impôt des sociétés, et du paiement des montants évalués correspondant au titre desdites ententes.

Des conventions ont également été signées avec certains gouvernements autochtones en vue de la perception de l'impôt sur le revenu personnel des Premières Nations; de la taxe de vente des Premières Nations perçue sur les carburants, le tabac et l'alcool; et de la taxe sur les produits et services des Premières Nations perçue sur la même gamme de produits et services que la taxe fédérale sur les produits et services. Ces ententes prévoient également le versement de paiements aux gouvernements respectifs.

De plus, ce compte comptabilise les opérations relatives à la taxe de vente harmonisée effectuées au titre des conventions qu'a signé le gouvernement du Canada avec les provinces de l'Ontario, du Nouveau-Brunswick, de la Nouvelle-Écosse, de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador et de l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard. Il renferme également les paiements versés aux provinces au titre de ces conventions. Effectif depuis le 1er avril 2013, la province de la Colombie-Britannique est retournée au régime de la taxe de vente provinciale.

Les Comptes publics du Canada présentent des renseignements pour l'exercice allant d'avril à mars, tandis que l'impôt est généralement calculé selon une année civile. Certaines opérations effectuées au cours d'un exercice donné peuvent être reliées à plusieurs années d'imposition. Par exemple, au cours d'un exercice, des versements sont effectués, en fonction des estimations, pour deux années civiles (avril à décembre et janvier à mars). Au cours de cette période, il est aussi nécessaire d'effectuer des versements ou des redressements afin d'établir les montants réels de revenus fiscaux, de remises et de crédits pour les années civiles précédentes. Le tableau 5.4 présente les soldes cumulés et la situation nette des revenus et des versements effectués aux provinces et territoires pour l'impôt des sociétés et l'impôt sur le revenu des particuliers, de même que pour la taxe de vente des Premières Nations, la taxe sur les produits et services des Premières Nations, l'impôt sur le revenu personnel des Premières Nations et la taxe de vente harmonisée.

Description du tableau

Le tableau présente, en dollars, les soldes cumulés et la situation nette des revenus et des versements effectués au Comptes relatifs aux conventions fiscales provinciales, territoriales et autochtones. Il contient cinq colonnes : une liste détaillée des composantes; 1er avril de l'exercice en cours; Rentrées et autres crédits; Paiements et autres débits; 31 mars de l'exercice en cours. Le tableau présente cinq séries de rangées moins les versements connexes effectués aux provinces, territoires et gouvernements autochtones pour les conventions fiscales suivantes gérées par l'Agence du revenu du Canada : Impôt sur le revenu des particuliers; Impôt des sociétés; Taxe de vente harmonisée; Taxe de vente des Premières Nations; Taxe de vente sur les produits et services des Premières Nations. Une rangée suit respectivement chaque série présentant le montant total en main pour la convention. Une rangée finale présente le total pour ce tableau.

Tableau 5.4
Compte relatif aux conventions fiscales provinciales, territoriales et autochtones
(en dollars)

  1er avril 2015 Rentrées et autres crédits Paiements et autres débits 31 mars 2016
Total de l'impôt sur le revenu des particuliers géré par l'Agence du revenu du Canada 3 054 297 998 66 481 950 229 69 536 248 227
Moins : versements aux provinces, territoires et gouvernements autochtones
Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador 1 308 475 400 1 308 475 400
Île-du-Prince-Édouard 330 559 320 330 559 320
Nouvelle-Écosse 2 540 212 453 2 540 212 453
Nouveau-Brunswick 1 654 456 714 1 654 456 714
Ontario 33 983 131 256 33 983 131 256
Manitoba 3 100 847 846 3 100 847 846
Saskatchewan 2 620 607 012 2 620 607 012
Alberta 11 398 171 238 11 398 171 238
Colombie-Britannique 8 275 212 600 8 275 212 600
Yukon 61 607 104 61 607 104
Territoires du Nord-Ouest 82 729 512 82 729 512
Nunavut 30 559 156 30 559 156
Gouvernements autochtones 24 679 902 24 679 902
Total partiel 65 411 249 513 65 411 249 513
Total de l'impôt sur le revenu des particuliers, en main 3 054 297 998 66 481 950 229 65 411 249 513 4 124 998 714
Total de l'impôt des sociétés géré par l'Agence du revenu du Canada 1 093 799 752 16 549 387 076 17 643 186 828
Moins : versements aux provinces et territoires
Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador 319 686 478 319 686 478
Île-du-Prince-Édouard 52 391 494 52 391 494
Nouvelle-Écosse 369 215 171 369 215 171
Nouveau-Brunswick 225 785 586 225 785 586
Ontario 9 183 133 415 9 183 133 415
Québec 54 075 109 54 075 109
Manitoba 492 811 494 492 811 494
Saskatchewan 864 744 510 864 744 510
Alberta 76 980 885 76 980 885
Colombie-Britannique 2 182 387 441 2 182 387 441
Yukon 11 543 043 11 543 043
Territoires du Nord-Ouest 48 883 117 48 883 117
Nunavut 18 568 978 18 568 978
Total partiel 13 900 206 721 13 900 206 721
Total de l'impôt des sociétés, en main 1 093 799 752 16 549 387 076 13 900 206 721 3 742 980 107
Total de la taxe de vente harmonisée gérée par l'Agence du revenu du Canada (négatif 2 601 137 838) 26 160 756 972 23 559 619 134
Moins : versements aux provinces et territoires
Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador 968 091 461 968 091 461
Île-du-Prince-Édouard 243 857 616 243 857 616
Nouvelle-Écosse 1 988 045 494 1 988 045 494
Nouveau-Brunswick 1 234 978 101 1 234 978 101
Ontario 22 720 391 076 22 720 391 076
Colombie-Britanniqueallez à la note 3 en pied de page (négatif 54 612 149) (négatif 54 612 149)
Total partiel 27 100 751 599 27 100 751 599
Total de la taxe de vente harmonisée, en main (négatif 2 601 137 838) 26 160 756 972 27 100 751 599 (négatif 3 541 132 465)
Total de la taxe de vente des Premières Nations gérée par l'Agence du revenu du Canada 6 952 187 6 952 187
Moins : versements aux gouvernements autochtones 6 952 187 6 952 187
Total de la taxe de vente des Premières Nations, en main 6 952 187 6 952 187
Total de la taxe de vente sur les produits et services des Premières Nations gérée par l'Agence du revenu du Canada 17 765 233 17 765 233
Moins : versements aux gouvernements autochtones 17 765 233 17 765 233
Total de la taxe de vente sur les produits et services des Premières Nations, en main 17 765 233 17 765 233
Total 1 546 959 912 109 216 811 697 106 436 925 253 4 326 846 356

Retenues salariales diverses

Les retenues salariales de certains employés sont créditées à ce compte, en attendant qu'elles soient remises aux organismes non gouvernementaux intéressés.

Provision pour garanties

Cette catégorie de créditeurs et charges à payer comprend la provision pour garanties accordées par le gouvernement. Une provision pour garanties est comptabilisée lorsqu'il est probable qu'un paiement sera effectué dans le futur afin d'honorer une garantie et lorsqu'une estimation raisonnable du montant de la perte peut être établie. Au 31 mars 2016, la provision pour garanties est de 312 millions de dollars (317 millions de dollars en 2015).

Des renseignements supplémentaires concernant les garanties se retrouvent à la note 18 – Garanties de la section 2 et au tableau 11.5 de la section 11 de ce volume. De plus, le tableau 9.6 de la section 9 inclut des précisions sur les emprunts effectués par les sociétés d'État entreprises mandataires et non-mandataires et autres entreprises publiques. Conformément à l'article 54 de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques, le remboursement des emprunts contractés par les sociétés d'État entreprises mandataires, ainsi que le versement des intérêts correspondants sont imputés et prélevés sur le Trésor. Par conséquent, de tels emprunts représentent des dettes inconditionnelles du gouvernement. En revanche, les emprunts des sociétés d'État entreprises non-mandataires et autres entreprises publiques peuvent, parfois, être garantis par le gouvernement.

Autres

Divers créditeurs et charges à payer telle la taxe de vente provinciale perçue sur les ventes sont enregistrés à ce compte.

Navigation en bas de page du volume I du manuel du receveur général

Date de modification :