Archived: Response from Canada Revenue Agency

From Public Services and Procurement Canada

We have archived this page and will not be updating it

You can use it for research or reference.

Mr. Michael Wernick
Clerk of the Privy Council and
Secretary to the Cabinet
Privy Council Office
Room 332
80 Wellington Street
Ottawa ON  K1A 0A3

Dear Mr. Wernick:

This is in response to your letter dated November 2, 2017, regarding the challenges posed by the pay system. Thank you for the opportunity to provide you with an update of the measures that the Canada Revenue Agency (CRA) has put in place to help stabilize the pay system and ensure our employees are paid accurately and on time.

The CRA has the responsibility to address Phoenix-related issues from both an employer’s perspective and as tax administrator. Significant work has been achieved to minimize the impact on our own employees and on all federal public servants as taxpayers.

To that end, please find attached the CRA actions taken to date and what actions we plan to take in the future to help stabilize the pay system and ensure CRA employees are paid accurately and on time. The actions have been listed using the same headings as in the HR-to-Pay integrated team template that was provided as a reference.

We agree that by working together we will alleviate the challenges that continue to impact so many of our fellow public servants as we collectively work towards an effective compensation function. To that end, the CRA contributes to the whole-of-government strategic approach as an active member of the HR-to-Pay Deputy Minister Committee. The Deputy Commissioner of the CRA also co-chairs the Union-Management Consultation Committee Technical Sub-Committee on the Phoenix Pay System on behalf of the Treasury Board Secretariat. 

Should you require additional information, please do not hesitate to contact:

Dan Couture, Assistant Commissioner, Human Resources Branch, and Chief Human Resources Officer at 613-954-8200.


Bob Hamilton

Nancy Chahwan
Deputy Commissioner

c.c.: The Honourable Diane Lebouthillier, Minister of National Revenue

Date modified: