Response from Immigration and Refugee Board of Canada

From Public Services and Procurement Canada

Dear Mr. Wernick:

Thank you for this opportunity to share the views of the Immigration and Refugee Board of Canada (IRB) with respect to our employees’ pay. Although I realize that many of my colleagues will be imparting the same message to you, it is unfortunate that this initiative, planned and implemented by the Centre, has been such a disaster from its launch. Our employees are paying the price and they find it difficult to understand that deputy heads are powerless when it comes to dealing with this situation that has persisted for one and a half years.

As the IRB’s deputy head, I feel helpless in this situation as I am unable to reassure my employees that they will receive the amounts to which they are entitled in a timely manner and that they will be able to obtain proper advice in due course on their salaries and benefits.

The IRB is a tribunal that employs just over 1,000 people. In the past year, the IRB has experienced an unprecedented and widely unexpected increase of 92 percent in its refugee protection claims. We therefore needed to redirect our internal resources to meet our legislated obligations.

That being said, the IRB set up a small team to try to answer basic compensation questions. This team also performs some analyses in urgent files to help explain any issues to employees so that they can correctly complete the Phoenix feedback form or escalate issues to our liaison officer at the Pay Centre. However, the IRB has lost all of its employees in this unit over the last four months and although we are trying to recruit people for the unit, it is not an easy task.

Our employees in this unit have limited access in the Phoenix system and can make no changes. These employees, whose mission is to help their colleagues, are caught between employees who are furious, discouraged and at times harassing, and the Pay Centre, which does nothing, does not respond or makes additional errors.

As part of Phase 1 of the Pay Centre consolidation, the IRB undertook a workforce adjustment exercise for its 10 compensation advisors. All the resources dedicated to compensation activities were therefore transferred to the Centre permanently and irreversibly. Five years have now passed since the IRB has had anyone with compensation competencies on site. Nevertheless, from the very first day, the IRB has supported residual activities. However, no one predicted that the work would be so large in scope and that it could not be supported with the remaining resources. The following list describes the concrete actions taken by the IRB:

  • The IRB created an internal team, using its own resources, at a cost of $315,000 per year to manage residual pay-related issues following the implementation of Phoenix and it expects to spend at least the same amount, if not more, this fiscal year. The team does not carry out any pay transactions; rather, its purpose is to try to manage as best as it can the problems resulting from the new system.
  • Internal training was offered to our managers prior to the implementation of Phoenix, with the limited information received on the new system.
  • The initial training provided by the Canada School of Public Service for managers and employees was promoted.
  • Internal communications were shared via emails to all employees and on our Intranet site regarding the various aspects of pay as we received new information.
  • Certain tools sent by the Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat or the Pay Centre were published on our Intranet site; since some information was not relevant, we tried to strike a balance between providing too much information and not enough. Moreover, we created an additional tool on how to read one’s pay stub, which would otherwise be completely incomprehensible.
  • The IRB participates, without fail, in all calls/meetings to which it is invited on this subject matter.
  • The IRB provides priority payments and emergency salary advances, if necessary, when an employee has not been paid, when an employee has been paid only a small amount or when there are serious shortfalls.
  • The IRB sends regular reminders to managers about the importance of approving outstanding transactions and to employees to update their section 34 manager, when a change has occurred.
  • The IRB provides data, reports and information when these are requested by the central agencies and Public Services and Procurement Canada (PSPC).

Over the next few months, the IRB will:

  • hire an FI-02 to review and reconcile overpayments;
  • hire an AS-02 with experience/competencies in compensation to help the Finance unit with the overpayment review exercise (however, it is important to note that it is very difficult to recruit a person with these competencies);
  • send communications about taxes, common errors on pay action requests and other relevant information;
  • promote the new official training and make it mandatory for managers and employees; and
  • remind employees to update their personal information.

I sincerely believe that we are doing everything we can, with our limited resources, to support colleagues at the PSPC in carrying out their mandate in the administration of compensation services. It goes without saying that we hope to see a satisfactory resolution as quickly as possible.

I hope this response will be useful to the Government in its genuine efforts to correct this deplorable situation.

Mario Dion

Date modified:

Réponse de Commission de l’immigration et du statut de réfugié

De Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada

M. Wernick,

Nous apprécions l’opportunité de partager la perspective de la Commission de l’immigration et du statut de réfugié (CISR) en ce qui concerne la paye de nos employés. Même si je sais que vous devez recevoir le même message de la part de beaucoup de mes homologues, il est dommage que cette initiative qui a été planifiée et exécutée par le centre se soit avérée être un tel désastre dès son lancement. Nos employés en paient le prix et comprennent mal l’impuissance de chaque administrateur général face à la situation qui perdure depuis un an et demi. 

Comme administrateur général de la CISR, je me sens dépourvu face à cette situation car je ne suis pas en mesure de rassurer mes employés qu’ils reçoivent bien les montants qui leur sont dus en temps opportun et qu’ils puissent avoir les conseils adéquats en temps opportun sur leur salaire et leurs avantages sociaux.

La CISR est un tribunal comptant un peu plus de 1 000 employés. Pendant la dernière année, la CISR a vu une augmentation sans précédent et largement imprévue de 92 pour cent des demandes d’asile. Donc, nous avons été obligés de rediriger nos ressources internes afin de rencontrer nos obligations légiférées.

Cela étant dit, la CISR a mis en place une petite équipe qui tente de répondre aux questions de base en lien avec la rémunération. Ils font aussi certaines analyses dans des dossiers urgents afin d’aider à expliquer à l’employé la problématique pour qu’il puisse bien remplir le formulaire rétroaction Phénix ou afin d’escalader à notre agente de liaison au Centre de paye. Par contre, la CISR a perdu tous les employés dans cette unité au cours des derniers quatre mois et nous tentons de recruter, ce qui n’est pas chose facile. 

Nos employés dans cette unité ont des accès limités dans le système Phénix et ils ne peuvent faire aucun changement. Ces employés dont la mission est d’aider leurs collègues sont pris entre les employés qui sont furieux, découragés et, même parfois harcelants, et le Centre de paye qui ne réagit pas, ne répond pas ou fait des erreurs additionnelles. 

Dans le cadre de la phase 1 de la consolidation du Centre de paye, la CISR a entrepris une situation du réaménagement des effectifs pour nos 10 conseillers en rémunération. Toutes les ressources consacrées aux activités de rémunération ont donc été transférées au centre de façon permanente et irréversible. Cela fait maintenant cinq ans que nous n'avons personne à la Commission qui a des compétences en rémunération. Néanmoins, et ce dès le premier jour, la CISR a appuyé les activités résiduelles. Néanmoins, ce travail a pris une envergure qui n’avait pas été prévue par personne et qui ne peut pas être appuyé avec les ressources restantes. La liste suivante décrit les actions concrètes que la CISR a prises: 

  • La CISR a créé une équipe interne, à même ses ressources, à un coût de 315K $ par année pour gérer le résidu de la paye suite à la mise en œuvre de Phénix et prévoit dépenser au moins le même montant, si non plus, cette année financière, et ce, sans faire aucune transaction de paye mais plutôt afin de tenter de gérer du mieux que l’on peut les problématiques suite au nouveau système;
  • Une formation interne avait été offerte à nos gestionnaires avant la mise en œuvre de Phénix avec l’information limitée reçue sur le nouveau système;
  • La formation initiale offerte par l’École de la fonction publique pour les gestionnaires et les employés avaient été promue;
  • Des communications internes ont été envoyées par l’entremise de courriels à tous les employés et notre site intranet sur différents aspects de la paye au fur et à mesure que nous recevions des nouveautés;
  • Certains outils envoyés par le SCT ou le Centre de paye ont été publiés sur notre site intranet, certains n’étaient pas pertinents donc nous tentions de balancer trop d’information avec pas assez. En plus, nous avons créé un outil additionnel sur comment lire son talon de paye qui autrement serait totalement incompréhensible;
  • La CISR participe sans faute à tous les appels/réunions pour lesquels elle est convoquée à ce sujet;
  • La CISR offre des paiements prioritaires ainsi que des avances de salaire d’urgence, le cas échéant, lorsqu’un employé se retrouve sans paye, avec une petite paye ou des sommes importantes manquantes;
  • La CISR envoie des rappels réguliers aux gestionnaires sur l’importance d’approuver les transactions en suspens et aux employés de changer leur gestionnaire de l’article 34, quand il y a un changement; et
  • La CISR fournit des données, des rapports et de l’information à la demande des organismes centraux et du ministère des SPAC.

Au cours des prochains mois la Commission va :

  • Embaucher un FI-02 afin de revoir et réconcilier les trop-payés;
  • Embaucher un AS-02 qui aurait de l’expérience/compétence en rémunération afin d’aider le service des finances avec l’exercice de revoir les trop-payés (il est toutefois important de noter qu’il est très difficile de recruter une personne avec ces compétences);
  • Envoyer des communications au sujet des impôts, des erreurs communes sur les PAR et autres informations pertinentes;
  • Promouvoir et exiger des gestionnaires et employés qu’ils (elles) la nouvelle formation officielle; et
  • Faire un rappel aux employés de mettre à jour leurs informations personnelles.

Je pense sincèrement que nous faisons tout ce que nous pouvons, avec nos ressources limitées, pour appuyer les collègues de Services publiques et approvisionnements dans l’exécution de leur mandat en administration des services en rémunération. Il va sans dire que nous souhaitons voir une résolution satisfaisante le plus tôt possible.

J’espère que la présente sera utile au gouvernement dans ses efforts sincères de redresser cette situation déplorable.

Mario Dion

Date de modification :