International Monetary Fund

Public Accounts of Canada 2016 Volume I—Top of the page Navigation

Subscriptions

This account records the value of Canada's subscription (its "quota") to the capital of the International Monetary Fund (IMF).

The amount by which the sum of Canada's subscriptions plus loans to the IMF under special facilities exceeds the IMF's holdings of Canadian dollars represents the amount of foreign exchange which Canada is entitled to draw from the IMF on demand for balance of payments purposes. The subscription is expressed in terms of SDR, a unit of account defined in terms of a "basket" of four major currencies, the Euro, the US dollar, the British pound sterling and the Japanese yen.

Canada has accumulated its subscriptions through settlements to the IMF in Canadian dollars, gold and SDRs. Annual maintenance of value payments are made to, or received from, the IMF when the Canadian dollar depreciates or appreciates against the SDR, in order to maintain the SDR-value of the IMF's holdings of Canadian dollars.

In 2015–2016, payments and other charges consisted of an increase in subscriptions of $9,048 million (SDR 4,655 million). The receipts and other credits consisted of a valuation adjustment of $7 million.

Loans

This account records the value of interest-bearing loans made under Canada's multi-lateral and bi-lateral borrowing arrangements with the IMF. The purpose of these arrangements is to provide temporary resources for IMF-member countries requiring balance of payment assistance.

There are two outstanding lending arrangements with the IMF outside of the quota system: the multi-lateral New Arrangements to Borrow (NAB) and General Arrangements to Borrow (GAB).

Canada's current participation in the NAB is governed by technical amendments from December, 2011, made as a result of the IMF's 14th General Review of Quotas. The maximum lending by Canada to the IMF under these arrangements is limited to SDR 3,874 million. As at March 31, 2016, SDR 699 million or $1,278 million (SDR 775 million or $1,353 million in 2015) in lending have been provided to the IMF under the NAB.

Canada also participates in the GAB which was renewed in December 2013. The maximum lending by Canada to the IMF under these arrangements is limited to SDR 893 million. As at March 31, 2016, no lending had been provided to the IMF under the GAB.

Collectively, the outstanding loans under multi-lateral arrangements with the IMF cannot exceed SDR 4,767 million at any given time. This reflects the maximum commitment under both the NAB and GAB.

At March 31, 2016, a total of SDR 699 million or $1,278 million was outstanding under these arrangements. Amounts advanced under these arrangements are considered part of the Official International Reserves of Canada.

Notes payable

This account records non-marketable, non-interest bearing notes issued by the Government to the IMF. These notes are payable on demand and are subject to redemption or re-issue, depending on the needs of the IMF for Canadian currency.

Canadian dollar holdings of the IMF include these notes and a small working balance (initially equal to one-quarter of one per cent of Canada's subscription) held on deposit at the Bank of Canada. In 2015–2016, notes payable to the IMF increased by $9,370 million.

Public Accounts of Canada 2016 Volume I—Bottom of the page Navigation

Date modified:

Fonds monétaire international

Navigation de haut de page du volume I du manuel du receveur général

Souscriptions

Ce compte inscrit la valeur de la souscription du Canada (sa « quote-part ») au capital du Fonds monétaire international (FMI).

Le montant par lequel le total des souscriptions et des prêts du Canada au FMI en vertu de facilités de financement spéciales dépasse les avoirs en dollars canadiens du FMI, représente le montant des devises que le Canada est autorisé à tirer du FMI sur demande aux fins de sa balance des paiements. La souscription est exprimée en fonction de DTS, une unité de compte définie en fonction d'un ensemble de quatre grandes devises, l'euro, le dollar américain, la livre sterling britannique et le yen japonais.

Le Canada a accumulé ses souscriptions au FMI au moyen de règlements en dollars canadiens, en or et en DTS. Des versements annuels sont effectués au FMI ou sont reçus de celui-ci, advenant une dépréciation ou un accroissement de la valeur du dollar canadien face aux DTS. Ces versements sont faits dans le but de maintenir la valeur en DTS des avoirs en dollars canadiens du FMI.

En 2015-2016, les paiements et autres débits se composaient d'une augmentation de 9 048 millions de dollars dans les souscriptions (4 655 millions de DTS). Les rentrées et autres crédits se composent d'un redressement dû à la réévaluation de 7 millions de dollars.

Prêts

Ce compte inscrit la valeur des prêts portants intérêts accordés au titre des accords d'emprunt multilatéraux et bilatéral du Canada avec le FMI. Ces accords visent à fournir des ressources temporaires aux pays membres du FMI ayant besoin d'aide au chapitre de la balance des paiements.

Il existe deux ententes de prêts en cours avec le FMI à l'extérieur du système de quotes-parts : les Nouveaux accords d'emprunt (NAE) et les Accords généraux d'emprunt (AGE) multilatéraux.

D'une part, la participation actuelle du Canada aux NAE est régie par les amendements techniques de décembre 2011 faits selon la 14e révision des quotes-parts. En vertu de ces accords, le Canada est autorisé à prêter au FMI un maximum de 3 874 millions de DTS. Au 31 mars 2016, 699 millions de DTS ou 1 278 millions de dollars (775 millions de DTS ou 1 353 millions de dollars en 2015) avaient été consentis au FMI au titre des NAE.

D'autre part, le Canada participe aux AGE qui ont été renouvelés en décembre 2013. En vertu de ces accords, le Canada est autorisé à prêter au FMI un maximum de 893 millions de DTS. Au 31 mars 2016, aucun prêt n'avait été consenti au FMI au titre des AGE.

Au total, l'encours de prêts du FMI au titre de ces accords multilatéraux ne peut pas dépasser en tout temps 4 767 millions de DTS.

Au 31 mars 2016, l'encours des prêts s'élevait à un total de 699 millions de DTS ou 1 278 millions de dollars conformément à ces accords. On considère les avances versées au titre de ces accords comme faisant partie des réserves officielles de change du Canada.

Effets à payer

Ce compte inscrit les effets non négociables, non productifs d'intérêts émis par le gouvernement au FMI. Ces effets sont payables à vue et sont sujets à être remboursés ou émis de nouveau, selon les besoins du FMI pour de la monnaie canadienne.

Les avoirs en dollars canadiens du FMI comprennent ces effets et un solde minime d'exploitation (tout d'abord égal à un quart de un pour cent de la souscription du Canada) qui est mis en dépôt à la Banque du Canada. En 2015-2016, les effets à payer au FMI ont augmenté de 9 370 millions de dollars.

Navigation en bas de page du volume I du manuel du receveur général

Date de modification :