Response from Canada Revenue Agency

From Public Services and Procurement Canada

Mr. Michael Wernick
Clerk of the Privy Council and
Secretary to the Cabinet
Privy Council Office
Room 332
80 Wellington Street
Ottawa ON  K1A 0A3

Dear Mr. Wernick:

This is in response to your letter dated November 2, 2017, regarding the challenges posed by the pay system. Thank you for the opportunity to provide you with an update of the measures that the Canada Revenue Agency (CRA) has put in place to help stabilize the pay system and ensure our employees are paid accurately and on time.

The CRA has the responsibility to address Phoenix-related issues from both an employer’s perspective and as tax administrator. Significant work has been achieved to minimize the impact on our own employees and on all federal public servants as taxpayers.

To that end, please find attached the CRA actions taken to date and what actions we plan to take in the future to help stabilize the pay system and ensure CRA employees are paid accurately and on time. The actions have been listed using the same headings as in the HR-to-Pay integrated team template that was provided as a reference.

We agree that by working together we will alleviate the challenges that continue to impact so many of our fellow public servants as we collectively work towards an effective compensation function. To that end, the CRA contributes to the whole-of-government strategic approach as an active member of the HR-to-Pay Deputy Minister Committee. The Deputy Commissioner of the CRA also co-chairs the Union-Management Consultation Committee Technical Sub-Committee on the Phoenix Pay System on behalf of the Treasury Board Secretariat. 

Should you require additional information, please do not hesitate to contact:

Dan Couture, Assistant Commissioner, Human Resources Branch, and Chief Human Resources Officer at 613-954-8200.

Sincerely,

Bob Hamilton
Commissioner

Nancy Chahwan
Deputy Commissioner

c.c.: The Honourable Diane Lebouthillier, Minister of National Revenue

Date modified:

Réponse de l'Agence du revenu du Canada

De Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada

Monsieur Michael Wernick
Greffier du Conseil privé et
secrétaire du Cabinet
Bureau du Conseil privé
Salle 332
80, rue Wellington
Ottawa ON  K1A 0A3

Monsieur,

La présente fait suite à votre lettre datée du 2 novembre 2017 concernant les défis posés par le système de paye. Nous vous remercions de nous donner l’occasion de vous informer des mesures mises en place par l’Agence du revenu du Canada (ARC) pour aider à stabiliser le système de paye et nous assurer que nos employés sont payés avec exactitude et à temps.

L’ARC a la responsabilité de résoudre les problèmes liés au système Phénix du point de vue de l’employeur et de celui de l’organisme d’administration de l’impôt. Des efforts considérables ont été déployés pour réduire au minimum les répercussions sur les contribuables que sont nos propres employés et tous les fonctionnaires fédéraux.

À cette fin, vous trouverez ci-joint les mesures prises à ce jour par l’ARC et celles que nous prévoyons prendre à l’avenir pour aider à stabiliser le système de paye et nous assurer que les employés sont payés avec exactitude et à temps. Les en-têtes figurant dans la liste des mesures sont les mêmes que ceux indiqués dans le modèle de l’équipe intégrée RH-à-Paye qui a été fourni à titre de référence.

Nous sommes d’avis qu’en collaborant, nous atténuerons les difficultés qui continuent d’avoir une incidence sur un grand nombre de nos collègues fonctionnaires alors que nous travaillons ensemble à la mise en place d’une fonction de rémunération efficace. À cette fin, l’ARC contribue à l’approche stratégique pangouvernementale en tant que membre actif du Comité des sous-ministres de RH-à-Paye. La commissaire déléguée de l’ARC copréside également le sous-comité technique du Comité de consultation syndical-patronal sur le système de paye Phénix au nom du Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor.

Si vous avez besoin de renseignements supplémentaires, n’hésitez pas à communiquer avec :

Dan Couture, sous-commissaire, Direction générale des ressources humaines et dirigeant principal des ressources humaines, au 613-954-8200.

Cordialement,

Le commissaire,
Bob Hamilton

La commissaire déléguée,
Nancy Chahwan

c.c. : L’honorable Diane Lebouthillier, ministre du Revenu national

Date de modification :