Response from Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission

From Public Services and Procurement Canada

Michael Wernick
Clerk of the Privy Council and Secretary to the Cabinet
Room 332
80 Wellington Street
Ottawa, Ontario  K1A 0A3

Dear Mr. Wernick:

I am writing to you in response to your letter dated November 2, 2017, in which you inquired about the actions that the Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission (CRTC) has taken and plans to take to help stabilize the irregularities created by the Phoenix pay system.

The CRTC, I assure you, has been actively contributing to the efforts to resolve the system-wide challenges posed by Phoenix. In the last year, the Commission has provided extensive input to interdepartmental committees and pilot projects. More recently, several CRTC employees joined the Public Services and Procurement Canada new Pay Stabilization Project team.

The CRTC has approximately 500 employees, more than half of whom have been impacted in some respect by the implementation of the Phoenix pay system. As of November 6, 2017, according to our log, there remain 262 active cases at the CRTC, impacting over 220 employees. A large majority of these cases are related to over and underpayments linked to changes in employment status such as those resulting from acting appointments, promotions, maternity leave or leave without pay.

Following the implementation of the Phoenix pay system in 2016, the CRTC established a small internal unit to support the pay functions of the Miramichi Pay Centre and thereby reduce the impact of pay issues on CRTC employees. This unit ensures the implementation, maintenance and communication of the policies, directives, roles and responsibilities related to compensation and Phoenix. It also logs and closely monitors all cases; ensures timely liaison with central agencies and the pay centre; carries out complex financial calculations; analyzes pay records to identify over and underpayments; and recommends appropriate remedial actions. I receive regular reports on overall employee pay status and am kept abreast of important Phoenix updates, which are also communicated in a timely fashion to all CRTC employees. 

The CRTC has developed a standardized term of agreement for priority payments for employees impacted by Phoenix pay issues. This allows each employee to request a priority payment directly from the CRTC without having to interact with the Miramichi Pay Centre. This approach has proven effective in fast-tracking payments to employees and permits the employee to repay the emergency salary advance within a reasonable period of time once their pay has been regularized.

One challenge with our ability to assist the pay centre in reducing the backlog has been the restriction of Phoenix access rights to employees who work in traditional “compensation advisor” positions. Currently, employees who have obtained full access rights as a result of extensive Phoenix training may lose their access upon transfer to a new organization, even if they still assist departments with compensation-related issues in their new role. Ensuring flexibility and transferability of Phoenix access rights for trained employees who transfer among pay-centre-serviced organizations would go a long way in reducing the backlog and resolving issues.

In the future, the CRTC will continue to support the Pay Stabilization Project and other government-wide initiatives intended to resolve pay issues. The CRTC will continue to report on our challenges and successes so that best practices can be shared and we can move forward collectively. Internally, we will continue to provide timely priority payments as required. We will also continue to communicate regularly with our employees so they are informed of pay issues that could affect their well-being and of how the employer is responding to these issues. We will ensure the accuracy of employee contact information and data in our human resources systems. We will also increase capacity to analyze salary data and implement internal controls in order to proactively address pay issues, provide confidence in the accuracy of employee payments and avoid hardship before it occurs.

The CRTC approach to date has been to provide employees with expert and personalized service in response to their enquiries. We expect our focused efforts in this regard will continue to have a positive impact on employee morale.

Sincerely yours,

Ian Scott

c.c.: The Honourable Mélanie Joly, P.C., M.P., Minister of Canadian Heritage
Les Linklater, Associate Deputy Minister, Public Services and Procurement Canada
Yaprak Baltacioğlu, Secretary of the Treasury Board
Catrina Tapley, Deputy Secretary to the Cabinet (Operations), Privy Council Office

Date modified:

Réponse de Conseil de la radiodiffusion et des télécommunications canadiennes

De Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada

Monsieur Michael Wernick
Greffier du Conseil privé et secrétaire du Cabinet
Bureau 332
80, rue Wellington
Ottawa (Ontario)  K1A 0A3

Monsieur,

Je donne suite à votre lettre du 2 novembre 2017, où vous demandez quelles mesures le Conseil de la radiodiffusion et des télécommunications canadiennes (CRTC) a prises et compte prendre pour aider à stabiliser les irrégularités créées par le système de paye Phénix.

Je peux vous assurer que le CRTC a contribué activement aux efforts visant à résoudre les problèmes systémiques que pose Phénix. Dans la dernière année, le Conseil a fait une grande contribution aux comités interministériels et aux projets pilotes. Récemment, plusieurs employés du CRTC se sont joints à la nouvelle équipe du Projet de stabilisation de la paye de Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada.

Le CRTC compte environ 500 employés, dont plus de la moitié ont été touchés d’une façon ou d’une autre par la mise en œuvre du système de paye Phénix. En date du 6 novembre 2017, selon notre registre, le CRTC avait encore 262 cas actifs concernant plus de 220 employés. La grande majorité de ces cas concernent des paiements en trop ou en moins liés à des changements de situation d’emploi comme ceux qui résultent de nominations intérimaires, de promotions, de congés de maternité ou de congés non payés.

Après la mise en œuvre du système de paye Phénix en 2016, le CRTC a mis sur pied une petite unité interne pour appuyer les fonctions de paye du Centre des services de paye de Miramichi et ainsi réduire l’impact des problèmes de paye sur les employés du CRTC. Cette unité assure la mise en œuvre, la tenue à jour et la communication des politiques, directives, rôles et responsabilités liés à la rémunération et à Phénix. Également, il enregistre et suit de près tous les cas; assure la liaison en temps opportun avec les organismes centraux et le Centre des services de paye; effectue des calculs financiers complexes; analyse les dossiers de paye pour repérer les paiements en trop et en moins; et recommande les mesures correctives qui s’imposent. Je reçois périodiquement des rapports sur la situation d’ensemble touchant la paye des employés, et suis tenu au courant des mises à jour importantes de Phénix, qui sont aussi communiquées rapidement à tous les employés du CRTC.

Le CRTC a élaboré un accord uniformisé pour les paiements prioritaires destinés aux employés touchés par les problèmes de paye de Phénix. Cela permet à chaque employé de demander un paiement prioritaire directement au CRTC sans avoir à interagir avec le Centre des services de paye de Miramichi. L’approche s’est révélée efficace pour accélérer les paiements aux employés et elle permet à l’employé de rembourser l’avance de salaire d’urgence dans un délai raisonnable après la régularisation de la paye.

Un facteur qui a limité notre capacité d’aider le Centre des services de paye à réduire l’arriéré est que les droits d’accès à Phénix ont été réservés aux employés occupant des postes traditionnels de « conseillers en rémunération ». À l’heure actuelle, les employés qui ont obtenu les pleins droits d’accès après avoir suivi une formation poussée sur Phénix pourraient perdre leur accès lors d’un transfert à une nouvelle organisation, même s’ils aident encore les ministères à régler des problèmes de rémunération dans leur nouveau rôle. L’assouplissement et la possibilité de transférer les droits d’accès à Phénix pour le personnel formé qui est transféré à des organisations desservies par un centre de paye contribueraient pour beaucoup à réduire l’arriéré et à résoudre les problèmes.

Le CRTC continuera d’appuyer le projet de stabilisation de la paye et les autres initiatives pangouvernementales destinées à résoudre les problèmes de paye. Le CRTC continuera de faire rapport de ses difficultés et de ses succès afin que les pratiques exemplaires puissent être partagées et que nous puissions aller de l’avant tous ensemble. À l’interne, nous continuerons de verser les paiements aussi vite que possible, selon qu’il y aura lieu. Nous continuerons également de communiquer périodiquement avec nos employés pour les tenir au courant des problèmes de paye qui pourraient se répercuter sur leur bien-être ainsi que de la façon dont l’employeur réagit à ces problèmes. Nous veillerons à l’exactitude des coordonnées et des données de nos employés dans nos systèmes de ressources humaines. Nous nous donnerons également de meilleurs moyens d’analyser les données salariales et de mettre en œuvre des contrôles internes afin de gérer proactivement les problèmes de paye, de donner confiance dans l’exactitude des paiements aux employés et d’éviter les difficultés avant qu’elles ne surgissent

L’approche du CRTC jusqu’ici a été de donner aux employés un service d’expert et personnalisé en réponse à leurs demandes de renseignements. Nous nous attendons que nos efforts ciblés à cet égard continuent de produire un effet positif sur le moral des employés.

Veuillez agréer, Monsieur, l’expression de mes sentiments les meilleurs.

Ian Scott

c.c. : L’honorable Mélanie Joly, C.P., députée, ministre du Patrimoine canadien
Les Linklater, sous-ministre délégué, Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada
Yaprak Baltacioğlu, secrétaire du Conseil du Trésor
Catrina Tapley, sous-secrétaire du Cabinet (Opérations), Bureau du Conseil privé

Date de modification :