Part 2: PSPC internal services to support the administration of Government pay

From Public Services and Procurement Canada

Accessible image description

Infographic outling the 4 categories of effort that PSPC’s internal services to support the administration of Government pay have contributed toward HR-to-pay stabilization. The name of each category and descriptions of related efforts follow the infographic.

Talent acquisition and capacity building

Effort 1: Capacity building for the Pay Centre

Since the launch of the new pay system, the HR Branch within PSPC implemented various initiatives to provide support to PSPC employees and managers and increase the effectiveness of pay transaction processing. Two of the most significant initiatives have been the creation of an HR Resolution Team as well as an HR Service Center to provide employees with an easily accessible first point of contact for support and assistance with pay enquiries and issues. Both units work collaboratively with the Pay Center and are able to react quickly and effectively to resolve cases requiring HR intervention.

The HR Branch Organizational Design and Classification team has worked closely with management to ensure the timely creation of positions critical to the Pay Centre and the Satellite Offices. The work entailed innovative and agile organizational structures and designs to ensure the organization was able to attract the right talent.

The HR Branch and the Pay Administration Branch worked on a revitalized recruitment strategy for opportunities at the Pay Centre and Pay Satellite Offices.

Active headcount CAs and trainees (A) CA support (B) Total processing (A+B) Non-processors (C) Total headcount (A+B+C)
Apr-16 401 34 435 108 543
Oct-17 720 265 985 226 1211
  1. Includes AS02 Compensation Advisors and AS01 Compensation Advisor Trainees
  2. Includes all CR05 Compensation Assistants and some CR04 Workload Coordinators
  3. Includes Team Leaders, Managers, Coaches, Administrative Services, Strategic Services etc.

A call for interest was launched for Compensation Advisors at the AS-01, AS-02 and AS-03 group and levels with compensation experience. Simultaneously, an inventory for Compensation Advisors at the AS-01, AS-02, and AS-03 group and levels was created targeting current and former employees with compensation experience. The inventory identified criteria that may be used to recruit compensation advisor trainees. The intent is to attract and recruit experienced compensation advisors for immediate operational requirements while maintaining the flexibility to recruit for future needs. We also collaborated with HR Council to inform departments. The original Call for Interest was launched on May 16th, 2017. A second Call for Interest was sent to retirees through the Pension newsletter the first week of September 2017. In total we received 886 CVs. We have screened in 194 applications with 99 being retirees.

Impacts/Outcomes Achieved:

Accessible image description

Refer to related text

  • In March 2017, PSPC launched a CR-04/CR-05 process to staff up needs at in Matane, Miramichi and Shediac. By May 8th to late June 2017, we were able to staff up 86 CR-04 and 36 CR-05 positions in Miramichi, 70 CR-04 positions in Shediac and 35 CR-04 positions in Matane.
  • In late August 2017 we launched an AS-01 inventory to staff up the Client Contact Centre. We have conducted 58 interviews, qualified 42 candidates and offered 14 casual contracts. The Client Contact Centre need to be in full operations with 100 new employees by the end of fiscal. 
  • There is currently an external Compensation Specialist inventory open at the AS-01, AS-02, and AS-03 group and level that was launched October 3rd, 2017. To date we have received 824 applicants that will be screened to staff up future needs.
  • In early October, PSPC launched a CR-05 process (internal and external) yielding 901 candidates.  Evaluations are being held in the fall 2017 to hire 300 candidates for January 2018 in 4 different locations (Charlottetown, Kirkland Lake, Miramichi and Moncton). Currently, we have 656 applicants remaining. Exams are being administered late October and early November. We do not foresee any challenges on our end to meet these requirements.

Satellite office set-up

Effort 1: Set-up of satellite offices

Extensive corporate services support were provided to ensure the set-up of the existing satellite offices.

Impact/Outcome Achieved:

  • The satellite offices for Winnipeg (52), Gatineau (89), Montréal (44), and Shawinigan (11) began operations in July 2016
  • The Halifax (14) satellite office began operations in September 2016
  • The Kingston (15) satellite office began its work in March 2017

Effort 2: Set-up of new pay satellite offices

New Pay Satellite offices are being established with the following staff compliments:

  • 15 VAC employees to be seconded to PSPC;
  • 12 current VAC terms/casuals to be provided with non-advertised appointments/deployments;
  • Duration of agreement will be for a minimum 1 year, maximum 2

Impact/Outcome Achieved:

Operations commenced mid-September

Employee wellbeing and engagement

Employee wellbeing and engagement Effort 1:

The PSPC HR Branch continues to provide support to the Pay Centre on the complex area of employee wellbeing and engagement. It should be noted that the Department’s Mental Health Ombudsman visited Miramichi Pay Centre in May 2017 and provided verbal recommendations to the Deputy Minister. In the following weeks, the well-being team organized and conducted two focus groups with employees to identify their needs for well-being support. The results of this work were added to the Pay Centre’s action plan for employee well-being.  The Pay Centre has also put a team in place to run focus groups with employees and to develop a leadership program. 

Since last summer, the HR Branch has been providing additional employee assistance support through a counsellor who travels two days per week to Miramichi (in addition to the existing resource who travels one day per week).  They also supported the Pay Centre to put in place a contract with Health Canada for additional Employee Assistance Services.  By the end of November, they will have hired a third counsellor to support the Pay Centre.  The counsellors not only meet with employees to provide individual counselling, but they also provide workshops on resilience and mental health.  Our Conflict Management team has travelled to Miramichi several times to deliver training on communication and dealing with difficult clients. 

The HR Branch also been working closely on the Pay Centre’s disability management files over the summer.  In October, a new full-time Disability Management Advisor was hired located in Miramichi. This will help give visibility and priority to the most difficult disability issues which affect pay and will provide support for employee absence, return to work, and accommodation.

Our Labour Relations team provided training for team leaders and managers on labour relations in October.  The local union president has been released to work full-time supporting union members until March 2019.

By end of fiscal year, we will be piloting a peer support program to allow employees to be trained to provide support to colleagues. We have also named an employee to represent the Pay Centre on our National Psychological Health and Safety Working Group.  This employee attended our two-day national meeting in Ottawa in June.

Finance and administration

Effort 1: Accommodations

In support of the extraordinary effort underway to address Pay issues, my department moved rapidly to free up and consolidate space to accommodate additional resources hired in support of Phoenix. In addition, we are currently fitting up space for an additional staff in anticipation of more growth in capacity to meet requirements.

Effort 2: Relocation and travel services

FAB supported the departmental efforts to increase compensation resources by providing tailored and flexible service for the relocation and travel needs of supplementary compensation resources required to staff new satellite centres.

Annex A: PSPC HR to Pay DM Dashboard

Date modified:

Partie 2 : Support à travers les services internes

De Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada

Description de l’image accessible

Partie 2

Support au Centre de paye a travers les services internes

  1. Acquisition de talents
  2. Configuration des bureaux satellites
  3. Bien-être et mobilisation des employés
  4. Finances et administration

Acquisition de talents

Effort no 1 : Accroissement des capacités pour le Centre des services de paye

L’équipe de la conception organisationnelle et de la classification de la DGRH a travaillé en étroite collaboration avec la direction pour assurer la création en temps opportun de postes essentiels au Centre des services de paye et dans les bureaux satellites.

Le travail consistait à créer des structures et des conceptions organisationnelles novatrices et agiles pour faire en sorte que l’organisation soit capable d’attirer les bons talents.

La DGRH et la Direction générale de l’administration de la paye ont travaillé à une stratégie de recrutement revitalisée en réponse aux possibilités offertes au Centre des services de paye et dans les bureaux satellites de la paye.

Effectif actif Conseillers en rémunérations et stagiaires (A) Appuis aux conseillers en rémunérations (B) Total pour traitement (A+B) Ne traitent pas de mouvement de paye (C) Total de l’effectif (A+B+C)
avril-16 401 34 435 108 543
octobre-17 720 265 985 226 1211
  1. inclus les AS-02 conseillers en rémunération et les AS-01 stagiaires en rémunération
  2. inclus tous les CR-05 adjoints en rémunération et quelques CR-04 coordinateurs de la charge de travail
  3. inclus les chefs d’équipe, les gestionnaires, les encadreurs, les services administratifs, les services stratégiques etc…

Un appel d’intérêt a été lancé pour trouver des conseillers en rémunération à l’intention des employés des groupes et niveaux AS-01, AS-02 et AS-03 ayant une expérience en rémunération. Simultanément, un répertoire des conseillers en rémunération des groupes et niveaux AS-01, AS-02 et AS-03 a été créé pour cibler les employés et les anciens employés ayant une expérience en rémunération. Le répertoire cerne des critères pouvant être utilisés pour recruter des conseillers stagiaires en rémunération. Le but est d’attirer et de recruter des conseillers en rémunération expérimentés pour répondre aux besoins opérationnels immédiats tout en conservant la flexibilité de recruter pour les besoins futurs. Nous avons également collaboré avec le Conseil des RH pour informer les ministères. L’appel d’intérêt initial a été lancé le 16 mai 2017. Un deuxième appel d’intérêt a été envoyé aux retraités par l’entremise du bulletin Pension la première semaine de septembre 2017. Au total, nous avons reçu 886 CV. Nous avons présélectionné 194 candidats, dont 99 retraités.

Incidence et résultats obtenus :

Description de l’image accessible

Consulter la description textuelle connexe

  • En mars 2017, SPAC a lancé un processus CR-04/CR-05 pour combler des besoins de dotation à Matane, à Miramichi et à Shediac. Du 8 mai à la fin de juin 2017, nous avons pu doter 86 postes CR-04 et 36 postes CR-05 à Miramichi, 70 postes CR-04 à Shediac et 35 postes CR-04 à Matane.
  • À la fin d’août 2017, nous avons lancé un répertoire AS-01 pour doter le centre de contact avec la clientèle. Nous avons mené 58 entrevues, qualifié 42 candidats et offert 14 contrats de travail occasionnel. Le centre de contact avec la clientèle doit être pleinement opérationnel et compter cent nouveaux employés d’ici à la fin de l’exercice.
  • Il y a à l’heure actuelle un répertoire de spécialistes externes de la rémunération ouvert aux groupes et niveaux AS-01, AS-02 et AS-03 qui a été lancé le 3 octobre 2017. À ce jour, nous avons reçu 824 candidatures qui feront l’objet d’une présélection pour combler des besoins futurs.
  • Au début d’octobre, SPAC a lancé un processus CR-05 (interne et externe) qui a permis d’obtenir 901 candidatures. Des évaluations ont lieu à l’automne 2017 afin d’embaucher 300 candidats qui travailleront dans quatre endroits différents à compter de janvier 2018 (Charlottetown, Kirkland Lake, Miramichi et Moncton). À l’heure actuelle, 656 candidats sont toujours dans la course. Les examens sont administrés à la fin d’octobre et au début de novembre. Nous ne prévoyons pas de difficultés de notre côté pour répondre à ces exigences.

Configuration des bureaux satellites

Effort no 1 : Mise en place des bureaux satellites

Un soutien important aux services ministériels a été fourni pour assurer la mise en place des bureaux satellites existants.

Impact / résultat atteint :

  1. Les bureaux satellites de Winnipeg (52), Gatineau (89), Montréal (44), et Shawinigan (11) ont commencé leurs opérations en juillet 2016
  2. Le bureau d’Halifax (14) a commencé ses opérations en septembre 2016
  3. Le bureau de Kingston (15) a commencé ses opérations en mars 2017

Effort no 2 : Configuration des nouveaux bureaux satellites de la paye

De nouveaux bureaux satellites de la paye sont établis, avec les effectifs suivants :

  1. 15 employés d’ACC seront détachés auprès de SPAC;
  2. 12 employés nommés pour une période déterminée/occasionnels actuels d’ACC feront l’objet de nominations/mutations non annoncées;
  3. La durée de l’entente sera d’au moins un an et d’au plus deux ans.

Incidence et résultats obtenus :

Les activités ont commencé à la mi-septembre

Bien-être et mobilisation des employés

Bien-être et mobilisation des employés Effort no 1 :

La DGRH de SPAC continue de fournir un soutien au Centre des services de paye dans le domaine complexe du bien-être et de la mobilisation des employés. Il est à noter que l'ombudsman de la santé mentale du Ministère s'est rendu au Centre des services de paye de Miramichi en mai 2017 et a fait des recommandations verbales au sous-ministre. Au cours des semaines suivantes, l'équipe du mieux-être a organisé et dirigé deux groupes de discussion avec des employés afin d'identifier leurs besoins en matière de soutien au mieux-être. Les résultats de ce travail ont été ajoutés au plan d’action du Centre des services de paye pour le bien-être des employés. Le Centre des services de paye a également mis en place une équipe pour organiser des séances de discussion en groupe avec les employés et élaborer un programme de leadership, et nous fournissons un soutien en cas de besoin.

Depuis l’été dernier, on offre un soutien supplémentaire pour aider les employés par l’intermédiaire d’un conseiller présent deux jours par semaine à Miramichi (en plus de la ressource existante qui se déplace un jour par semaine). On a également aidé le Centre des services de paye à conclure un contrat avec Santé Canada pour fournir des services d’aide aux employés supplémentaires. À la fin de novembre, on aura embauché un troisième conseiller pour appuyer le Centre des services de paye. Les conseillers rencontrent les employés pour fournir des services de consultation individuels et offrent aussi des ateliers sur la résilience et la santé mentale. Notre équipe de gestion des conflits s’est rendue plusieurs fois à Miramichi pour offrir une formation sur la communication et la façon de composer avec les clients difficiles.

La DGRH a également travaillé de près sur les dossiers de gestion de l’invalidité du Centre des services de paye au cours de l’été. En octobre, un nouveau conseiller en gestion de l’invalidité à temps plein a été embauché à Miramichi. Cela contribuera à rehausser la visibilité et la priorité accordée aux problèmes d’invalidité les plus difficiles qui se répercutent sur la rémunération, et permettra de fournir un soutien relatif aux absences, aux retours au travail et aux mesures d’adaptation des employés.

En octobre, notre équipe des relations de travail a donné une formation sur les relations de travail à l’intention des chefs d’équipe et des gestionnaires. Le président du syndicat local a été libéré pour travailler à temps plein à l’appui des membres du syndicat jusqu’en mars 2019.

D’ici la fin de l’exercice, nous mettrons à l’essai un programme de soutien par les pairs pour les employés. Nous avons également nommé un employé qui représentera le Centre des services de paye au sein de notre Groupe de travail national sur la santé et la sécurité psychologiques. Cet employé a assisté à notre réunion nationale de deux jours à Ottawa, en juin.

Finances et administration

EEffort no 1 : Locaux

À l’appui des efforts extraordinaires déployés à l’heure actuelle pour régler les problèmes liés à la paye, mon ministère a agi rapidement pour libérer et regrouper des locaux pour accueillir 155 ressources supplémentaires embauchées à l’appui de Phénix. De plus, nous sommes en train d’aménager des locaux pour 300 autres ressources, en prévision d’une augmentation ultérieure de la capacité visant à répondre aux besoins.

Effort no 2 : Services de réinstallation et de voyage

La DGFA a appuyé les efforts déployés par le Ministère pour accroître les ressources en rémunération, en fournissant un service sur mesure et souple pour les besoins de réinstallation et de déplacement des ressources en rémunération supplémentaires requises pour doter les nouveaux centres satellites.

Annexe A : Tableau de bord du processus des RH à la paye de SPAC

Date de modification :