Response from Environment and Climate Change Canada

From Public Services and Procurement Canada

Mr. Michael Wernick
Clerk of the Privy Council and
Secretary to the Cabinet
80 Wellington Street, Room 332
Ottawa ON  K1A 0A3

Dear Mr. Wernick:

Thank you for your letter of November 2, 2017, concerning the Phoenix pay system. We appreciate the opportunity to respond and outline the actions we are taking to help ensure that Environment and Climate Change Canada (ECCC) employees are paid accurately and on time, and contribute to the stabilization of the pay system. As deputy ministers, we believe that it is of the utmost importance to support our employees and the public service of Canada as a whole.

ECCC was one of the first federal departments to implement the full HR-to-Pay directive of the Government of Canada (the transfer of departmental compensation advisors to Miramichi, and the implementation of both Phoenix and My GCHR). Consequently, the Department has been actively working to address the challenges faced by employees since the issues with the Phoenix pay system first became apparent, and we continue to learn from our experiences and share best practices with Public Services and Procurement Canada (PSPC), the Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat (TBS), and other federal organizations.

Our foremost focus has been on addressing the very real and immediate financial needs of employees through a dedicated team, as well as ensuring open and regular information sharing and communication, ensuring that teams are in place to support staff and that managers across the Department are properly trained, and implementing solutions to target pay challenges for employees.

We are also working actively with partners across government to develop common solutions, and have shared our ten best practices on pay services with other departments and agencies (see Appendix A).

As Minister of Environment and Climate Change, the Honourable Catherine McKenna has been actively involved in supporting our efforts, and those of her Cabinet colleagues, as a member of the working group of ministers, to address pay system challenges and support employees. The Associate Deputy Minister briefs Minister McKenna on a weekly basis to keep her informed and involved in addressing pay system challenges. An update on Phoenix pay issues is also discussed on a weekly basis by ECCC’s Executive Management Committee.

We outline below a number of the actions we have taken to support staff and have also enclosed more detailed information on these measures (see Appendix B).

Departmental actions

Addressing the needs of employees

  • A dedicated departmental team and an internal online service desk have been established to address staff inquiries and appropriate follow-up.
  • A call centre has been launched where staff can be easily reached to respond to staff calls.
  • A pay liaison team has been put in place to support affected employees, including staff placed at a satellite office of the pay centre in Gatineau. The pay liaison team is focusing in particular on priority cases of no pay, maternity/parental and disability leave, students and northern issues.
  • An expedited priority payment process has been established through the Department’s Corporate Services and Finance Branch.
  • The Department has worked in close collaboration with the bargaining agents to identify and escalate critical cases and address questions at joint meetings with management.
  • A monitoring system has been put in place so that management can actively report issues, including those pertaining to students, to the pay team in the Human Resources Branch.
  • By the end of the month, 49 departmental employees will be working full-time on providing support to the various issues incurred by Phoenix. The Department expects to increase this number in the coming months.

Promoting information sharing and communication

  • We are committed to keeping employees informed. Since April 2016, ECCC has published more than 80 pay‑related articles on its intranet to keep employees and managers up to date on the challenges associated with the system and how they can find help to address them.
  • Senior management, as well as the Minister, have been engaged with staff in face-to-face conversations to better understand the challenges they encounter regarding pay and discuss the measures that the Department has taken to support them.
  • Improved information systems and data analytics capacities have been established. In particular:
    • We developed and implemented an internal pay dashboard for management to better understand the pay issues affecting the Department and target actions to address them. This provided the model for dashboards being used by TBS for all departments and agencies.
    • Staff worked overtime to undertake an extensive data clean-up exercise in order to ensure data integrity in the HR Management Information System.

Ensuring proper staffing and training

  • Training staff is critical to ensuring that cases can be addressed in a timely fashion and effectively closed. The Department’s Human Resources Branch has been giving mandatory sessions to delegated managers to ensure their full engagement in helping to resolve these issues.
  • The Department has also made the Canada School of Public Service training on Phoenix (Phoenix Manager Self Service) mandatory for managers. More than 95 percent of delegated managers in the Department have now completed this training.

Implementing solutions to target pay challenges for employees

  • In September 2017, the Department established a consolidated “trusted source” team dedicated to reviewing and submitting pay action requests to the PSPC pay centre on employees’ behalf in an effort to avoid errors and delays. Since then, the error rate has declined significantly.
  • An ambitious calendar of focused efforts to address the backlog of retroactive acting appointments was implemented in September 2017. Data entry employees have been signing up for overtime shifts on nights and weekends in order to complete as many actions as possible.
  • We are actively working to support implementation of collective bargaining agreements. Dedicated groups of compensation advisors are working exclusively on processing salary increases and retroactive payments, and this will continue to be a priority.

External actions

  • ECCC’s dashboard was extended to the Canadian Environmental Assessment Agency and Parks Canada in the Environment portfolio, and was used by TBS as a basis to build the HR-to-Pay dashboards prepared on a bi-weekly basis.
  • The Department is an active contributor to the various governance structures supporting the HR-to-Pay implementation at the Deputy and Assistant Deputy Minister level, and supports the Minister in her role as a member of the ministerial working group to address Phoenix pay issues. Of particular note:
    • The Department’s chief financial officer attends a related Assistant Deputy Minister committee on behalf of all chief financial officers in the federal government.
    • The Department’s Director General for Human Resources Transformation has co-chaired the Interdepartmental Analysis Working Group in charge of the root cause analysis on systemic and recurring issues of the pay system.
  • ECCC recently signed a memorandum of understanding with PSPC to ensure that the Department’s pay interventions are fully aligned with the Government of Canada priorities, and that all of its actions contribute to the overall pay improvements.

In closing, we would like to reiterate the importance that ECCC places on this priority. We would like especially to acknowledge the patience of departmental employees who have endured hardship, and to thank those who are working tirelessly to ensure that their colleagues are taken care of.

Please be assured of the Department’s continued support and efforts to address the Phoenix pay system situation, and to ensure that employees are paid accurately and on time.

Sincerely,

Stephen Lucas, Ph.D.
Deputy Minister

Dr. Martine Dubuc
Associate Deputy Minister

Enclosures

c.c.: The Honourable Catherine McKenna, P.C., M.P.

Date modified:

Réponse d’Environnement et Changement climatique Canada

De Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada

Monsieur Michael Wernick
Greffier du Conseil privé et
Secrétaire du Cabinet
80, rue Wellington, pièce 332
Ottawa (Ontario)  K1A 0A3

Monsieur le Greffier,

Nous avons bien reçu votre lettre du 2 novembre 2017 au sujet du système de paye Phénix. Nous sommes ravis de pouvoir y répondre et décrire les mesures que nous prenons pour veiller à ce que les employés d’Environnement et Changement climatique Canada (ECCC) reçoivent le bon salaire à temps, et contribuer à la stabilisation du système de paye. En tant que sous‑ministres, nous croyons qu’il est primordial de soutenir nos employés et la fonction publique du Canada dans son ensemble.

ECCC a été l’un des premiers ministères fédéraux à mettre en œuvre la directive complète RH-à-Paye du gouvernement du Canada (le transfert des conseillers en rémunération du Ministère à Miramichi et la mise en œuvre de Phénix et de Mes RHGC). Par conséquent, le Ministère s’efforce de régler les difficultés que les employés ont rencontrées depuis l’apparition des problèmes liés au système de paye Phénix, et nous continuons d’apprendre de nos expériences et d’échanger des pratiques exemplaires avec Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada (SPAC), le Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor du Canada (SCT) et d’autres organisations fédérales.

Nous nous employons d’abord à répondre aux besoins financiers très réels et immédiats des employés par l’intermédiaire d’une équipe spécialisée, ainsi qu’à assurer un échange de renseignements et une communication ouverts et continus, en veillant à ce que des équipes soient en place pour soutenir le personnel et à ce que les gestionnaires du Ministère soient bien formés, et en mettant en œuvre des solutions pour cibler les problèmes de paye des employés.

Nous collaborons également avec des partenaires de l’ensemble du gouvernement pour mettre au point des solutions communes, et avons échangé nos dix pratiques exemplaires sur les services de paye avec d’autres ministères et organismes (voir l’annexe A).

En tant que ministre de l’Environnement et du Changement climatique, l’honorable Catherine McKenna soutient activement nos efforts et ceux de ses collègues du Cabinet, en tant que membre du groupe de travail des ministres, pour régler les problèmes du système de paye et soutenir les employés. La sous‑ministre déléguée informe la ministre McKenna toutes les semaines pour la tenir au courant de ces problèmes et faire en sorte qu’elle participe à leur résolution. Le Comité exécutif de gestion d’ECCC discute également toutes les semaines des dernières nouvelles au sujet des problèmes du système de paye Phénix.

Nous décrivons ci‑après certaines mesures que nous avons prises pour soutenir le personnel, et présentons également des renseignements plus détaillés sur ces mesures à l’annexe B ci‑jointe.

Mesures ministérielles

Répondre aux besoins des employés

  • Une équipe ministérielle spécialisée et un bureau interne de services en ligne ont été mis sur pied pour répondre aux demandes de renseignements du personnel et faire un suivi adéquat.
  • Un centre d’appels a été lancé où il est facile de joindre le personnel qui répondra aux appels du personnel.
  • Une équipe de liaison de la paye a été mise sur pied pour soutenir les employés touchés. Cette équipe comprend des employés situés dans un bureau satellite du Centre des services de paye à Gatineau. L’équipe de liaison de la paye cible particulièrement les cas prioritaires concernant une absence de paye, un congé de maternité ou parental ou un congé pour incapacité, les cas touchant les étudiants, et les problèmes qui touchent les résidents du Nord canadien.
  • Un processus accéléré de paiements prioritaires a été établi par l’intermédiaire de la Direction générale des services ministériels et des finances du Ministère.
  • Le Ministère a travaillé en étroite collaboration avec les agents négociateurs pour repérer les cas cruciaux et les acheminer au palier suivant, et répondre aux questions lors de réunions conjointes avec la direction.
  • Un système de surveillance a été mis en place afin que la direction puisse signaler les problèmes, y compris ceux touchant les étudiants, à l’équipe de la paye de la Direction générale des ressources humaines.
  • D’ici la fin du mois, 49 employés du Ministère travailleront à temps plein pour fournir un soutien afin de régler les divers problèmes causés par Phénix. Le Ministère envisage d’augmenter ce nombre au cours des prochains mois.

Favoriser l’échange et la communication de renseignements

  • Nous sommes déterminés à tenir les employés informés. Depuis avril 2016, ECCC a publié plus de 80 articles liés à la paye sur son site intranet pour tenir les employés et les gestionnaires au courant des difficultés associées au système et des moyens d’obtenir de l’aide pour les régler.
  • La haute direction, ainsi que la ministre, ont tenu des conversations en personne avec les employés pour mieux comprendre les problèmes qu’ils éprouvent au sujet de la paye et pour discuter des mesures que le Ministère a prises pour les soutenir.
  • Des capacités d’analyse des données accrues et des systèmes d’information améliorés ont été mis en place. En particulier :
    • Nous avons élaboré et mis en œuvre un tableau de bord interne de la paye afin que la gestion comprenne mieux les problèmes de paye touchant le Ministère et cible les mesures pour y remédier. Ce tableau de bord a servi de modèle aux tableaux de bord utilisés par le SCT pour tous les ministères et organismes.
    • Le personnel a fait des heures supplémentaires pour réaliser un vaste exercice de nettoyage des données afin d’assurer l’intégrité des données dans le Système d’information sur la gestion des RH.

Veiller à une dotation et à une formation adéquates

  • La formation du personnel est essentielle pour s’assurer de traiter et de fermer les dossiers rapidement et efficacement. La Direction générale des ressources humaines du Ministère a donné des séances obligatoires aux gestionnaires délégataires afin qu’ils participent pleinement à la résolution de ces problèmes.
  • Le Ministère a également rendu obligatoire pour les gestionnaires la formation de l’École de la fonction publique du Canada sur Phénix (libre‑service de Phénix pour les gestionnaires). Plus de 95 p. 100 des gestionnaires délégataires du Ministère ont maintenant suivi cette formation.

Mettre en œuvre des solutions pour cibler les problèmes de paye des employés

  • En septembre 2017, le Ministère a mis sur pied une équipe regroupant des sources fiables qui se consacre à l’examen des demandes d’intervention de paye et à l’envoi de celles‑ci au Centre des services de paye de SPAC au nom des employés afin d’éviter les erreurs et les retards. Depuis, le taux d’erreur a baissé considérablement.
  • Un calendrier ambitieux d’activités ciblées pour traiter l’arriéré de nominations intérimaires rétroactives a été établi en septembre 2017. Les employés chargés de l’entrée des données se sont inscrits pour faire des heures supplémentaires les soirs et les fins de semaine afin d’exécuter le plus d’interventions possible.
  • Nous nous efforçons d’appuyer la mise en œuvre des conventions collectives. Des groupes spécialisés de conseillers en rémunération travaillent exclusivement sur le traitement des augmentations salariales et des paiements rétroactifs, et cela demeurera une priorité.

Mesures externes

  • Le tableau de bord d’ECCC a été élargi à l’Agence canadienne d’évaluation environnementale et à Parcs Canada, deux organismes faisant partie du portefeuille de l’Environnement, et il a été utilisé par le SCT comme fondement pour créer les tableaux de bord RH-à-Paye préparés toutes les deux semaines.
  • Le Ministère contribue activement aux différentes structures de gouvernance qui appuient la mise en œuvre du processus RH-à-Paye aux échelons des sous‑ministres et des sous‑ministres adjoints, et appuie la ministre dans son rôle de membre du groupe de travail ministériel pour régler les problèmes de paye liés à Phénix. Faits à noter :
    • La dirigeante principale des finances du Ministère participe à une réunion du comité des sous‑ministres adjoints au nom de tous les dirigeants principaux des finances du gouvernement fédéral.
    • La directrice générale de la Transformation d’affaires des ressources humaines du Ministère a coprésidé le Groupe de travail interministériel d’analyse chargé de l’analyse de la cause fondamentale des problèmes systémiques et récurrents du système de paye.
  • ECCC a récemment signé un protocole d’entente avec SPAC pour s’assurer que les interventions de paye du Ministère s’harmonisent avec les priorités du gouvernement du Canada, et que toutes les mesures prises contribuent à améliorer les services de paye en général.

Pour conclure, nous souhaiterions réitérer l’importance qu’ECCC accorde à cette priorité. Nous aimerions tout particulièrement reconnaître la patience des employés ministériels ayant éprouvé des difficultés, et remercier ceux qui travaillent sans relâche pour s’assurer que l’on prend soin de leurs collègues.

Soyez assuré du soutien et des efforts continus du Ministère pour corriger la situation du système de paye Phénix, et faire en sorte que les employés reçoivent le bon salaire à temps.

Nous vous prions d’agréer, Monsieur le Greffier, l’expression de nos sentiments les meilleurs.

Stephen Lucas
Sous ministre

Dre Martine Dubuc
Sous ministre déléguée

p.j.

c.c. L’honorable Catherine McKenna, C.P., députée

Date de modification :