CD 2012-007

Information: GCintranet disclaimer

This information is only accessible from inside the Government of Canada network.

Subject: Elimination of the Parking Benefit for Certain Management Category Employees

June 5, 2012

1. Purpose

1.1. The purpose of this directive is to inform compensation advisors of the Treasury Board Secretariat’s (TBS) decision to eliminate the parking benefits for management category employees in the following Bargaining Unit Designators (BUD) Groups:

  • EX-01 to EX-05 (BUD 10200)
  • DS-7A, DS-7B, DS-8 (BUD 22900)
  • LC-01 to LC-04 (BUD 10600 and 10601)

1.2. A notice of information to employees concerning the above subject has been included with this Compensation Directive and will also be posted in the "Public Service Employee" page of the Compensation Sector Web site.

2. Background

2.1. Currently, the terms and conditions of employment for management category employees in the groups listed above include a parking benefit.

2.2. Employees either send their parking receipts to compensation services in order to receive a partial reimbursement or have a subsidized parking payroll deduction. In both situations, the parking benefit is a taxable benefit and is reported on the employees tax slips (T4, Relevé 1).

3. Policy

3.1. Effective July 1, 2012, the TBS will eliminate the parking benefit for certain management category employees. Employees in the specified groups above will no longer be eligible to the employer paid portion (50%) of the monthly parking expense incurred. 

4. Procedures/Instructions

4.1. The Regional Pay System (RPS) cannot be modified to add specific edits to prevent parking reimbursements with the entitlement code 281 (Reimbursement for Parking) or subsidized parking deductions with code 739 (Subsidized Parking), 839 (Subsidized Parking Arrears), 969 (Subsidized Parking-Quebec) or 972 (Subsidized Parking-Quebec Arrears) and the reference code "001" (taxable benefit for employees in the management category eligible for subsidized parking) for these employees. Compensation advisors must ensure that any new parking transactions submitted in the RPS with these codes and an effective date of July 1, 2012, or later, are done for eligible employees only.

4.2. Reimbursements

4.2.1. When an employee in the specified groups listed in section 1.1 gives a parking receipt for a reimbursement representing 50% of the monthly expense incurred prior to July 1, 2012, the compensation advisor will input an Entitlement Commence (ENC/PAC18C) transaction with the entitlement code 281. The "Effective From" (field 63) and "Effective To" (field 64) dates must reflect the month in which the expense occurred.

4.2.2. Reimbursement of the parking expense incurred on and after July 1, 2012, for employees in these groups is not permitted. Compensation advisors must return the parking receipt to the employees and refer them to the notice of information to employees included in this Compensation Directive.

4.2.3. If a reimbursement was made in error on or after July 1, 2012, the compensation advisors will inform the employee that he is no longer eligible to a parking reimbursement and will input an Entitlement Recover (ENR/PAC 18R 281) transaction to recover the erroneous reimbursement from the employee’s pay.

4.2.4. Public Works and Government Services Canada (PWGSC) will process a bulk stop effective July 1, 2012, of any ongoing parking reimbursements with code 281 for these employees, and will provide a report of the affected accounts to departments.

4.3. Payroll deductions

4.3.1. PWGSC will also process a bulk stop of all subsidized parking deductions for the employees in these groups with either deduction code 739 or 969 and the reference code "001" in field 71 (account coding/contract number), and will provide a report listing the affected accounts to departments.

Compensation advisors must not process any arrears deduction with codes 839 or 972 for parking deductions covering the month of July 2012 or later.

4.3.2. Those employees that had a payroll deduction for parking remain eligible to have the parking deducted from their pay. The compensation advisor will input a Deduction Commence (DEC/PAC 16C) transaction effective July 1, 2012, with the deduction code 541 (Parking) or 968 (Parking-Quebec) to deduct the full parking rate from the employee’s pay.

4.3.3. If the employee does not pay the Market Rates For Parking - This information is only accessible to federal government employees, and only to federal departments and agencies., or receives subsidized parking under the Policy on the Duty to Accommodate Persons with Disabilities in the Federal Public Service - This information is only accessible to federal government employees, and only to federal departments and agencies., please see the Compensation Directive CD 2011-001 for input instructions with the applicable reference codes. 

4.3.4. If a subsidized deduction was done in error effective July 1, 2012, or later, the compensation dvisor will input a Deduction Refund (DER/PAC 16R) transaction with the subsidized parking deduction code, and a Deduction Commence (DEC/PAC 16C) transaction with the regular parking deduction codes (541 or 968).

5. Inquiries

5.1. Any inquiries on the information contained in this document should be addressed to your Public Works and Government Services Canada (PWGSC) Compensation Services Office.

Original Signed by
Jeff Marcantonio

Carrie E. Roussin
Director General
Compensation Sector
Accounting, Banking and Compensation

Reference(s): CJA 9006-1

Information Notice to Employees

Termination of the Parking Benefit for Management Category Employees

The purpose of this notice is to inform you of the Treasury Board Secretariat’s (TBS) decision to eliminate the parking benefit for employees in the management category under the following groups:

  • EX-01 to EX-05
  • DS-7A, DS-7B, DS-8
  • LC-01 to LC-04

Effective date

The TBS President has determined the effective date of this change as July 1, 2012.

Reimbursements

As you may be aware, reimbursements for parking are considered a taxable benefit and are reported on your tax slips (T4 and Relevé 1, if applicable).

You may still give to your compensation advisor any receipts for parking expenses incurred before July 1, 2012, to receive a reimbursement that represents 50% of the actual cost for your parking space.

As of July 1, 2012, you are no longer eligible for a reimbursement of the employer paid portion for your parking.

Payroll Deductions

Currently, your subsidized parking deduction represents 50% of the actual cost for your parking space. The remaining 50%, which is paid by the employer, is reported as a taxable benefit on your tax slips. Effective July 1, 2012, your compensation advisor will start a new deduction in order to deduct the full parking rate from your pay.

For the 2012 taxation year, a parking taxable benefit will be reported on your tax slips only for the months where you had a subsidized parking deduction. There is no taxable benefit when you pay the full market rate for your parking space.

Please contact your compensation services if you have any questions regarding the information contained in this notice.

DR 2012-007

Information : Désistement de responsabilité de GCintranet

Cette information est accessible seulement à l'intérieur du réseau du gouvernement du Canada.

Objet : Élimination de l'avantage lié au stationnement pour certains employés de la catégorie de gestion

Le 5 juin 2012

1. But

1.1. La présente directive vise à informer les conseillers en rémunération de la décision du Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor (SCT) d'éliminer l'avantage lié au stationnement pour les employés de la catégorie de gestion dont les groupes désignés par un code indicatif d'unité de négociation (IUN) sont indiqués ci-dessous :

  • De EX-01 à EX-05 (IUN 10200)
  • DS-7A, DS-7B et DS-8 (IUN 22900)
  • De LC-01 à LC-04 (IUN 10600 et 10601)

1.2. Un avis d'information aux employés est annexé à la présente directive. Cet avis sera également affiché sur la page « Employé dans la fonction publique » du site Web du Secteur de la rémunération.

2. Contexte

2.1. À l'heure actuelle, les conditions d'emploi des employés de la catégorie de gestion des groupes susmentionnés comprennent un avantage lié au stationnement.

2.2. Les employés envoient leurs reçus de stationnement aux services de rémunération afin d'obtenir un remboursement partiel ou disposent d'une retenue à la source de stationnement subventionnée. Dans les deux cas, l'avantage lié au stationnement constitue un avantage imposable et est indiqué sur les relevés d'impôt des employés (T4, Relevé 1).

3. Politique

3.1. À compter du 1er juillet 2012, le SCT éliminera l'avantage lié au stationnement pour certains employés de la catégorie de gestion. Les employés des groupes mentionnés ci-haut ne pourront plus recevoir la portion de leurs frais de stationnement mensuels payée par l'employeur (50 %).

4. Procédures et instructions

4.1. On ne peut pas ajouter au Système régional de paye (SRP) des contrôles qui permettraient d'éviter d'octroyer des remboursements au titre du stationnement avec le code de versement 281 (Remboursement des frais de stationnement) ou d'appliquer des retenues liées aux places de stationnement subventionnées avec le code 739 (Stationnement subventionné), 839 (Stationnement subventionné – Arrérages), 969 (Stationnement subventionné – Québec) ou 972 (Stationnement subventionné – Arrérages – Québec) et le code de référence « 001 » (avantage imposable des employés d'un groupe de direction admissibles à une place de stationnement subventionnée) pour ces employés. Les conseillers en rémunération doivent veiller à ce que tout nouveau mouvement relatif au stationnement entré dans le SRP avec ces codes et une date effective du 1er juillet 2012 ou après, le soit uniquement pour les employés admissibles.

4.2. Remboursements

4.2.1. Si un employé des groupes concernés énumérés sous la section 1.1. remet un reçu de tationnement pour recevoir un remboursement de 50 % des frais de stationnement mensuels engagés avant le 1er juillet 2012, le conseiller en rémunération saisira un mouvement Versement-Commencer (VRC/CIP 18C) avec le code de versement 281. La date « En vigueur du » (zone 63) et la date « En vigueur jusqu'au » (zone 64) doivent indiquer le mois au cours duquel la dépense a été engagée.

4.2.2. Le remboursement des frais de stationnement engagés le 1er juillet 2012 ou après par les employés de ces groupes ne sera pas permis. Les conseillers en rémunération doivent retourner les reçus de stationnement aux employés et les inviter à consulter l'avis d'information aux employés inclus dans la présente directive sur la rémunération.

4.2.3. Si un remboursement a été saisi par erreur le ou après le 1er juillet 2012, il incombera aux conseillers en rémunération d'informer l'employé qu'il n'est plus éligible au remboursement de stationnement et saisira un mouvement Versement-Recouvrer (VRR/CIP 18R 281) afin de recouvrer le remboursement erroné de la paie de l'employé.

4.2.4. Effectif le 1er juillet 2012, Travaux publics et Services gouvernementaux Canada (TPSGC) traitera, pour ces employés, un arrêt en bloc des remboursements continus au titre du stationnement avec le code 281, et fournira un rapport des comptes affectés aux ministères.

4.3. Retenues à la source

4.3.1. TPSGC effectuera un arrêt en bloc de toutes les retenues liées au stationnement subventionné pour les employés des groupes concernés avec le code de retenue 739 ou 969 et le code de référence « 001 » dans la zone 71 (codage des comptes/numéro de contrat) et fournira une liste des comptes affectés aux ministères.

En ce qui a trait aux retenues pour les frais de stationnement engagés en juillet 2012 ou après, les conseillers en rémunération ne doivent pas traiter les retenues pour les arriérés avec le code 839 ou 972.

4.3.2. Les employés qui avaient une retenue à la source pour le stationnement pourront continuer de payer leurs frais de stationnement de cette manière. Le conseiller en rémunération saisira un mouvement Retenues-Commencer (RTC/CIP 16C) à compter du 1er juillet 2012 avec le code de retenue 541 (Stationnement) ou 968 (Stationnement- Québec) pour déduire le plein tarif de stationnement sur la paye de l'employé.

4.3.3. Si l'employé ne paie pas les taux du marché pour le stationnement - Cette information n'est accessible qu'aux fonctionnaires fédéraux, et qu'aux ministères et organismes fédéraux. ou s'il reçoit une place de stationnement subventionnée en vertu de la Politique sur l'obligation de prendre des mesures d'adaptation pour les personnes handicapées dans la fonction publique fédérale - Cette information n'est accessible qu'aux fonctionnaires fédéraux, et qu'aux ministères et organismes fédéraux., veuillez consulter la directive sur la rémunération (DR 2011-001) pour obtenir des instructions de saisie et les codes de référence applicables.

4.3.4. Si, après le ou après le 1er juillet 2012, une retenue de stationnement subventionné a été saisie par erreur, le conseiller en rémunération saisira un mouvement Retenues-Rembourser (RTR/CIP 16R) avec le code de retenue lié aux places de stationnement subventionnées, et un mouvement Retenues-Commencer (RTC/CIP 16C) avec le code de retenue habituels au titre du stationnement (541 ou 968).

5. Demandes de renseignements

5.1. Toute demande de renseignements sur le contenu de ce document doit être adressée à votre bureau des services de rémunération de Travaux publics et services gouvernementaux Canada (TPSGC).

Directeur général
Secteur de la rémunération
Comptabilité, gestion bancaire et rémunération

Jeff Marcantonio
a signé l'original

Carrie E. Roussin

Référence(s) : CJA 9006-1

Avis d'information aux employés

Élimination de l'avantage lié au stationnement pour des employés de la catégorie de gestion

Le présent avis vise à vous informer de la décision du Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor (SCT) d'éliminer l'avantage lié au stationnement des employés de la catégorie de gestion appartenant aux groupes suivants :

  • De EX-01 à EX-05
  • DS-7A, DS-7B et DS-8
  • De LC-01 à LC-04

Date d'entrée en vigueur

Le président du SCT a déterminé que ce changement entrera en vigueur le 1er juillet 2012.

Remboursements

Comme vous le savez peut-être, le remboursement des frais de stationnement constitue un avantage imposable et est indiqué sur vos relevés d'impôt (T4 et Relevé 1, le cas échéant).

Vous pouvez encore remettre à votre conseiller en rémunération vos reçus de stationnement pour les dépenses engagées avant le 1er juillet 2012 afin de recevoir un remboursement qui correspond à 50 % du coût réel de votre place de stationnement.

À compter du 1er juillet 2012, vous ne pourrez plus recevoir le remboursement de la portion des frais de stationnement payée par l'employeur.

Retenues à la source

Actuellement, la retenue liée à votre place de stationnement subventionnée correspond à la moitié (50 %) du coût réel de votre place de stationnement. L'autre moitié est payée par l'employeur et est déclarée à titre d'avantage imposable sur vos relevés d'impôt. À compter du 1er juillet 2012, votre conseiller en rémunération appliquera une nouvelle retenue en vue de déduire le plein tarif de stationnement de votre paye.

Pour l'année d'imposition de 2012, un avantage imposable au titre du stationnement sera indiqué sur vos relevés d'impôt uniquement pour les mois où vous aviez une retenue liée aux places de stationnement subventionnées. Vous n'aurez pas d'avantage imposable lorsque vous paierez votre place de stationnement au plein tarif.

Veuillez communiquer avec votre service de rémunération si vous avez des questions concernant les renseignements contenus dans le présent avis.