Supplementary statement

Public Accounts of Canada 2016 Volume I—Top of the page Navigation

Exchange Fund Account

Table summary

The table presents, in millions of Canadian dollars, a two-year comparative of the Statement of financial position as at 31 March. It consists of three columns: a detailed listing of components; current year; previous year. The first series of rows presents the financial assets. It is divided in sub-sections with related subtotals and the total for the series. The second series of rows presents the liabilities. A final row presents the total due to the Consolidated Revenue Fund.

Statement of financial position (unaudited)
as at 31 March

(in millions of Canadian dollars)

  2016 2015
Financial assets
Cash and cash equivalents (Note 2, Note 3) 5,902 695
Investments (Note 2, Note 3)
Marketable securities 85,046 81,442
Special drawing rights 10,431 9,818
Gold 6
Total investments 95,477 91,266
Total financial assets 101,379 91,961
Liabilities
Due to the Consolidated Revenue Fund (Note 4) 101,379 91,961

Paul Rochon
Deputy Minister
Department of Finance

Christopher Meyers, CPA, CA
Chief Financial Officer
Department of Finance

Table summary

The table presents, in millions of Canadian dollars, a two-year comparative of the Statement of operations for the year ended 31 March. It consists of three columns: a detailed listing of components; current year; previous year. The first series of rows presents the net revenues from investments. It is divided in sub-sections with the total for the series. The second series of rows presents other such as the net foreign exchange gain (loss). A final row presents the net revenue for the year.

Statement of operations (unaudited)
for the year ended 31 March

(in millions of Canadian dollars)

  2016 2015
Net revenue from investments
Marketable securities
Interest 1,235 1,152
Net gains on sales of marketable securities 793 238
Transaction costs and other (negative 2) (negative 4)
Interest on cash and cash equivalents 7
Interest on special drawing rights 5 6
Gains on sales of gold 140
Total net revenue from investments 2,178 1,392
Other
Net foreign exchange gain (loss) 9 (negative 552)
Net revenue for the year (Note 2) 2,187 840

Notes to the financial statements for the year ended 31 March 2016 (unaudited)

1. Authority and objectives

The Exchange Fund Account (the Account) is governed by Part II of the Currency Act. The Account is in the name of the Minister of Finance and is administered by the Bank of Canada as fiscal agent. The Financial Administration Act does not apply to the Account.

The legislative mandate of the Account is to aid in the control and protection of the external value of the Canadian dollar. The Minister of Finance empowers the Account to acquire or sell assets deemed appropriate for this purpose, in accordance with the Account's Statement of Investment Policy.

Assets held in the Account are managed to provide foreign-currency liquidity to the government and to promote orderly conditions for the Canadian dollar in foreign exchange markets, if required. Canada's current policy is to intervene in foreign exchange markets on a discretionary, rather than a systematic, basis and only in the most exceptional of circumstances. Since September 1998, no transactions have been aimed at moderating movements in the value of Canadian dollar.

In accordance with the Currency Act, the net revenue for the year is paid to or charged to the Consolidated Revenue Fund (CRF) of the Government of Canada within three months after the end of the fiscal year, and the Minister of Finance reports to Parliament on the operations of the Account within the first 60 days on which Parliament is sitting after the end of the fiscal year. These statements have been prepared by the Department of Finance.

2. Significant accounting policies

As stipulated in the Currency Act, the financial statements of the Account are prepared in a manner consistent with the accounting policies used by the Government of Canada to prepare its financial statements.

(a) Revenue recognition

Revenue from investments is recognized on an accrual basis and includes interest earned (including the amortization of premiums and discounts), gains or losses on sales of securities and on sales of gold, and revenues from securities lending activities. Interest is accrued on short-term deposits, deposits held under repurchase agreements, marketable securities, and special drawing rights (SDRs).

(b) Expense recognition

The Account's administrative, custodial, and fiscal agency services are provided and paid for by the Bank of Canada and the Department of Finance. These costs have not been recognized in the Statements.

In addition, the notional cost of the funding of the Account's assets and advances from the CRF is not recognized in the Statements.

(c) Financial assets
Cash and cash equivalents

Cash and cash equivalents consists of cash on hand and short-term deposits. Short-term deposits are measured at cost and are generally held to maturity. The resulting revenue is included in interest on cash and cash equivalents.

Deposits held under repurchase agreements

Deposits held under repurchase agreements are measured at cost. The resulting revenue is included in Net revenue from marketable securities. As of 31 March 2016 and 31 March 2015 the Account did not hold any deposits held under repurchase agreements.

Marketable securities

Purchases and sales of securities are recognized at the settlement dates. Marketable securities are measured at cost and are adjusted for amortization of purchase discounts and premiums on a straight-line basis over the term to maturity of the security. The carrying value of marketable securities includes accrued interest.

On de-recognition of a financial asset measured at amortized cost, the difference between the asset's carrying amount and the sum of the consideration received and receivable is recognized in net revenue.

For short-term deposits, deposits held under repurchase agreements and marketable securities, the Bank assesses at the end of each reporting period whether there is an other-than-temporary impairment in value. Once impaired, these assets remeasured at their recoverable amount with the amount of the impairment recognized in Total net revenue from investments in the statement of operations.

Securities lending program

Under the securities lending program, the Account has agency agreements with two major financial institutions. Loans of securities are effected on behalf of the Account by these agents, who guarantee the loans and obtain collateral of equal or greater value from approved counterparties. These transactions can range from 1 to 31 days in duration. The securities loaned continue to be accounted for as investment assets. Income on securities lending transactions is included in Total net revenue from investments in the statement of operations.

Special drawing rights

The SDR serves as the unit of account for the International Monetary Fund (IMF) and its value is based on a "basket" of four major currencies: the Euro, the US dollar, the British pound sterling and the Japanese yen. On 30 November 2015 the Executive Board of the IMF decided to include the Chinese renminbi in the SDR basket effective 1 October 2016.

SDRs are initially recognized at cost and are subsequently remeasured at each reporting date into Canadian dollars at market exchange rates.

Gold

Gold is carried in the Account at a value of 35 SDRs per fine ounce.

Translation of foreign currencies and special drawing rights

Assets denominated in foreign currencies and SDRs are translated into Canadian-dollar equivalents at the rates prevailing as of March 31, which were as follows:

Table summary

The table presents a two-year comparative of the translation of foreign currencies and special drawing rights into Canadian dollar equivalents. It consists of three columns: a detailed listing of components; current year; previous year.

  2016 2015
US dollar 1.2987 1.2666
Euro 1.4777 1.3615
Japanese yen 0.0115 0.0106
British pound sterling 1.8654 1.8792
SDR 1.8296 1.7473

Gains or losses resulting from the translation of assets and advances from the CRF denominated in foreign currencies and SDRs, as well as from transactions throughout the fiscal year, are recognized as net foreign exchange gains or losses and are included in the statement of operations.

Investment revenue in foreign currencies and SDRs is translated into Canadian-dollars at the foreign exchange rates prevailing on the date the revenue is earned.

(d) Use of estimates and measurement uncertainty

The preparation of the Statements requires management to make estimates and assumptions based on information available as of the date of the Statements. Significant estimates are primarily in the area of the fair values of financial instruments, including any impairment (Note 3).

3. Financial instruments

Table summary

The table presents, in millions of Canadian dollars, a two-year comparative of the fair value of financial assets. It consists of three columns: a detailed listing of components; 31 March of the current year; 31 March of the previous year. The current and previous years' columns are divided into two columns, respectively—Carrying amount and Fair value. The first series of rows presents the cash and cash equivalents with different foreign currencies and the total for the series. The second series of rows presents the investments by marketable securities with different foreign currencies, SDR and gold, followed by the total for the series. A final row presents the total financial assets.

Fair value of financial assets
(in millions of Canadian dollars)

  31 March 2016 31 March 2015
Carrying amount Fair value Carrying amount Fair value
Cash and cash equivalents
US dollar 5,303 5,303 441 441
Euro 304 304 189 189
Japanese yen 181 181 17 17
British pound sterling 114 114 48 48
Total cash and cash equivalents 5,902 5,902 695 695
Investments
Marketable securities
US dollar 56,638 57,685 60,558 61,895
Euro 20,161 21,132 17,685 19,088
Japanese yen 712 720 794 797
British pound sterling 7,535 7,810 2,405 2,461
Total marketable securities 85,046 87,347 81,442 84,241
SDR 10,431 10,431 9,818 9,818
Gold 6 144
Total investments 95,477 97,778 91,266 94,203
Total financial assets 101,379 103,680 91,961 94,898

The estimated fair value of cash and cash equivalents approximates their carrying value, given their short term to maturity.

The estimated fair values of marketable securities are based on quoted market prices and include accrued interest. If such prices are not available, the fair value is determined by discounting future cash flows using an appropriate yield curve. During the year, and in the prior year, no marketable securities were written down to reflect an other-than-temporary impairment in value.

Since SDRs are translated into Canadian-dollar equivalents at the rates prevailing at the Statements date, the carrying value approximates fair value on the reporting date.

The portfolio of gold holdings was sold during the year for a gain of $140 million. The estimated fair value of gold at 31 March 2015 was based on the London gold fixing of $1,503.45 per fine ounce.

Credit risk

Credit risk is the risk that a counterparty to a financial contract will cause a loss to the Account by failing to discharge its obligations in accordance with agreed upon terms.

To ensure that the Account's asset portfolio is prudently diversified with respect to credit risk, the Statement of Investment Policy prescribed by the Minister of Finance specifies limits on holdings by class of issuer (sovereign, agency, supranational, corporation or commercial financial institution), by any one issuer or counterparty, and by type of instruments.

The Statement of Investment Policy also specifies the treatment of holdings that do not meet eligibility criteria or limits due to exceptional circumstances such as ratings downgrades.

With respect to the Statement of Investment Policy, the Account may hold fixed income securities of highly rated sovereigns, central banks, government-supported entities and supranational organizations. To be eligible for investment, an entity must have a credit rating in the top seven categories from two of four designated rating agencies (Standard & Poor's, Moody's, Fitch, and Dominion Bond Rating Service). The Account may also make deposits and execute other transactions, up to prescribed limits, with commercial financial institutions that meet the same rating criteria.

As stipulated in the Currency Act, the Minister of Finance may appoint agents to perform services concerning the Account. Through the securities-lending program, agents can lend securities only up to a prescribed maximum amount and only to a list of approved counterparties. Each borrower must enter into a Securities Loan Agreement with at least one of the agents. Borrowers are also required to provide collateral for securities borrowed, according to a specific list approved by the Government. Collateral is limited to specific security types, terms to maturity, and credit ratings.

The agents also provide an indemnity in the event of default by the borrower. The Account enters into securities lending transactions in order to increase its return on investments.

Market risk

Market risk is the risk that the fair value or future cash flows of a financial instrument will fluctuate due to changes in market prices. Market risk comprises three types of risk: interest rate risk, currency risk, and other price risk. Interest rate risk is the risk that the fair value or future cash flows of a financial instrument will fluctuate due to changes in market interest rates. Currency risk is the risk that the fair value or future cash flows of a financial instrument will fluctuate because of changes in foreign exchange rates. Other price risk is the risk that the fair value or future cash flows of a financial instrument will fluctuate because of changes in market prices, other than those arising from interest rate risk or currency risk. The Account is not exposed to significant other price risk.

Interest rate and currency risks are managed, with due consideration of the risk to the Government of Canada, through the asset-liability management policy. This policy utilizes a strategy of matching the duration structure and the currency of the Account's assets with the foreign currency borrowings of the Government of Canada that notionally finance the Account's assets. Other price risks are mitigated by holding high quality liquid assets.

Liquidity risk

Liquidity risk is the risk that an entity will encounter difficulty in meeting its obligations associated with financial liabilities. Liquidity risk is minimized by limiting the portion of the Government of Canada's foreign liabilities that needs to be renewed within a one year period. In addition, liquidity risk is mitigated by holding short-term investments that are matched to the Government of Canada's maturing liabilities in foreign currencies.

Securities lending

As at 31 March 2016, the Account's investments included securities held by its agents in connection with the securities-lending program. Investments with a fair market value of $385 million ($387 million at 31 March 2015) and an amortized cost of $387 million ($380 million at 31 March 2015) were being used in the securities-lending program.

No securities were lent to eligible borrowers at the reporting date (nil at 31 March 2015).

4. Due to the Consolidated Revenue Fund (CRF)

The Account is funded by the Government of Canada through interest-free advances from the CRF. Advances to the Account from the CRF are authorized by the Minister of Finance under the terms and conditions prescribed by the Minister of Finance. Pursuant to Section 19 of the Currency Act, these advances are limited to US $150 billion by order of the Minister of Finance effective 26 March 2015.

The CRF advances the proceeds of the Government of Canada's borrowings in foreign currencies and allocations of SDRs by IMF to the Account. Subsequent repayments of foreign currency debt are made using the assets of the Account and result in reductions of foreign currency advances from the CRF.

The Account requires Canadian-dollar advances to settle its purchases of foreign currencies. Canadian dollars received from sales of foreign currencies are remitted to the CRF. This, together with foreign currency payments made on behalf of the Government of Canada, causes reductions in the level of outstanding Canadian-dollar advances and can result in overall net deposits of Canadian dollars by the Account with the CRF.

At 31 March, advances from the CRF were comprised of the following currencies:

Table summary

The table presents, in millions of Canadian dollars, a two-year comparative of the currency composition of the advances from the CRF. It consists of three columns: a detailed listing of components; current year; previous year. The first series of rows presents the foreign currencies and SDR, followed by a subtotal for the series. The following rows present Canadian dollar and Net revenue. A final row presents the total for this table.

Currency composition of advances from the CRF
(in millions of Canadian dollars)

  2016 2015
US dollar 64,406 63,301
Euro 19,415 16,822
Japanese yen 871 2,440
British pound sterling 7,653 797
SDR 6,285 8,035
Subtotal—Foreign currencies 98,630 91,395
Canadian dollar 562 (negative 274)
Net revenue 2,187 840
Total 101,379 91,961

Public Accounts of Canada 2016 Volume I—Bottom of the page Navigation

Date modified:

État supplémentaire

Navigation de haut de page du volume I du manuel du receveur général

Compte du fonds des changes

Description du tableau

Le tableau présente, en millions de dollars canadiens, un comparatif sur deux ans de l'état de la situation financière au 31 mars. Il contient trois colonnes : une liste détaillée des composantes; l'exercice en cours; l'exercice précédent. La première série de rangées présente les actifs financiers. Elle est divisée en sous-sections avec les totaux partiels et le total associé de la série. La deuxième série de rangée présente le passif. Une rangée finale présente le total dû au Trésor.

État de la situation financière (non vérifé)
au 31 mars

(en millions de dollars canadiens)

  2016 2015
Actifs financiers
Trésorerie et équivalents de trésorerie (note 2, note 3) 5 902 695
Placements (note 2, note 3)
Titres négociables 85 046 81 442
Droits de tirage spéciaux 10 431 9 818
Or 6
Total des placements 95 477 91 266
Total des actifs financiers 101 379 91 961
Passif
Dû au Trésor (note 4) 101 379 91 961

Le sous-ministre,
ministère des Finances,
Paul Rochon

Le dirigeant principal des finances,
ministère des Finances,
Christopher Meyers, CPA, CA

Description du tableau

Le tableau présente, en millions de dollars canadiens, un comparatif sur deux ans de l'état des résultats pour l'exercice terminé le 31 mars. Il contient trois colonnes : une liste détaillée des composantes; l'exercice en cours; l'exercice précédent. La première série de rangées présente les revenus nets de placements. Elle est divisée en sous-sections avec le total associé de la série. La deuxième série de rangées présente autres comme les gains nets de change (pertes). La dernière rangée présente les revenus nets de l'exercice.

État des résultats (non vérifé)
pour l'exercice terminé le 31 mars

(en millions de dollars canadiens)

  2016 2015
Revenus nets de placements
Titres négociables
Intérêts 1 235 1 152
Gains sur la vente de titres négociables 793 238
Coûts de transaction et autres (négatif 2) (négatif 4)
Intérêts sur trésorerie et équivalents de trésorerie 7
Intérêts sur droits de tirage spéciaux 5 6
Gains sur la vente d'or 140
Total des revenus nets de placements 2 178 1 392
Autres
Gains nets de change (pertes) 9 (négatif 552)
Revenus nets de l'exercice (note 2) 2 187 840

Notes complémentaires aux états financiers pour l'exercice terminé le 31 mars 2016 (non vérifiées)

1. Mandat et objectifs

Le Compte du fonds des changes (CFC) est régi par la partie II de la Loi sur la monnaie. Le CFC est ouvert au nom du ministre des Finances et est administré par la Banque du Canada en sa qualité d'agent financier. La Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques ne s'applique pas au CFC.

La loi confère au CFC le mandat d'aider à contrôler et à protéger la valeur externe du dollar canadien. Le ministre des Finances habilite le CFC à acquérir ou à vendre les actifs jugés appropriés à cette fin, aux termes de l'Énoncé de politique de placement du CFC.

Les actifs détenus dans le CFC sont gérés en vue de fournir des liquidités en devises au gouvernement et de contribuer, s'il y a lieu, au maintien de conditions favorables au dollar canadien sur le marché des changes. À l'heure actuelle, le Canada a pour politique d'intervenir sur les marchés des changes lorsqu'il le juge à propos, plutôt que de manière systématique, et seulement dans des circonstances tout à fait exceptionnelles. Depuis septembre 1998, il n'y a eu aucune opération visant à modérer les variations du cours du dollar canadien.

Conformément à la Loi sur la monnaie, les revenus nets de l'exercice doivent être versés ou imputés au Trésor du gouvernement du Canada au cours des trois mois suivant la fin de l'exercice, et le ministre des Finances rend compte des activités du CFC au Parlement dans les 60 premiers jours de séance du Parlement suivant la fin de l'exercice. Ces états ont été préparés par le ministère des Finances.

2. Principales conventions comptables

Comme le prévoit la Loi sur la monnaie, les états financiers du CFC sont préparés en concordance avec les conventions comptables qu'utilise le gouvernement du Canada pour établir ses états financiers.

a) Constatation des revenus

Les revenus de placements sont enregistrés selon la méthode de la comptabilité d'exercice et comprennent les intérêts gagnés, l'amortissement des primes et des escomptes calculés selon la méthode de l'amortissement linéaire, les gains et pertes résultant de la vente de titres et de la vente d'or, et les revenus découlant des opérations de prêt de titres. Les intérêts s'accumulent sur les dépôts à court terme, les dépôts détenus aux termes d'engagements de rachat, les titres négociables et les droits de tirage spéciaux (DTS).

b) Constatation des charges

Les services d'administration, de garde et d'agent financier se rapportant aux opérations du CFC sont fournis et payés par la Banque du Canada et le ministère des Finances. Ces coûts n'ont pas été comptabilisés dans les états financiers.

En outre, le coût théorique du financement des actifs du CFC et les avances provenant du Trésor ne sont pas comptabilisés dans les états financiers.

c) Actifs financiers
Trésorerie et équivalents de trésorerie

La trésorerie et équivalents de trésorerie sont constitués de la trésorerie et des dépôts à court terme. Les dépôts à court terme sont présentés au coût et sont généralement détenus jusqu'à l'échéance. Le revenu qui en découle est inclus dans l'intérêt sur la trésorerie et équivalents de trésorerie.

Dépôts détenus aux termes d'engagements de rachat

Les dépôts aux termes d'engagements de rachat sont présentés au coût. Le revenu qui en découle est inclus dans le Revenu de placements provenant de titres négociables. Au 31 mars 2016 et 31 mars 2015, le CFC ne détenait aucun dépôt aux termes d'engagements de rachat.

Titres négociables

Les achats et les ventes de titres sont reconnus à la date de règlement. Les titres négociables sont présentés au coût et ajustés afin de tenir compte de l'amortissement de l'escompte ou de la prime d'émission selon la méthode de l'amortissement linéaire sur la durée jusqu'à l'échéance. La valeur comptable des titres négociables comprend les intérêts courus.

À la décomptabilisation d'un actif financier comptabilisé au coût amorti, la différence entre la valeur comptable de l'actif et la somme de la contrepartie reçue et à recevoir est comptabilisée dans le revenu net.

La valeur des dépôts à court terme, des dépôts aux termes d'engagements de rachat et des titres négociables est ramenée à la valeur recouvrable dans l'éventualité d'une baisse durable de la valeur. Les réductions de valeur liées à la baisse durable de la juste valeur des titres sont incluses dans la catégorie Revenus nets de placements de l'état des résultats.

Programme de prêt de titres

Dans le cadre du programme de prêt de titres, le CFC a conclu des ententes de représentation avec deux grandes institutions financières. Les prêts de titres sont effectués au nom du CFC par ces agents, qui les garantissent et se chargent d'obtenir les garanties nécessaires de valeur égale ou supérieure auprès des contreparties approuvées. La durée de ces opérations varie entre 1 jour et 31 jours. Les titres prêtés continuent d'être comptabilisés dans les placements. Le revenu tiré des opérations de prêt de titres est inclus dans le Total des revenus nets de placements de l'état des résultats.

Droits de tirage spéciaux

Le DTS est l'unité de compte du Fonds monétaire international (FMI), et sa valeur est déterminée en fonction d'un panier composé de quatre grandes monnaies, soit l'euro, le dollar américain, la livre sterling britannique et le yen japonais. Le 30 novembre 2015, le conseil d'administration du FMI a décidé d'inclure le renminbi chinois dans le panier du DTS à compter du 1er octobre 2016.

Les DTS sont comptabilisés originairement au coût et sont convertis par la suite à chaque date de clôture à leurs équivalents en dollars canadiens en fonction des cours du change.

Or

L'or détenu par le CFC est évalué à 35 DTS l'once d'or fin.

Conversion des devises et des droits de tirage spéciaux

Les actifs libellés en devises et en DTS sont convertis à leurs équivalents en dollars canadiens en fonction des cours du change en vigueur au 31 mars, comme suit : 

Description du tableau

Le tableau présente un comparatif sur deux ans de la conversion des devises et des droits de tirage spéciaux à leurs équivalents en dollars canadiens. Il contient trois colonnes : une liste détaillée des composantes; l'exercice en cours; l'exercice précédent.

  2016 2015
Dollar américain 1,2987 1,2666
Euro 1,4777 1,3615
Yen japonais 0,0115 0,0106
Livre sterling britannique 1,8654 1,8792
DTS 1,8296 1,7473

Les gains ou pertes découlant de la conversion des actifs et des avances provenant du Trésor libellés en devises et en DTS, ainsi que des opérations effectuées au cours de l'exercice, sont comptabilisés comme gains ou pertes nets de change et inclus dans l'état des résultats.

Les revenus de placements en devises et en DTS sont convertis en dollars canadiens aux cours du change en vigueur à la date où ils sont gagnés.

d) Utilisation d'estimations et incertitude relative à la mesure

Pour préparer les états financiers, la direction doit effectuer des estimations et formuler des hypothèses, en se fondant sur l'information disponible à la date des états financiers. Les estimations importantes sont majoritairement effectuées dans le domaine des justes valeurs des instruments financiers, y compris toute baisse (note 3).

3. Instruments financiers

Description du tableau

Le tableau présente, en millions de dollars canadiens, un comparatif sur deux ans de la juste valeur des actifs financiers. Il contient trois colonnes : une liste détaillée des composantes; 31 mars de l'exercice en cours; 31 mars de l'exercice précédent. Les colonnes des exercices en cours et précédent sont divisées respectivement en deux colonnes – Valeur comptable et Juste valeur. La première série de rangées présente la trésorerie et équivalents de trésorerie avec les diverses devises étrangères et le total pour la série. La deuxième série de rangées présente les placements par titres négociables en diverses devises étrangères, DTS et or, suivie du total pour la série. Une rangée finale présente le total des actifs financiers.

Juste valeur des actifs financiers
(en millions de dollars canadiens)

  31 mars 2016 31 mars 2015
Valeur comptable Juste valeur Valeur comptable Juste valeur
Trésorerie et équivalents de trésorerie
Dollar américain 5 303 5 303 441 441
Euro 304 304 189 189
Yen japonais 181 181 17 17
Livre sterling britannique 114 114 48 48
Total de la trésorerie et des équivalents de trésorerie 5 902 5 902 695 695
Placements
Titres négociables
Dollar américain 56 638 57 685 60 558 61 895
Euro 20 161 21 132 17 685 19 088
Yen japonais 712 720 794 797
Livre sterling britannique 7 535 7 810 2 405 2 461
Total des titres négociables 85 046 87 347 81 442 84 241
DTS 10 431 10 431 9 818 9 818
Or 6 144
Total des placements 95 477 97 778 91 266 94 203
Total des actifs financiers 101 379 103 680 91 961 94 898

La juste valeur estimative de la trésorerie et des équivalents de trésorerie correspond environ à leur valeur comptable étant donné leur échéance à court terme.

La juste valeur estimative des titres négociables est établie en fonction des cours du marché et comprend les intérêts courus. Si de tels cours ne sont pas disponibles, la juste valeur est déterminée en actualisant les flux de trésorerie futurs au moyen d'une courbe de rendement appropriée. Pendant l'exercice, et l'exercice précédent, aucun titre négociable n'a subi de réduction de valeur pour tenir compte des baisses durables de la juste valeur des titres.

Comme les DTS sont convertis à leurs équivalents en dollars canadiens en fonction des cours du change en vigueur à la date des états financiers, la valeur comptable avoisine la juste valeur à la date de clôture.

Le portefeuille des réserves d'or a été vendu au cours de l'année pour un profit de 140 millions de dollars. La juste valeur estimative de l'or en est fonction du prix établi sur le marché de Londres, qui était de 1 503,45 $ l'once d'or fin au 31 mars 2015.

Risque de crédit

Le risque de crédit est le risque qu'une partie à un contrat financier fasse subir une perte au CFC en ne s'acquittant pas de ses obligations suivant les modalités convenues.

Pour assurer une diversification prudente du portefeuille du CFC en matière de risque de crédit, l'Énoncé de politique de placement prescrit par le ministre des Finances établit des plafonds pour les avoirs selon la catégorie d'émetteurs (États souverains, organismes gouvernementaux, institutions supranationales, sociétés ou institutions financières commerciales), l'émetteur ou la contrepartie, ainsi que le type d'instrument.

L'Énoncé de politique de placement définit également le traitement réservé aux avoirs qui ne répondent pas aux critères d'admissibilité ou ne respectent pas les limites fixées en raison de circonstances exceptionnelles telles des baisses de notation.

Aux termes de l'Énoncé de politique de placement, le CFC peut détenir des titres à revenu fixe émis par des États souverains, des banques centrales, des entités à financement public ainsi que par des organisations supranationales jouissant d'une notation de crédit élevée. Pour être admissible à des fins de placement, une entité doit avoir une notation de crédit qui se situe parmi les sept plus élevées décernées par deux des quatre agences de notation désignées (Standard & Poor's, Moody's, Fitch et Dominion Bond Rating Service). Le CFC peut également effectuer des dépôts ou d'autres opérations, dans les limites des plafonds prescrits, auprès d'institutions financières commerciales jouissant d'une notation de crédit semblable.

Conformément à la Loi sur la monnaie, le ministre des Finances peut nommer des agents chargés de fournir des services relativement au CFC. Dans le cadre du programme de prêt de titres, les agents ne peuvent prêter des titres, à hauteur d'un montant maximal prescrit, qu'à des parties figurant sur une liste de contreparties admises. Chaque emprunteur doit conclure un accord de prêt de titres avec au moins un des agents. Les emprunteurs sont également tenus de donner des garanties pour les titres empruntés, selon une liste sélective approuvée par le gouvernement. Les garanties admissibles se limitent à certains types de titres et à certaines échéances et notations de crédit.

Les agents fournissent aussi une indemnité en cas de défaillance de l'emprunteur. Le CFC conclut des opérations de prêt de titres afin d'obtenir un rendement accru sur les placements.

Risque de marché

Le risque de marché est le risque que la juste valeur ou les flux de trésorerie futurs d'un instrument financier fluctuent en raison des variations de la valeur marchande. Le risque de marché comprend trois catégories de risque : le risque de taux d'intérêt, le risque de change et autres risques de prix. Le risque de taux d'intérêt est le risque que la juste valeur ou les flux de trésorerie futurs d'un instrument financier fluctuent en raison des variations des taux d'intérêt du marché. Le risque de change est le risque que la juste valeur ou les flux de trésorerie futurs d'un instrument financier fluctuent en raison des variations des cours des monnaies étrangères. Les autres risques de prix sont reliés au risque que la juste valeur ou les flux de trésorerie futurs d'un instrument financier fluctuent en raison des variations de la valeur marchande, autres que celles découlant du risque de taux d'intérêt ou du risque de change. Le CFC n'est pas exposé de façon importante à l'autre risque de prix.

Les risques de taux d'intérêt et de change sont gérés, en prenant dûment en considération les risques pour le gouvernement du Canada, selon la politique de gestion actif-passif. Cette politique consiste à apparier la structure de duration des actifs du CFC et les devises dans lesquelles ils sont libellés avec les emprunts en devises du gouvernement du Canada qui financent théoriquement les actifs du CFC. Les autres risques de prix sont atténués par la détention d'actifs liquides de qualité élevée.

Risque de liquidité

Le risque de liquidité est le risque qu'une entité éprouve des difficultés à honorer ses engagements liés à des passifs financiers. Ce risque est atténué en limitant la partie des passifs en devises du gouvernement du Canada qui doit être reconduite au cours d'une période de un an. De plus, ce risque est atténué par la détention de placements à court terme qui sont appariés aux passifs en devises du gouvernement du Canada qui viennent à échéance.

Prêt de titres

Au 31 mars 2016, les placements du CFC comprenaient des titres détenus par ses agents relativement au programme de prêt de titres. Des placements dont la juste valeur marchande s'élève à 385 millions de dollars (387 millions de dollars au 31 mars 2015) et dont le coût amorti correspond à 387 millions de dollars (380 millions de dollars au 31 mars 2015) ont été utilisés dans le cadre du programme de prêt de titres.

Aucun titre n'a été prêté aux emprunteurs admissibles à la date de clôture (néant au 31 mars 2015).

4. Dû au Trésor

Le CFC est financé par le gouvernement du Canada au moyen d'avances sans intérêts consenties par le Trésor. Le versement d'avances du Trésor au CFC est autorisé par le ministre des Finances, aux conditions fixées par celui-ci. Conformément à l'article 19 de la Loi sur la monnaie, l'encours de ces avances est limité à un plafond de 150 milliards de dollars américains aux termes d'un arrêté du ministre des Finances daté du 26 mars 2015.

Le Trésor avance au CFC le produit des emprunts en devises contractés par le gouvernement du Canada et des DTS attribués par le FMI. Les remboursements ultérieurs de la dette en devises sont effectués à l'aide des avoirs du CFC et donnent lieu à une baisse des avances en devises consenties par le Trésor.

Le CFC a besoin d'avances en dollars canadiens pour régler ses achats de devises. Le produit en dollars canadiens des ventes de devises est versé au Trésor. Ces rentrées de fonds, combinées aux paiements en devises effectués au nom du gouvernement du Canada, ont pour effet de faire baisser l'encours des avances en dollars canadiens et peuvent se traduire par des dépôts nets en dollars canadiens du CFC auprès du Trésor.

Au 31 mars, les avances provenant du Trésor étaient constituées de sommes libellées dans les monnaies suivantes : 

Description du tableau

Le tableau présente, en millions de dollars canadiens, un comparatif sur deux ans de la composition en monnaies des avances du Trésor. Il contient trois colonnes : une liste détaillée des composantes; l'exercice en cours; l'exercice précédent. La première série de rangées présente les devises étrangères et DTS, suivie d'un total partiel pour la série. Les rangées suivantes présentent Dollar canadien et Revenus nets. Une rangée finale présente le total pour ce tableau.

Composition en monnaies des avances du Trésor
(en millions de dollars canadiens)

  2016 2015
Dollar américain 64 406 63 301
Euro 19 415 16 822
Yen japonais 871 2 440
Livre sterling britannique 7 653 797
DTS 6 285 8 035
Total partiel – Devises 98 630 91 395
Dollar canadien 562 (négatif 274)
Revenus nets 2 187 840
Total 101 379 91 961

Navigation en bas de page du volume I du manuel du receveur général

Date de modification :