Cash and cash equivalents

Public Accounts of Canada 2016 Volume I—Top of the page Navigation

Cash consists of public moneys on deposit and cash in transit at March 31. Cash in bank consists of public moneys on deposit to the credit of the Receiver General for Canada, with the Bank of Canada, chartered banks and other financial institutions. Cash with the Bank of Canada includes operational balances and balances held for the Prudential Liquidity Fund. Cash in transit consists of public moneys received by public officers prior to April 1, but not deposited by that date as well as cash held by consolidated Crown corporations and other entities. Outstanding cheques and warrants are deducted to arrive at the closing cash balance.

Cash equivalents consist mainly of term deposits resulting from auctions administered by the Bank of Canada and the Department of Finance on behalf of the Minister of Finance. The short term deposits, denominated in Canadian dollars, are made from a portion of the daily surplus of cash balance and have a short term maturity, usually not exceeding 31 calendar days.

Table 7.2 presents a summary of the cash and cash equivalents.

Table summary

The table presents, in dollars, a summary of the cash and cash equivalents. It consists of three columns: a detailed listing of components; March 31 of the current year; March 31 of the previous year. The first series of rows presents the cash in bank. The second series of rows presents the cash in transit. The third series of rows presents the subtraction of outstanding cheques and warrants. The following rows present the totals for cash and cash equivalents.

Table 7.2
Cash and cash equivalents
(in dollars)

  March 31, 2016 March 31, 2015
Cash in bank
Canadian currencyLink to footnote 1 22,454,849,973 21,463,464,272
Foreign currenciesLink to footnote 2 2,548,439,002 283,189,353
Special depositsLink to footnote 3 50,000,000 50,000,000
Total cash in bank 25,053,288,975 21,796,653,625
Cash in transit
Cash in hands of collectors and in transit 10,911,316,514 10,437,353,804
Other cash—Consolidated Crown corporations and other entitiesLink to footnote 4 892,706,000 782,854,000
Total cash in transit 11,804,022,514 11,220,207,804
Less: Outstanding cheques and warrants
Outstanding chequesLink to footnote 5 4,521,769,048 4,171,960,594
Imprest account chequesLink to footnote 6 101,721 95,243
Total outstanding cheques and warrants 4,521,870,769 4,172,055,837
Total cash 32,335,440,720 28,844,805,592
Cash equivalents 6,235,037,405 6,154,036,000
Total cash and cash equivalents 38,570,478,125 34,998,841,592

Public Accounts of Canada 2016 Volume I—Bottom of the page Navigation

Date modified:

Trésorerie et équivalents de trésorerie

Navigation de haut de page du volume I du manuel du receveur général

La trésorerie comprend les fonds publics déposés et les fonds en transit au 31 mars. Les fonds en banque comprennent les fonds publics déposés au crédit du receveur général du Canada, à la Banque du Canada, dans des banques à charte et dans d'autres établissements financiers. Les fonds à la Banque du Canada comprennent les soldes opérationnels et les soldes détenus pour le Fonds de la liquidité prudentielle. Les fonds en transit comprennent les fonds publics reçus par des fonctionnaires publics avant le 1er avril, mais qui n'ont pas été déposés avant cette date, de même que les fonds détenus par les sociétés d'État et autres entités consolidées. Les chèques et mandats en circulation sont soustraits afin d'arriver au solde de clôture de la trésorerie.

Les équivalents de trésorerie sont composés principalement de dépôts à terme résultant d'adjudications administrés par la Banque du Canada et le ministère des Finances au nom du ministre des Finances. Les dépôts à terme, en devises canadiennes, sont faits à partir d'une partie du surplus quotidien du solde de trésorerie et n'excèdent normalement pas 31 jours calendrier.

Tableau 7.2 présente un sommaire de la trésorerie et des équivalents de trésorerie.

Description du tableau

Le tableau présente, en dollars, un sommaire de la trésorerie et des équivalents de trésorerie. Il contient trois colonnes : une liste détaillée des composantes; le 31 mars de l'exercice en cours; le 31 mars de l'exercice précédent. La première série de rangées présente les fonds en banque. La seconde série de rangées présente les fonds en transit. La troisième série de rangées présente la soustraction des chèques et mandats en circulation. Les rangées suivantes présentent les totaux pour la trésorerie et les équivalents de trésorerie.

Tableau 7.2
Trésorerie et équivalents de trésorerie
(en dollars)

  31 mars 2016 31 mars 2015
Fonds en banque
Monnaie canadienneallez à la note 1 en pied de page 22 454 849 973 21 463 464 272
Devisesallez à la note 2 en pied de page 2 548 439 002 283 189 353
Dépôts spéciauxallez à la note 3 en pied de page 50 000 000 50 000 000
Total des fonds en banque 25 053 288 975 21 796 653 625
Fonds en transit
Fonds détenus par les percepteurs et en transit 10 911 316 514 10 437 353 804
Autre encaisse – Sociétés d'État et autres entités consolidéesallez à la note 4 en pied de page 892 706 000 782 854 000
Total des fonds en transit 11 804 022 514 11 220 207 804
Moins : Chèques et mandats en circulation
Chèques en circulationallez à la note 5 en pied de page 4 521 769 048 4 171 960 594
Chèques sur comptes d'avance fixeallez à la note 6 en pied de page 101 721 95 243
Total des chèques et des mandats en circulation 4 521 870 769 4 172 055 837
Total de la trésorerie 32 335 440 720 28 844 805 592
Équivalents de trésorerie 6 235 037 405 6 154 036 000
Total de la trésorerie et des équivalents de trésorerie 38 570 478 125 34 998 841 592

Navigation en bas de page du volume I du manuel du receveur général

Date de modification :