Introduction

Public Accounts of Canada 2016 Volume II - Top of the page Navigation

Introduction to the Public Accounts of Canada

Nature of the Public Accounts of Canada

The Public Accounts of Canada is the report of the Government of Canada prepared annually by the Receiver General, as required by section 64 of the Financial Administration Act. It covers the fiscal year of the Government, which ends on March 31.

The information contained in the report originates from two sources of data:

Each department and agency is responsible for reconciling its accounts to the control accounts of the Receiver General, and for maintaining detailed records of the transactions in their accounts.

The report covers the financial transactions of the Government during the year. In certain cases, parliamentary authority to undertake transactions was provided by legislation approved in earlier years.

Format of the Public Accounts of Canada

The Public Accounts of Canada is produced in three volumes.

Volume I presents the audited consolidated financial statements of the Government, as well as additional financial information and analyses;

Volume II presents the financial operations of the Government, segregated by ministry; and

Volume III presents supplementary information and analyses.

The content of Volume II is summarized as follows:

Summary Tables and Appendices (Section 1)

Section 1 includes summary tables which provide the summaries of the financial transactions contained in the ministerial sections.

Section 1 also includes, as appendices, the full wording of all authorities granted in current year Appropriation Acts, of all authorities granted by statutes other than Appropriation Acts, of all authorities available from previous years, of all non-lapsing authorities granted/repealed in the current year, and of all authorities for the spending of proceeds from the disposal of surplus Crown assets.

Ministerial Sections (Sections 2 to 25)

There is one section for each ministry. The department and agencies, for which a Minister is responsible to Parliament, are grouped together to provide a total ministry presentation. Each ministerial section provides a statement of the strategic outcomes and program descriptions. Each ministerial section also includes, where applicable, a uniform set of statements to present each ministry's financial operations. These statements are:

The statements in the ministerial sections are designed so that the relevant totals and sub-totals may be traced directly to a preceding statement and then to the Summary Tables in Section 1 (e.g. data in the Transfer Payments statement can be traced to the Programs statement which in turn can be traced to the Ministry Summary statement; data in the Ministry Summary statement can be traced to the Summary Tables (5, 6 and 7) in Section 1).

Volume II is designed to reflect as closely as possible the form and content of Part II of the Main Estimates. Certain Summary Tables and Appendices and the Ministry Summary in the Ministerial Sections display the source and disposition of spending authorities. The level of details provided for the source and disposition of authorities is explained below:

Public Accounts of Canada 2015 Volume II - Bottom of the page Navigation

Date modified:

Introduction

Navigation de haut de page du volume II du manuel du receveur général

Introduction aux Comptes Publics du Canada

Nature des Comptes publics du Canada

Les Comptes publics du Canada constituent le rapport du gouvernement du Canada préparé annuellement par le receveur général, comme l'exige l'article 64 de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques. Il couvre l'exercice du gouvernement se terminant le 31 mars.

L'information contenue dans le rapport provient de deux sources de données :

Chaque ministère et organisme est responsable de la conciliation de ses comptes avec les comptes de contrôle du receveur général, et tient des registres détaillés des opérations qui y sont portées.

Le rapport englobe les opérations financières du gouvernement au cours de l'exercice. Dans certains cas, l'autorisation du Parlement pour effectuer des opérations a été prévue par voie de législation approuvée au cours des exercices antérieurs.

Présentation des Comptes publics du Canada

Les Comptes publics du Canada sont publiés en trois volumes.

Le volume I présente les états financiers consolidés vérifiés du gouvernement, ainsi que des informations financières et analyses additionnelles;

Le volume II présente, par portefeuille ministériel, les opérations financières du gouvernement; et

Le volume III présente des informations et analyses supplémentaires.

Le contenu du volume II se résume comme suit :

Tableaux sommaires et Appendices (section 1)

La section 1 comprend des tableaux sommaires qui présentent le sommaire des opérations financières divulguées dans les sections ministérielles.

La section 1 comprend également, comme appendices, les libellés complets de toutes les autorisations accordées dans les lois de crédits de l'exercice, de toutes les autorisations accordées par des lois autres que les lois de crédits, de toutes les autorisations disponibles des exercices antérieurs, de toutes les autorisations permanentes accordées/abrogées au cours de l'exercice, ainsi que de toutes les autorisations relatives à la dépense des produits de la vente de biens excédentaires de l'État.

Sections ministérielles (sections 2 à 25)

Il y a une section pour chaque portefeuille ministériel. Les programmes du ministère et des organismes pour lesquels un ministre est responsable au Parlement sont groupés ensemble afin de fournir une présentation ministérielle globale. Chaque section ministérielle présente un énoncé des résultats stratégiques et des descriptions des programmes. Chaque section ministérielle comprend également, s'il y a lieu, un ensemble uniforme d'états afin de présenter les opérations financières de chaque portefeuille ministériel. Ces états sont :

Les états dans les sections ministérielles sont conçus pour que les totaux et sous-totaux pertinents puissent être directement retracés à un état qui précède et ensuite aux Tableaux sommaires de la section 1 (e.g. les données de l'état des Paiements de transfert peuvent être retracées à l'état des Programmes, lesquelles peuvent ensuite être retracées au Sommaire du portefeuille ministériel; les données du Sommaire du portefeuille ministériel peuvent être retracées aux Tableaux sommaires (5, 6 et 7) de la section 1).

Le volume II est conçu de façon à refléter d'aussi près que possible le format et le contenu de la partie II du Budget principal des dépenses. Certains Tableaux sommaires et Appendices et le Sommaire du portefeuille ministériel des sections ministérielles montrent la provenance et l'utilisation des autorisations de dépenses. Les renseignements fournis pour ce qui est de la provenance et de l'utilisation des autorisations sont expliqués ci-dessous :

Navigation en bas de page du volume II du manuel du receveur général

Date de modification :