Environmental liabilities

Public Accounts of Canada 2016 Volume I—Top of the page Navigation

Environmental liabilities consist of estimated costs related to the remediation of contaminated sites, estimated costs related to obligations associated with the retirement of tangible capital assets and other environmental liabilities.

Contaminated sites

A liability for remediation of contaminated sites is recognized when all of the following criteria are satisfied: an environmental standard exists, contamination exceeds the environmental standard, the Government is directly responsible or accepts responsibility, it is expected that future economic benefits will be given up and a reasonable estimate of the amount can be made. The liability reflects the Government's best estimate of the amount required to remediate the sites to the current minimum standard for its use prior to contamination. When the future cash flows required to settle or otherwise extinguish a liability are estimable, predictable and expected to occur over extended future periods, a present value technique is used. The discount rate applied is taken from the Government's Consolidated Revenue Fund monthly lending rates for periods of one year and over which is based on the Government's cost of borrowing. The discount rates used are based on the term rate associated with the estimated number of years to complete remediation. For remediation costs with estimated future cash flows spanning more than 25 years, the 25-year Consolidated Revenue Fund lending rate is used as the discount rate.

The Government has identified approximately 7,900 sites (8,600 sites in 2015) where contamination may exist and assessment, remediation and monitoring may be required. Of these, the Government has identified approximately 2,400 sites (2,400 sites in 2015), where action is possible and for which a gross liability of $5,954 million ($5,810 million in 2015) has been recorded. This liability estimate has been determined based on site assessments performed by scientific/engineering contractors. In 2016, a statistical model was developed to estimate the liability for a group of unassessed sites based on a projection of the number of sites that will proceed to remediation and applying current and historical costs. As a result, there are 4,300 unassessed sites where a liability estimate of $320 million has been recorded prospectively in 2016. These two estimates combined, totalling $6,274 million ($5,810 million in 2015), represents the Government's best estimate of the costs required to remediate sites to the current minimum standard for its use prior to contamination, based on information available at the financial statement date.

Asset retirement obligations

A liability for an asset retirement obligation is recognized when all of the following criteria are satisfied: there is an agreement, contract, legislation, or a constructive or equitable obligation that obligates the Government to incur retirement costs in relation to a tangible capital asset, the past event or transaction giving rise to the retirement liability has occurred, it is expected that future economic benefits will be given up and a reasonable estimate of the amount can be made. These costs are normally capitalized and amortized over the asset's estimated useful life based on the Government's best estimates of the cost to retire the tangible asset. If the related asset is fully amortized, the related cost is expensed. The liability reflects the present value of estimated future cash flows required to retire the assets where amounts can be reasonably estimated and is expected to be settled as the related sites, facilities or assets are removed from service.

The asset retirement obligation is $6,767 million ($6,502 million in 2015) of which Atomic Energy of Canada Ltd. has recorded $6,763 million ($6,487 million in 2015) for nuclear facility decommissioning. In 2016, an amount of $233 million ($107 million in 2015) for the revisions in estimate and timing of expenditures was recorded. Also, an amount of $251 million ($250 million in 2015) was recognized to account for the unwinding of discount and the effect of change in discount rate and an amount of $ 219 million ($200 million in 2015) was recorded to settle the liabilities.

Other environmental liabilities

A liability for unexploded explosive ordnance (UXO) affected legacy sites is recognized when there is an appropriate basis for measurement and a reasonable estimate can be made. These liabilities are present obligations arising from past transactions or events, the settlement of which is expected to result in the future sacrifice of economic benefits.

The recorded environmental liabilities are adjusted each year, as required, for present value adjustments, inflation, new obligations, changes in estimates and actual costs incurred.

If the likelihood of the Government's responsibility is not determinable, a contingent liability is disclosed in the notes to the consolidated statements. If measurement uncertainty exists it is also disclosed in the notes to the consolidated statements.

The Government has identified approximately 893 UXO (918 in 2015) suspected sites for which clearance action may be necessary. Of these sites, 61 (57 in 2015) are confirmed UXO affected sites. Based on the Government's best estimates, a liability of $272 million ($1.3 million in 2015) has been recorded for clearance action on 10 (5 in 2015) of the confirmed UXO sites. Remediation has been done on 14 of the sites and they will be closed in the next fiscal year. The remaining 869 suspect sites are currently in the assessment stage and a reasonable estimate cannot yet be determined. Of these sites, the obligation for clearance action is likely for 61 sites, indeterminable for 667 sites and unlikely for 141 sites.

The Government's ongoing efforts to assess contaminated sites, asset retirement obligations and UXO affected sites may result in additional environmental liabilities.

Table 5.7 presents the liability balances of the custodian departments and Crown corporations for remediation liabilities for contaminated sites, asset retirement obligations and other environmental liabilities.

Table summary

The table presents, in dollars, a two-year comparative of the environmental liabilities for custodian departments and Crown corporations. It consists of three columns: a detailed listing of components; current year ended March 31; previous year ended March 31. The first series of rows presents the remediation liabilities for contaminated sites by department and by Crown corporation with related subtotals. The following rows of the series present the gross remediation liability for contaminated sites minus expected recoveries. The second series of rows presents the asset retirement obligations by department and by Crown corporation with related subtotals and a row for the total of the series. The third series of rows presents other environmental liabilities by department. A final row presents the total of this table.

Table 5.7
Environmental liabilities

(in dollars)

  March 31, 2016 March 31, 2015
Remediation liabilities for contaminated sites
Departments and agencies
Agriculture and Agri-Food 4,836,741 2,422,353
Canada Border Services Agency 1,183,764 2,479,624
Correctional Service of Canada 1,708,685 2,017,213
Environment 141,417,724 122,609,100
Fisheries and Oceans 108,219,424 104,558,273
Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development 15,000
Health 172,705 167,497
Indian Affairs and Northern Development 3,795,691,347 3,017,667,968
National Defence 519,370,599 425,387,988
National Research Council of Canada 240,832 170,421
Natural Resources 4,614,482 988,830,523
Parks Canada Agency 37,236,526 24,171,903
Public Works and Government Services 258,591,282 314,549,713
Royal Canadian Mounted Police 6,419,203 2,874,887
Transport 188,399,845 146,573,661
Miscellaneous adjustment 580,000,000
Subtotal 5,068,118,159 5,734,481,124
Consolidated Crown corporations and other entities
Atomic Energy of Canada Limited 1,109,493,000
Canadian Broadcasting Corporation 343,000 377,000
Marine Atlantic Inc 377,000 431,000
National Capital Commission 50,345,000 43,850,000
The Federal Bridge Corporation Limited 1,420,000
The Jacques-Cartier and Champlain Bridges Incorporated 43,170,000 31,100,000
VIA Rail Canada Inc. 300,000 200,000
Subtotal 1,205,448,000 75,958,000
Gross remediation liability for contaminated sites 6,273,566,159 5,810,439,124
Less expected recoveries—Indian Affairs and Northern Development 30,681,572 17,321,495
Net remediation liability of contaminated sites 6,242,884,587 5,793,117,629
Asset retirement obligations
Departments and agencies 577,920 566,494
Consolidated Crown corporations and other entities
Atomic Energy of Canada Limited (nuclear facility decommissioning) 6,763,423,000 6,487,228,000
Others 3,015,000 13,920,000
Subtotal 6,766,438,000 6,501,148,000
Total asset retirement obligations 6,767,015,920 6,501,714,494
Other environmental liabilities
Departments and agencies
National Defence (unexploded explosive ordnance affected sites) 272,072,942 1,312,586
Total environmental liabilities 13,281,973,449 12,296,144,709

Changes in liability for remediation of contaminated sites

Table 5.8 presents a summary of the changes in liability balances for contaminated sites. In addition to expenditures reducing environmental liabilities previously recorded, the government spent another $18,462,079 ($32,423,575 in 2015) as management and remediation costs on its contaminated sites when these costs became known in the year.

Table summary

The table presents, in dollars, a two-year comparative summary of the changes in liability balances for contaminated sites. It consists of three columns: a detailed listing of components; current year ended March 31; previous year ended March 31.

Table 5.8
Changes in liability for remediation of contaminated sites

(in dollars)

  March 31, 2016 March 31, 2015
Opening balance 5,810,439,124 4,795,679,415
Less: Expenditures reducing opening liabilities 298,932,567 299,922,633
Add:
Changes in estimated remediation costs 544,754,907 1,276,011,671
New liability for sites not previously recorded 217,304,695 38,670,671
Closing balance (gross) 6,273,566,159 5,810,439,124
Expected recoveries 30,681,572 17,321,495
Closing balance (net) 6,242,884,587 5,793,117,629

Public Accounts of Canada 2016 Volume I—Bottom of the page Navigation

Date modified:

Passif environnemental

Navigation de haut de page du volume I du manuel du receveur général

Le passif environnemental est composé des coûts estimatifs liés à l'assainissement des sites contaminés ainsi que des coûts estimatifs liés aux obligations associées à la mise hors service d'immobilisations corporelles et d'autres éléments de passif environnemental.

Sites contaminés

On comptabilise un passif au titre de l'assainissement des sites contaminés lorsque tous les critères suivants sont satisfaits : il existe une norme environnementale, la contamination excède la norme environnementale, le gouvernement est directement responsable ou accepte la responsabilité du site, on prévoit renoncer aux avantages économiques futurs et il est possible de faire une estimation raisonnable du montant en cause. Le passif rend compte de la meilleure estimation du gouvernement concernant le montant nécessaire pour assainir les sites afin que ces derniers respectent la norme minimale d'exploitation précédant leur contamination. Lorsque les flux de trésorerie futurs nécessaires pour régler ou annuler le passif doivent s'étendre sur de longues périodes futures et sont estimables et prévisibles, il faut utiliser la technique de la valeur actualisée. Le taux d'actualisation appliqué est tiré des taux d'intérêt débiteurs mensuels du Trésor pour les périodes d'un an et plus qui est basé sur le coût d'emprunt du gouvernement. Les taux d'actualisation utilisés sont basés sur le taux associé au nombre estimatif d'années nécessaires pour achever l'assainissement. Pour les coûts d'assainissement qui incluent des rentrées de fonds futures s'étendant sur plus de 25 ans, le gouvernement du Canada utilise le taux d'intérêt débiteur du Trésor de 25 ans.

Le gouvernement a relevé environ 7 900 sites (8 600 sites en 2015) qui pourraient être contaminés et devoir faire l'objet d'une évaluation, d'un assainissement et d'un suivi. Parmi ces derniers, le gouvernement a recensé environ 2 400 sites (2 400 sites en 2015) pour lesquels des mesures sont possibles et un passif brut de 5 954 millions de dollars (5 810 millions de dollars en 2015) a été comptabilisé. Cette estimation du passif a été déterminée après la réalisation de l'évaluation des sites par des entrepreneurs d'ingénierie/scientifiques. En 2016, un modèle statistique se fondant sur une projection du nombre de sites qui passeront à l'étape des travaux d'assainissement et sur lequel on applique les coûts historiques fut développé pour estimer le passif d'un groupe des sites non évalués. En conséquence, il existe 4 300 sites non évalués pour lesquels un passif estimé de 320 millions de dollars a été enregistré prospectivement en 2016. La combinaison de ces deux estimations, totalisant 6 274 millions de dollars (5 810 millions de dollars en 2015), constitue la meilleure estimation du gouvernement concernant le coût nécessaire pour assainir les sites afin qu'ils respectent la norme minimale d'exploitation précédant leur contamination, en fonction de l'information connue à la date de préparation des états financiers.

Obligations liées à la mise hors service d'immobilisations

On comptabilise un passif au titre de l'obligation liée à la mise hors service d'une immobilisation lorsque tous les critères suivants sont satisfaits : il existe une entente, un contrat, une loi ou une obligation implicite ou morale qui oblige le gouvernement à engager des coûts de mise hors service relativement à une immobilisation corporelle, l'opération ou l'événement passé donnant lieu au passif de mise hors service a eu lieu, on prévoit renoncer aux avantages économiques futurs et il est possible de faire une estimation raisonnable du montant en cause. Ces coûts sont normalement capitalisés et amortis sur la durée de vie utile estimative de l'immobilisation, en fonction des meilleures estimations du gouvernement concernant le coût de mise hors service de l'immobilisation corporelle. Si cette immobilisation est amortie complètement, les coûts liés à la mise hors service seront imputés aux charges. Le passif rend compte de la valeur actuelle des flux de trésorerie futurs estimatifs nécessaires pour mettre les immobilisations hors service, lorsqu'il est possible de faire une estimation raisonnable des montants en cause et lorsqu'on prévoit régler ces montants au moment de la mise hors service des sites, des installations ou des immobilisations afférents.

L'obligation au titre de la mise hors service des immobilisations s'élève à 6 767 millions de dollars (6 502 millions de dollars en 2015), dont Énergie atomique du Canada limitée a enregistré 6 763 millions de dollars (6 487 millions de dollars en 2015) pour la mise hors service de centrales nucléaires. En 2016, un montant de 233 millions de dollars (107 millions de dollars en 2015) a été enregistré pour la révision des estimations et du calendrier des dépenses. De plus, un montant de 251 millions de dollars (250 millions de dollars en 2015) a été comptabilisé pour considérer l'impact de la désactualisation et l'effet de la variation du taux d'actualisation ainsi qu'un montant de 219 millions de dollars (200 millions de dollars en 2015) a été enregistré pour régler des passifs.

Autres éléments de passif environnemental

On comptabilise un passif au titre des anciens sites où se trouvent des munitions explosives non explosées (UXO) lorsqu'il existe une base de mesure appropriée et qu'il est possible de faire une estimation raisonnable. Ces passifs sont des obligations actuelles qui résultent d'opérations ou d'événements passés et dont le règlement prévu donnera lieu à une sortie future de ressources représentatives d'avantages économiques.

Le passif environnemental comptabilisé est rajusté chaque année, au besoin, en fonction des rajustements de la valeur actuelle, de l'inflation, des nouvelles obligations, des variations des estimations et des coûts réels engagés.

S'il est impossible de déterminer la probabilité de la responsabilité du gouvernement, un passif éventuel est indiqué dans les notes afférentes aux états financiers consolidés. Toute incertitude de mesure est également communiquée dans les notes afférentes aux états financiers consolidés.

Le gouvernement a relevé environ 893 sites (918 en 2015) où l'on soupçonne la présence d'UXO qui pourraient devoir être éliminées. Sur ces sites, 61 (57 en 2015) sont confirmés comme étant des sites touchés par les UXO. Selon les meilleures estimations du gouvernement, on a comptabilisé un passif de 272 millions de dollars (1,3 million de dollars en 2015) en vue des activités d'élimination sur 10 (5 en 2015) des sites à UXO confirmés. L'assainissement a été effectué sur 14 de ces sites et ils seront fermés au cours du prochain exercice financier. Les 869 autres sites suspects en sont actuellement à la phase d'évaluation et il n'est pas encore possible de déterminer une estimation raisonnable. Sur ces sites, l'obligation d'activités d'élimination est probable pour 61 sites, impossible à déterminer pour 667 sites et improbable pour 141 sites.

Les efforts suivis du gouvernement concernant l'évaluation des sites contaminés, les obligations au titre de la mise hors service des immobilisations et les sites touchés par les UXO peuvent entraîner des éléments de passif environnemental supplémentaires.

Le tableau 5.7 présente les soldes des passifs des ministères gardiens et des sociétés d'État relatifs à l'assainissement des sites, les obligations liées à la mise hors service d'immobilisations et les autres éléments de passif environnemental.

Description du tableau

Le tableau présente, en dollars, un comparatif sur deux ans du passif environnemental pour les ministères gardiens et les sociétés d'État. Il contient trois colonnes : une liste détaillée des composantes; 31 mars de l'exercice en cours; 31 mars de l'exercice précédent. La première série de rangées présente les passifs d'assainissement pour les sites contaminés par ministère et par société d'État avec les totaux partiels connexes. Les rangées suivantes de la série présente les passifs d'assainissement bruts pour les sites contaminés moins les recouvrements prévus. La deuxième série de rangées présente les obligations liées à la mise hors service d'immobilisations par ministère et par société d'État avec les totaux partiels connexes et une rangée pour le total de la série. La troisième série de rangées présente les autres éléments de passif environnemental par ministère. Une rangée finale présente le total pour ce tableau.

Tableau 5.7
Passif environnemental
(en dollars)

  31 mars 2016 31 mars 2015
Passifs d'assainissement pour les sites contaminés
Ministères et agences
Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement 15 000
Affaires indiennes et du Nord canadien 3 795 691 347 3 017 667 968
Agence des services frontaliers du Canada 1 183 764 2 479 624
Agence Parcs Canada 37 236 526 24 171 903
Agriculture et Agroalimentaire 4 836 741 2 422 353
Conseil national de recherches du Canada 240 832 170 421
Défense nationale 519 370 599 425 387 988
Environnement 141 417 724 122 609 100
Gendarmerie royale du Canada 6 419 203 2 874 887
Pêches et Océans 108 219 424 104 558 273
Ressources naturelles 4 614 482 988 830 523
Santé 172 705 167 497
Service correctionnel du Canada 1 708 685 2 017 213
Transports 188 399 845 146 573 661
Travaux publics et Services gouvernementaux 258 591 282 314 549 713
Ajustement divers 580 000 000
Total partiel 5 068 118 159 5 734 481 124
Sociétés d'État et autres entités consolidées
Commission de la capitale nationale 50 345 000 43 850 000
Énergie atomique du Canada limitée 1 109 493 000
La Société des ponts fédéraux Limitée 1 420 000
Les Ponts Jacques-Cartier et Champlain Incorporée 43 170 000 31 100 000
Marine Atlantique SCC 377 000 431 000
Société Radio-Canada 343 000 377 000
VIA Rail Canada Inc. 300 000 200 000
Total partiel 1 205 448 000 75 958 000
Passifs d'assainissement bruts pour les sites contaminés 6 273 566 159 5 810 439 124
Moins recouvrements prévus – Affaires indiennes et du Nord canadien 30 681 572 17 321 495
Passifs d'assainissement nets pour les sites contaminés 6 242 884 587 5 793 117 629
Obligations liées à la mise hors service d'immobilisations
Ministères et agences 577 920 566 494
Sociétés d'État et autres entités consolidées
Énergie atomique du Canada limitée (déclassement des installations nucléaires) 6 763 423 000 6 487 228 000
Autres 3 015 000 13 920 000
Total partiel 6 766 438 000 6 501 148 000
Total des obligations liées à la mise hors service d'immobilisations 6 767 015 920 6 501 714 494
Autres éléments de passif environnemental
Ministères et agences
Défense nationale (sites touchés par des munitions explosives non explosées) 272 072 942 1 312 586
Total du passif environnemental 13 281 973 449 12 296 144 709

Variations du passif relatif à l'assainissement des sites contaminés

Le tableau 5.8 présente un sommaire des variations aux soldes du passif relatif aux sites contaminés. En plus des dépenses réduisant des passifs environnementaux enregistrés précédemment, le gouvernement a également dépensé 18 462 079 $ (32 423 575 $ en 2015) en coûts de gestion et de remise en état des sites contaminés au moment où ils furent connus au cours de l'exercice.

Description du tableau

Le tableau présente, en dollars, un comparatif sur deux ans du sommaire des variations aux soldes relatifs aux sites contaminés. Il contient trois colonnes : une liste détaillée des composantes; 31 mars de l'exercice en cours; 31 mars de l'exercice précédent.

Tableau 5.8
Variations du passif relatif à l'assainissement des sites contaminés
(en dollars)

  31 mars 2016 31 mars 2015
Solde d'ouverture 5 810 439 124 4 795 679 415
Moins : Dépenses reliées à la réduction des passifs d'ouverture 298 932 567 299 922 633
Plus :
Changement dans les coûts de remise en état estimés 544 754 907 1 276 011 671
Nouveau passif relatif à des sites non inscrits antérieurement 217 304 695 38 670 671
Solde de clôture (brut) 6 273 566 159 5 810 439 124
Recouvrements prévus 30 681 572 17 321 495
Solde de clôture (net) 6 242 884 587 5 793 117 629

Navigation en bas de page du volume I du manuel du receveur général

Date de modification :