Annex: Measures to stabilize the pay system and ensure that employees receive accurate and timely pay

From Public Services and Procurement Canada

Background: CAS has taken a series of measures that reflect CAS’s current situation. These measures take into account the fact that our pay services are internal and that we adopted My GCHR on March 21, 2016, and Phoenix on March 21, 2016.

Objective Measures Indicators

Establish an HR-to-Pay team within our department for government-wide efforts

Ensure your team members have the appropriate level and authority to represent your interests and mandates on stabilization committees and interest groups: CAS ensures representation on the various committees and working groups to the extent of its ability. In 2016 and 2017, CAS was actively represented on data alignment working groups both for employment records and for implementation of collective agreements.

The compensation, staffing, systems and finance teams are working closely to resolve issues under their control. To do so, they can count on the support of their manager and executive management.

HR-to-Pay team established: Yes. The team is working together. CAS has also increased number of compensation positions to have a compensation advisor who focuses solely on settling complex cases, reporting and accountability. Furthermore, the HR systems team has made a major contribution to the successful continuation of operations by assuming a portion of the data cleanup. More specifically, CAS has contributed to the government-wide effort by allocating a full-time resource for 3 months at PSPC for data alignment that impact on the accuracy of employment records of CAS employees.

Number of requests from your Minister and the Integrated Team answered: We have not recorded the number of requests, but there were many, as much quarterly, monthly, weekly and daily. We respond within the prescribed timeframe based on the type of demand, from the dashboard, to emergency salary advances, reviewing implementation of collective agreements and over- and underpayments.

Report on your progress on HR-to-Pay stabilization priorities

Ensure departmental expertise is in place to manage internal workload and that the necessary infrastructure to analyze and respond to data requests, in respect to the monitoring framework is established through the governance structure: The Compensation Team is still at CAS, which is helping us gain a much better appreciation of the necessary expertise and infrastructure needs. The workload is being managed by supervisors from the various sections under the supervision of the Director General of HR. Regular updates are provided to executive management.

Amount of time (person hours) contributed to reporting requests from the Integrated Team within the required timeframe: Approximately 7 hours per pay cycle

Managers and employees are informed of HR-to-Pay developments

Regularly canvass all staff to identify hardship cases and take immediate appropriate action (e.g. priority payment, ESA): As soon as the Pay or Finance Department is notified that an employee will receive a reduced pay or will not receive any pay, Compensation contacts the employee in question and initiates the emergency salary advance process in consultation with the employee. Processing time is approximately 24 hours, which means that the employee will receive a cheque in the following 24 to 48 hours.

Ensure the right departmental communications support is in place to provide caring, timely, targeted, focused and accessible information sharing: General communications are sent to all employees. Specific communications are adapted on case-by-case basis. The preferred method of communication when HR specialists are required to notify an employee of a problem is in person or over the phone. Information on employee support mechanisms is available at all times on the intranet, and HR specialists contact employees when necessary.

Number of departmental tools used and frequency to inform managers and employees: Emails are the main mode of communication with managers and employees. We have “What’s New and Useful Information” webpage where employees can quickly access information on how to use My GCHR and Phoenix. Personalized training and case-by-case management are used when appropriate. Employees from the Human Resources Division are also available in person, over the phone and via email. Furthermore, compensation advisors contact employees by telephone when they have to notify them of a problem, for example, when the employee will not receive pay.

Managers and employees understand their role and responsibilities in HR-to-Pay

Establish departmental roll-out plans aligned with your workplace learning culture and strategies using OCHRO tools and training: Employees and managers do not hesitate to contact the Human Resources Division and/or Finance when they encounter a problem. During the roll-out of My GCHR and Phoenix, we focused the training strategy on proximity of services. We provided several tools and step-by-step guidance to those who needed it. We also provided personalized training and adjusted our communications and our quick terse tools. Furthermore, an HR help desk was established. We also created a network of ambassadors (peer help) that has greatly contributed to the learning of employees and managers. The ambassadors’ contributions made a huge difference in this transition.

The process to access emergency payments (ESAs and Priority Payments) has been clearly and actively communicated to employees: CAS makes salary advances and payment as requested by the employee. The advertised processing time for emergency salary advances is 24 to 48 hours, including the compensation component and issuing of the cheque by Finance. The CAS intranet site also instructs employees to contact their compensation advisor if they are having problems with their pay so that their situation can be reviewed for timely resolution and impact mitigation. In addition, compensation advisors contact employees by telephone when they have to notify them of problems, such as when the employee will not be receiving pay.

Beginning in December - % of managers and employees that have successfully completed OCHRO HR-to-Pay training *Tracking to be done centrally): CAS will be involved in this effort and will take the necessary steps to ensure participation of all of its managers and employees.

Managers incorporate robust HR-to-Pay practices into their routine

Managers make a daily practice of checking for transactions pending approval: Managers have been educated about the importance of validating pending transactions on a regular basis and do so.

Number of employees without an identified section 34 manager (Reports to be provided by the integrated HR-to-Pay Team: CAS takes action on each report sent and will continue to do so.

Future reporting requirement - % of pending s. 34 approvals actioned (approved/denied) within 15 working days: CAS will participate in this effort and take appropriate action to reduce approval times for pending section 34 transactions.

Employees ensure their contact information is up to date in their HR system

Immediately establish an awareness campaign including review and verification activities to ensure employees understand the importance of maintaining on an ongoing basis correct personal address information in their HR system: CAS sends a reminder annually to employees asking them to check their personal information in My GCHR and Phoenix a few weeks before the employment records are produced.

Email sent to employees to reminding them to validate their home and mailing addresses in the HR system regularly and update if required: The practice identified in the adjacent table will continue.

Additional measures not mentioned above

Internal control: CAS is working to increase internal controls (HR and Finance) specific to compensation and benefits, for which the system is less intuitive and results in errors that have a significant impact.

 

Date modified:

Annexe : Mesures pour aider à stabiliser le système de paye et veiller à ce que nos employés reçoivent une paye exacte et à temps

De Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada

Contexte : Le SATJ a pris une série de mesure qui s’inscrit dans le contexte actuel du SATJ. Ces mesures prennent en compte le fait que nos services de rémunérations sont internes et que nous avons adopté Mes RHGC le 21 mars 2016 et Phénix le 20 avril 2016.

Objectif Mesures Indicateurs

Former une équipe RH-à-Paye au sein de notre ministère pour des efforts pangouvernementaux

S’assurer que les membres de l’équipe ont le niveau et le pouvoir nécessaire pour représenter vos intérêts et mandats au sein des comités et groupes de travail sur la stabilisation : Le SATJ assure une représentation sur les divers comités et groupes de travail dans la mesure de sa capacité. Au cours des années 2016 et 2017, le SATJ a été activement représenté sur les groupes de travail d’alignement des données autant pour les relevés d’emploi que pour la mise en œuvre des conventions collectives.

Les équipes de rémunération, dotation, systèmes et finances travaillent en étroite collaboration afin de régler les enjeux sous leur contrôle. Pour ce faire, ils peuvent compter sur le soutien de leur gestionnaire ainsi que sur celui de la gestion exécutive.

Équipe RH-à-Paye formée : Oui, l’équipe travaille de façon intégrée. Le SATJ a d’ailleurs augmenté le nombre de postes en rémunération afin d’avoir un conseiller en rémunération qui se concentre uniquement sur la résolution des cas complexes, la production des rapports et la reddition de comptes. De plus, l’équipe des systèmes RH a contribué de façon significative à la bonne poursuite des opérations en prenant en charge une portion du nettoyage des données. Plus spécifiquement, le SATJ a contribué à l’effort pangouvernemental en allouant une ressource pour 3 mois à temps plein à SPAC pour l’alignement des données ayant un impact sur l’exactitude des relevés d’emploi des employés du SATJ.

Nombre de demandes de notre ministre et de l’équipe intégrée auxquelles on a répondu : Nous n’avons pas accumulé le nombre de demandes, mais elles furent nombreuses, autant trimestrielles, mensuelles, hebdomadaires que journalières. Nous répondons dans les délais prescrits selon le type de demande allant des informations pour le tableau de bord, les avances de salaires urgentes, la révision sur l’implantation des conventions collectives et les sous et sur paiements.

Faire rapport sur le progrès dans la stabilisation RH-à-Paye

S’assurer d’avoir l’expertise ministérielle nécessaire pour gérer la charge de travail à l’interne et l’infrastructure nécessaire pour analyser les demandes de données et y répondre afin de surveiller le cadre à dresser par l’entremise de la structure de gouvernance : L’équipe de rémunération est encore présente au SATJ ce qui nous permet d’avoir une bien meilleure appréciation de l’expertise et des besoins d’infrastructures requis. La charge de travail est gérée par les superviseurs des diverses sections sous la direction de la directrice générale des RH. Des mises à jour régulières sont faites à la gestion exécutive.

Temps (heures-personnes) contribution aux demandes de rapports de l’équipe intégrée dans les délais requis : Approximativement 7 heures par cycle de paye

Les gestionnaires et les employés sont informés des développements de RH-à-Paye

Régulièrement solliciter tous les employés pour recenser les cas de détresse et prendre immédiatement les mesures appropriées (p. ex. paiement prioritaire, ASU) : Dès que le service de rémunération ou des finances est informé qu’un employé recevra une paye réduite ou ne recevra pas de paye, la rémunération contacte l’employé affecté et déclenche le processus d’avance de salaire d’urgence en discussion avec l’employé. Le taux de traitement est d’approximativement 24 heures. Ce qui veut dire que l’employé recevra un chèque dans les 24 à 48 heures suivantes.

S’assurer que le bon soutien ministériel en matière de communication est en place pour un partage d’information empathique, opportun, ciblé et accessible : Les communications générales sont envoyées à tous les employés. Les communications spécifiques sont adaptées au cas par cas. Le mode de communication privilégié lorsque qu’un spécialiste des RH doit annoncer une problématique est en personne ou par téléphone. L’information sur les mécanismes d’aide aux employés est disponible en tout temps sur l’intranet et les spécialistes RH les communiquent aux employés au besoin.

Nombre d’outils ministériels utilisés et à quelle fréquence pour informer les gestionnaires et employés : Les courriels sont le principal mode de communications avec les gestionnaires et employés. Nous avons une page web « Quoi de neuf et Renseignements utiles » où les employés peuvent trouver rapidement l’information pour utiliser Mes RHGC et Phénix. De la formation personnalisée et la gestion au cas par cas sont utilisées, lorsque pertinentes. Les employés de la division des ressources humaines sont également facilement accessibles en personne, par téléphone et par courriel. D’ailleurs, les conseillers en rémunérations contactent les employés par téléphone lorsqu’ils doivent leur annoncer une problématique comme, par exemple, lorsque l’employé ne recevra pas de paye.

Les gestionnaires et employés comprennent leurs rôles et responsabilités vis-à-vis RH-à-Pay

Dresser des plans de déploiement ministériels qui tiennent compte de la culture et des stratégies d’apprentissage en milieu de travail à l’aide d’outils et de formation du BDPRH : Les employés et les gestionnaires n’hésitent pas à contacter la division des ressources humaines et/ou des finances lorsqu’ils rencontrent une problématique. Lors du déploiement de Mes RHGC et Phénix, nous avons axé la stratégie de formation sur la proximité des services. Nous avons fourni plusieurs outils et avons accompagné pas à pas ceux qui en avaient besoin. Nous avons donné des formations personnalisées et ajusté nos communications et outils laconiques expéditifs. D’ailleurs, un bureau d’aide RH a été mis en place. De plus, nous avons instauré un système d’ambassadeurs (aide des collègues) qui a grandement contribué à l’apprentissage des employés et gestionnaires. La contribution des ambassadeurs a fait une différence significative dans cette transition.

Le processus d’accès aux paiements d’urgence (ASU et paiements prioritaires) a été clairement et activement communiqué aux employés : Le SATJ fait les avances de salaires et de paiement dû lorsque demandé par l’employé. Le délai de traitement annoncé pour les avances de salaire d’urgence est de 24 à 48 heures incluant l’aspect rémunération et l’émission du chèque par les finances. Le site intranet du SATJ indique également aux employés de contacter leur conseiller en rémunération s’ils ont de problèmes avec leur paye afin que leur situation soit analysée pour une résolution rapide ou une atténuation des impacts. De plus, les conseillers en rémunérations contactent les employés par téléphone lorsqu’ils doivent leur annoncer une problématique comme lorsque l’employé ne recevra pas de paye.

À partir de décembre le % des gestionnaires et employés qui ont suivi avec succès la formation RH-à-Paye du BDPRH (suivi à effectuer de façon centralisée) : Le SATJ va participer à cet effort et prendra les mesures nécessaires afin d’assurer la participation de tous ses gestionnaires et employés.

Les gestionnaires ajoutent de solides pratiques RH-à-Paye à leurs activités habituelles

Les gestionnaires effectuent une vérification quotidienne des transactions en suspens : Les gestionnaires ont été sensibilisés à l’importance de vérifier les transactions en suspens sur une base régulière et le font.

Le nombre d’employés sans gestionnaire désigné sous l’article 34 (rapport pour être fournis par l’équipe intégrée HR-à-Paye) : Le SATJ prend action sur chaque rapport envoyé et continuera de le faire

Futures exigences de déclaration - % d’approbation des transactions en attente en vertu de l’articl 34 (approuvées / refusées) dans 15 jours ouvrables : Le SATJ participera à cet effort et prendra les mesures nécessaires afin de réduire les délais d’approbation de transactions en attentes en vertu de l’article 34.

Les employés s’assurent que leurs coordonnées sont à jour dans leur système de RH

Immédiatement créer une campagne de sensibilisation, dont l’examen et la vérification des activités afin de s’assurer que les employés comprennent l’importance d’avoir des coordonnées personnelles à jour dans le système des RH :  Le SATJ envoie un rappel sur une base annuelle aux employés afin de leur demander de vérifier leurs informations personnelles dans Mes RHGC et Phénix et ce, quelques semaines avant la production des relevés d’emploi.

Un courriel est envoyé aux employés pour leur rappeler de valider régulièrement leur adresse personnelle et leur adresse postale dans le système des RH, et de mettre à jour au besoin : La pratique identifiée ci-contre se poursuivra.

Mesures additionnelles non décrites ci-dessous

Contrôle interne : Le SATJ s’affaire à augmenter les contrôles internes (RH et Finance) spécifiques aux aspects de la rémunération et des bénéfices pour lesquels le système est moins intuitif et occasionne des erreurs ayant un impact significatif.

 

Date de modification :