Response from Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission

From Public Services and Procurement Canada

November 9, 2017

Michael Wernick
Clerk of the Privy Council and Secretary to the Cabinet
80 Wellington Street, Room 332
Ottawa, Ontario K1A 0A3
Canada

Dear Mr. Wernick:

Further to your correspondence dated November 2, 2017 (enclosed), I am pleased to provide you details pertaining to the work undertaken at the Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission to assist in the collective efforts of the Government of Canada to work towards the stabilization of the Phoenix pay system.

The CNSC is a direct entry organization, and is not serviced by the Pay Centre in Miramichi. Therefore, we have a full team of experienced Compensation Advisors supporting our managers and employees. Since the roll-out of Phoenix in April 2016, our team has worked diligently to mitigate the challenges of Phoenix by providing hands-on guidance and support to employees and managers using the new system, by ensuring minimal disruption to pay, and by quickly addressing any adverse financial impacts on our salary and budgetary reporting. This has been critically important as the implementation of Phoenix has coincided with a significant organizational renewal initiative at the CNSC, involving the replacement of approximately 10% of our workforce. In addition to these internal efforts, we have also been contributing time and energy to support the greater efforts of Public Service and Procurement Canada (PSPC) to reach a stable system.

With respect to our efforts to ensure that employees are paid accurately and on time, the following activities have been part of our strategy since the roll-out of Phoenix:

  • Managers and employees were encouraged to take the initial online training modules offered by the Canada School of Public Service and additional learning tools, and resources specific to our organization were created for our employees;
  • The CNSC Compensation team hosted numerous drop-in sessions for employees and managers to sign-on to Phoenix, get a personalized walk-through of the system, and bring any questions or problems to be resolved with one-on-one assistance;
  • Lessons learned and resources were and are continually communicated to our staff (we have created our own internal Phoenix webpage to host all pay-related information, tools and updates);
  • Compensation Advisors continue to work one-on-one with staff to assist them with questions or difficulties related to inputting time and data into Phoenix on a daily basis;
  • Compensation Advisors review pay transactions and follow the progress of those transactions in the Phoenix pay system to ensure completion of the file in an accurate manner; our Financial Officers work collaboratively with the compensation team to compare salary expenses with projected expenses to make sure payments were paid accordingly and liaise with the Compensation Advisors and responsibility center managers (as required) in situations when clarification is required;
  • Our Compensation Advisors and Financial Officers with s.33 approval authority spend significant time ensuring managers are approving time in a timely manner so as not to create over or under payments to employees (the Compensation team has created follow-up notifications/reminders in managers’ calendars on when approvals are due);
  • Where there were/are problems with an employee’s pay, the Compensation Advisor works with colleagues in Finance to offer an Emergency Salary Advance (ESA) for any missed pay or greatly reduced pay amounts; these efforts produce an ESA that is deposited directly into an employee’s account within a 24 to 48 hour turnaround (usually deposited on pay day or shortly thereafter);
  • We have a dedicated compensation team that have put in significant overtime hours so that our employees receive the best possible service and issues are caught before they affect the employee’s pay; as a result, the CNSC has hired additional staff (two additional full-time resources as well as two casual employees, doubling our compensation team resources) to strengthen the support and services we offer to our staff; and
  • In January 2017, we proactively hired a tax consultant who was able to provide individually adapted tax impact assessments and advice where T4 issues were known to exist.

It must also be noted that we have recently had to introduce additional manual verification measures to ensure we continue to achieve clean annual audits of our financial statements. This has positively contributed to our commitment to ensure appropriate payments to employees. Specifically, the CNSC has implemented the post-verification of every employee pay in order to provide assurance that the year-end salary expenses included in the CNSC’s audited financial statements are complete and accurate. It is expected that this additional manual effort will amount to approximately 4 additional full-time resources on an ongoing basis.

Our support to help stabilize the Phoenix pay system has also been ongoing and I can share that our team continues to participate in the following activities:

  • Our Compensation team works in conjunction with other direct entry departments and meets on a monthly basis to provide support to one another and share lessons learned (direct entry departments and agencies have very different issues from Peoplesoft or My GCHR departments that are serviced by Miramichi);
  • We offered a representative from our compensation team to work on the working groups hosted by PSPC to develop new training tools;
  • Representatives from the CNSC compensation team participated in the Root Cause Analysis workshops over the summer to help the PSPC Phoenix project team to identify ongoing issues;
  • We continue to contribute to the ongoing monitoring of progress through timely updates to the departmental dashboards and other ongoing reporting requirements; and
  • The Compensation team continues to keep informed about Phoenix updates and changes in process by attending all Phoenix Direct entry meetings.

As a testament to our commitment to mitigate impacts on employees, we have successfully hired over 100 employees in the last two years as part of our renewal initiative and have averted serious Phoenix implementation issues. These efforts have been sincerely appreciated by our management and employees.

Our future strategies will continue to build on these efforts. As Phoenix progresses towards a more steady state, we continue to keep ourselves informed of developments and their potential impact on our organization and our employees. You have our commitment to continue to contribute in any way we can towards the stabilization of Phoenix.

Yours sincerely,

Original signed by

Michael Binder

Enclosure (1)

c.c.: The Honourable James Gordon Carr, Minister of Natural Resources
Les Linklater, Associate Deputy Minister, Public Services and Procurement Canada
Yaprak Baltacioğlu, Secretary of the Treasury Board
Catrina Tapley, Deputy Secretary to the Cabinet (Operations), Privy Council Office

Date modified:

Réponse de la Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire

De Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada

Le 9 novembre 2017

Monsieur Michael Wernick
Greffier du Conseil privé et secrétaire du Cabinet
80, rue Wellington, pièce 332
Ottawa (Ontario)  K1A 0A3

Monsieur,

Pour donner suite à votre correspondance du 2 novembre 2017 (ci-jointe), il me fait plaisir de vous communiquer des détails sur les activités de la Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire (CCSN) à l’appui des efforts communs déployés par le gouvernement du Canada pour stabiliser le système de paye Phénix.

La CCSN est une organisation sans intermédiaire, n’est pas desservie par le centre de paye de Miramichi, et possède une équipe complète de conseillers en rémunération chevronnés qui appuie les gestionnaires et les employés. Depuis le déploiement de Phénix en avril 2016, notre équipe travaille sans relâche pour limiter les difficultés posées par Phénix en offrant des conseils et du soutien pratiques aux employés et aux gestionnaires qui utilisent le nouveau système. Elle a pris des mesures pour minimiser les répercussions sur la paye, et a géré rapidement toutes les conséquences financières négatives sur nos rapports salariaux et budgétaires. Ces mesures ont été essentielles, puisque la mise en œuvre de Phénix coïncidait avec une importante initiative de renouvellement organisationnel à la CCSN visant à remplacer environ 10 % de notre effectif. En plus de nos efforts à l’interne, nous avons consacré temps et énergie à appuyer les efforts globaux de Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada (SPAC) pour stabiliser le système.

Afin de s’assurer que nos employés reçoivent à temps la rémunération qui leur est due, nous effectuons les activités suivantes dans le cadre de notre stratégie depuis le déploiement de Phénix :

  • Les gestionnaires et les employés ont été encouragés à suivre les modules de formation initiale en ligne offerts par l’École de la fonction publique du Canada. Des outils d’apprentissage supplémentaires et des ressources propres à notre organisation ont été créés pour nos employés.
  • Notre équipe responsable de la rémunération a tenu plusieurs séances informelles pour que les employés et les gestionnaires puissent accéder à Phénix, avoir un aperçu personnalisé du système et obtenir des réponses à leurs questions ou de l’aide individuelle.
  • Les leçons retenues et les ressources ont été, et continuent d’être, communiquées à notre personnel (nous avons créé notre propre page Web interne sur Phénix pour y verser tous les renseignements, outils et mises à jour sur la paye).
  • Les conseillers en rémunération continuent de travailler chaque jour aux côtés des employés afin de répondre à leurs questions ou de régler leurs problèmes liés à la saisie du temps et des données dans Phénix.
  • Les conseillers en rémunération examinent les transactions de paye et les surveillent dans Phénix pour veiller à ce que le dossier soit rempli avec exactitude. Nos agents financiers travaillent avec l’équipe de la rémunération pour comparer les dépenses en salaire aux dépenses prévues, afin que les paiements soient effectués correctement. De plus, nos agents financiers communiquent avec les conseillers en rémunération et les gestionnaires de centre de responsabilité, au besoin, lorsque des précisions sont nécessaires.
  • Nos conseillers en rémunération et nos agents financiers, en fonction des pouvoirs d’approbation de l’article 33, consacrent beaucoup d’efforts à vérifier que les gestionnaires approuvent le temps rapidement, afin d’éviter les trop-payés ou les paiements insuffisants (l’équipe responsable de la rémunération a créé des avis de suivi et des rappels dans les calendriers des gestionnaires leur indiquant les dates avant lesquelles les approbations doivent être données).
  • Lorsqu’un employé a, ou a eu, des problèmes de rémunération, le conseiller en rémunération et les Finances collaborent afin d’offrir une avance de salaire en cas d’urgence s’il s’agit d’une paye manquée ou d’une paye grandement réduite. Cette collaboration permet de verser l’avance dans le compte de l’employé dans un délai de 24 à 48 heures (le dépôt se fait habituellement le jour de la paye on peu après).
  • Notre équipe responsable de la rémunération dévouée a consacré beaucoup d’heures supplémentaires à s’assurer que nos employés reçoivent le meilleur service possible et que les erreurs soient décelées avant qu’elles aient un impact sur la paye. Nous avons aussi embauché du personnel supplémentaire (deux ressources supplémentaires à temps plein et deux employés occasionnels, doublant ainsi les ressources de l’équipe) pour renforcer le soutien et multiplier les services que nous offrons à notre personnel.
  • En janvier 2017, nous avons pris des mesures proactives en embauchant un conseiller fiscal. Il nous a fourni des évaluations des répercussions fiscales adaptées individuellement et des conseils sur les problèmes connus liés aux T4.

Il faut aussi noter que nous avons récemment dû appliquer des mesures de vérification manuelle supplémentaires afin de pouvoir continuer à produire des vérifications annuelles positives de nos états financiers. Ces mesures témoignent de notre engagement à veiller à ce que nos employés soient payés correctement. Nous avons notamment procédé à la vérification postérieure au paiement des payes de chaque employé pour confirmer que les dépenses salariales en fin d’exercice figurant dans nos états financiers vérifiés soient complètes et exactes. Ces mesures nécessiteront environ quatre ressources supplémentaires à temps plein de façon continue.

Nous n’avons pas cessé de soutenir les efforts de stabilisation du système Phénix, et nous continuons à prendre part aux activités suivantes :

  • Notre équipe responsable de la rémunération travaille avec d’autres ministères également sans intermédiaire et tient des rencontres chaque mois afin de s’entraider et d’échanger les leçons retenues (les ministères et organismes sans intermédiaire sont confrontés à des problèmes bien différents de ceux qui utilisent PeopleSoft et Mes RHGC et qui sont desservis par Miramichi).
  • Nous avons proposé qu’un représentant de notre équipe responsable de la rémunération se joigne aux groupes de travail de SPAC afin de développer de nouveaux outils de formation.
  • Des représentants de l’équipe responsable de la rémunération ont participé aux ateliers sur l’analyse des causes fondamentales l’été dernier afin d’aider l’équipe de projet Phénix de SPAC à relever les problèmes persistants.
  • Nous continuons à contribuer à la surveillance continue des progrès en affichant des mises à jour en temps opportun sur les tableaux de bord ministériels et en respectant d’autres exigences de production de rapports en vigueur.
  • L’équipe continue de se tenir au courant des mises à jour sur Phénix et des changements aux processus en participant à toutes les réunions avec les ministères sans intermédiaire sur Phénix.

Nous nous engageons à continuer d’atténuer les conséquences sur les employés, comme en témoigne l’embauche réussie de plus de cent employés au cours des deux dernières années dans le cadre de notre initiative de renouvellement, et le fait que nous ayons évité de graves problèmes dans la mise en œuvre de Phénix. Nos gestionnaires et employés ont été reconnaissants de nos efforts.

Nos stratégies d’avenir continueront à miser sur ces efforts. Jusqu’à ce que Phénix devienne un système stable, nous continuerons à nous tenir au courant des changements et de leurs conséquences potentielles sur notre organisation et nos employés. Nous vous assurons que nous sommes toujours engagés à contribuer à la stabilisation de Phénix de quelque façon que ce soit.

Je vous prie d’agréer, Monsieur, l’expression de mes sentiments les plus distingués.

Original signé par

Michael Binder

Pièce jointe (1)

c.c. : L’honorable James Gordon Carr, ministre des Ressources naturelles
Les Linklater, sous-ministre délégué, Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada
Yaprak Baltacioğlu, secrétaire du Conseil du Trésor
Catrina Tapley, sous-secrétaire du Cabinet (Opérations), Bureau du Conseil privé

Date de modification :