Response from Atlantic Canada Opportunities Agency

From Public Services and Procurement Canada

Mr. Michael Wernick
Clerk of the Privy Council and
Secretary to the Cabinet
Langevin Block
80 Wellington Street, Room 332A
Ottawa, Ontario
K1A 0A3

Dear Colleague:

Thank you for your letter of November 2, 2017, regarding the continued response to the challenges posed by the pay system. The Atlantic Canada Opportunities Agency (ACOA) has taken many steps to date to help stabilize the pay system and to ensure that its employees are paid accurately and on time.

ACOA is one of the departments whose accounts have not yet migrated to the Pay Centre, therefore compensation services remain on site. The Agency’s team of compensation advisors (CA) consists of a combination of indeterminate, term, and casual employees. It’s composition fluctuates to meet demand, ensuring efficient and accurate processing of transactions, reconciling accounts and verifying data in order to ensure payroll accuracy. In case of payroll inaccuracy, the Agency’s CAs communicate directly with employees to provide clarification, to take swift action to rectify the situation, and to offer an emergency salary advance, if needed.

Furthermore, the Compensation team participates actively in the various working groups and other forums led by the Pay Centre. Open communication and close proximity between the Human Resources (HR) staffing assistants responsible for My GCHR data accuracy and the CAs facilitate the resolution of integration issues. Particular attention is paid to student files, with a CA dedicated to ensuring accuracy of pay and to preventing overpayments, underpayments, and no-pay situations.

Overall, ACOA is well placed to contribute to the resolution of issues. With the exception of a very few complicated cases, all statutory deadlines for collective agreement implementation were met at the Agency. Future undertakings include implementing the HR-to-Pay Stabilization Training for HR and Compensation staff, employees and managers.

I can assure you that the Agency is fully committed to stabilizing the pay system and to ensuring that employees are paid on time and accurately.

Yours sincerely,

Francis P. McGuire

c.c.: The Honourable Navdeep Bains, P.C., M.P.

Date modified:

Réponse de L’Agence de promotion économique du Canada atlantique

De Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada

Monsieur Michael Wernick
Greffier du Conseil privé et
secrétaire du Cabinet
Pièce 332A, édifice Langevin
80, rue Wellington
Ottawa (Ontario)
K1A 0A3

Cher collègue,

Je vous remercie de votre lettre du 2 novembre 2017 sur la réaction constante aux problèmes du système de paye. L’Agence de promotion économique du Canada atlantique (APECA) a adopté de nombreuses mesures à ce jour pour stabiliser le système et s’assurer que ses employés sont payés à temps et avec exactitude.

L’APECA est l’un des ministères dont les comptes n’ont pas encore migré au Centre des services de paye. Par conséquent, les services de rémunération demeurent sur place. L’équipe d’agents de rémunération (AR) de l’Agence comprend des employés nommés pour une période indéterminée et pour une période déterminée et des employés occasionnels. Sa composition fluctue pour répondre à la demande, assurant un traitement efficient et exact des transactions, le rapprochement des comptes et la vérification des données pour garantir l’exactitude de la paye. En cas d’erreur, les AR de l’Agence communiquent directement avec les employés pour clarifier la situation, prendre des mesures rapides en vue de rectifier la situation et verser une avance salariale d’urgence, au besoin.

De plus, l’équipe de la rémunération participe activement aux divers groupes de travail et aux autres forums menés par le Centre des services de paye. Une communication ouverte et une proximité étroite entre les adjoints de dotation des Ressources humaines (RH) responsables de l’exactitude des données de Mes RHGC et les AR facilitent la résolution des problèmes d’intégration. Une attention particulière est accordée aux dossiers des étudiants, et un AR est affecté à l’assurance de l’exactitude de la paye et à la prévention des trop‑payés, des sous‑paiements et des absences de paye.

Globalement, l’APECA est bien positionnée pour favoriser la résolution des problèmes. À l’exception de cas complexes très rares, tous les délais législatifs pour l’implantation de la convention collective ont été respectés. Les initiatives ultérieures à cet égard comprennent l’implantation d’une formation en stabilisation des RH à la paye pour le personnel des RH et de la rémunération, ainsi que les employés et les gestionnaires.

Je puis vous garantir que l’Agence s’engage totalement à stabiliser le système de paye et à s’assurer que ses employés sont payés à temps et avec exactitude.

Je vous prie d’agréer, cher collègue, l’assurance de mes meilleurs sentiments.

Francis P. McGuire

c.c. : L’honorable Navdeep Bains, C.P., député

Date de modification :