Response from Canadian Space Agency

From Public Services and Procurement Canada

Mr. Michael Wernick
Clerk of the Privy Council and
Secretary to the Cabinet
Government of Canada
80 Wellington St.
Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0A3

Dear Mr. Wernick:

This is in response to your letter of last November 2nd concerning the Phoenix pay system. We are very aware and concerned by the situation and we have taken prompt tangible action to contribute to the solutions to ensure the timely compensation of our employees.

Please note that the Canadian Space Agency (CSA) migrated to the Phoenix pay system in April 2016, but has not yet made the transition to the Government of Canada's Human Resources Management System. The CSA uses a web integrated interface for payroll processing and still has its compensation team in place.

In view of this situation, challenges persist in our organization, among them the number of files in arrears. We therefore recently added personnel which should enable us to take better control of the situation. The appendix A lists the measures taken in connection with your recommendations to help stabilize the pay system.

Be assured of our full commitment to participating in government-wide efforts to resolve the problems caused by the pay system.

Yours truly,

Sylvain Laporte

encl. Appendix A – List of measures implemented by the CSA

cc.: The Honorable Navdeep Bains, Minister of Innovation,
Science and Economic Development

John Knubley, Deputy Minister for Innovation,
Science and Economic Development

Date modified:

Réponse de l’Agence spatiale canadienne

De Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada

Monsieur Michael Wernick
Greffier du Conseil privé et
Secrétaire du Cabinet
Gouvernement du Canada
80, rue Wellington
Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0A3

Monsieur Wernick,

La présente est en réponse à votre lettre du 2 novembre dernier concernant le système de paie Phénix. Nous sommes très sensibles et préoccupés par la situation et nous avons pris sans délai des actions concrètes afin de contribuer aux solutions pour assurer la rémunération de nos employés en temps opportun.

Veuillez noter que l’Agence spatiale canadienne (ASC) a migré vers le système de paie Phénix en avril 2016, mais n’a pas encore effectué la transition vers le système de gestion des ressources humaines du gouvernement du Canada Mes RHGC. L’ASC utilise une interface à intégration web pour le traitement de la paie et a toujours son équipe de rémunération en place.

Compte tenu de ce contexte, des défis subsistent dans notre organisation, entre autres, le nombre de dossiers en arrérage. Nous avons donc récemment ajouté du personnel qui devrait nous permettre de reprendre un meilleur contrôle sur la situation. Veuillez trouver à l’annexe A la liste des mesures prises en lien avec vos recommandations pour aider à stabiliser le système de paie.

Soyez assuré de notre plein engagement à participer aux efforts pangouvernementaux pour résoudre les problèmes occasionnés par le système de paie.

Je vous prie d’agréer, Monsieur Wernick, l’expression de mes sentiments les plus respectueux.

Sylvain Laporte

p.j. Annexe A : Liste des mesures mises en œuvre par l’ASC

cc. : L’Honorable Navdeep Bains, Ministère de l’Innovation,
des Sciences et du Développement économique

John Knubley, Sous-ministre, Ministère de l’Innovation,
des Sciences et du Développement économique

Date de modification :