Response from Veterans Affairs Canada

From Public Services and Procurement Canada

Mr. Michael Wernick
Clerk of the Privy Council and Secretary to the Cabinet
80 Wellington Street
Ottawa, Ontario K1A 0A3

Dear Mr. Wernick:

The purpose of this correspondence is to inform you of the actions taken to date by Veterans Affairs Canada (VAC), as well as future actions to stabilize the pay system and ensure all employees are paid accurately and on time.

The VAC team is committed to contributing to the Federal Government’s collective efforts to resolve pay issues for all employees in the Public Service.  Since the inception of the most recent pay system, we have partnered with Public Services and Procurement Canada (PSPC) on a number of key initiatives to help improve pay processing at a government-wide level.

Effective August 30, 2017, VAC and PSPC entered into a Memorandum of Understanding (MOU), the objective of which is to enhance PSPC’s operational capacity to process pay transactions for the entire Public Service. The MOU includes the transfer of VAC personnel to PSPC and the use of learning and operational facilities in Charlottetown, PEI, and Kirkland Lake, Ontario. By the end of November 2017, VAC will have seconded 23 Compensation and Administration employees to the PSPC Pay Centre for up to two years. VAC has also welcomed PSPC staff to our state-of-the-art Learning Centre in Charlottetown for the training of Compensation staff during the months of October and November 2017.

In September 2017, VAC and PSPC also partnered on an external hiring process to hire 300 Compensation Assistants (CR-05) for Moncton, Miramichi, Charlottetown and Kirkland Lake. VAC is leading the selection process for Charlottetown and Kirkland Lake, which will result in the staffing of up to 100 positions in these offices. To support effective onboarding, VAC is also contributing a number of staff in the areas of Human Resources, Facilities and Information Technology.

Furthermore, PSPC is exploring a new client-focused operational model for pay operations in order to resolve pay issues for employees. This concept calls for Compensation staff to be organized by department and by specialty teams. VAC will be participating in this initiative, along with Innovation, Science & Economic Development, and the Economic Development Agency of Southern Ontario. An initial workshop was held in Miramichi with the three participating organizations during the week of October 30, 2017. VAC is excited about the prospects of this pilot project.

As a participant in the pilot project, VAC will also strengthen its commitment to the “HR-to-Pay” initiative. We will be taking full advantage of the HR-to-Pay stabilization training materials that the Office of the Chief Human Resources Officer will soon be making available to organizations for HR professionals, managers and employees. To assist managers and employees in understanding their roles and responsibilities, we will continue to develop appropriate tools. In addition to the HR-to-Pay working group meetings that the Director General of Human Resources attends, and other working group meetings that VAC staff attend, dedicated resources will be made available to ensure the success of the HR-to-Pay Project.

By increasing the number of pay staff, their access to the Phoenix system and their training, we anticipate considerable progress in the achievement of desired outcomes regarding pay for the public service.

We are fully committed to our ongoing partnership with PSPC and to achieving the necessary improvements in pay processing. Together we will contribute to the Government of Canada measures to resolve outstanding pay issues for all staff.

Respectfully,

W.J. Natynczyk
General (Retired)
Deputy Minister

c.c.: Seamus O’Regan, Minister of Veterans Affairs and Associate Minister of
National Defence
Marie Lemay, Deputy Minister, Public Services and Procurement Canada
Les Linklater, Associate Deputy Minister, Public Services and
Procurement Canada
Yaprak Baltacıoğlu, Secretary of the Treasury Board
Catrina Tapley, Deputy Secretary to the Cabinet (Operations), Privy
Council Office

Date modified:

Réponse des Anciens Combattants Canada

De Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada

M. Michael Wernick
Greffier du Conseil privé et secrétaire du Cabinet
80, rue Wellington
Ottawa (Ontario)  K1A 0A3

Monsieur,

Je souhaite vous informer par la présente des mesures prises par Anciens Combattants Canada (ACC) et des mesures qui seront prises ultérieurement pour stabiliser le système de paye et pour faire en sorte que tous les employés soient payés correctement et à temps.

L’équipe d’ACC est déterminée à contribuer aux efforts collectifs du gouvernement fédéral en vue de la résolution des problèmes de paye que vivent tous les employés de la fonction publique. Depuis l’entrée en service du plus récent système de paye, nous avons créé des partenariats avec Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada (SPAC) dans le cadre d’un certain nombre de grandes initiatives pour aider à l’amélioration du traitement de la paye à l’échelle du gouvernement.

ACC et SPAC ont conclu un protocole d’entente (PE), qui est entré en vigueur le 30 août 2017, et qui a pour objectif d’améliorer la capacité opérationnelle de SPAC de traiter les transactions de paye de l’ensemble de la fonction publique. Le PE comprend le transfert de personnel d’ACC à SPAC et l’utilisation d’installations opérationnelles et d’apprentissage à Charlottetown (Île‑du‑Prince‑Édouard) et à Kirkland Lake (Ontario). D’ici la fin de novembre 2017, ACC aura prêté vingt-trois employés de ses services de rémunération et d’administration au Centre des services de paye de SPAC pour une période pouvant atteindre deux ans. ACC a pour sa part accueilli du personnel de SPAC dans son Centre d’apprentissage très moderne de Charlottetown aux fins de la formation du personnel des services de rémunération pendant les mois d’octobre et de novembre 2017.

En septembre 2017, ACC et SPAC se sont aussi associés pour tenir un processus d’embauche externe visant à recruter trois cents adjoints à la rémunération (CR-05) pour les centres de Moncton, Miramichi, Charlottetown et Kirkland Lake. ACC dirige le processus de sélection pour Charlottetown et Kirkland Lake qui entraînera la dotation de jusqu’à cent postes dans ces centres. Pour appuyer l’efficacité de l’intégration de ces employés, ACC fait également la contribution d’un certain nombre d’employés dans les domaines des ressources humaines (RH), des installations et de la technologie de l’information.

SPAC, d’autre part, étudie en ce moment un nouveau modèle opérationnel axé sur le client, dans le domaine des opérations de paye, afin de résoudre les problèmes de paye des employés. Ce concept exige du personnel de la rémunération qu’il soit organisé par ministère et par équipes spécialisées. ACC prendra part à cette initiative de concert avec Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada (ISDEC) et avec l’Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l’Ontario. Un premier atelier s’est tenu à Miramichi avec les trois organisations participantes pendant la semaine du 30 octobre 2017. Le personnel d’ACC se réjouit des perspectives offertes par ce projet pilote.

En sa qualité de participant au projet pilote, ACC renforcera également son engagement envers l’initiative « RH à la paye ». Le Ministère profitera pleinement des documents de formation de stabilisation RH à la paye que le Bureau du dirigeant principal des ressources humaines (BDPRH) mettra bientôt à la disposition des professionnels des RH, des gestionnaires et des employés. Pour aider les gestionnaires et les employés à comprendre leurs rôles et leurs responsabilités, nous poursuivrons la mise au point d’outils adéquats. En plus des réunions du groupe de travail RH à la paye auxquelles participe le directeur général des Ressources humaines et d’autres réunions de groupes de travail auxquelles assistent des membres du personnel d’ACC, des ressources réservées seront mises à disposition pour garantir le succès du projet RH à la paye.

En augmentant le nombre d’employés responsables de la paye, en favorisant l’accès de ces employés au système Phénix et en leur offrant plus de formation, nous croyons pouvoir faire des progrès considérables vers l’atteinte des résultats escomptés au sujet de la paye dans la fonction publique.

Nous sommes engagés sans réserve envers notre partenariat avec SPAC et envers la réalisation des améliorations nécessaires au traitement de la paye. Ensemble, nous contribuerons aux mesures que prend le gouvernement du Canada pour régler les problèmes de paye en suspens de tout le personnel.

Merci.

Général (à la retraite) W.J. Natynczyk
Sous-ministre

c.c. :   Seamus O’Regan, ministre d’Anciens Combattants Canada et ministre associé de la Défense nationale
Marie Lemay, sous-ministre, Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada
Les Linklater, sous-ministre délégué de Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada
Yaprak Baltacıoğlu, secrétaire du Conseil du Trésor
Catrina Tapley, sous-secrétaire du Cabinet, Opérations, Bureau du Conseil privé

Date de modification :