CD 2012-003

Information: GCintranet disclaimer

This information is only accessible from inside the Government of Canada network.

Subject: Public Service Health Care Plan (PSHCP) Weekly Coverage File Submitted to Sun Life

February 3, 2012

1. Purpose

1.1. The purpose of this directive is to clarify to compensation advisors the administrative changes since the launch of the Public Service Health Care Plan (PSHCP) weekly coverage file sent to Sun Life Assurance Company of Canada (Sun Life).

Note: Throughout this directive, it will refer to the Compensation Web Applications (CWA); however, compensation advisors without CWA access must input the transactions using the Regional Pay System (RPS).

2. Related Documents

2.1. This directive should be read in conjunction with the following compensation directives from the Compensation Web site and the Information Notice from the Treasury Board Secretariat (TBS) Web site. When the information contained in this directive differs in regard to the procedural administration of the PSHCP, the information reported in this directive supersedes all others.

2.2. ARCHIVED CD 2010-006 - Launch of the Public Service Health Care Plan (PSHCP) Self-Service Web Application, Changes to PSHCP Input Screens in the On-Line Pay System, and Changes to the Format and Issuance of PSHCP Certificate Numbers Effective May 3, 2010 dated April 12, 2010, and revised July 8, 2011;

ARCHIVED CD 2008-019 - Two New Recovery Codes for Public Service Health Care Plan (PSHCP) Deficiencies to be Used for an Authorized Leave Without Pay (LWOP) Period dated October 28, 2008, and revised April 24, 2009;

ARCHIVED CD 2006-022 - Changes to the Public Service Health Care Plan (PSHCP) Effective April 1, 2006 dated September 27, 2006, and revised October 2, 2006;

ARCHIVED CD 2003-004 - Contribution Payments from Employees on Leave Without Pay (LWOP) in Respect to Insurance Plans dated April 10, 2003, and revised March 4, 2004; and

Public Service Health Care Plan; New Eligibility Feed Transition and Future Administration Process from TBS Web site.

3. Background

3.1. TBS requested that Public Works and Government Services Canada (PWGSC) change the data and the frequency of PSHCP members' information being reported to Sun Life.

3.2. Complying with TBS' request, PWGSC developed the weekly coverage file that is sent to Sun Life every Tuesday morning, to replace the monthly remittance file. The coverage file is produced by using information contained in CWA and in RPS.

4. Procedures/Instructions

4.1. The coverage file contains the following data information:

  • From RPS
    1. Surname,
    2. Initials,
    3. Date of birth,
    4. Gender,
    5. Department code,
    6. Pay list,
    7. Pay office, and
    8. Status (employee, pensioner, survivor, etc.).
  • From CWA
    1. Certificate number,
    2. Coverage start date,
    3. Coverage end date,
    4. Coverage type (single or family),
    5. Hospital level (I, II, or III), and
    6. Coverage category (supplementary or comprehensive).

4.1.1. Sun Life's systems are unable to process more than one data element change per member, per weekly coverage file. Therefore, compensation advisors will have to be careful not to process more than one transaction in CWA and/or in RPS to be transmitted in the same weekly coverage file.

Note: In order to be included in the weekly coverage file, the change must be finalized in both CWA and/or RPS before Tuesday morning, if not the change will be included in the next weekly coverage file.

4.2. Period of Leave Without Pay

4.2.1. If an employee was on leave without pay (LWOP) before March 2011 and a Contribution Remittance for Period of Leave Without Pay form (PWGSC-TPSGC 2278 - Contribution Remittance For Period of Leave Without Pay (PSHCP) - This information is only accessible to federal government employees, and only to federal departments and agencies.) was not sent to the Financial and Payroll Accounting Division (FPAD), the compensation advisors will have to contact Sun Life to reactivate the coverage manually.

4.2.2. As of May 2011, when the compensation advisor receives a written notification from an employee that he wishes to suspend his PSHCP coverage, the compensation advisor must process a "deduction stop" in CWA. When the employee returns to work, the compensation advisor will reinstate the coverage via CWA with a new coverage start date. The compensation advisor must also advise returning employees that they must re-submit their positive enrolment information on-line at Sun Life Web site or by submitting a paper application. The enrolment form can be obtained by contacting Sun Life at 613-247-5100 in the National Capital Region, or at 1-888-757-7427 in all other regions.

Important: The compensation advisor must manually change the effective date of coverage that CWA will populate for a returning member who declined coverage during a period of LWOP, because a 3-month waiting period is automatically imposed by the system.

4.2.3. Only a change to the type of coverage transaction (from single to family or vice-versa) can be processed when the account is in LWOP status.

4.3. Seasonal Employees

4.3.1. A written notice to cancel PSHCP coverage is not required for seasonal employees. If the seasonal employee does not make his payment within the allotted time (see the Insurance Administration Manual (IAM) (IAM 2.13.5), the compensation advisor will have to stop the coverage in CWA and reinstate the coverage when the employee returns to work. The compensation advisor must also advise the returning employee that he must re-submit his positive enrolment information in the same manner as described in section 4.2.2. of this directive.

4.4. Transfer In (TIN) and Transfer Out (TOU)

4.4.1. Compensation advisors must verify that there is no overlap or lapse of coverage when a TIN/TOU is processed between two different pay offices (PO).

Example: An employee is transferred from PO 36 STC to PO 62 SVC effective January 19, 2011. The transfer is not processed in the RPS until May 5, 2011.

CWA will automatically generate a deduction stop transaction when a TOU transaction is created. While the employee may have started in his new position in January, but because the pay account was not transferred until May, the coverage stop date reported to Sun Life will be the last day of the month following the date the TOU was processed. In this example, the TOU is processed in May and therefore, the coverage end date reported to Sun Life will be June 30, 2011.

The compensation advisors from SVC must then process a coverage start date in CWA of July 1, 2011.

Note: The compensation advisor must be very careful to distinguish between the deduction effective date in RPS and the coverage start date in CWA to ensure double deductions are not taken.

4.5. Dual Employment

4.5.1. When an employee is on LWOP and accepts a position in another department, it is the responsibility of the home department to ensure that the proper PSHCP contribution is collected and remitted in order to maintain coverage. The home department should not process any transaction in CWA.

Important: The contributions, received by the home department during periods of dual employment, should only include the employee share (single rate).

For special cases of extended dual employment periods, special arrangements can be negotiated between the two departments.

4.5.2. If the employee decides not to maintain his PSHCP coverage (opt out) at anytime during his LWOP, the home department needs to report a coverage stop date in CWA. If the employee accepts a position in another department and qualifies for the PSHCP, then the host department must reinstate coverage in CWA. The procedures stated in section 4.2.2. of this directive apply.

4.6. Lay-off - Work Force Adjustment Directive (WFAD)

4.6.1. A member who opts to continue coverage following a WFAD decision, the compensation advisor must complete form PWGSC-TPSGC 2278 - Contribution Remittance For Period of Leave Without Pay (PSHCP) - This information is only accessible to federal government employees, and only to federal departments and agencies. and send it to FPAD with the payment. A transaction in CWA will report a coverage end date of the last day of the month following the month of discharge. As a result, the compensation advisor must contact Sun Life and request the reported coverage end date be manually adjusted to reflect the period requested by the member, which can be up to one year.

4.7. Pregnancy

4.7.1. Special considerations are given to pregnant members who cease to be employed or to the pregnant survivor of a deceased member who wish to continue their coverage. In these situations, the coverage can be maintained until the end of the pregnancy if the required contributions are made. See IAM 2.14.4 for more details. The compensation advisors must follow the same process as described in section 4.5.1. of this directive.

5. Inquiries

5.1. Any inquiries on the information contained in this document should be addressed to your PWGSC Compensation Services Office.

Original Signed by
Carrie E. Roussin

Carrie E. Roussin
Director General
Compensation Sector
Accounting, Banking and Compensation

Reference(s): CJA 9224-14-3 9242-5-2

DR 2012-003

Information : Désistement de responsabilité de GCintranet

Cette information est accessible seulement à l'intérieur du réseau du gouvernement du Canada.

Objet : Fichier hebdomadaire sur la protection du Régime de soins de santé de la fonction publique (RSSFP) envoyé à la Sun Life

Le 3 février 2012

1. But

1.1. La présente directive vise à clarifier aux conseillers en rémunération les changements administratifs depuis le lancement du fichier hebdomadaire sur la protection sous le Régime de soins de santé de la fonction publique (RSSFP) envoyé à la Sun Life du Canada, Compagnie d'Assurance-Vie (Sun Life).

Remarque : Tout au long de cette directive, on réfère aux applications Web de la rémunération (AWR); toutefois, les conseillers en rémunération qui n'ont pas accès à l'AWR doivent entrer les mouvements dans le Système régional de paye (SRP).

2. Documents connexes

2.1. La présente directive doit être lue en parallèle avec les directives sur la rémunération du site Web de la rémunération énumérées ci-dessous et du bulletin d'information du site Web du Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor (SCT). L'information contenue dans la présente directive remplace toute information contradictoire qui pourrait se trouver dans d'autres directives sur la rémunération en ce qui a trait aux changements administratifs du RSSFP.

2.2. ARCHIVÉE DR 2010-006 - Lancement de l'application Web en libre-service du Régime de soins de santé de la fonction publique (RSSFP), modifications des écrans de saisie relatifs au RSSFP dans le Système en direct de la paye et modifications apportées au format et à la délivrance des numéros de certificat du RSSFP , en vigueur à compter du 3 mai 2010 datée du 12 avril 2010 et révisée le 8 juillet 2011;

ARCHIVÉE DR 2008-019 - Deux nouveaux codes à utiliser pour le recouvrement des cotisations en souffrance aux termes du Régime de soins de santé de la fonction publique (RSSFP) pour une période autorisée de congé non payé (CNP) datée du 28 octobre 2008 et révisée le 24 avril 2009;

ARCHIVÉE DR 2006-022 - Modifications au Régime de soins de santé de la fonction publique (RSSFP) depuis le 1er avril 2006 datée du 27 septembre 2006 et révisée le 2 octobre 2006;

ARCHIVÉE DR 2003-004 - Paiement par les employés en congé non payé (CNP) des cotisations relatives aux régimes d'assurance datée du 10 avril 2003 et révisée le 4 mars 2004;

Le Régime de soins de santé de la fonction publique - Transition au nouveau processus d'acheminement et d'administration des fichiers d'admissibilité du site Web du SCT.

3. Contexte

3.1. Le SCT a demandé à Travaux publics et Services gouvernementaux Canada (TPSGC) de changer les données sur les participants au RSSFP envoyés à la Sun Life , ainsi que la fréquence d'envoi de ces renseignements.

3.2. Pour donner suite à la demande du SCT, TPSGC a créé le fichier hebdomadaire sur la protection, qui est transmit à la Sun Life tous les mardis matins, pour remplacer le fichier mensuel sur les remises. Le fichier sur la protection est produit avec les renseignements contenus dans l'AWR et dans le SRP.

4. Procédures Instructions

4.1. Le fichier sur la protection contient les renseignements sur les données suivantes :

  • Du SRP
    1. Nom de famille;
    2. Initiales;
    3. Date de naissance;
    4. Sexe;
    5. Code du ministère;
    6. Liste de paye;
    7. Bureau de paye;
    8. État (employé, pensionné, survivant, etc.).
  • De l'AWR
    1. Numéro de certificat;
    2. Date de début de la protection;
    3. Date de fin de la protection;
    4. Type de protection (individuelle ou familiale);
    5. Niveau de protection de la garantie-hospitalisation (I, II ou III);
    6. Catégorie de protection (supplémentaire ou totale).

4.1.1. Les systèmes de la Sun Life ne peuvent pas traiter plus d'un changement à l'une des données par participant dans le même fichier hebdomadaire sur la protection. Les conseillers en rémunération devront donc prendre garde de ne pas traiter plus d'un mouvement dans le SRP et/ou dans l'AWR pour être transmis sur le même fichier hebdomadaire sur la protection.

Remarque : Afin de figurer dans le fichier hebdomadaire sur la protection, un changement doit être finalisé dans l'AWR et/ou dans le SRP avant le mardi matin, sinon le changement sera envoyé dans le prochain fichier hebdomadaire sur la protection.

4.2. Période de congé non payé

4.2.1. Si un employé était en congé non payé (CNP) avant mars 2011 et qu'aucun formulaire de Remise des cotisations dans le cas de congé non payé (PWGSC-TPSGC 2278 - Remise des Cotisations dans le Cas de Congé Non Payé (RSSFP) - Cette information n'est accessible qu'aux fonctionnaires fédéraux, et qu'aux ministères et organismes fédéraux.) n'a été envoyé à la Division des finances et de la comptabilité de la paye (DFCP), le conseiller en rémunération devra communiquer avec la Sun Life pour réactiver manuellement la protection.

4.2.2. Depuis mai 2011, quand le conseiller en rémunération reçoit un avis écrit d'un employé qu'il veut suspendre sa protection du RSSFP, le conseiller en rémunération doit effectuer un mouvement « retenues arrêter » dans l'AWR. Le conseiller en rémunération devra rétablir la protection avec une nouvelle date d'entrée en vigueur dans l'AWR lorsque l'employé sera de retour au travail. Le conseiller en rémunération doit aussi aviser les employés qui reviennent au travail de refaire leur adhésion préalable en ligne sur le site Web de la Sun Life, ou en soumettant un formulaire papier. Le formulaire d'adhésion peut être obtenu en téléphonant à la Sun Life au 613-247-5100 dans la région de la capitale nationale ou au 1-888-757-7427 dans toutes les autres régions.

Important : Le conseiller en rémunération doit changer manuellement la date d'entrée en vigueur de la protection, car l'AWR imposera automatiquement une période d'attente de 3 mois à un employé qui revient et qui avait refusé de maintenir sa protection pendant son CNP.

4.2.3. Seul un mouvement pour changer le type de protection (d'individuelle à familiale ou vice-versa) peut être effectué lorsque le compte est en situation de CNP.

4.3. Employé saisonnier

4.3.1. Un avis écrit d'annulation de sa protection du RSSFP n'est pas requis pour un employé saisonnier. Si l'employé saisonnier ne paie pas la cotisation requise dans les délais prescrits (voir le guide sur l'Administration des régimes d'assurances (ARA) (ARA 2.13.5) le conseiller en rémunération devra arrêter la protection dans l'AWR et rétablir la protection en se servant de l'AWR quand l'employé sera revenu au travail. Le conseiller en rémunération doit aussi aviser les employés qui reviennent de refaire leur adhésion préalable telle que mentionnée dans la section 4.2.2. de cette directive.

4.4. Mutation d'entrée (MUE) et mutation de sortie (MUS)

4.4.1. Le conseiller en rémunération doit vérifier qu'il n'y a pas de chevauchement ni d'écart de protection quand une MUE/MUS est traitée entre deux bureaux de paye (BP) différents.

Exemple : Un employé est muté du BP 36 STC au BP 62 SVC le 19 janvier 2011. La mutation est seulement traitée dans le SRP le 5 mai 2011.

L'AWR effectuera automatiquement un mouvement d'arrêt de retenue lorsqu'un mouvement de MUS est créé. Même si l'employé a commencé dans sa nouvelle position en janvier, parce que le compte de paye n'a pas été transféré avant mai, la date de cessation de la protection, qui sera rapportée à la Sun Life , sera le dernier jour du mois après la date du traitement de la MUS. Dans l'exemple ci-haut, la MUS a été traitée en mai, donc la date de l'arrêt de la protection qui sera envoyée à la Sun Life sera le 30 juin 2011.

Le conseiller en rémunération du SVC doit ensuite entrer la date d'entrée en vigueur de la protection du 1er juillet 2011 dans l'AWR.

Remarque : Le conseiller en rémunération doit faire attention à ne pas confondre la date d'entrée en vigueur de la retenue dans le SRP et la date de début de la protection dans l'AWR, afin de s'assurer qu'il n'y ait pas deux retenues de prises.

4.5. Double emploi

4.5.1. Lorsqu'un employé en CNP accepte un poste dans un autre ministère, le ministère d'attache est tenu de s'assurer que la cotisation au RSSFP appropriée est remise aux fins de maintien de la protection. Le ministère d'attache ne doit pas traiter de mouvement dans l'AWR.

Important : Les cotisations reçues par le ministère d'attache pendant une période de double emploi doit seulement comprendre la quote-part de l'employé (taux simple).

Des dispositions spéciales peuvent être négociées entre les deux ministères pour des situations prolongées de double emploi.

4.5.2. Si à n'importe quel moment durant son CNP, l'employé décide de se retirer du RSSFP (choisit de cesser de participer), le ministère d'attache doit entrer la date d'arrêt de la protection dans l'AWR. Si l'employé accepte un poste dans un autre ministère et se qualifie pour le RSSFP, le ministère d'accueil doit réinstaurer la protection dans l'AWR. Les procédures mentionnées à la section 4.2.2. de cette directive s'appliquent.

4.6. Mise en disponibilité - Directive sur le réaménagement des effectifs (DRE)

4.6.1. Si un membre décide de maintenir sa protection sous les termes de la DRE, le conseiller en rémunération doit remplir le formulaire PWGSC-TPSGC 2278 - Remise des Cotisations dans le Cas de Congé Non Payé (RSSFP) - Cette information n'est accessible qu'aux fonctionnaires fédéraux, et qu'aux ministères et organismes fédéraux. et l'envoyé à DFCP avec le paiement. Un mouvement dans l'AWR rapportera que la protection prend fin le dernier jour du mois suivant le mois de la mise à pied. Le conseiller en rémunération devra donc communiquer avec la Sun Life pour qu'il change manuellement la date de fin de la protection telle que demandé par le membre, mais qui ne doit pas excéder un an.

4.7. Grossesse

4.7.1. Une considération spéciale est donnée aux membres qui cessent d'être employés en cours de grossesse ou lorsque la survivante d'un membre décédé est enceinte et veulent continuer leur protection. Dans ces situations, la protection peut être maintenue jusqu'à la fin de la grossesse si les cotisations requises sont remises. Voir l'ARA 2.14.4 pour plus de détails. Le conseiller en rémunération doit suivre les mêmes procédures que celles mentionnées dans la section 4.5.1. de cette directive.

5. Demandes de renseignements

5.1. Toute demande de renseignements sur le contenu de ce document doit être adressée à votre bureau des services de rémunération de TPSGC.

Directeur général
Secteur de la rémunération
Comptabilité, gestion bancaire et rémunération

Carrie E. Roussin
a signé l'original

Carrie E. Roussin

Référence(s) : 9006-13-1, 9006-13-4